WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Academy Award Winners Announced!

Posted: March 3rd, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Academy Award Winners Announced!Submit Comment
The Oscars took place on Sunday with "12 Years a Slave" ending up being the big winner of the night, with a total of three awards for best picture, best adapted screenplay and best supporting actress.

But it was "Gravity" that took home the most prizes, a total of seven. Most of the awards were for achievement in the technical department, except for Alfonso Cuaron, who won in the best director category.

Meanwhile, Matthew McConaughey won the best actor award for "Dallas Buyers Club" and Cate Blanchett won the best actress award for "Blue Jasmine."

Check out the full list of nominees and winners (marked in red) below. And let us know if you think the academy got it right.

BEST PICTURE:
* 12 Years a Slave
* American Hustle
* Captain Phillips
* Dallas Buyers Club
* Gravity
* Her
* Nebraska
* Philomena
* The Wolf of Wall Street

DIRECTING:
* Alfonso Cuaron (Gravity)
* David O. Russell (American Hustle)
* Alexander Payne (Nebraska)
* Steve McQueen (12 Years a Slave)
* Martin Scorsese (The Wolf of Wall Street)

ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE:
* Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club)
* Christian Bale (American Hustle)
* Bruce Dern (Nebraska)
* Leonardo DiCaprio (The Wolf of Wall Street)
* Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years a Slave)

ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE:
* Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine)
* Amy Adams (American Hustle)
* Sandra Bullock (Gravity)
* Judi Dench (Philomena)
* Meryl Streep (August: Osage County)

ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE:
* Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club)
* Barkhad Abdi (Captain Phillips)
* Bradley Cooper (American Hustle)
* Michael Fassbender (12 Years a Slave)
* Jonah Hill (The Wolf of Wall Street)

ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE:
* Lupita Nyong'o (12 Years a Slave)
* Sally Hawkins (Blue Jasmine)
* Jennifer Lawrence (American Hustle)
* Julia Roberts (August: Osage County)
* June Squibb (Nebraska)

WRITING (ADAPTED SCREENPLAY):
* John Ridley (12 Years a Slave)
* Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke (Before Midnight)
* Billy Ray (Captain Phillips)
* Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope (Philomena)
* Terence Winter (The Wolf of Wall Street)

WRITING (ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY):
* Spike Jonze (Her)
* Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell (American Hustle)
* Woody Allen (Blue Jasmine)
* Craig Borten and Melisa Wallack (Dallas Buyers Club)
* Bob Nelson (Nebraska)

FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM:
* The Great Beauty (Italy)
* The Broken Circle Breakdown (Belgium)
* The Hunt (Denmark)
* The Missing Picture (Cambodia)
* Omar (Palestine)

ANIMATED FEATURE FILM:
* Frozen
* The Croods
* Despicable Me 2
* Ernest and Celestine
* The Wind Rises

PRODUCTION DESIGN:
* The Great Gatsby
* American Hustle
* Gravity
* Her
* 12 Years a Slave

CINEMATOGRAPHY:
* Emmanuel Lubezki (Gravity)
* Philippe Le Sourd (The Grandmaster)
* Bruno Delbonnel (Inside Llewyn Davis)
* Phedon Papamichael (Nebraska)
* Roger A. Deakins (Prisoners)

COSTUME DESIGN:
* Catherine Martin (The Great Gatsby)
* Michael Wilkinson (American Hustle)
* William Chang Suk Ping (The Grandmaster)
* Michael O'Connor (The Invisible Woman)
* Patricia Norris (12 Years a Slave)

FILM EDITING:
* Alfonso Cuaron and Mark Sanger (Gravity)
* Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers and Alan Baumgarten (American Hustle)
* Christopher Rouse (Captain Phillips)
* John Mac McMurphy and Martin Pensa (Dallas Buyers Club)
* Joe Walker (12 Years a Slave)

DOCUMENTARY (FEATURE):
* 20 Feet from Stardom
* The Act of Killing
* Cutie and the Boxer
* Dirty Wars
* The Square

MAKEUP:
* Adruitha Lee and Robin Mathews (Dallas Buyers Club)
* Stephen Prouty (Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa)
* Joel Harlow and Gloria Pasqua-Casny (The Lone Ranger)

MUSIC (ORIGINAL SCORE):
* Steven Price (Gravity)
* John Williams (The Book Thief)
* William Butler and Owen Pallett (Her)
* Alexandre Desplat (Philomena)
* Thomas Newman (Saving Mr. Banks)

MUSIC (ORIGINAL SONG):
* "Let It Go" - Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez (Frozen)
* "Alone Yet Not Alone" - Bruce Broughton and Dennis Spiegel (Alone Yet Not Alone)
* "Happy" - Pharrell Williams (Despicable Me 2)
* "The Moon Song" - Karen O and Spike Jonze (Her)
* "Ordinary Love" - Paul Hewson, Dave Evans, Adam Clayton and Larry Mullen (Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom)

SOUND MIXING:
* Gravity
* Captain Phillips
* The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
* Inside Llewyn Davis
* Lone Survivor

SOUND EDITING:
* Gravity
* All Is Lost
* Captain Phillips
* The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
* Lone Survivor

VISUAL EFFECTS:
* Gravity
* The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
* Iron Man 3
* The Lone Ranger
* Star Trek Into Darkness

DOCUMENTARY (SHORT SUBJECT):
* The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life
* CaveDigger
* Facing Fear
* Karama Has No Walls
* Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall

SHORT FILM (ANIMATED):
* Mr. Hublot
* Feral
* Get a Horse!
* Possessions
* Room on the Broom

SHORT FILM (LIVE ACTION):
* Helium
* Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn't Me)
* Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just before Losing Everything)
* Pitaako Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?)
* The Voorman Problem

Source: AMPAS


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 56 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Donyae 420 writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 12:47:48 AM

Grimey Halloween should have won best picture.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 12:56:14 AM

Gravity should have won best picture because of how much of a technical achievement it is. 12 yas won over weird white guilt. It is a sh*t movie.
Brody writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 1:13:34 AM

Overall, not a vintage year for film. "Blue is the warmest colour", "Rush", "Blue Jasmine", should have got more recognition. "Elysium" if it wasn't for last 30mins would have beeny favourite film of the year.
PORN-FLY writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 1:25:17 AM

i recognise Adele Exarchopoulos's delicious round tushy
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 1:34:58 AM

Uhm.. Where'd my comment go? Anyways: Lenardo should have won and I find it complete BS that he didn't . He deserved this oscar more then anyone. Don't get me wrong Mathew did a great job but I still think Leanardo deserved it.

Also.. I just noticed if you go back to WP's earlier thread about the Vegas odds for these oscars, ALL the winning bets are the first ones listed. Either that's a huge coincidence or WP went back and altered their page.
John1017 writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 1:37:46 AM

Ouch, not a good run for The Wolf, I'm actually glad the academy didn't recognize a movie glamorizing a person like Jordan Belfort
Patrick Bateman writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 1:40:09 AM

Gravity ost was just a token award to boost up how many oscars the film won owen pallett for her ost easily deserved the award. All these f*ckwits crying that sandra bullock didnt win and its sad cuaron got best director for his worst film. Also the best animated feature film should be called best childrens animated film they dont have a clue about animation which they proved with their clip package of great animated films showing all pixar and a couple of disney films their ignorance to the talent outside their shores is astounding. Also each to their own but McConaughey doing the god tribute was a little depressing after watching true detective I thought he must have instilled some of his own intelligence into the part but obviously not
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 1:53:35 AM

Same old, same old.
boogiel writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 1:59:34 AM

Thank God Hollywood seasonal masturbation is over. What a year for homos and blacks.
30YoVirgin writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 2:38:43 AM

I didn't like 12 Years A Slave. thought it was highly overrated.
30YoVirgin writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 2:39:30 AM

maybe if it was called "12 Years Old A Sex Slave"?
PORN-FLY writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 2:48:27 AM

i124q writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 3:09:54 AM

How the Hell did Gravity win Best Cinematography? It's 90% CGI!
Deckman writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 4:18:33 AM

Fassbender got robbed.
!JB! writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 6:58:02 AM

Marvelous news, VERY happy wolf of f*cking wall street one noting, f*ck you Dicaprio you pompous arrogant c*nt
!JB! writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 7:00:01 AM

Tanman32123 after your comment saying that Dicaprio should have beaten McConaughey, I now know your a complete f*cking fool, a kid with little actual feel for films. You do actually enjoy Bruce Willis films which highlights to me your a complete c*nt.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 8:45:28 AM

That's so cute :) You're adorable JB :)
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 9:30:33 AM

12 years a slave just sounds boring as sh*t!
lawman writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 9:56:09 AM

Maybe I am an idoit and am probably encouraging him, but I CAN'T be the only one who, for some sophmoric reason, finds JB f*cking hilarious!

f*ckin guy is CLEARLY being ignored by Bullit but is holding strong and insults him on almost every thread. Also, I really WISH I lived in England or one of the many other countries in which calling someone a "c*nt" is more prevalent. I find that word alone so f*cking funny.

Say what you will, I am a child, immature, whatever, but when a man calls another man "a piss drenched c*nt", one HAS to appreciate the humor in it on some level.
lawman writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 10:04:53 AM

I have been on this site since 2009 and have a few observations. Before anyone objects, too f*cking bad, I am writing them anyway.


This site has ALWAYS been about the threats and not the news. If anyone comes here for or expecting RECENT movie news, they are a "piss drenched c*nt" (thanks JB).

MINK is and always will be against almost every film and everyone mentioned on here. That being said, the guy is probably the most articulate and learneth one on here. He is either a MASTER of google or truly a cess pool of wortheless knowlege. Either way, a liberal hating, freedom loving, 2nd amendment proponent after my own heart. For this alone I will gladly tolerate his hatred of almost all things.

Where the f*ck in Ranger?

Alex is probably a long d*cked, chick banging stud who does this as a hobby but comes off by the way he rins things here as a MASSIVE dudeopheliac!

Dustin should be replaced with soemeone who actually knows how to review a movie for MEN since this site is predominantly MALE! HIs vagina monologue every so often when he graces us with a review is just over the top fem. I can actually see the period blood stains on his computer chair. They are shaped like a butterfly.

Lastly, this site will not get ANY better so come for the threads or dont come at all.

Dont like this, feel free to let me know and I will lose serious sleep over it.
lawman writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 10:07:30 AM

Oh, and an edit button. A FUCIING EDIT BUTTON. Alex, drop a few dollars on a f*cking person who knows how to put one in here. I kind of complimented you with the long d*ck thing. Get it done!!!
Stapes writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 12:47:01 PM

It's kinda sad when you can predict every single f*cking oscar when without having seen a single one of the movies/performances in question. I've said it before, I'll say it again, The Academy Awards are for celebrities and people with a vagina (I say people and not women exclusively because I can be progressive too!)
warriors187 writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 12:47:10 PM

The only thing that surprised me about last night was the afro american chick winning for 12 years a nagger.
Don't get me wrong, I think she deserved it.

Good rant lawman.
And where the f*ck is Ranger?
Stapes writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 12:48:50 PM

Nevermind an edit button, try getting rid of all the malware, viral infections and pop ups already!
warriors187 writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 12:49:09 PM

@Stapes
Yea, I didn't even watch it. I don't have cable. I tried for about 10 minutes to find it streaming online with no avail.
After being unable to find it I just went back to watching Honey Boo Boo.
Much more entertaining
warriors187 writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 12:50:14 PM

@ Stapes
Yea, I wasn't able to get to this site for over a week.
I could kare less bout a edit button.
lawman writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 12:56:01 PM

The malware actually makes sure I ONLY come on here at work. We have GREAT anti-virus/Malware protection here. Home and on my cell, NOPE! So take the hint Alex. You are losing out on weekend and off hour traffic by not fixing this sh*t!
PORN-FLY writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 1:09:47 PM

13 Years A Slave

goodwon,RAMBO
here ya go
http://www.xnxx.com/video1507611/big_naturals_-_huge_natural_boobs_f*cked_and_bounce_-_part20
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 1:36:36 PM

best WRITING (ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY):
* Spike Jonze (Her)...that movie was just a big wtf? i've never seen it, but the damn previews always kept making me laugh as it was a silly idea to begin with
brigulon13 writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 3:09:41 PM

Stapes, you ignorant slut, your primitive attempt to measure your c*ck on this thread... only shows your ignorance is much larger than any "manhood" you think you have. Looking back at your "posts" or attempts at typing words, only proves, that nobody really gives a sh*t about your opinions. Nor, do they mine. So go continue to try and f*ck YOUrself.

Leto and McConaughey are the only two winners who actually got what they desereved. Their performances were very believable and worth watching the Lifetime movie they are in, for. None of the nominees for Best Picture were worthy of their noms. It's unfortunate foreign films cannot be nominated for best picture. Every single foreign best nominee were wholly better than the 9 noms we got. The Hunt should've won. Mads movie was terrifying.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 3:53:39 PM

I know everyone will be like "Really Sleuth?" But seriously I go online to check out the winners, didn't even bother watching the show, but the first report I find is Lawrence tripping AGAIN!!! Seriously f*ck that woman who is either a complete uncoordinated moron or whatever. I mean thank God she didn't win for another big boob performance.

On a serious note I am happy with the winners even 12 Years a Slave just because, out of the three heavy hitters, it was the most human drama. Gravity was a special effects galore film and American Hustle...well mink you can take it from there. LOL But as pointed out f*ck the awards. It's idiotic who votes for these films anyway. I saw that Jennifer Lopez was a voter and all I all I think was..." What the f*ck does this woman know about good movies?! Besides Selena she has never really done anything of particular merit!!!" The awards is a buddy buddy day. I actually was getting my cable providers switched which was a sign clearly. LOL

P.S. When Lawrence presented the award to MM did she actually say a few words of intelligence or was it still them keeping her talking to a minimum like last year. f*cking cheerleader posing as an artist.

@mink
My violent hatred in this speech was dedicated to you and Deaft0ne. The rant was for you, the wishing death on Lawrence was for Deaft0ne. LOL
greenfreak69 writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 3:55:52 PM

didn't watch the actual broadcast, but looking at the results right now, it appears that this year, the Hollywood Elite's white guilt (12 Years A Slave) and straight guilt (Dallas Buyers Club) trumped their ongoing fascination with sociopathic behavior (Wolf of Wall Street and American Hustle)

if ya'll think it's any more complicated than that, then I have a lovely bridge that I'd like to sell to you fine folks
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 4:05:36 PM

I didn't watch it either Sleuth. As much as I really really wanted to watch this years oscars I just couldn't pass up going to the bar with some friends. Which ended up being worth it, cause these oscars seemed like a Total bullsh*t fest.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 4:12:07 PM

RANGER STOP BANGING EVERY SLUT AND GET THE f*ck BACK ON HERE!! BTW your gave me the ninja!!
lawman writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 4:43:18 PM

CHAD,

You got the House In Virginia from Ranger or his mom?
minkowski writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 4:51:23 PM

@Sleuth: thanks, man. Good to see I can still inspire people to do the right thing.
minkowski writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 4:55:27 PM

@Lawman: I'm, saving your post for posterity, not because you mentioned me but because you took the time to slam the *ssholes who make this place a f*cking drag. You know, the two fags in drag Alex and Dusty.

Best thing I've read on here in ages since Triggax fell back up his mother's c*nt.


Oh, and you should address me as MISTER Worthless Cesspool, SIR, from now on.
Stapes writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 4:59:28 PM

@brigulon
Really man? You were so proud of that sh*tty little attempt at an insult that you copy and pasted it into another thread so that you were certain that I would see it? If you could figure out a way to hang yourself using your own leg, that would be great.
minkowski writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 5:04:03 PM

@Lawman: you're not alone, dude, I've been saying JB's a riot since day one. He cracks me up because it's all so theatric as f*ck and he knows it but other people take it seriously.

@i124q: no sh*t. 99% CGI IMO. No real direction there. Just storyboard the f*ck out of it, tell the VFX people to make every thing go WOOOOOOO! and composite that back on top of some live-action plates of Sandra Bullock PMS'ing and George Loony smirking.




I wonder, and I know no one here can answer this question, except perhaps MustardMayonnaise, what will the studios do when UHQ or better becomes the norm? You know, 8000pixels across? Do they do the CGI in super-duper-ultra-mega resolution? Because film is ATOMIC, analogue, right down to the film's atoms, but CGI is 0s and 1s in a finite resolution.

So when they want to do, say, Frozen in UHQ on BluRay Supreme or whatever they'll call it, how do they handle the fact the film was rendered at a lower resolution? Do they go back and render the whole damned film at a higher resolution?

Maybe I'm missing something.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 5:26:33 PM

They'll figure something out mink. If they can go back and take a movie filmed from some 30's camera and release it with new resolution and and all that crap.. Then I'm sure it won't be much of a problem for newer films when the next technology is invented.
minkowski writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 5:49:49 PM

Anyway, it's been a really bad year for films. I think Hollywood posted record profits, but that's true almost every year.

None of these films did anything for me, although I haven't seen all of all of them yet.

Some have some merit like Nebraska just because it's a unique take on an often ignored and not often discussed issue (dementia), but others like 12 Years a Slave are nothing but liberal elitist masturbation, a movie made for them by them, their very own Passion of the Christ, a film made simply to say "we're so good and virtuous and you're not because you're not us".

It's a sickening, angering, evil thing to see.

Other films were true technical achievements, but not the kind anyone's going to really remember, especially if your work shines in only one venue (IMAX). I'm talking about Gravity which because I saw it on the really small screen underwhelmed because a movie is visual story, and as such it should stand on its own in that regard. It doesn't. It's a very thin and tired story with a thick impasto of explicit CGI. It just doesn't hop up to films like The Godfather or Shawshank, and none of those used an ounce of CGI.

Gravity just isn't 2001, and never will be, no matter how much simulated-reality computer-simulated sh*t Cuaron throws on the screen.

I didn't like Dallas Buyer's Club either and felt the subject matter was chosen merely because it's another paean to an "oppressed minority", in this case gays, even though the main character isn't gay.

Basically the film makes the protagonist into a hero simply because he stood athwart the evil FDA to make illegal HIV drugs available to the bathroom-stall booty-bangers. Basically it's another Passion of the Christ, but instead of Jesus taking a few nails for the sins of humanity, some debauched, depraved pile of sh*t dies to save homosexuals, except of course the guy in question was only trying to help himself.

These are the people Hollywood worships. The slave-savior, the queer-savior. No one else matters, especially if you hail from what they call "the wastelands of flyover country", which is anything between LA and New York.

Captain Phillips blew too. Watching a balding, aging fat Hanks mimic the languid, lackluster motions of some container ship captain wasn't exciting or interesting, and the true story upon which the film is allegedly based isn't exceptional in any way whatsoever. I also didn't care for how the film tried to make the African pirate thugs into sympathetic martyr types who just "want to go to America", but again, that's Hollywood.

Didn't see Her because I refuse to watch Captain Hook Face try to screw software. Maybe that's one for Ranger, but I have limits.

American Hustle was just bad, tawdry and pointless, with Amy Adams tits being the film's only real highlight. Bale doing the sleazebag 70s cliche along with his horrible bad voice (what is it with this guy and sh*tty voices? He's not that good an actor and needs to know it) and lousy attire. The entire film felt like a really bad Tarantino-scripted film directed by Martin Scorsese's doen-syndromed adopted son. Just terrible.

Philomena? Abortion, Catholic Church, we hate religious people because they're nasty hypocrites, or something. Like I need to hear morality tales from the Hollywood pimps of sex, violence and drugs.

Which brings me to The Wolf of Wall Street, which should have finally earned DiCaprio one award among the many the man has truly earned, and I say that because he really has. He does good work, and always has. He went from a androgynous pin-up for prepubescent future fat housewives to a storied, talent-stacked understudy of Scorsese. He's earned some acclaim, and yet fails to get it no matter what he does. Maybe it's the Scorsese thing. Maybe he needs to go out on a limb and play a slavetrader in a Tarantino film...oh, he already did that. Well, hell, then I don't what's his deal. f*ck Hollywood anyway.




If there was one movie this past year that moved me to more than a dump, it was Lone Survivor, which fully compelled me to actually skip through its many harrowing scenes due to excessively intense depictions of full-on combat.

Sure, the film feels emotionally contrived, and more than a few actual facts don't jive with the plot, and sure none of the characters weren't realistically painted, and yes Berg's camera work feels like it was screen-captured from Call of Duty: Modern Warfare, but the fact the film drove nails into my spine as those terrified men were hunted down to extinction made me feel a f*ck load more than all the Oscar's nominations and wins combined, which sure as f*ck isn't saying much.



Bad year for film, and a hearty "f*ck you" to Hollywood.
minkowski writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 5:53:52 PM

@Tanman: yes, but film can be scanned to a nearly arbitrary resolution, down to the atoms really.

On the other hand when you render out something on the computer, you get an absolutely fixed resolution. You can't upsample it either. so that's an issue. Plus there's no given way to store digital material for a hundred years like you can with film, which lasts almost forever, celluloid* or not. Sure, they have archival quality DVDs, but they really don't last much beyond 25 years and are still susceptible to thermal variants, moisture and fire.



*celluloid is highly flammable, IIRC, and has been the cause of a number of film vault fires, which are responsible for many of the now "lost" films.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 6:05:07 PM

@mink
What is upsetting is people are so busy trying to prove a point they forget to add merit or substance to the topic. It's too one-sided. And, in the case of director's like Russell, there is no moral line which makes it impossible to understand those different sides. Like I always said, Lawrence plays the same evil bitch in every film yet he tries to have us root for her. Films are more about getting down to brass tax now then telling a fully formed story based partially on real life. We're too sheltered and lack experience to fuel the effect of the film. DiCarpio is a perfect example and why him an Scorcese make such amazing films. DiCaprio was a regular guy and Scorcese grew up in Hell's Kitchen or something. We need people who have lived life and experienced the good and bad of it. Until we rediscover that film will never be the same again. And it's heartbreaking.
wavelength writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 6:21:56 PM

The best part of the Oscars was The Iron Sheik's live tweeting during the program.
minkowski writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 6:27:15 PM

@Sleuth: I'll make you a deal. You buy me a dual hexacore iCore7 computer with double Nvidia Quadro 5000s, 64 gigs of ram and a Wacom Cintiq and I'll murder Jennifer Lawrence with a plastic McDonald's knife. I'll throw in the lurid full-color crime scene photos and five-hour rape video for free.*



*this post is mere satire with no actual intent. It is not a reflection of contemplation of planning of a premeditated murder. No c*nty, elitist, liberal, leftard hypocritical and delusional Hollywood performers were harmed (unfortunately) during the making of this post.

Copyright MMXIV
minkowski writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 6:31:15 PM

Twenty bucks to whoever can tell me what's wrong with this scene (not just the writing, either):

Stapes writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 6:49:35 PM

You mean besides the fact that it's Macfarline's failed attempt to inject depth into one of the sh*ttiest and most derivative comic book characters ever created by showcasing marvel and DC characters giving over their strengths to Spawn?
minkowski writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 6:56:01 PM

Ah, well, no although I certainly welcome your bargain-basement cynicism.


No, what doesn't fit is the fact the entire panel talks about heroes, and only heroes, and yet Joker, Doc Ock and (I think) Dr. Doom are behind bars with the likes of Superman and Thor. Strange. It's like the guy writing the panel didn't know what the artist was drawing. Or vice versa.


And since you seem to know what happens in this scene, you've read the comics, and since this scene comes much later in the series, that means you stayed with it. Now would you do that if you hate it as much you imply?






Anywho, my apologies for the digression. Back to the gloriously sh*tty Oscars and all the ugly, impotent films of this year's award season.
Stapes writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 7:50:01 PM

Well, mink, the writer of that panel and the artists are the same man. And the fact that you don't understand that any truly good villain is not so disparate from a hero in terms of storytelling especially in comic books is not surprising given a narcissistic sociopaths detached and unrelatable view or understanding of humanity, so yes, back to the topic at hand following your typically retarded post.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 8:00:05 PM

@mink
The way she walks she'll be dead on her own. LOL And that was a very cool comic strip, really illustrates the point I was discussing. Fact is, as long as we keep half-adding everything we will never be at our full potential and in doing so we keep lowering those standards throughout generations. People are really bad at thinking about the ramifications of their actions long-term. We are so civil rights conscious we forget to be conscious about the other aspects just so we can justify every possible lifestyle without knowing how to live right among people.
minkowski writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 8:44:30 PM

Yeah, right Stapes. A mass-murdering psycho in your world is a champion, a crusader, a noble hero. lol. But you're not the least bit nuts are you. No wonder who did well murdering brown-skinned foreigners. Probably more than a little evil in you, eh?




As for who wrote what, I'm not sure. Todd did his own artwork and writing very early on, but left to do other things during many of the issues between #8 and #21.

For example:

Spawn was launched in 1992 with McFarlane as artist/writer for the first 7 issues. Guest writers Alan Moore, Neil Gaiman, Dave Sim and Frank Miller were brought on for issues 8 to 11 (respectively) while McFarlane continued as the artist. In order to concentrate on the 1994 Spawn/Batman crossover (with Miller writing), he brought on Grant Morrison (as writer) and Greg Capullo (penciller) from issues #16-#18. Then Andrew Grossberg and Tom Orzechowski took over writing issues No. 19 and 20 with Capullo still penciling. McFarlane returned as writer/artist for issue 21 and remained so until issue 24. Greg Capullo took over as pencil artist with issue 26, McFarlane remained writer and inker on the book until issue 70.



So that shows what you know, which of course is near zero because you're an ignorant, angry, hateful retard as usual.

Anywho, not sure what issue had the aforementioned panel, but it certainly looks like the writer didn't know what the artist was doing, or else Joker and the others wouldn't be back behind the bars with the noble, heroic, just champions.

Just my observation.
minkowski writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 8:46:11 PM

@Sleuth: you're telling me, and I agree, but you should tell those celebutard half-wits in Hollywood. Seems they don't know the difference between vice and virtue these days and would probably laugh at such a "quaint" notion.
minkowski writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 8:46:51 PM

-who +you.
Stapes writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 9:12:03 PM

Must really eat you up, mink that your intellectual better has actually lived a life while are apparently still waiting to start yours. You remind me a quote "to any troll with sufficient access to wikipedia will appear as intelligent."to that's you, sh*tbird. I pity pathetic losers like you, mink, grown men with no grasp on reality, that have failed to accomplish anything in life due to their inherent cowardice and whose only recourse at validation is living a delusional life of trolling on the internet. You medal for worlds tallest dwarf is in the mail.
minkowski writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 9:39:18 PM

Yadda yadda yadda.

Your incessant, boundless hate for me tells the truth, dude. It tells people on here who feels what for whom.

Me? I just pity you because you're a broken, sad, angry little man using the virtual representation of a person you don't know as a release valve for all your poisonous, caustic self-loathing.

Have fun the heart attack it gives you, too.



minkowski writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 9:40:41 PM

*with.

Even pencils have erasers, Alex, although I'm sure Stapes eats his.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved