WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Stan Lee Says Marvel's "Black Panther" is Happening
Sep 2nd, 2014
New Trailer for Luke Evans' "Dracula Untold" Arrives Online
Sep 2nd, 2014
"24" Movie May Still Happen
Sep 2nd, 2014
First Look at Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Sep 1st, 2014
Why Joaquin Phoenix May Pass on "Doctor Strange" Offer
Sep 1st, 2014
Video: Elsa From "Frozen" in "Once Upon a Time" TV Series
Sep 1st, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Remains First at Box Office, New Releases Underperform
Aug 31st, 2014
Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014
Aug 31st, 2014
Michael Bay Developing "Cosmic Motors" Futuristic Car Film, Based on Art Book
Aug 31st, 2014
Trailer for "Exists" Bigfoot Horror Film, From "The Blair Witch Project" Director
Aug 31st, 2014
First Look at Christoph Waltz and Margo Robbie in "Tarzan," From "Harry Potter" Director
Aug 30th, 2014
New Photos of Henry Cavill as Clark Kent on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Aug 30th, 2014
First Look: Stan Lee in Kevin Smith's "Yoga Hosers"
Aug 30th, 2014
First Clip From Pixar's "Lava" Short Film
Aug 30th, 2014
Wesley Snipes to Return For "Blade 4"?
Aug 30th, 2014
Liam Neeson Wants to Return as Ra's al Ghul For "Arrow" TV Series
Aug 30th, 2014
What Happens to Jimmy Olsen in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 29th, 2014
Harrison Ford is Feeling Better, "Star Wars: Episode VII" Resumes Filming
Aug 29th, 2014
Ben Kingsley Wants to Return as The Mandarin in "Iron Man 4"
Aug 29th, 2014
Hilary Swank Battles ALS in "You're Not You" Trailer
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Rewrite" Comedy, with Hugh Grant and Marisa Tomei
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Scribbler" Comic Book Film
Aug 29th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Answers If Hawkeye Will Die in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Daily Show" host Jon Stewart's "Rosewater" Film
Aug 29th, 2014
New Trailer for Jeff Bridges' "Seventh Son" Fantasy Film
Aug 29th, 2014
"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America
Aug 28th, 2014
First Photos of Doctor Doom From "Fantastic Four" Leaked Online?
Aug 28th, 2014
"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died
Aug 28th, 2014
"Underworld" Franchise is Being Rebooted
Aug 28th, 2014
"Pacific Rim" Star Charlie Hunnam May Star in "King Arthur"
Aug 28th, 2014
Three New Photos From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 28th, 2014
"Cops" Cameraman Killed While Filming TV Show
Aug 28th, 2014
"Looney Tunes" Movie Gets Steve Carell and "X-Men: First Class" Writers
Aug 27th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

2014 Razzie Winners Announced!

Posted: March 2nd, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
2014 Razzie Winners Announced!Submit Comment
Right before the Academy Awards announces its winners, the 34th Annual Razzie Awards has unveiled the list of its own winners for the worst achievement in film for 2013.

Taking the prize for the Worst Picture of the year is "Movie 43," beating out such films as "After Earth," "Grown Ups 2," "The Lone Ranger" and "A Madea Christmas." The movie also won for Worst Director and Worst Screenplay.

The theme of this year's Razzies focused on the Smith family, with Jaden Smith winning Worst Actor and Will Smith winning for Worst Supporting Actor for "After Earth." The father-son team also won in the Worst Screen Combo category.

The only good news is that Adam Sandler and his "Grown Ups 2" went some how ignored, despite dominating the awards show for two straight years.

Check out the full list of nominees and winners (in red) below.

WORST PICTURE:
* Movie 43
* After Earth
* Grown Ups 2
* The Lone Ranger
* A Madea Christmas

WORST ACTOR:
* Jaden Smith (After Earth)
* Johnny Depp (The Lone Ranger)
* Ashton Kutcher (Jobs)
* Adam Sandler (Grown Ups 2)
* Sylvester Stallone (Bullet To The Head, Escape Plan, Grudge Match)

WORST ACTRESS:
* Tyler Perry (A Madea Christmas)
* Halle Berry (Movie 43, The Call)
* Selena Gomez (Getaway)
* Lindsay Lohan (The Canyons)
* Naomi Watts (Diana, Movie 43)

WORST SUPPORTING ACTRESS:
* Kim Kardashian (Tyler Perry's Temptation)
* Lady Gaga (Machete Kills)
* Salma Hayek (Grown Ups 2)
* Katherine Heigl (The Big Wedding)
* Lindsay Lohan (In-App-Propriate Comedy, Scary Movie 5)

WORST SUPPORTING ACTOR:
* Will Smith (After Earth)
* Chris Brown (Battle Of The Year)
* Larry the Cable Guy (A Madea Christmas)
* Taylor Lautner (Grown Ups 2)
* Nick Swardson (A Haunted House, Grown Ups 2)

WORST DIRECTOR:
* The 13 People Who Directed Movie 43
* Dennis Dugan (Grown Ups 2)
* Tyler Perry (A Madea Christmas, Temptation)
* M. Night Shyamalan (After Earth)
* Gore Verbinski (The Lone Ranger)

WORST SCREEN COMBO:
* Jaden Smith and Will Smith on Planet Nepotism (After Earth)
* The Entire Cast of Groan-Ups, Too
* The Entire Cast of Movie 43
* Lindsay Lohan and Charlie Sheen (Scary Movie 5)
* Tyler Perry and EITHER Larry the Cable Guy OR That Worn-Out Wig and Dress (A Madea Christmas)

WORST SCREENPLAY:
* Movie 43
* After Earth
* Grown Ups 2
* The Lone Ranger
* A Madea Christmas

WORST REMAKE, RIP-OFF or SEQUEL:
* The Lone Ranger
* Grown Ups 2
* Hangover III
* Scary Movie 5
* Smurfs 2

Source: Razzie Awards


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
FrancoUnAmerican writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 8:19:13 AM

I haven't seen it but I doubt The Lone Ranger was worse than those other films nominated for worst rip-off, remake or sequel, Scary Movie 5 & Grown Ups 2 were just... f*cking torture.
Stapes writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 9:56:15 AM

Surely The Lone Ranger wasnt THAT bad.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 10:42:53 AM

Movie 43 was amusing like The Kentucky Fried Movie and deliberately bad like other sketch films. A lot of it is hilarious.

The madea movies are piles of sh*t and should take all the Razzies.
AngryAngel writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 10:46:29 AM

I thought movie 43 was great. Mainly because it was seperate, and unique from most Hollywood trash. The ideas were original and it made me laugh. I think after earth better fit the Razzie definition.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 11:12:00 AM

Poor sly he tries so hard.
Crambo writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 11:34:44 AM

f*ck Jaden smith.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 11:46:58 AM

the whole frat scenes in grown ups 2 was just god awful...not every one that goes to college is a dumb drunken jock going whawhaWHAT?...that's where i'm like yea you don't impress me taylor lautner
PORN-FLY writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 12:09:01 PM

Im glad they have Lone Ranger up there

niggaz need to know how to treat an iconic western crime fighter with respect

worst remake needs its own category
vincere01 writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 12:27:13 PM

How about oscar winners???

Heres my predictions.

Best film- 12 years a slave(unworthy but it will happen)
Best director- alfonso curaon

Best actor- Leo(my risky pick, but I smell the academy giving it to him as much for wolf as it is for all the films he didnt get it, its a make up pick folks)

Best actress- cate blanchet(really the only sure thing this year)

Best supporting actor- jared leto

Best supporting actress- that lupita girl from 12YAS

Best original screenplay- her

Best makeup- im gonna say bad grandpa,and I just threw up

Best special effects- gravity

Best costume- great gatsby

Best original song- the frozen one

Best cinematography- gravity

Best animated- frozen(also close to a sure thing)

Best adapted screenplay- 12yas

Deaft0ne writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 12:39:55 PM

Gravity will win best vfx, editing, cinematography, sound&sound editing, and best director.

Best picture will be American Hustle

Best original screenplay - Her

Best adapted screenplay - Wolf of Wall St.

Best Actor - Matthew Mconaughey

Best Supp Actor - Jared Leto

Best Actress - Cate Blanchett

Best Supp Actress - Nupita Nyongo or Jennifer Lawrence. It could go either way.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 2:55:44 PM

I'm way to lazy to write out my picks lol What time do they start announcing winners? Is the walking dead playing at the same time? Cause that's gonna suck lol
BlackDynamite writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 3:05:15 PM

Lone Ranger wasn't that bad, and for the most part, neither was Hangover 3, compared to the rest of the movies in the "Worst Remake or Sequel" category.
BlackDynamite writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 3:07:05 PM

Movie 43 deserved to win those Razzies. Yes it might have been "unique", but it was also stupid, largely unfunny, and gave way for people to think it was okay to make similar movies ("In-APP-propriate Comedy" and "Dirty Movie", both of which I have unfortunately seen)
minkowski writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 3:42:18 PM

I find it funny people are saying Will Smith is guilty of nepotism even though Jaden held his own in The Karate Kid, a film the critics seemed to love. And his acting was no worse in After Earth, either.

Methinks people just like being on the Scientology/M Night bandwagon of bashing.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 5:29:18 PM

I am happy with the list of winners. Most if what I voted for won.

@mink as you know "karate kid" was a project just to get Jaden Smith's name out there, then he got really over exposed so people hating "after earth" is the backlash for that and not about Scientology, but of course I could be wrong.
minkowski writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 5:39:08 PM

^^Dunno, I read from more than a few critics that After Earth is brimming with Scientological concepts, although I didn't see many good examples. Some said even the way Jaden's character "genuflected" was an nod to Scientology. I didn't see that either, although I admit I know little of the cul...errr, I mean religion.

Anyway, what I meant is this: The Razzies are saying Jaden is the worst actor, and I don't disagree per se, but I do say he did no worst than his role in The Karate Kid, and these very same people ate that one up. So there's a problem with consistency, unless these people aren't being objective and judging one performance, and the performance only, against another.

To be honest and fair, I thought Smith's performance was worse than Jaden's, simply because the former spent most of his time drowsily looking at a screen or yelling ridiculously.


Having said all that, After Earth certainly isn't the worst movie ever made or the worst that year, although going in with lowered expectations always helps and the movie does play fast and loose with a lot of ideas and doesn't really make much sense, but then that could said for 90% of what Hollywood pumps out these days.
minkowski writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 5:45:30 PM

From another article:

@Deaftone: The Hulk isn't based on The Thing, he's based on Frankenstein and Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, obviously. Stan Lee even said as much.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hulk_%28comics%29#Concept_and_creation
Stapes writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 6:10:08 PM

Seriously, mink? From another article? Who gives a sh*t about being corrected about something they said god knows when and about the obvious inspirations for the hulk, I'll go one step further and correct your correction by saying that you left out that the hulk character was targeted at teenagers going through puberty. I know this because 1. I'm not an idiot and 2. Lee said so to my face when I interviewed him 10 years ago.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 6:29:12 PM

@mink

I know what you mean. "After Earth" was definitely not the worst film of the year and luckily did not win that.
But to give Jaden the "worst actor" is stupid, I hated "karate kid" with a passion but as in that year there were much worse actors.
Yes Smith's performance was bad but I know that some of "the Razzie" voters just voted for him "just because".
I personally thought that Tyler Perry's "Temptation" was the worst film of the year along with Hansel & Gretal" the lead woman in "Temptation" as worse actress with the supporting actor to Robbie Jones, but hey...what do I know.

What I didn't get with "After Earth" was the beast sense need emotions but why was Will Smith's character emotionless all the time....weird.
minkowski writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 6:47:41 PM

lol. And the insane mind of Stapes rears it's ugly head.

Whatever.

In 1974, Stan Lee wrote a book called Origins of Marvel Comics:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/862485.Origins_of_Marvel_Comics

...in which he wrote:

It was patently apparent that [the monstrous character the] Thing was the most popular character in [Marvel's recently created superhero team the] Fantastic Four.... For a long time I'd been aware of the fact that people were more likely to favor someone who was less than perfect.... It's a safe bet that you remember Quasimodo, but how easily can you name any of the heroic, handsomer, more glamorous characters in The Hunchback of Notre Dame? And then there's Frankenstein... I've always had a soft spot in my heart for the Frankenstein monster. No one could ever convince me that he was the bad guy.... He never wanted to hurt anyone; he merely groped his torturous way through a second life trying to defend himself, trying to come to terms with those who sought to destroy him. ... I decided I might as well borrow from Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde as well our protagonist would constantly change from his normal identity to his superhuman alter ego and back again.

LOL

So what will people believe? What Stan Lee wrote in his very own book FORTY years ago, or what some deranged, delusional, insane angry, alcoholic loser writes on WorstPreviews?
minkowski writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 6:57:41 PM

@Dave: the thing I didn't understand was how they portrayed Earth. What happened? Jaden and Will are some thousand years in the future and yet, when they return, it's a weird place with giant eagles, bizarre freezing/thawing and some silly monster. Where'd all the people go? How'd they so easily forget where Earth was located? Why was there no apparent artifacts of mankind? How'd everyone die? How'd they colonize another planet and yet leave behind nothing that would indicate an ability to even launch a satellite?

The film doesn't make much sense. It reads like a L. Ron Hubbard version of a tale from Narnia.

Also, the name Cypher Rage is just comical and I cannot believe they went with that one over something more mundane.

But what you said about the other films makes sense, even though I haven't seen them, mostly because Tyler Perry's performances in anything are always horrible, even in Star Trek Into Darkness, so how he failed to trump Jaden's mediocre acting, considering Perry's poor, jarring imitation of Eddie Murphy's prosthetic cross-dressing, I've no clue.

Movie 43 probably should have swept the board, because that one is just godf*ckingawful, even compared to After Earth.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 7:40:48 PM

@mink

I have always been aware of the parallels between Jekyll/Hyde and The Hulk but it also seemed to me that Ben Grimm/The Thing, having first appeared about a year before The Hulk also had an influence on the character. Normal guy turns into a giant man-monster but are just different colors and textures.

Quasimodo was ALWAYS deformed and Dr. Frankenstein built his monster and Mr. Hyde was not a giant after his transformation and actually gets smaller than when he is Dr. Jekyll.

Additionally, neither The Thing or The Hulk are evil or insane like Mr. Hyde.

But if Stan Lee says they influenced the characters then the cause of the monster seems the most obvious and not the smaller details.
minkowski writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 8:46:22 PM

@Deaftone: I was just yanking your chain, which is something you seem to enjoy in the name of alleviating boredom.

But yeah, okay. The Thing. It came out one year before. In all likelihood, it prompted Lee to make The Hulk and he used Frankenstein and whatnot as personality influences and templates. I can see why he'd say what I posted. Not like he's going to say, "yeah I saw this character called The Thing and I decided to steal that idea and color him green".

You know, they say a magician never reveals his secrets, and that's true for all other artists as well.

Anyway, it's all just speculation without facts, just like whether or not Hooper directed all or most of Poltergeist. People say no, people say yes, but the facts are we, the little people, don't really know because we only have the facts we have, and those are often ambiguous and conflicting.



But hey, at least you didn't try to reiterate Stupes' claim he sucked Stan Lee off in a public pay toilet and Lee told him he made the character for angst-ridden teenagers, because that would contradict what Lee publicly wrote in his own book way back in 1974.





One naturally wonders if Stan Lee is a pathological liar...
minkowski writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 8:48:33 PM

"Additionally, neither The Thing or The Hulk are evil or insane like Mr. Hyde."



The Hulk is most often very insane, although in a more controlled, dramatic and useful way, and when I first saw the character, I immediately thought Lee et all were simply recycling the Jekyll/Hyde persona, even down to the shabby, torn attire.
vincere01 writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 9:38:18 PM

So far my predictions were right, outside of makeup
minkowski writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 9:47:35 PM

You people are actually watching the Oscars? Really?
minkowski writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 9:48:54 PM

Hell, I'm reading up on Ukrainian and Crimean history and you folks are watching cokeheads and whores receive awards for being talented cokeheads and whores.

I should have been born and raised in Britain...
mpiper821 writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 10:54:06 PM

And yet you waste your time watching that garbage created by those cokeheads and whores?
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 2nd, 2014 at 11:30:40 PM

Well I was wrong on best adapted screenplay because 12 yas took it. I am glad to see Spike Jonze win best original screenplay for her because the film does have great dialogue.

The final 4 awards are up next..
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 12:07:32 AM

12 yas got bp. Not Amer Hustle. That film was shut out entirely much to the delight of sleuth.

But Blanchett&Matt got best actress and actor and Al Cuaron got best director.
boogiel writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 12:09:14 AM

12 years of slave won the oscar. Wow, what a year for gays and blacks.
PORN-FLY writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 12:20:58 AM

DEAF doesnt really give a crap 'bout the Oscars
he's just glad to have clear reception
x)
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 3rd, 2014 at 12:27:40 AM

@pornfly

Lmao you have a hell of a memory because I did say a few times before that abc comes in terribly over my antenna here. I always watch Agents of SHIELD the next day on hulu+.

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"Sin City 2" Bombs at Box Office, "Guardians of the Galaxy" Smashing Records

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

"Sin City 2" is a Box Office Disaster

New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Story Details Revealed

Bruce Wayne Enjoys MMA Fights in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved