WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Paramount Fights Back Against Negative "Noah" Article and Unfair Survey

Posted: February 19th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Paramount Fights Back Against Negative "Noah" Article and Unfair SurveySubmit Comment
Just recently, Variety wrote an article about a religious survey conducted by Faith Driven Consumer, which contained a terribly-phrased question referring to Darren Aronofsky's "Noah" film. That question resulted in 98% of people responding negatively to it.

The question asked if the survey-takers were "satisfied with a biblically themed movie -- designed to appeal to you -- which replaces the Bible's core message with one created by Hollywood?"

As you can tell, the question is phrased in such a way that the only way to respond to it is negatively. Paramount Pictures didn't like this and decided to release a statement, arguing against the survey and Variety's spin.

"Paramount Pictures strongly disputes the inaccurate media story from Variety," said the studio. "The survey question that had the 98% response rate did not contain any reference to the film 'Noah,' despite the fact that the Variety reporting implied that it did."

Paramount went on to point out that Nielsen, a company measuring pre-release tracking data for films, discovered that 83% of self-defined "very religious" movie-goers have expressed interest in seeing "Noah." Other research organizations had similar results.

The studio is heavily relying on religious people to go see "Noah" and make it a hit like "The Passion of the Christ." At this point, it doesn't seem like that's going to happen, which is worrying Paramount.

Source: Paramount Pictures


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 19th, 2014 at 4:14:18 AM

I want this to succeed for some reason. I mean Passion of the Christ, in my opinion, was a fluke in it's success but wow a great cast, good director who for the most part never fails to deliver, and while it indeed seems to add action to a fairly quiet, religious story I feel that helps emphasize the point of the flood. The wiping out of the darkness in men.
Stapes writes:
on February 19th, 2014 at 6:51:28 AM

A fluke you say? With an extraordinarily talented director like Gibson, one of the most influential and copied stories in human history and one of the most practiced religions in the world and you consider The Passion a fluke? No way, bud. If anything, the story of a drunk loading a big boat with two of every animal being a huge success would be more of a fluke. You're probably better off watching Evan Almighty.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 19th, 2014 at 8:31:44 AM

Religious people are idiots. Hollywood loves idiots. Therefore Noah= Profit?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 19th, 2014 at 9:34:10 AM

@Stapes
I'm not at all questioning Gibson's ability and I'm not saying the film itself wasn't great but seriously how many great religious films do you know succeeding? "The Ten Commandments" and "The Last Temptation of Christ" are two of the only ones I know that went on to become supremely successful/memorable.

@Cinemaisdead
Now, now I'm religious and I'm very much so questioning it. Don't base the idiocy of the few noted on the rest of us. It's like liberals...the ones who get attention on over-zealous and frankly unhinged...the same goes for Republicans and people of religion. We get thrown through the mill by the f*cking exaggerated news and it really costs us.
capsule writes:
on February 19th, 2014 at 10:25:02 AM

If you're religious you just proved the point that you're f*cking retarded. Congrats.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 19th, 2014 at 11:36:37 AM

@Capsule
How exactly did I prove I'm retarded? Oh wait nevermind you're clearly one of those morons who just says crappy sh*t to people to make yourself sound...is it clever you were going for because if so you f*cked that up *sshole?
lawman writes:
on February 19th, 2014 at 11:44:27 AM

@ Capsule,
Because people believe that there is more to this than just a big bang? I believe in the theory of evolution but something had to start it all. Life is far to complex for it to be all random. Being called "f*cking retarded" by someone who has nothing but that to offer doesnt really carry much weight as an insult.
lawman writes:
on February 19th, 2014 at 11:45:22 AM

Oh, and please sit down on a gargantuan cameroonian dong!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 19th, 2014 at 11:52:48 AM

@lawman
Thank you! God I understand atheists have their views but seriously don't bash someone who wants to believe in something a little bigger. It grows old to simply here "It doesn't seem possible so I'm going to offend others for believing". You're darn right that it's all too well-planned to just be an accident. I remember a French philospher once gave this ultimatum. Paraphrasing he simply said either you believe in something bigger with the hope of going to heaven or you rot in the ground and you lose nothing. It's a win-win. LOL
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 19th, 2014 at 11:55:46 AM

@lawman
Actually this kind of points it out. Just wait till the end of the clip:

http://www.whoisthemonkey.com/videos/28/family-guy-american-beauty
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 19th, 2014 at 1:26:24 PM

Noah is going to bomb. It just doesn't look like a very good movie. Also it's based on some graphic novel about the flood story and about halfway through Noah and company are battling these gigantic CGI winged demon things and it's really bizarre.

Early screenings were very negative because of this and said the trailers are very deceptive about what the movie actually is.
vincere01 writes:
on February 19th, 2014 at 4:13:59 PM

This looks to be a highly controversial movie this year. Whenever someone at the proverbial watercooler asks me about it im gonna just say

I dont NOAH what you are talking about. Leave me alone.


That should keep the annoying people at bay. Ill tear down theyre walls of fervent opinions wand defuse them with humor
vincere01 writes:
on February 19th, 2014 at 4:14:59 PM

And*
minkowski writes:
on February 19th, 2014 at 6:09:12 PM

There is no god, and the day people stop bickering over the magical man in the sky is the day the human race can finally leave its childhood.

As for the news...bomb. But all of us, superstitious and rational alike, knew Noah would fail.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 20th, 2014 at 1:34:40 AM

Noah will be a dud...

Fight this Paramount Pictures!
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 20th, 2014 at 1:45:10 AM

"God I understand atheists have their views but seriously don't bash someone who wants to believe in something a little bigger."

If you got something that makes people be better people, help the helpless, humble people that share the little they have to the ones that have none...why not?

Having said that, those f*cking crazies militant, gay bashers, abortion doctor killers (note the irony?) Bible thumpers really give Christians a bad rap.

My thing? If it makes you a better person, go ahead. If you don't believe in it, respect the difference in opnion...

What the f*ck does it matter anyway? If anything else...reap what you sow.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 20th, 2014 at 4:15:04 AM

I believe in the theory of evolution but something had to start it all. Life is far to complex for it to be all random.

It's exactly this reason that humans have invented "God" because he seems like the most rational explanation to us a man in the sky that made everything. When you look past the obvious man made creation at the entire Universe and realise that it DID just happen randomly and the force that makes it all happen is even more beautiful and powerful than the human brain can even comprehend then I think you can appreciate life that little bit more.

synthetic1985 writes:
on February 20th, 2014 at 4:20:41 PM

i think people are getting confused...first off, if there is a God one thing is for certain, He is NO man...because why would God be a man? he created man...secondly, demons and stuff in a noah film? means only one thing, fictional mixed with non-fictional depictions...they want it to be real but they don't...and lastly, when people say there is no God, science tries to prove that, but then again science has proven biblical accounts of a global flood and other events to be true...the question i leave with that, is what do you believe?...lawman even said it...he believes in the theory of evolution but something had to start that...the bible basically describes evolution in the form of dust...it didn't specify what was in that dust...it's angeldust homes lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved