WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Karl Urban Says "Dredd 2" May Actually Happen

Posted: February 26th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Karl Urban Says "Dredd 2" May Actually HappenSubmit Comment
Karl Urban's "Judge Dredd" reboot, called "Dredd," hit theaters in 2012 and went on to become a massive flop, grossing only $35 million worldwide on a budget of $50 million. But unlike the Sylvester Stallone film, which has an abysmal 18% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, "Dredd" has an impressive 78%, which means that critics enjoyed it.

It turns out that fans enjoyed it as well, since "Dredd" become somewhat of a hit on DVD and Blu-ray. But despite that, Lionsgate had no interest in developing a sequel.

Soon after, Urban said that a sequel may happen, but it would require for fans to be vocal about it. Apparently fans listened and have been requesting "Dredd 2," because now, Urban revealed that there have been conversation with the studio and writer Alex Garland about doing a second installment. And that it may actually happen.

Source: WhatCulture


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
GreenLensman writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 2:39:17 AM

Dredd 2: Super Slow-Mo
Quidd writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 3:36:21 AM

Will say that film was a whole lot f*cking better than I thought it would be
Patrick Bateman writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 4:01:34 AM

I hope so but id rather a plot that isnt a die hard scenario this time
PORN-FLY writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 4:47:45 AM

you shouldnt say "critics enjoyed it"
you should say "certain critics enjoyed it"

because only certain critics liked VHS2 more than VHS
and they would be called idiots

but generalization is bad
mmkay?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 4:58:32 AM

Good.
ImmyG writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 5:27:46 AM

@Quidd: ditto!!!! Lol
KillerCOck writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 6:12:18 AM

This needs to happen!
Stapes writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 7:14:39 AM

Great, I can see the same string of progressively awful sequels that followed Robocop.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 7:38:57 AM

Dear Baby Jesus, I know you're merely 7 lb 8 ounces of infant omnipotence but if you have any heart in that tiny allknowing body you'll make this sequel happen and do a Dark Judges storyline.

Amen
lawman writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 7:40:54 AM

I thought it was GREAT! It was true to the comincs and Dredd was a brutal prick like hes supposed to be. I would love a sequel.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 9:00:30 AM

Baby Jesus isn't giving in or he would have taken beiber instead of ramis
Biz Malarkey writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 9:03:05 AM

He could've had Lohan ladooche and beiber for one more year with Ramis

He's not getting Bynes though, at least not till I hit it
warriors187 writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 11:05:36 AM

@Biz

hahahaha

@Quidd
Completely agree. I went in with low expectations. I really liked it.
Zeroguy writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 11:10:51 AM

I f*cking hope so.
warriors187 writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 12:08:38 PM

And Your Sentence is Death!!!!
crimsonfiend420 writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 12:18:32 PM

Thanks for explaining how Rotten Tomatoes works, I never would have figured it out. And his Judge Dredd movie was called Dredd? Crack journalism.
vincere01 writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 1:03:11 PM

As long as the movie opens with dredd sentencing rob schneiders character to death and shooting him in the face just as he lets out one of his annoying whines
capsule writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 1:07:11 PM

If they're gonna throw more slow-mo at this then it's f*cked to begin with. That sh*t is so played out like lohan's vagina it's used up and worthless not even fun to watch anymore. Get a new gimmick or die.
Zeroguy writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 1:18:42 PM

@SAC
Dark Judges would be rad. But I think we'd see The Day the Law Died before seeing Judge Death or Judge Fear getting his face caved in.
Origins could also work. It was lightly mentioned in the first, why not reference it more.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 3:34:19 PM

Either way as long as they kept the same tone and look in the sequel I would be happy. Not as big on an origin story though. I like Dredd just the way he is, racist, bitter, and cold. No need to examine how he got like that. Would rather just know that he is that way because he's a product of the world he lives in. There really is no room in his character to show an emotional crack in his armor. He the future's Dirty Harry, no need to change him or make him any less than that.
Zeroguy writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 4:43:17 PM

It's not about giving him emotion but giving him a little more depth. The beginning and ending proved there is another layer to Dredd. In that Anderson detected there was something more to him ( which I think Origins would fit) and at the end which he have ANDERSON a pass Evan though she technically failed ( which Democracy would be a perfect arc to copy).

I'm just hoping this news and speculation turns into official decision of green lights for a sequel. I just want more Dredd in this universe. I want Urban and Thirby to return and I want Garland penning the script. Maybe even get him to direct since he's releasing his directorial debut this year and he was mostly in the editing room on Dredd.
minkowski writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 4:48:40 PM

Unlikely. The sequel would be outside MegaCity One, and MCO is HUGE, requiring enormous CGI and pre-production. The cost would greatly exceed the first, and with the first a financial failure, Lionsgate isn't going to blow their wad making a sequel to a movie that failed, especially as they're trying to build a larger studio empire.

Will never happen unless Urban comes back for nearly nothing and they do their production shopping at Michael's.
Tebeck writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 5:00:11 PM

YEEEES
Zeroguy writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 5:07:59 PM

@mink
So a Cursed Earth story? Yeah, that'd be okay.
minkowski writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 5:18:18 PM

^^If they do it up like Ridd*ck and Pitch Black, yes, it might work, but I don't see how it's going to be the BO win Lionsgate will want if the first film commercially failed. There's virtually no demand.

Supply and demand, folks, supply and demand.
Zeroguy writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 5:55:45 PM

If they can sell Karl Urban, I'm sure it could do well. The advertising was awful and the film failed for a multitude of reasons: 3d approach, r rating, awful ads, not distancing itself from the terrible 90s version (people kept saying it was a remake of that - it wasn't) and it's release date was ill picked.

Maybe the demand truly is bigger due to the home media releases. Who knows? I just have my fingers crossed.
WallyDee writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 8:03:15 PM

God i hope they do a sequel! The first one was a solid movie.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 11:05:24 PM

I gotta say I didn't think the advertising was that terrible here in the States. It got a lot of air during the opening weeks of the NFL season and MLB run for the playoffs. It just had a lot up against it: beginning of NFL and NCAA football season when Dredd's target audience is at home or at the bar all weekend and not at the movies; 3D format gave it a short run in the theaters and limited its distribution; lack of star power (Urban has never been a BO draw by himself, plus he's faceless the entire trailer); and a skeptical audience still damaged by the first film.

The factors are a little different this time around after the film built a ton of buzz on the net and a nice following on DVD. People who aren't necessarily fans of the comic but saw the film will want to catch it this time in the theater. Urban is also arguably a bigger name after another ST film and getting his own tv show. I think there will be a lot more demand for a sequel this time around than there was before.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved