WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Full "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Leaked Online!
Apr 17th, 2015
New "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Trailer is Here!
Apr 17th, 2015
Josh Hartnett Regrets Turning Down Batman Role in "Batman Begins"
Apr 17th, 2015
Ryan Gosling in Talks for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2015
Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2015
Matthew Vaughn to Direct "Flash Gordon" Remake
Apr 17th, 2015
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Trailer is Here!
Apr 16th, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Just Hired a New Director
Apr 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Results," with Guy Pearce and Cobie Smulders
Apr 16th, 2015
Jason Sudeikis to Star in "Fletch" Reboot
Apr 16th, 2015
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Footage Coming Tomorrow
Apr 15th, 2015
Trailer for David Spade's "Joe Dirt" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2015
John Cusack is The Beach Boys Founder in "Love and Mercy" Trailer
Apr 15th, 2015
Trailer for Al Pacino's "Manglehorn"
Apr 15th, 2015
Griswolds Visit Walley World in New "Vacation" Photo
Apr 15th, 2015
New Trailer for Marvel's "Ant-Man"
Apr 14th, 2015
Lots of Action in New "Terminator Genisys" Trailer
Apr 14th, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Loses Its Director
Apr 14th, 2015
First Look at Ed Helms and Griswold Family in "Vacation" Sequel
Apr 14th, 2015
Iron Man Fights Ultron in New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip
Apr 14th, 2015
Olivia Munn to Play Psylocke in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Apr 14th, 2015
First Look at Derek's Son From "Zoolander 2"
Apr 14th, 2015
Viggo Mortensen Was Offered Wolverine Role in "X-Men"
Apr 13th, 2015
First "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip Shows Hulk vs Iron Man Battle
Apr 13th, 2015
"Furious 7" Already Earned $800 Million at Box Office
Apr 13th, 2015
First Photo From "Rocky" Spin-Off "Creed"
Apr 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Scream" TV Series
Apr 13th, 2015
New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story
Apr 12th, 2015
First Look at Negasonic Teenage Warhead in "Deadpool"
Apr 12th, 2015
Ian McKellen is Cogsworth in Disney's Live-Action "Beauty and the Beast"
Apr 12th, 2015
"Furious 7" Director James Wan in Talks for "Aquaman"
Apr 11th, 2015
Eddie Redmayne in Talks for Lead Role in "Harry Potter" Spin-Off
Apr 11th, 2015
Trailer for "Aloft," with Jennifer Connelly and Cillian Murphy
Apr 11th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

John Singleton Returns to Direct Tupac Biopic

Posted: February 13th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
John Singleton Returns to Direct Tupac BiopicSubmit Comment
Two years ago, John Singleton (Four Brothers, Boyz n the Hood) was set to direct a film about the life of Tupac Shakur. Unfortunately, the film fell apart, but now comes word that Morgan Creek is once again interested in the project.

Singleton just signed a deal to return and the plan is to have the director rewrite the script before filming begins in June. "Tupac was the guy who I planned to do a lifetime of films with," said Singleton. "His passing deeply affected my life as well as countless people in this world. His life story is as important to my generation."

When Singleton was originally on board, Tupac's mother launched a legal battle against Morgan Creek over the rights. The lawsuit was eventually settled by making her an executive producer on the project. After Singleton dropped out, Antoine Fuqua (Training Day) attempted to take over, but couldn't get the script right and had trouble finding an actor to play the rapper.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 7:57:13 AM

Who the f*ck cares bout 2pac anymore besides ppl that think they're black.
KillerCOck writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 9:29:39 AM

Fuqua would be better but I hope Singleton can make this into an actual good film.
Stapes writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 9:31:13 AM

I guess noone told singleton that big time *sshole Spike lee is the only person allowed to do black biopics.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 9:56:25 AM

Tupac? Who? Oh, that's right. The black man's version of Robert Frost and Bob Dylan.
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 9:59:34 AM

Bando

I care, a lot actually. Tupac Was such a wise man who struggled the f*ck outta life. From being beaten by cops outside of a bank to being robbed and shot 5 times for his Jewlery. I know I'm going to get bashed for this, but Tupac is one of very few artists and people who've legitamitely inspired me. I know everything there is to know about the man :P
PORN-FLY writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 10:08:02 AM

Tupac was the guy who I planned to do a lifetime of films with," said Singleton

umm,you only made nine movies since 91
and your last film was Abduction with Lava Wolf-Boy
PORN-FLY writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 10:47:50 AM

Im sure i would have became a legendary rapper if destiny would have paved the way for me to hang out with Dr.Dre at the peak of his career

being at the right place at the right time isnt a talent
!JB! writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 11:09:30 AM

He's a dumb dead black c*nt, we know who cares ? Like making a movie about Bullit and his gay *sshole!! We know who cares
Cannon writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 11:29:50 AM


Every other city we go
Every other veedeeoh

No matta where ah go
I see the same Hooaahs!

PORN-FLY writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 12:31:56 PM

Every other city we go
Every other veedeeoh

No matta where ah go
I see the same yea yea yea

(radio edit)
shafe41 writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 12:41:02 PM

Ain't nuttin' but a gangsta party!!!
warriors187 writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 12:42:16 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cj2hBPsoNpg
warriors187 writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 12:44:21 PM

Killumanati, podna!
Jesus Effing Christ writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 12:48:00 PM

Is Kanye West dead yet?
bandolero999 writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 1:45:18 PM

Anyway this project is definitely 10 years too late
Jesus Effing Christ writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 1:52:53 PM

stfu handoqueero
PORN-FLY writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 2:19:26 PM

Tupac Biopic is an actual black persons name
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 2:47:50 PM

Didn't Tupac get shot up because he was dating Notorious BIG's girlfriend or some really stupid sh*t? Correct me if I'm wrong but that's what I thought I heard was a rumor surrounding why he was killed. If it is, by all means good luck trying to portray him as anything but an idiot who got shot up for infidelity.
Jesus Effing Christ writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 3:04:50 PM

Shakur's cremated ashes were mixed with weed, rolled into blunts, and smoked by rap group Outlawz.

True fact.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 3:09:22 PM

@Sleuth: no, that's not right. No one knows why Tupac was killed, or by whom, but the claim he was murdered because of infidelity is just another Internet rumor promulgated without substantiation.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 3:34:37 PM

@Stapes: Singleton is black and actually something of friend to Lee, so if anyone else in Hollywood has the "right" to direct black biopics, it's Singleton.

FYI.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 4:56:35 PM

The world was a better place when they died.both biggie and tupac are the saddam Hussein and bin laden of hip hop
theotherworld101 writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 5:16:24 PM

Wow! Jb, racist backwards d*ckhead, I understand not being interested in the film, but well done in making yourself sound like a c*nt
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 6:34:08 PM

JB has *chutzpah*. If you don't know what that is, look it up.

I was reintroduced to the term in great detail whilst reading an LSAT practice test.




The things they teach kids these days.
Stapes writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 7:10:20 PM

Uh, yeah mink, I know that. It's called sarcasm. As a matter of fact for future reference just assume that I already know whatever little bit of info you think you're imparting, it'll save you the time and effort it takes for you to type a post to me. Thanks, bub.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 7:25:26 PM

lol. Here we go again. The moron Stupes says something stupid (durrrr, Singleton is black and is friends with Spike Lee? I know dat already!) and then when kindly, corrected he claims he already knew what he was told hiding his vast ignorance behind "sarcasm" like a child telling the teacher he was only joking when he said the world's flat in front of the entire class.

Durrrr. The drunk retard alcoholic loser says "duh, what, George?".

lol.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 7:26:44 PM

Damned comma. Methinks the cursor is drunk again. Like something else.
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 7:28:32 PM

Like Tanman? ^ lol I drink to much..

I think what I'm trying to say is I'm drunk on a Thursday. Yeah..
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 14th, 2014 at 2:30:53 AM

Tupac biopic is a great idea, but who the f*ck could match the guy's magnetism, talent and volatile character? The character is complex and you need a special actor to pull it off...it's not easy. I just didn't buy Anthony Mackie as Tupac in Biggie's biopic Notorious, for example.

The best way would be in doing it like Ali in recreating a time of his life. Doing the whole life sh*t is meh...too risk to get right. And I also agree...Fuqua would've made a better choice, but Singleton actually knew the guy, maybe that'd be an advantage.

As for the artist, the f*cker is the golden standard and no one has surpassed him. The closest maybe, IMO, would be KRS 1, but without the magnetism or popularity.

There are great rappers, but you also have to look at range and diversity. Tupac had it...apart from his contemporaries of gansta rap disses (fueled by the West Coast/East Coast warring studio factions), he diversified rapping on social-political issues (Changes), pregnant teens (Brenda Got a Baby), single mothers(Keep ya Head Up)...sh*t he even made an ode to his mother sound tough, yet vulnerable (Dear Mama). The guy rapped what was the people could identify with...his fans knew he kept it real.

Plus the guy had an extra push with his acting ability in Above the Rim, Poetic Justice, and if in doubt of his talent, check out how he holds his own with Tim-f*cking-Roth in Gridlock'd...that's gotta tell you something. The guy was on his way up...

The talent was there...it was just his ego, mixed with bad company, and extreme media attention that was his undoing that led to his wreckless lifestyle, IMO. You start stepping on toes...especially ones that have high calibre firepower and it's not gonna end well.

Nowadays, there is talent in today's rappers but with no eyes or balls to speak out of today's problems...the closest we got was Jay-Z but that guy is a business man, all calculated...talent yes, an entertainer yes...but no heart.

Eminem is a good rapper, but what pushes him to great is his just is personal unresolved family issues or petty feuds with mediocre talent. Although his fans appreciate his talent, especially with 8 Mile as a positive focus of what he can do when he harnesses his talent...but again, entertainers...no game changers.

If that wasnt' enough, he legacy sky rocket'ed on so many posthumous albums...legend has it, he had a dream he was killed and finished as many songs as he could already believing he was on borrowed time....

Tell me...could beat that?

End rant here...
KillerCOck writes:
on February 14th, 2014 at 10:30:54 AM

I bet they cas Micheal B Jordan
minkowski writes:
on February 14th, 2014 at 8:43:19 PM

^^Word.

New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story

Disney Making Live-Action "Winnie the Pooh" Film

Mexico Pays "Spectre" $20 Million to Rewrite Script

Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman

Disney's "Cinderella" Dominates at Box Office

Arnold Schwarzenegger Happy He Didn't Star in "Terminator Salvation"

Stephen King Comments on Early Screening of Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops

"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved