WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Zack Snyder Discusses "Batman vs Superman" Casting, Costumes and Status

Posted: March 4th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Zack Snyder Discusses "Batman vs Superman" Casting, Costumes and StatusSubmit Comment
While promoting "300: Rise of an Empire," Zack Snyder spoke about the status of "Batman vs Superman," and assured fans that despite some bizarre casting, he knows exactly what he's doing.

"We're getting ready to start shooting in a month or so. I'm very excited," he said. "It's going great. We were just testing the suits. The new Batsuit and the Superman suit. It wasn’t even with the actors. It was just to see them. I was standing there, they were standing next to each other and I was like, 'Guys, someone take a picture! This has never happened before!'"

Snyder continued: "In 'Man of Steel,' we had to create an origin story, a mythology. And ['Batman vs Superman'] literally takes the 'Man of Steel' and 'Batman' universes and explodes them."

Regarding all the concerns that fans have been expressing about the cast, including hiring Ben Affleck as Batman, Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor, Jeremy Irons as Alfred Pennyworth and Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman, Snyder said: "We know the material. Unfortunately, the fans don't know the material. So, we're casting according to what's happening in the script. And we're hoping that leads to enough originality that you get something fresh and exciting. I'm not crazy. I know what these characters need from a mythological standpoint."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Avirex writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 5:36:11 AM

Most of those are studio decisions and Snyder is their submissive creatively challenged bitch.
PORN-FLY writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 6:06:34 AM

boogiel writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 6:31:34 AM

So basically he thinks that he knew better than those fans? I can't wait for that jackass to see how much the fans hate this movie when it 's released.
Stapes writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 7:10:08 AM

Know what you're doing? Yeah, I saw sucker punch and man of steel, I kinda doubt it Mr. Snyder.
TheAmicko writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 7:15:19 AM

^ No. He just says that he knows what the source material is he is basing the movie on. And this Information has not been given to the puplic. I Don't understand all the hate on Snyder. He is original.... Watchmen and 300 where f*cking great and fun films. Man of Steel was not bad i think. He tried to be original with it and give the fans som real action and more show og Supermans powers.
TheAmicko writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 7:26:05 AM

Yeah... Hold sucker punch against him... Most directors does some sh*tty movies. I think some of you on here just says the same thing as the "authoritys" on this side. Hard to believe that almost everyone of the usual people commenting on here agree almost always. Have the balls to say your own opinions! So everyone hated watchmen and thought that was a very unoriginal superhero movie????
Stapes writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 7:30:16 AM

Amicko, what he did was nolanfy superman, and it was a disaster. Go back and watch the Reeves original, Donner directs circles around Johnny-come-lates like Snyder, Nolan and especially Singer.
Stapes writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 7:33:18 AM

I thought his Dawn of the dead remake was great, watchmen was about as well done an adaptation as a fan could hope for, and 300? Dont get me started on that juvenile crap.
TheAmicko writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 7:36:51 AM

I have seen all the Donner/Reeves ones and love them. I did not say i was a huge fan of man of steel. I applied i was a fan of Watchmen. And I saw he was trying to give action in man of steel to the fans. Action which was abscent in The very booring Singer one. Then i was saying that i think he IS original. Just not with this movie. Even SP was original in some ways. Btw. I do not like The casting on this film.
TheAmicko writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 7:39:17 AM

Damn! Did not now he made The Dawn remake.... I loved that remake. On IF a few Good remakes. Well we disagree on 300 ;-) Juvenile.... Well not more than any other Good action flick i think.... Fun.... Hell Yes ;-)
jafinbham writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 9:07:22 AM

It's interesting that 300 and Watchmen were brought up. Both of those films were frame for frame remakes from the graphic novels. They took a comic and made it move on the screen. I loved 300 for it's visual style and Watchmen could have been better or worse. It was gutsy to even attempt it.

"We know the material. Unfortunately, the fans don't know the material."

Ummm. Yes we do you pretentious prick. It's called 75 years of Superman comics. All you had to do was make the comic book move on the screen. There were plenty great of great story arcs to use from 75 years of material.

"enough originality that you get something fresh and exciting."

This means 18 studio execs and 12 different writers finally twist the source material into the crap that was the last movie. They tried to reinvent the wheel in order to justify their existence and destroyed one the most iconic super heroes of the last century. You were their yes man who did as he was told like a little b*tch.

"I'm not crazy."

No one said you were crazy Zack. I'm saying you're a spineless hack with no talent that does what he's told by suits. Rather than rock the boat by pointing out stupidity in the script you filmed what you were told like a good bottom b*tch. Now put this red lipstick on and dance for me wh*re.

"I know what these characters need from a mythological standpoint."

The murder committed at the climax of the last film suggest....That was a lie.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 10:04:07 AM

f*ck you Snyder!!
Zackass writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 11:02:59 AM

Have you read the script? Then STFU. He will most likely make Luthor a "Zuckerberg-type" character where they are a young prodigy affected by Superman. And do you really think that Affleck won't be able to pull off a character playing an over-the-hill *sshole with too much money? Because if you've ever read any Superman story, Batman always comes off as an *sshole.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 12:14:53 PM

What Jafinbham said!

The Amicko- You realise the contradiction in the sentence "He is original.... Watchmen and 300 where f*cking great and fun films" they're not original. The only "original" thing Snyder has created is Sucker Punch which is literally one of the worst things I've ever seen. Give me millions of pounds and a graphic novel and I'll turn it into an "original" film. They're essentially storyboards anyway.

I have literally no interest in this film so these casting updates mean nothing to me compared to the people who are in to the men in tights type stuff. Jeremy Irons as Alfred Pennyworth is just a hilarious thought to me I'll probably pirate the film for that alone.
Stapes writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 1:22:38 PM

don't forget that cartoon owl movie, cinema... wait, that was probably an adaptation too. As I and many others have already said, the problem with Snyder is that he just isn't that creative a storyteller, he was able to do well adapting 300 and Watchmen for the same reason Robert Rodriguez was able to make a half way decent Sin City adaptation (casting f*ck ups aside).

Snyder's nolanization of Superman is even more of a monumental f*ck up than Singer's boring gay version. Everyone on the planet knows Superman's origin story by now, there's no need to try and reinvent the wheel and attempt to shove a brooding, dark and supposedly more relatable version of an icon like Superman down audiences throats. sh*t, even that teeny bopper TV show Smallville had a better version of superman than man of steel's. Too many strikes for Snyder in my opinion, I have zero faith in this project so far, but of course I'll wait until I see a little more before I completely write it off as I did Singer's latest sh*t stain called Wolverine: Days of Future Crap.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 1:35:15 PM

costumes? Even I can tell you about Wonder Woman's upcoming suit...

Padding. A lot of padding...
WV-Films writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 3:49:22 PM

When do we get to see the Bat-suit?
TheAmicko writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 4:02:50 PM

@Cinema. Dont se any contradictions there. They where fun and original (my opinion on them) and a lot of people it seems. Sucker Punch.... Well... Sucked with a punch. But I see you agree it was original. I just se so many sh*t unoriginal directors doing nothing new. And I think he has tried this a couple of times. That's it.
TheAmicko writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 4:06:52 PM

The looks 300 had was also original.
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 5:53:28 PM

[He] assured fans that despite some bizarre casting, he knows exactly what he's doing.




I think we know he knows what he's doing, and that's why we're annoyed and pissed off.
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 5:55:35 PM

The looks 300 had was also original.


True, except for the fact the VFX pipeline was identical to Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow. 300 did have a rather unique look, but that's certainly thanks to Miller, not Snyder.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 6:23:16 PM

Hated "Dawn of the Dawn" & "300" along with "Suckerpunch" but I loved "Watchmen" and "Man of Steel" so I have real problem with what he is doing, only snag is Wonder-woman.

In saying that I guess I am not as much if a fan of "Batman" & "Superman" as I thought.

DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 6:24:44 PM

"Real problem" = no real problem....

Dang it! Shouldn't comment after taking a dump.
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 6:41:50 PM

@Dave: Watchmen is Snyder's only truly decent film, and that's almost entirely thanks to Alan Moore's impeccable plotting and character crafting.

The shot-for-shot movie remake of the comic book didn't hurt.
Stuntmanbob writes:
on March 4th, 2014 at 11:12:34 PM

Does anyone realize when he talks about "material" he means HIS material as in HIS script he created that nobody has seen besides him and a select few, hes not being smug about it.
TheAmicko writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 4:21:14 AM

@Mink. Yes but not entirely. You can not give Miller full credit.... After all he IS a comic guy/graphic novelist

@Stuntman. That's what I have being trying to say. And he is the only one who knows his source material.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 5th, 2014 at 4:33:42 AM

@mink

I see what you mean but I love "Man of Steel" as much as "Watchmen"

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved