WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Point Break" Remake is Here!
May 27th, 2015
"The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen" is Being Rebooted
May 27th, 2015
Robert Rodriguez to Direct Live-Action "Jonny Quest" Movie
May 27th, 2015
New Trailer for Joe Dante's "Burying the Ex" Comedy Horror, with Anton Yelchin
May 27th, 2015
Hulk Hogan is the Villain in "The Expendables 4"?
May 26th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says "Gambit" is an Origin Story
May 26th, 2015
Ryan Reynolds Says Hugh Jackman May Make Cameo in "Deadpool"
May 26th, 2015
First Poster for "Point Break" Remake
May 26th, 2015
More Photos From Matt Damon's "The Martian," Directed by Ridley Scott
May 25th, 2015
"Mission: Impossible 6" and "Now You See Me 3" Already in Development
May 25th, 2015
"Beautiful Mind" Mathematician John Nash Killed in Taxi Crash
May 25th, 2015
First Look at Matt Damon in Ridley Scott's "The Martian"
May 24th, 2015
New "Fantastic Four" Trailer, Director Responds to Rumors of Being Replaced
May 24th, 2015
New Photos From "Deadpool" and "Ant-Man"
May 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass" is Here!
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Jonah Hill and Miles Teller in "Arms and the Dudes"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Meryl Streel and Hugh Grant in "Florence Foster Jenkins"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Cuba Gooding Jr and John Travolta in "America Crime Story: The People V. OJ Simpson"
May 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Knock Knock" Thriller
May 22nd, 2015
Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title
May 22nd, 2015
Reese Witherspoon to Star in Disney's Live-Action Tinker Bell Movie "Tink"
May 22nd, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Promo Video Shows Team's Superpowers
May 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
May 22nd, 2015
New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr
May 21st, 2015
"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return
May 21st, 2015
"Transformers" Sequels and Spin-Offs Get Impressive Writing Team
May 21st, 2015
Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Cooties" Horror Comedy
May 21st, 2015
"The Divergent Series: Allegiant" is Now Filming
May 21st, 2015
Heath Ledger Was Set to Star in "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
May 20th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Jack Reacher 2" Hires "The Last Samurai" Director
May 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy
May 20th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

John Singleton Returns to Direct Tupac Biopic

Posted: February 13th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
John Singleton Returns to Direct Tupac BiopicSubmit Comment
Two years ago, John Singleton (Four Brothers, Boyz n the Hood) was set to direct a film about the life of Tupac Shakur. Unfortunately, the film fell apart, but now comes word that Morgan Creek is once again interested in the project.

Singleton just signed a deal to return and the plan is to have the director rewrite the script before filming begins in June. "Tupac was the guy who I planned to do a lifetime of films with," said Singleton. "His passing deeply affected my life as well as countless people in this world. His life story is as important to my generation."

When Singleton was originally on board, Tupac's mother launched a legal battle against Morgan Creek over the rights. The lawsuit was eventually settled by making her an executive producer on the project. After Singleton dropped out, Antoine Fuqua (Training Day) attempted to take over, but couldn't get the script right and had trouble finding an actor to play the rapper.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 7:57:13 AM

Who the f*ck cares bout 2pac anymore besides ppl that think they're black.
KillerCOck writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 9:29:39 AM

Fuqua would be better but I hope Singleton can make this into an actual good film.
Stapes writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 9:31:13 AM

I guess noone told singleton that big time *sshole Spike lee is the only person allowed to do black biopics.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 9:56:25 AM

Tupac? Who? Oh, that's right. The black man's version of Robert Frost and Bob Dylan.
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 9:59:34 AM

Bando

I care, a lot actually. Tupac Was such a wise man who struggled the f*ck outta life. From being beaten by cops outside of a bank to being robbed and shot 5 times for his Jewlery. I know I'm going to get bashed for this, but Tupac is one of very few artists and people who've legitamitely inspired me. I know everything there is to know about the man :P
PORN-FLY writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 10:08:02 AM

Tupac was the guy who I planned to do a lifetime of films with," said Singleton

umm,you only made nine movies since 91
and your last film was Abduction with Lava Wolf-Boy
PORN-FLY writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 10:47:50 AM

Im sure i would have became a legendary rapper if destiny would have paved the way for me to hang out with Dr.Dre at the peak of his career

being at the right place at the right time isnt a talent
!JB! writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 11:09:30 AM

He's a dumb dead black c*nt, we know who cares ? Like making a movie about Bullit and his gay *sshole!! We know who cares
Cannon writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 11:29:50 AM


Every other city we go
Every other veedeeoh

No matta where ah go
I see the same Hooaahs!

PORN-FLY writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 12:31:56 PM

Every other city we go
Every other veedeeoh

No matta where ah go
I see the same yea yea yea

(radio edit)
shafe41 writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 12:41:02 PM

Ain't nuttin' but a gangsta party!!!
warriors187 writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 12:42:16 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cj2hBPsoNpg
warriors187 writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 12:44:21 PM

Killumanati, podna!
Jesus Effing Christ writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 12:48:00 PM

Is Kanye West dead yet?
bandolero999 writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 1:45:18 PM

Anyway this project is definitely 10 years too late
Jesus Effing Christ writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 1:52:53 PM

stfu handoqueero
PORN-FLY writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 2:19:26 PM

Tupac Biopic is an actual black persons name
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 2:47:50 PM

Didn't Tupac get shot up because he was dating Notorious BIG's girlfriend or some really stupid sh*t? Correct me if I'm wrong but that's what I thought I heard was a rumor surrounding why he was killed. If it is, by all means good luck trying to portray him as anything but an idiot who got shot up for infidelity.
Jesus Effing Christ writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 3:04:50 PM

Shakur's cremated ashes were mixed with weed, rolled into blunts, and smoked by rap group Outlawz.

True fact.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 3:09:22 PM

@Sleuth: no, that's not right. No one knows why Tupac was killed, or by whom, but the claim he was murdered because of infidelity is just another Internet rumor promulgated without substantiation.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 3:34:37 PM

@Stapes: Singleton is black and actually something of friend to Lee, so if anyone else in Hollywood has the "right" to direct black biopics, it's Singleton.

FYI.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 4:56:35 PM

The world was a better place when they died.both biggie and tupac are the saddam Hussein and bin laden of hip hop
theotherworld101 writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 5:16:24 PM

Wow! Jb, racist backwards d*ckhead, I understand not being interested in the film, but well done in making yourself sound like a c*nt
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 6:34:08 PM

JB has *chutzpah*. If you don't know what that is, look it up.

I was reintroduced to the term in great detail whilst reading an LSAT practice test.




The things they teach kids these days.
Stapes writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 7:10:20 PM

Uh, yeah mink, I know that. It's called sarcasm. As a matter of fact for future reference just assume that I already know whatever little bit of info you think you're imparting, it'll save you the time and effort it takes for you to type a post to me. Thanks, bub.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 7:25:26 PM

lol. Here we go again. The moron Stupes says something stupid (durrrr, Singleton is black and is friends with Spike Lee? I know dat already!) and then when kindly, corrected he claims he already knew what he was told hiding his vast ignorance behind "sarcasm" like a child telling the teacher he was only joking when he said the world's flat in front of the entire class.

Durrrr. The drunk retard alcoholic loser says "duh, what, George?".

lol.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 7:26:44 PM

Damned comma. Methinks the cursor is drunk again. Like something else.
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 13th, 2014 at 7:28:32 PM

Like Tanman? ^ lol I drink to much..

I think what I'm trying to say is I'm drunk on a Thursday. Yeah..
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 14th, 2014 at 2:30:53 AM

Tupac biopic is a great idea, but who the f*ck could match the guy's magnetism, talent and volatile character? The character is complex and you need a special actor to pull it off...it's not easy. I just didn't buy Anthony Mackie as Tupac in Biggie's biopic Notorious, for example.

The best way would be in doing it like Ali in recreating a time of his life. Doing the whole life sh*t is meh...too risk to get right. And I also agree...Fuqua would've made a better choice, but Singleton actually knew the guy, maybe that'd be an advantage.

As for the artist, the f*cker is the golden standard and no one has surpassed him. The closest maybe, IMO, would be KRS 1, but without the magnetism or popularity.

There are great rappers, but you also have to look at range and diversity. Tupac had it...apart from his contemporaries of gansta rap disses (fueled by the West Coast/East Coast warring studio factions), he diversified rapping on social-political issues (Changes), pregnant teens (Brenda Got a Baby), single mothers(Keep ya Head Up)...sh*t he even made an ode to his mother sound tough, yet vulnerable (Dear Mama). The guy rapped what was the people could identify with...his fans knew he kept it real.

Plus the guy had an extra push with his acting ability in Above the Rim, Poetic Justice, and if in doubt of his talent, check out how he holds his own with Tim-f*cking-Roth in Gridlock'd...that's gotta tell you something. The guy was on his way up...

The talent was there...it was just his ego, mixed with bad company, and extreme media attention that was his undoing that led to his wreckless lifestyle, IMO. You start stepping on toes...especially ones that have high calibre firepower and it's not gonna end well.

Nowadays, there is talent in today's rappers but with no eyes or balls to speak out of today's problems...the closest we got was Jay-Z but that guy is a business man, all calculated...talent yes, an entertainer yes...but no heart.

Eminem is a good rapper, but what pushes him to great is his just is personal unresolved family issues or petty feuds with mediocre talent. Although his fans appreciate his talent, especially with 8 Mile as a positive focus of what he can do when he harnesses his talent...but again, entertainers...no game changers.

If that wasnt' enough, he legacy sky rocket'ed on so many posthumous albums...legend has it, he had a dream he was killed and finished as many songs as he could already believing he was on borrowed time....

Tell me...could beat that?

End rant here...
KillerCOck writes:
on February 14th, 2014 at 10:30:54 AM

I bet they cas Micheal B Jordan
minkowski writes:
on February 14th, 2014 at 8:43:19 PM

^^Word.

Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot

New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr

"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

Hugh Jackman and Channing Tatum to Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"?

"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off

Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title

Why Wasn't Loki in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?

"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return

Hugh Jackman Confirms "Wolverine 3" is His Last Time as Wolverine
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved