WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Hugh Jackman Discusses Being Replaced as Wolverine

Posted: March 2nd, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Hugh Jackman Discusses Being Replaced as WolverineSubmit Comment
While promoting "X-Men: Days of Future Past," Hugh Jackman spoke to IGN about the day when the studio hires another actor to replace him as Wolverine.

"I'm sure they had the discussion. They didn't mention it to me, obviously," he said, laughing. "Look, that's inevitable. Anyone who thinks they're indispensable in this business is fooling themselves. But I feel unbelievably blessed to have this part. I never thought in a million years I'd get to play him seven times. Every day I walk on the set with the claws and the hair, I thank my lucky stars. I don't take any of it for granted."

Jackman continued: "To think that in a second version we'd have this cast and this director, and you guys don't know the script, but I would say probably the best script of all of them. It's pretty amazing. I think that's why I'm still here. I'm sure it won't always be my decision to always be here. At some point, someone will close the door on me."

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 10:38:16 AM

After a 3rd solo Wolverine film and X-Men:Apocalypse, it will be time for Karl Urban to take over.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 11:13:19 AM

Karl urban doesn't have the physique nor the box office draw.he looks very European as well
bandolero999 writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 11:13:35 AM

He looks more like a Viking
Patrick Bateman writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 12:05:02 PM

yer he's played a viking a couple of times ha
bandolero999 writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 12:30:19 PM

Pathfinder
vincere01 writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 12:32:50 PM

@bando

Jackman had zero draw on first xmen. In fact he was an unknown. His first american film. Turned out pretty well.

Id argue that urban is at least 10 times more well known today than jackman was then. Hes got several popular films under his belt including the very successful star trek reboot that features him prominently. As well as a moderate tv hit in almost human.

Plus its always better to go with a moderate celeb to unknown actors for parts like this. Gotta get lost into believing they are the charqcters. No one would believe george clooney as an xmen for instance
vincere01 writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 12:38:55 PM

In topic,

This interview was conducted last summer. He has already updated his opinions on tge subject since then so this is interesting but obsolete.

Just as he said in the full interview, ask him again once the film is done and hes beat yo hell. His answer got a bit different.

Hes still open to continuing as wolverine but he is alot more realistic in how is age will impact the role. As in how much longer and harder he will have to train for a new film.

hes weighing that against the quality of the story and script he gets. He said he wont do another and commit to that regimen again unless its something he cant pass up.

So its up to fox to not rush things for a quick buck and to prove to hugh that the commitment will be justified.

Also if I were bryan singer. Id plan out to shoot the next two films involving wolverine to be shot back to back. And make it a swan song for jackman in the role. Sew up the story for him and have him go out right.

Chances are that will be his last films due to age.
PORN-FLY writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 1:01:32 PM

Wolverine: Old Man Logan
vincere01 writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 2:46:45 PM

@porn

I think they are incorporating some of that into days of futures past. So that could be the direction they are going.

Acknowledging his age as adapting to it for his final few films would be the smart thing to do.just hope they dont go expendables route and play it up too much and make it cheesy.

Jackman deserves to close out his wolverine career on a high note. Hell if done perfect jackman has the talent to win an oscar playing a superhero
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 2:51:52 PM

He's going to be very hard to replace. Love his acting though
BlackDynamite writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 3:00:15 PM

How about we close the door on Wolverine in general.

Fox seriously cannot make a single X-Men related movie without finding a way to make Wolverine either the central character or the most memorable one.
minkowski writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 3:44:21 PM

I like Jackman's attitude. He's happy to have the work and doesn't look down on it at all. He knows he's lucky. Now if more of the spoiled c*nts of Hollywood could learn to appreciate and emulate that attitude, we'd all be better off.
ollos1986 writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 6:11:09 PM

After meeting Hugh jackman a few times I know that he deserved every moment playing the wolverine and he did do a great job.
He is right about being replaced one day but not for a few more years.
I reckon he has at least 3 more movies he can do, if the right stories come along
KillerCOck writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 6:46:54 PM

He shouldn't have had this chance. He was very damn lucky.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 11:29:57 PM

The cool thing about Jackman's Wolverine is that he already has a proven himself a good box office draw very separately without his Wolverine movies...it'd be an easy transition.

The fact that he puts his body thru hell for every Wolverine movie is a testament to the love he has for the character...you really can't ask for anything more.

The replacement will have big shoes to fill. Having said that, I think there needs to be a different actor that will take the character to its more animalistic, gritty & darker path closer to the source material...I have never known the character to be a tall, pretty-boy being so well articulated...
TheSkippySpartan writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 1:26:16 AM

Well said Mink
sedibus writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 2:04:49 AM

mink and porn won this thread, Jackman can be Wolverine till they decide to make Old Man Logan into a movie, Mark Millar is a great writer and that book was just plain amazing.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved