WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

What Happened to WP This Weekend?

Posted: February 17th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
What Happened to WP This Weekend?Submit Comment
Over the weekend, we were informed by our hosting company that a hacker got into WP and started attacking the servers. We took immediate action by shutting down the site until the threat was completed eliminated.

The hacker was able to do this through a hole in the code of vBulletin, popular message board software that we use. We've since downloaded and installed a security patch, while the hosting company has been doing what it needs to do on its end.

No information was stolen and very little damage, if any, was done. We felt that it was safe enough to turn everything back on, which we did this morning. Meanwhile, we're still monitoring to make sure that everything that was left by the hacker has been caught and deleted.

We apologize for any inconvenience. We are now up and running and back to writing endless "Spider-Man" articles.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BJsforeveryone writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 9:50:16 AM

LOL ..nice touch at the end of the statement.
Like the self-irony :)
...oh and by the way..Hackers go f**k yourself.
Using computers as weapons is for sissy,gutless nancy-boys !!
mrstretch writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 10:05:33 AM

The hacker was probably trying to install an edit button.
Stapes writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 10:25:48 AM

LoL.
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 10:40:38 AM

It's about f*cking time I see some humor on this site. Love that Alex can finally take a joke. (Hense the spiderman joke)

Seriously.. That took so long and don't get your hopes up Mtstretch :P
Patrick Bateman writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 11:06:07 AM

who would hack this crap site whats the point you might learn what brand of catfood dustin shoves up his ass every night thats about it.

Anyone else watching True Detective? Best Tv show I have seen in years even though there has only been 5 episodes so far its just all pure class from the writing and editing to the acting.
brigulon13 writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 11:06:25 AM

I see I may have hit a soft-spot on Facebook. When are we getting a mobile app? Member for 7+ years and nothing has changed. I'd like all my Spidey news in annoying push notifications.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 11:11:35 AM

This site still sux cack
bandolero999 writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 11:11:49 AM

It was ranger
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 11:15:00 AM

Cmon Mink stop hacking the site. Lol Alex with some humor? Ragnarok is gonna happen in 5 days. :(
vincere01 writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 11:28:18 AM

I thought alex's check bounced and they shut down his site lol
warriors187 writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 11:37:21 AM

@crambo

I'm about to watch Oldboy now.

@Bando
Ranger, that son of a bitch!

@Everyone
I thought the virus on my computer wasn't allowing me on this site.
Does anyone at all know how to fix the "Gigantic Savings" virus?
Its an extremely annoying extension that installs itself on Chrome and won't let you disable it.
Any help would be great. Its really f*cking pissing me off.

Also, I've gotten 3 letters from Comcast telling me to stop torrenting sh*t.
Bastards are watching our every move.
vincere01 writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 11:45:23 AM

@warriors

Boot in safe mode and use a good updated anti-virus software and anti spyware software programs to scrub it clean.

Safe mode turns off the need for you to have authorization to delete the virus programs. Usually you cant do anything to them cause they lock you out. Hope that helps.

P.s. this does not work for everything, but almost everything
vincere01 writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 11:46:05 AM

Also unistall chrome and reinstall when in safe mode
boogiel writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 12:00:46 PM

It's a good thing nothing happens to my avatar.
Cannon writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 12:04:43 PM


Wait, hackers are real? sh*t. I thought that was just a movie from the 90s.

warriors187 writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 12:14:46 PM

@vincere

Thanks a lot for the help.
I have started my computer in safe mode and ran SpyBot as administrator.
It still doesn't get rid of that virus.
Thanks again for the help, but don't worry about it. I'll figure this tricky son of a bitch out.
M. Bullitt writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 12:31:51 PM

@Warrior

The only soft that always worked for me is "adwcleaner.exe" as it goes deeply enough in the system to get rid off those nasty sh*t.

Hope it helps.
vincere01 writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 12:32:10 PM

@warriors

No problem. Sorry it didnt work, feisty program. Ive only encountered one virus that wouldnt die from what I described.

That virus was a AAA motherf*cker of a virus. Got so bad that I had to completely wipe my hard drive and reinstall the OS. Luckily I had a backup of my hard drive saved through a external HD.

Reinstalled all my files with only some of the very recent ones missing ofcourse. Still a pain in the ass
BJsforeveryone writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 12:33:24 PM

@Bateman
True Detective offers VERY good acting but the storyline itself is extremely slooooooow !!
Prefer Hannibal so far !!
PORN-FLY writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 1:12:26 PM

welcome back,crap
shiteater writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 2:49:33 PM

At least an explanation was given. +1 for that.
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 3:15:37 PM

@warrior

I thought I was blocked or something lol Was about to write a strongly worded letter to Alex!
Nihilus writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 3:50:26 PM

I thought Shia Labeef did something to this site.
vincere01 writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 3:51:53 PM

@tan

Strongly worded letter??? Probably wouldnt have gotten past "Dear, WP". Planes was playing on at least one channel every day it was offline! Lol
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 4:47:18 PM

It never ends with you does it? Haha

Anyways. Picked up watching LOST again. I stopped mid Season 4 a couple months ago. Decided to pick it back up and watch the rest of the seasons.

(Seen em all, this is 2nd run at watching them)
!JB! writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 5:22:49 PM

Unsure why anyone would want to hack a movie site?

Keep your opinions to yourself Bullit you ridiculous piss soaked c*nt.
!JB! writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 5:23:46 PM

@Crambo LMFAO his name sake is now a mexican b grader LOL this is priceless!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!JB! writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 5:26:30 PM

Dink writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 6:52:56 PM

It's been nice not having to read anything from Mink for the past few days. Since he probably left his mom's basement for the first time ever and not had chance to act like an *sshole to anyone these past few days. He probably acted like he does on here in the real world and got hospitalized by someone in seconds. (Probably Ranger)
!JB! writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 7:07:41 PM

^Ranger vanished into Lindsay lohans c*nt forever.
Dink writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 7:10:27 PM

He went down the Rabbit hole JB.
OneTime writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 8:56:04 PM

reparations are in order
Matiax writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 9:09:42 PM

@mrstretch
"The hacker was probably trying to install an edit button."

LOL
SaulSilver writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 9:40:04 PM

Source: WorstPreviews.com

Should we consider this a Sign of the Apocalypse or just file it under "Had to happen eventually"???
encoreyourface writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 9:42:03 PM

why would anyone want to hack this site?
Patrick Bateman writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 10:04:52 PM

@bjs

Yer the storyline is moving very slow but I think it will be a good pay off as at the end of episode 5 you can already see how the narrative is coming together in the present.

Also love hannibal mads mikkelsen is fantastic. cant wait for season 2 only about a week away
minkowski writes:
on February 17th, 2014 at 11:39:14 PM

So basically Alex pulled a Family Guy and killed Brian to increase traffic, because no one hacked this dump, and if they did, they're a loser.
Ranger writes:
on February 18th, 2014 at 3:32:03 AM

I pop in here after I don't know how long and you haven't forgotten me? ... sniffle...

And hey... don't blame me for the hacking. I've been busy (no.. not in jail). Just busy.

Hope everyone is well.
Ranger writes:
on February 18th, 2014 at 3:32:37 AM

@mrstretch - re: edit button. lol.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved