WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Lego Movie" Still Dominating Box Office, "Pompeii" Flops

Posted: February 23rd, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Lego Movie" Still Dominating Box Office, "Pompeii" FlopsSubmit Comment
Despite two new wide releases, "The Lego Movie" took first place at the domestic box office for the third weekend in a row. The animated movie took in another $31.5 million to bring its worldwide total to $243 million. It's still holding on to a very impressive 96% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

Taking second place was Kevin Costner's "3 Days to Kill" thriller, which grossed $12.3 million during its debut. The $28 million film is on track to make a profit, but will need the help from international audiences. The film has a 27% fresh rating.

Coming in third was "Pompeii," a new film by Paul WS Anderson that cost a whopping $100 million to make. Unfortunately, it was only able to gross $10 million domestically. It performed better overseas, where it took in another $23 million, but that's still not enough to make back its budget. "Pompeii" has a 29% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, "RoboCop" has now earned $143 million, earning back its $100 million budget. The majority of that money ($100 million) came from overseas. No word if Sony is considering a sequel.

And Disney's "Frozen" getting even closer to the $1 billion mark. It has already earned $980 million, becoming the second-highest grossing animated film behind "Toy Story 3" ($1.1 billion).

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Stapes writes:
on February 23rd, 2014 at 2:53:01 PM

Duh, I doubt that neapolitans even went to see it.
GreenLensman writes:
on February 23rd, 2014 at 3:28:13 PM

wake me up when theres a rated R version of Legos with 600 new jokes
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2014 at 4:19:13 PM

Paul W.S. Anderson makes crap, and most cognizant people KNOW he makes crap. Why the hell they gave him a hundred million and a sh*tty fail cast, I have no clue, but anyone with any knowledge of contemporary film knew Pompeii would fail to ignite any box-office fire.
vincere01 writes:
on February 23rd, 2014 at 6:35:23 PM

@mink

Pompei is indeed awful with all the evidence shown. But in just a strictly ROI point of view it could have been better.

If they had released in closer to V-day and played up the more romantic aspects of they film the trailers only hinted it, it could have brought in the teenage girls a la titanic.

They story is very similar, boy meets girl of different means and class. They cant be together but want to. Huge disaster happens just as they are about to throw caution to the wind and run off together. Substitute iceberg for volcano.

Only difference is they both die, everybody dies.

Instead they put out the least amount of advertising possible and looked to be aiming at the same crowd as the 300 movies.

Trailers were rarely violent so that didnt work. Just came across as a period disaster drama, boring like a school video.

Not saying it would have made titanic money, just that they proly could have at least earned back its budget, maybe even some profit.

All they had to do is have more advertising and spin the demo aimed at to a different crowd. It would have worked in my opinion.
vincere01 writes:
on February 23rd, 2014 at 6:39:05 PM

For anderson that makes this movie and that musketeers movie he did both woefully lose money.

Looks like him and his wife will officially be perpetually made to make RE films until they die.

Outside of mila in Anchorman and 5th element they seem to only make studios money in that franchise. ALOT of money in fact
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2014 at 7:02:10 PM

It's a Paul W.S. Anderson film starring Kellan Lutz featuring a historical, exploding volcano. It's Dante's Peak meets Twilight without the gay vampires.




"But in just a strictly ROI point of view it could have been better."

If you mean a hundred million dollars should have bought the studio better BO performance, I would agree, but then again a hundred million-dollar sh*t-sandwich is still just a turd between two slices of wheat.
Stapes writes:
on February 23rd, 2014 at 7:21:53 PM

Lutz isn't in anderson's pos, mink. Rewatched Event Horizon the other day. Kind of sad that moron couldn't see 3 years into the future where even my trailer trash relatives know what a singularity is, otherwise they wouldn't have had to explain what FTL is to people who were already space rescue travelers.
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2014 at 7:34:37 PM

"Lutz isn't in anderson's pos, mink."

No, some guy named Kit Harington is in it. No clue who he is nor do I care. Should have gone with Lutz instead, then. They could at least say "starring that sparkling Twilight fag!", but no, not even that.
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2014 at 7:38:08 PM

"Kind of sad that moron couldn't see 3 years into the future where even my trailer trash relatives know what a singularity is"




A singularity is just a hole in the math. That's it.

No physicist believes such a singularity actually physically exists. Recently, even, new work has been done to show that so-called singularities as found inside black holes aren't really any such thing, thanks to more refined mathematical models that obviate the aforementioned "hole in the math".

Having said that, explaining sh*t to audiences is typical exposition and is quite common.

I think, for example, Armageddon was 50% exposition.
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2014 at 7:38:51 PM

And I'll say it for you, Stapes, because I know it's coming:

"That's fascinating. I think I'll go take a nap now.".
Stapes writes:
on February 23rd, 2014 at 7:56:58 PM

Seriously, dude, rewatch it if you don't get it. It exposes ideas and concepts that are pretty much give these days, which would work if you're not completely retarded. You're talking to an Event Horizon fan, it is what it is: shameless exposition that assumes that the internet would'nt last beyond five years I guess. It's just crap.... just like Rodriguez's Machete Kills, which I watched on red box, that *sshole, like Eli Roth just needs to be vaporized, because they both make sh*tty movies that will fade into history, just like Singer, (someone I just can't think of) and that sh*t eating moron Bret Ratner. I could go on and on about all the sh*tty directors out there that have made a career out of "playing the game" or sucking hollywood d*ck to get ahead, but the great thing about the present and the future is that these f*cks days are extremely numbered. We're living in a world where the tech to make your own movie is becoming more and more accessible and I say fantastic, that's the way it should be. None of you morons seem to acknowledge the fact that you can watch a film less than 3 months from it's premiere in theaters these days. It's a brave new world, kiddos!
vincere01 writes:
on February 23rd, 2014 at 9:42:31 PM

@mink

Just saying the marketing could have been geared towards the titanic type crowd and it would have at least made some money.

As far as exposition heavy films? They should just get doc brown to explain everything to people. He explains alot in short amount of time and crazy entertaining as he does
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 23rd, 2014 at 10:27:03 PM

So... What do you guys think of tonight's Walking Dead episode? Lol
warriors187 writes:
on February 23rd, 2014 at 10:40:11 PM

What that hell is up with that malware page???
I get it when I try to go to this site on Chrome of FireFox. I'm on Internet Explorer now.
I don't know if the problem is on my end or not because my computer is f*cked right now.
I haven't been to this site in a week.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 24th, 2014 at 1:28:08 AM

I can see that about Robocop & Pompeii.

I am in a land that has a big wall stopping anything good coming in and they will lap that sh*t up.

These berks love Hobbit 2.

I found it as boring as bollocks.
!JB! writes:
on February 24th, 2014 at 6:27:41 AM

@Tanman32123 why the f*ck do you need to end EVERY comment you make with lol, there is nothing amusing and humorous about your question regarding the Walking Dead or just about anything else you type, so WHY put a lol?
!JB! writes:
on February 24th, 2014 at 6:39:57 AM

Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 24th, 2014 at 12:19:40 PM

GreenLensman wants Lego Porn.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved