WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jason Momoa Explains Why He Turned Down Drax the Destroyer Role in Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"

Posted: February 25th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jason Momoa Explains Why He Turned Down Drax the Destroyer Role in MarvelSubmit Comment
When Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy" was still in development, it was rumored that Jason Momoa (Conan the Barbarian) was in talks to play Drax the Destroyer. The role eventually went to Dave Bautista. But now comes word directly from Momoa that not only did he audition for the role, but that he turned it down.

"Dave is perfect for that role, for Drax," he explained. "It didn't really fit because I've done so many things where I don't say much and I'm colored up and I have my shirt off again. I made a conscious choice to turn down some movies that were action-based."

He continued: "It's not that [Drax is] not a good role, it just wasn't the right thing. I was on 'Stargate: Atlantis' for four years playing a similar character called Ronon, who was an alien who didn't say much and grunted. I've been there and done that, whether people have seen it or not. You want to stretch."

Meanwhile, Momoa is rumored for many other comic book roles, including Doomsday, Martian Manhunter and Aquaman in "Batman vs Superman."

Source: Zap2It


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
[StuntMan_MiKe] writes:
on February 25th, 2014 at 5:48:09 PM

You've been typecast. Embrace it.
minkowski writes:
on February 25th, 2014 at 6:42:33 PM

In other words, he thinks he's capable of more than a half-naked grumble.

Well, whatever. We all have our personal delusions.
mrstretch writes:
on February 25th, 2014 at 8:39:05 PM

Meanwhile Guardians of the Galaxy will be filmed on his caveman forehead.
Stapes writes:
on February 25th, 2014 at 8:46:17 PM

The beast makes a great conan, too bad everyone else involvled in that project f*cked it up.
minkowski writes:
on February 25th, 2014 at 9:38:42 PM

Isn't this the guy everyone was calling Homoa at one point, but now he's like awesome and stuff?




Man, I just cannot keep abreast of the Twitter generation...
boogiel writes:
on February 25th, 2014 at 10:06:13 PM

What a bullsh*t. He just wanted more money. Screw him. f*cking liar ass and piece of sh*t.
vincere01 writes:
on February 25th, 2014 at 11:27:06 PM

Wow he sounds like tarantino talking about himself and his talent. So f*cking delusional and just come off as having delusions and an extremely high opinion of himself
SACdaddy writes:
on February 25th, 2014 at 11:51:12 PM

For the most part I think people have liked Momoa in almost everything he's been in. He was a pretty popular character with the fan boys on Stargate and in Game of Thrones. He was a pretty decent bad guy in Bullet to the Head. It was only when talks of him rebooting Conan came around that fans started hating him. It pretty much happens to anybody who tries to replace Arnold in one of his movies. Collin Ferrell, Sam Worthington, and Momoa didn't stand a chance on the message boards or at the box office trying to fill Arnold's boots.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 12:41:51 AM

@SAC

Conan The Barbarian is such an iconic classic that the idea of a remake was preposterous. The remake was always doomed to rejection.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 12:54:57 AM

^^
I disagree SAC...

Although Momoa was a pretty badass Conan...closer to the comics that Ahnuld IMO, the Conan movie execution just sucked the big one. They could've easily just adapted a Conan storyline the basically has thousands over the years...sh*t, doesn't sound that hard. I got hooked in the 80s with the art of John Buscema. I mean, his panels were just. f*cking. Art...I'd be proud to put any of his panels as posters in my room growing up.

Here's a taste...most of the drawings are Buscema...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=63sKe76Ua1g

(Also, if you're gonna read a Conan comic, make sure it's 80s Buscema and black/white...the coloring back then just did not match the art)

The movie probably sounded good on paper though...Wizards, violence, a terrifying creature...a hard R. But if you saw it, they just couldn't make it work. Real mediocre effort. The dialogue sucked, the plot was iffy, the creature you couldn't even see. The incest father/daughter angle was cringe-worthy and just what did they use the hard R for?

Excess CGI blood, topless broads (well, that I could oversee...as in see over and over) and a sick scene of Conan sticking his fingers into someone with a nose patch (yeah really) and him sticking his fingers in his nasal cavity...

I could've been so much more...

But don't give Ahnuld too much credit. He has a great physique, but in actuality, his secret weapon is his charisma...the camera loves the f*cker. That takes care of his being on the screen. He's staying power comes from his directors. Verhoeven, Cameron...he was able to haggle and make deals to work with the best. Proven or the verge of being great...the rest was history.

If you don't believe me, look at his movies...the first ones were just f*cking awful acting. Ahnuld's Conan look was great, but then he starts talking and his accent is too thick, it takes away from every scene. In the comics he was so much cold hearted lines to his cold hearted enemies, smooth pimp lines for his women, and a great thief...Ahnuld and his movies were really had none of that.

Ahnuld's acting got better as time went on...the ones I can say he tried hard, that I really saw the effort in his acting was in Kindergarten Cop, Jingle all the Way, and his most recent swangsong...Collateral Damage.

Plus, the remakes' fault is basically retreading things already done...plot-wise anyways. Who wants to watch something they already know what is gonna be about or gonna happen when they already saw it with a bigger star?

Anyways...cheers SAC
SACdaddy writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 9:20:48 AM

Lol Celluloid!!! While I do value your opinion, I can't believe you just said Arnold's accent took away from every scene in Conan. First of all the minute Arnold opened his mouth that instantly became the way Conan must sound forever. As popular as the character had been it never became legendary until Arnold brought it to life. Momoa didn't stand a chance and neither did any remake of the character no matter if it was closer to the source material or not. Arnold is for all purposes the source material for the character now.

Btw that accent (whether you like it or not) is part of Arnold's unique appeal. How many times have you heard others trying to mock or mimic it? Arnold's muscles might be gone but the legendary accent lives on and still has all the appeal it had when we first heard it in Conan.

I will somewhat agree with you about his directors though. I say somewhat because I really don't know who directed movies like Raw Deal or Commando which were cheesy but greatly enhanced by Arnold's charisma alone. Back then Arnold seemed to shine no matter who was behind the camera. Better directors just made him shine brighter.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 26th, 2014 at 10:24:11 PM

Agree to disagree SAC...

I just grew up reading the comics in the 80s by Buscema with no coloring, which in my opinion, was the zenith of the storytelling and art that made it so cool...

After seeing how adventurous Conan's stories were...Ahnuld's version, delivery and movie plot was...what's the word?

Meh.

As for the accent, guess it's just taste. Or have gotten used to...you know, like Greek/Roman movies like in 300 and Gladiator where the accents sounded British, when everyone actually spoke well...Greek or Latin.

To each his own, I guess. Cheers SAC...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved