WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Four Directors in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Posted: February 21st, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Four Directors in Talks for MarvelSubmit Comment
Now that Marvel is in pre-production on "Ant-Man" and recently gave the world a taste of "Guardians of the Galaxy," the studio is now getting to work on "Doctor Strange," seeking directors to take on the comic book film.

THR is reporting that four contenders have either met or about to meet with marvel, including Mark Andrews (Brave), Nikolaj Arcel (A Royal Affair), Dean Israelite (Welcome to Yesterday) and Jonathan Levine (Warm Bodies, 50/50).

Meanwhile, Jon Aibel and Glenn Berger, the writers of the "Kung Fu Panda" movies, are in talks to write the screenplay. The plan is to hire a writer and director at the same time and to have them work together.

Doctor Strange is an arrogant and selfish surgeon whose hands are damaged in a car accident. After all conventional healing methods fail, he travels to Tibet as a last effort to find a cure at the hands of a man known as the Ancient One. In an act of benevolence, Strange saves the man from the Ancient One's power-hungry disciple Baron Mordo, thus becoming the magical art's new hero.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 21st, 2014 at 5:02:53 AM

That's actually very diverse group of filmmakers. I'm curious who they pick. Any would be competent enough I think.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on February 21st, 2014 at 5:15:54 AM

We'll thank god you don't get paid to do the thinking sleuth. Hopefully they'll pick a good actor. But then again Disney needs another cow to milk
boogiel writes:
on February 21st, 2014 at 8:23:14 AM

Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 21st, 2014 at 12:09:39 PM

@Biz Malarkey
Your *sshole comment aside, wasn't Johnny Depp rumored for this awhile ago. He wouldn't be the worse choice and he'd look the part. He just would need to downplay the comedy aspect present in so many of his characters.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 21st, 2014 at 1:16:34 PM

I don't know Sleuth...Depp? Don't think he'll be into this...its no quirky enough. LOL...

I say it needs to be a solid, mature badass presence...The correct answer could be Bale, Jackman, or RDJ. They would be perfect...but RDJ is already IM. Bale is already Batman. Jackman Wolverine...I know Evans pulled it off doing Johnny Storm/ C. America...but its off putting.

Maybe Gerard Butler? Wait...I take that back.

Or Matthew McConaughey...hear me out of this one. They guy can play arrogant, but can play wise. He's physical and can do an "un-twangy" accent. Marinate on that one...

Or go old school...how about David Strathairn? How about a Dennis Quaid? How about a Pierce Brosnan? How about a Jeff Brigdes? And on a hangover...Hugh Laurie? I know I'm reaching, but if you look at it, Strange is not that physical...you'd need to pull a calm, wise presence that can unleash righteous anger. If any physical, CGI it... But yeah, I don't think they go THAT old...it would be a franchise after all. Who's to say they would or could come back.

But I'd pay to watch any of those...
TheAmicko writes:
on February 21st, 2014 at 1:53:53 PM

Hugh Laurie??? He is so annoying and his face annoys me. Don't now that much about strange. But are Jackman and etc. Not to psysical for this role? Anyways... As a dane I should root for Nikolaj. But he has only done dramas. Call Scorsese... Lol
TheAmicko writes:
on February 21st, 2014 at 1:54:58 PM

Mark Strong for the role maybe.
minkowski writes:
on February 21st, 2014 at 2:38:11 PM

They'll probably go with the Warm Bodies guy. He has some name recognition with the target demo and knows his way around such a group. The Brave guy would be my second choice but he's not done much live-action work, and he's no Brad Bird. The other two are relative nobodies with no pop-cultural cachet.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 21st, 2014 at 6:34:22 PM

I didn't mean all the suggestion are not physical, Amicko.

Just the old foggies of the last paragraph...they're the ones that would be able to pull it off.

As for Laurie...yeah, I was reaching, but as you can see on his House, MD TV show, the guy can do arrogant, vulnerable, wary, and let's face it: he does a pretty good American accent, IMO.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 21st, 2014 at 8:04:22 PM

Mads Mikkelsen is now rumored for the part and he worked with Nickel-Lodged *sshole before.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 22nd, 2014 at 12:25:04 AM

@CelluloidMan
Well that's what I mean. He would have to shed his quirky newer persona and go old school like in his early years where he attempted to be versatile.
python6 writes:
on February 22nd, 2014 at 4:28:53 AM

They should use the Doctor Strange: The Sorcerer Supreme animated movie. Most of the story is already written they just have to make it longer. Bam another hit movie from Marvel. Speaking of which I think I'm gonna go and watch it again love it.
TheAmicko writes:
on February 22nd, 2014 at 6:46:28 AM

@Cell

I would still hate to se that guy in the part. As for your older choiced i indeed agree. Damn fine actors. Except for pierce... He is good but Don't think he Can pull this character off.
BlackDynamite writes:
on February 24th, 2014 at 1:58:26 AM

This sounds like something up Guierllmo del toro's alley, but knowing him if he made it, it would just look like Hellboy
KillerCOck writes:
on February 25th, 2014 at 10:06:02 PM

Del Toro is one of the worst directors working in Hollywood and most overrated.

Nikolaj Arcel is the best of this group but Someone like Cuaron should make this movie and have Clive Owen or Luke Evans star in it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved