WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Las Vegas Betting That "12 Years a Slave" Will Win Best Picture Oscar

Posted: February 27th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Las Vegas Betting That "12 Years a Slave" Will Win Best Picture OscarSubmit Comment
Oscars are set to take place this Sunday night. And just like every year, everyone wants to know who will take home Hollywood's greatest honor. Because of this, Las Vegas opened up bets and the results are in.

It seems that the worst odds of the entire awards show are held by "Nebraska" and "Philomena," while "12 Years a Slave" has the best odds of winning Best Picture, Matthew McConaughey of winning Best Actor and Cate Blanchett of winning Best Actress.

Take a look at the list below to see the results for each category. Other non-listed categories include whether the same film will win Best Picture and Best Director (Odds favor "No") and whether Pharrell will wear his mountain hat (Odds favor "Yes").

BEST PICTURE:
* 12 Years a Slave - 2/11
* Gravity - 4/1
* American Hustle - 15/1
* The Dallas Buyers Club - 20/1
* The Wolf of Wall Street - 35/1
* Captain Phillips - 150/1
* Her - 150/1
* Nebraska - 200/1
* Philomena - 200/1

DIRECTING:
* Alfonso Cuaron (Gravity) - 1/20
* Steve McQueen (12 Years a Slave) - 7/1
* David O. Russell (American Hustle) - 25/1
* Martin Scorsese (The Wolf of Wall Street) - 40/1
* Alexander Payne (Nebraska) - 100/1

ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE:
* Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club) - 1/5
* Leonardo DiCaprio (The Wolf of Wall Street) - 5/1
* Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years a Slave) - 6/1
* Bruce Dern (Nebraska) - 40/1
* Christian Bale (American Hustle) - 75/1

ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE:
* Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine) - 1/30
* Amy Adams (American Hustle) - 12/1
* Sandra Bullock (Gravity) - 15/1
* Judi Dench (Philomena) - 35/1
* Meryl Streep (August: Osage County) - 40/1

ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE:
* Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club) - 1/10
* Michael Fassbender (12 Years a Slave) - 9/1
* Barkhad Abdi (Captain Phillips) - 10/1
* Jonah Hill (The Wolf of Wall Street) - 22/1
* Bradley Cooper (American Hustle) - 45/1

ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE:
* Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years a Slave) - 4/7
* Jennifer Lawrence (American Hustle) - 5/4
* June Squibb (Nebraska) - 33/1
* Julia Roberts (August: Osage County) - 40/1
* Sally Hawkins (Blue Jasmine) - 40/1

WRITING (ADAPTED SCREENPLAY):
* 12 Years a Slave - 1/7
* Philomena - 7/1
* Before Midnight - 21/2
* Captain Phillips - 15/1
* The Wolf of Wall Street - 18/1

WRITING (ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY):
* Her - 5/7
* American Hustle - 6/5
* Dallas Buyers Club - 15/1
* Blue Jasmine - 20/1
* Nebraska - 20/1

FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM:
* The Great Beauty (ITA) - 1/4
* The Hunt (DEN) - 7/2
* The Broken Circle Breakdown (BEL) - 13/2
* Omar (PLE) - 33/1
* The Missing Picture (CAM) - 50/1

ANIMATED FEATURE FILM:
* Frozen - 1/30
* The Croods - 7/1
* Despicable Me 2 - 7/1
* Ernest and Celestine - 7/1
* The Wind Rises - 7/1

PRODUCTION DESIGN:
* The Great Gatsby - 4/7
* Gravity - 7/4
* 12 Years a Slave - 6/1
* Her - 25/1
* American Hustle - 40/1

CINEMATOGRAPHY:
* Gravity - 1/100
* Inside Llewyn Davis - 15/1
* Nebraska - 20/1
* Prisoners - 50/1
* The Grandmaster - 50/1

FILM EDITING:
* Gravity - 1/3
* Captain Phillips - 2/1
* 12 Years a Slave - 15/1
* American Hustle - 20/1
* Dallas Buyers Club - 50/1

DOCUMENTARY (FEATURE):
* The Act of Killing - 1/2
* 20 Feet from Stardo - 3/2
* The Square - 10/1
* Dirty Wars - 30/1
* Cutie and the Boxer - 50/1

MAKEUP:
* Dallas Buyers Club - 1/100
* Jackass Presents Bad Grampa - 15/1
* The Lone Ranger - 20/1

MUSIC (ORIGINAL SCORE):
* Steven Price (Gravity) - 1/7
* John Williams (The Book Thief) - 13/4
* William Butler and Owen Pallett (Her) - 13/4
* Alexandre Desplat (Philomena) - 13/4
* Thomas Newman (Saving Mr. Banks) - 13/4

MUSIC (ORIGINAL SONG):
* "Let It Go" from Frozen - 1/6
* "Happy" from Despicable Me 2 - 6/1
* "Ordinary Love" from Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom - 6/1
* "The Moon Song" from Her - 33/1

VISUAL EFFECTS:
* Gravity - 1/50
* The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug - 8/1
* Iron Man 3 - 8/1
* The Lone Ranger - 8/1
* Star Trek Into Darkness - 8/1

Source: Bovada


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 7:01:01 AM

Some decent odds here. I can't believe they're so high on The wolf of wall street for Best picture. I think it's got a damn good chance of winning. If I lived near Vegas, I swear I'd drop $50 on it winning. 35/1 is great odds for that.

Also, Leanardo better f*cking win his Oscar damn it. Man deserves it. His performance was excellent.
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 7:05:02 AM

Interesting stat: If you put $20 on The wolf of wall street to win on ALL nominated Categories it's in, the lowest result you would get is your money back. And I think it has a damn good chance of winning at least one of those categories.

I'm gonna keep my eyes on this and see if I would have won some money haha
boogiel writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 8:09:00 AM

They start betting already?? What an exciting awards season. So, who else can't wait for the MTV Movie Awards in April?
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 9:49:10 AM

Always bet on black. That's what John Cutter would do.
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 10:10:39 AM

Um...isn't that eleven supposed to be a one? As in 2 to 1, and not 2 to 11?
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 10:47:04 AM

What ever happened to that Dustin Putman biopic? You know, 12 d*cks a Day?
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 11:30:21 AM

Mink- He makes several mistakes if you look close enough lol
vincere01 writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 11:50:55 AM

Saw 12 years a slave. No f*cking way does that movie deserve best picture. I get the material it is based upon, but it goes above and beyond will its message.

This just screams manipulative unnecessary movie. This type of message film has been done, and done alot better over the years. We did not need another version.

Films like Glory handled the slave/racism much better and the performences were miles better.

Denzel, freeman, braughter, and broderick all gave oscar nomination worthy performences and some even won. Hell even carey elwes had a good showing too.

Outside of seeing fassbenders performence this film has brought nothing new to the discussion. It is the very definition of oscar bait for the sake of oscar bait.

Films like schindlers list were pivotal, provocative, fresh takes on the tragedies of this worlds past mistakes. That brought something new to the table, put the issue on the screen for all to see. That film meant something and deserved to win those awards.

I just cant fathom why this film is getting so much attention, so much praise. Its an average to above average movie, no more. I feel its attempt at social commentary and its subject matter are giving this film undue status amongst the years top films.

If this movie were about how in europe all the royal families had their own private slave forces and was told by a white persons point of view it would not get this much undue praise.

If the movie was oscar worthy id be fine with it but its not. Im just starting to get sick of the incredibly unfair system that commends people and films because people are too afraid of being called racist for not toeing the line.
vincere01 writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 11:59:12 AM

Im gonna make a movie about the european rulers that justified theyre authority by saying they were chosen by god. Show the kings who had armies of slaves and used most of the women as sexual concubines.

Show the brutal conditions of working for the kingdom, being sent to fight in wars against people you didnt even know existed the day before.

Show how if you disobeyed your ruler, it meant far worse than being whipped. Being sent to the front lines to die, thrown into a dungeon to starve, having your house burned to the ground with your family in it, have a hand chopped off, get beheaded.

All the norm of the time. Ill make it with the same quality and skill as 12 years. Ill even hire fassbender for a bit part. I guarantee you the film would not get anywhere near the attention as 12yas
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 12:03:36 PM

I think all of us, even Sac, realize Hollywood is replete with left-wing, politically-correct bias, Vincere, so your point, while understandable, is pretty much a cliche.
vincere01 writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 12:12:16 PM

Sorry, I know some will call me a racist. I am not. Im just sick of seeing things so skewed, its like no matter how many times people apologize for theyre great great great great grandfathers transgressions, no matter how many movies are made its never good enough to move on.

The jews were almost erased from existence and you rarely hear a peep out of them. Most of the people that were in camps rarely talk about it. Some because its traumatizing of course but most just wanted to move on with life and not look back or live in the past.

you cant change the past, but you can affect the future. I have met alot of black people in my life and alot of them are just like everybody else. Funny, creative, smart. They dont care about what happened hundreds of years ago, they are theyre own person and its theyre life.

However I have met alot that are perpetually stuck in what seems like 1955. They are bitter and just as racist as the KKK. They listen to jesse jackson, al sharpton and malcom x. They should be listening to cosby and martin luther king.

These types of people, along with the kkk types are just throwing fuel on the fire and never letting the past die. For these reasons I honestly believe I will never see the end of so called racism in my lifetime.

Just to many people that are invested in seeing it continue. Too many people that still feel entitled to things they dont deserve.
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 12:19:12 PM

" I have met alot of black people in my life and alot of them are just like everybody else. Funny, creative, smart. They dont care about what happened hundreds of years ago, they are theyre own person and its theyre life."



You're either a Northerner, or you're not American.
vincere01 writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 12:20:38 PM

@mink

I understand the cliche nature of my arguement and how hollywood works. Whether its left wing bias is another discussion for another time. Either way its too prevalent for my taste.

My comments were made more out of a need to vent, as well as make a point. Just sick and tired of the engine that drives these movies forward. No one says it enough, unwillingly or unable. It builds up over time and this movie just set off the bullsh*t valve in me and it steamed out.

vincere01 writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 12:20:38 PM

@mink

I understand the cliche nature of my arguement and how hollywood works. Whether its left wing bias is another discussion for another time. Either way its too prevalent for my taste.

My comments were made more out of a need to vent, as well as make a point. Just sick and tired of the engine that drives these movies forward. No one says it enough, unwillingly or unable. It builds up over time and this movie just set off the bullsh*t valve in me and it steamed out.

vincere01 writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 12:23:46 PM

@mink

Ive lived all over, out in the pacific, and in the north. Same everywhere. Although I will admit that an inordinate amount of them live in the south
ProfMovies writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 1:26:26 PM

I certainly hope 12 Years a Slave doesn't win Best Picture! It was well done, for sure, but I had a fundamental problem with the logic of the story. Something written that long ago could very easily be part or all fabrication.

If you watch the movie without the knee-jerk liberalism that its supposed to engender, you start to wonder about the story's veracity.

I could go on for paragraphs with conjecture about this point or that, but all I really wanted to add was my 2 cents that I HOPE it doesn't win!
capsule writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 2:24:40 PM

Didn't it already leak that Leo won best actor? How can they even have bets on that?
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 2:31:34 PM

They make Plaques for everyone just in case they win ^
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 3:43:08 PM

Tanman's right.

@Vincere: Yes, most of them live in the South. Have you ever lived there? In the South? If so, for how long?

And I'm not trying to be truculent, either, just saying that I've lived among the Lower 48 my entire life, and I can say that many, many of them act like total fools, although I will admit that some behave as well if not better than many whites.

Unfortunately, the obnoxious majority are usuallly the most visible.
vincere01 writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 4:01:34 PM

@mink

Just a short stint in bama, huntsville area. But that was short lived. Otherwise mostly hawaii and the midwest
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 4:06:23 PM

@Vincere: Try Memphis and Texas for a few years. You'll come away scarred. Literally.
vincere01 writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 4:35:32 PM

@mink

Not really a fan of the general south. Passed through alot of states and cities and from what ive seen its just not appealing to me.

Best place I ever lived was by far honolulu. Highly recommend to anyone. Its a tad more expensive than mainland but after you live there for years you will earn the ability to buy items as a native hawaiian which is better prices.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 4:38:45 PM

Alright it is in this regard that I am a totally lost since I've never bet. Someone explain these stats to me.
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 4:39:03 PM

@Vincere: yeah, don't blame you. The South sucks. Way too many blacks, way too many rednecks, not enough anything else, although Texas is a good deal better than Arkansas, Tennessee and the rest.

Never been to Hawaii. Sounds groovy but way too expensive.
Stapes writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 4:54:33 PM

The only one of the best picture noms I've even seen is Captain Philips, and that's because it was like a buck to rent on redbox. I think I'll pass on seeing any of the best picture noms, maybe I'll rent American Hustle and Wolf of Wall Street. The Academy Awards are for women.
Stapes writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 4:59:18 PM

guess a lot more of you on this site are either pirating these movies or taking it up the ass by paying to see this pretenious sh*t in theaters.
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 5:16:33 PM

^^I rent my movies at The Bay, dog. Sure as f*ck wouldn't pay to see any of this liberal, left-wing drivel.
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 5:19:59 PM

I saw 4 of the best Picture nominations haha
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 5:36:50 PM

Let's see.


* 12 Years a Slave - Black people are victims; white people are mostly rotten, except for liberals.

* Gravity - Women are tougher than men.

* American Hustle - Crime is cool and sexy.

* The Dallas Buyers Club - Love homos because you can get AIDS too, especially if you're a drug-addicted manwhore.

* The Wolf of Wall Street - Capitalism is evil, unless you work in Hollywood.

* Captain Phillips - Black Africans just want to have fun but mean old whitey won't let them.

* Her - The future history of Apple chic and the wealthy leftards who love it.

* Nebraska - Old crazy drunks make good heroes in Flyover Country.

* Philomena - Catholicism is the worst religion ever.



M. Bullitt writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 6:19:08 PM

I hate to say this but Mink's latest post is f*cking spot on. I4mneither Liberal or socialist but the bloke got it right objectively.

I respect that.
M. Bullitt writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 6:20:41 PM

f*ck you Alex and my typo.

f*cking tight ass Jew for an edit f*cking button!

Shalom motherf*cker!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 6:54:58 PM

@mink
In defense of those films, you can say that about a lot of films, even good ones. The whole point of most films is to dramatize and sympathize isn't it?
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 6:59:46 PM

Most movies are made by liberals, and that's my point.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 7:02:24 PM

@mink
Perhaps but the simplest explanation is that idiots run the industry now. That liberal crap is mostly present for the last 10-20 years.

@everyone
Just someone tell me because I don't want to be bias and am ready to say "f*ck it." Is American Hustle worth it at all to sit through? Will I gain anything from watching it?
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 7:22:59 PM

I got a rousing hard-on imagining Amy Adams' red bush bashing my junk, but watching Bale do the hobo clown routine got really old.
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 7:24:26 PM

"That liberal crap is mostly present for the last 10-20 years."

That's true. If you go back to the forties and fifties, most of the movies are more sedate and conservative. None of the glorification of crime and depravity you see now, and a much more America-friendly atmosphere.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 7:49:45 PM

@mink
Well geez man if that's all the film offers I'd rather wait for her eventual sex scene. LOL Women dressing slutty are a dime a dozen in Hollywood. Otherwise if the film is that pointless than why bother. My problem anyway with film is there is no moral line. That's why David O. Russell only can get awards now. His films are cliche, boring, but because they condone redeeming even the crappiest of people and justifying everything for everyone. Anyone can do that sh*t!
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 7:55:46 PM

Yeah, Sleuth, but Amy Adams is a special kind of special, even if she's not nearly as talented as her casting couch lover once told her.

I'm such a total sucker for redheads.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 7:58:37 PM

@mink
Hey man I'm with you. She is sexy...but yeah her weak-voice sh*t bugs me. The Fighter, believe it or not, was refreshing because she was a hard ass. You know a redhead wasted? Lindsay Lohan. She went from gorgeous redhead to burned out with the flick of a wrist...in particular her wrist as she ran the rolled up dollar bill along the white stripes on the table. LOL
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2014 at 8:13:28 PM

lol.
pjmbdm writes:
on February 28th, 2014 at 1:43:47 PM

So Vegas puts the odds up but last time I checked when I was there ( a few years ago) they wouldn't allow me to place bets on the awards because "they can be fixed". Seriously? And sports can't? I'd really like to know if that's changed though cuz hot damn that would be some good money if Nebraska won!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved