WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Gravity" Becomes Third Film to Cross $100 Million in IMAX Theaters

Posted: February 9th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Gravity" Becomes Third Film to Cross $100 Million in IMAX TheatersSubmit Comment
IMAX Corporation and Warner Bros announced that "Gravity" has now earned over $100 million globally from IMAX showings, becoming only the third film to accomplish such a milestone. The other two movies were "Avatar" in 2010 and "The Dark Knight Rises" in 2012.

"Gravity," which is directed by Alfronso Cuaron and stars Sandra Bullock and George Clooney, has earned almost $700 million in total and has received ten Academy Award nominations, including Best Picture.

Since "Gravity" continues to attract movie-goers into IMAX theaters, Warner Bros will re-release the film in 330 IMAX 3D locations on January 31st.

Click here to read our "Gravity" review.

Source: IMAX, Warner Bros


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Avirex writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 3:39:35 AM

"..will re-release the film in 330 IMAX 3D locations on January 31st"

Oh really now...
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 4:34:18 AM

They're gonna need a time machine!
Doucheception writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 5:11:14 AM

January 31st?
Not sure if 9 days ago or 356 days from now...
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 9:43:00 AM

Awesome
PORN-FLY writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 10:53:57 AM

did someone say Gravity?
January 31,eh?

vincere01 writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 12:57:27 PM

This might be one of the few times in recent memory that a certified blockbuster could actually win significant awards at the oscars. Last main stream money maker I remember is Saving Private Ryan
jamieC writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 1:51:55 PM

Not to say news updates are slow here, but..........

Gravity was an experience rather than a movie, great fun regardless, although not worthy of an acting Oscar by any means
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 2:09:01 PM

@vincere01
Let's hope. It's one of the only films out there not based on other source material. It be nice for an original concept to win some major awards. But dude...don't bring up Saving Private Ryan because I got three words for you..."Shakespeare in Love". Still can't believe that movie beat it!
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 2:12:59 PM

The Thin Red Line is a better film than Saving Private Ryan and it should have won Best Picture, Director, and Adapted Screenplay that year.
vincere01 writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 2:36:54 PM

@deaft.

I Like TRL. I just felt the pacing of the movie at times got stuck in the mud where as SPR had much better pacing and what has now become industry gold standard for how to film realistic combat. In that regard SPR was much better.

TRL in my opinion did a much better job showcasing the effects of what combat and war in general can do to people, the horror, the danger, the stress etc.

But the biggest mistake I feel that movie made was in casting, and let me explain. The cast were all top notch. Cusack, nolte, harrelson etc. I have no problem with theyre individual performences(except woody and blowing his butt off scene, it came off too comicly in my mind intentionally or not). I just feel that with all the A list recognizable stars all on screen at once was disruptive of the overall experience. It was noticeable and took you out of the movie.

I think the film would have been better served, and most war films as well, with the majority of the cast be lesser knowns. Look back at SPR and outside of Hanks no one else was that big at the time, yes some would become bigger names.

Ribisi, burns, dissel, pepper, paul giamati, matt damon, nathan fillion. All great actors(minus dissel). But not famous faces to the general movie goer at the time.

Sizemore was proly the 2nd most famous behind hanks at the time for his acting, damon had good will hunting yes but he was an up and comer and only a bit part.

Other than that only ted danson was a household name and he had 2 minutes of screen time.

Some genres, like capers and comedies like oceans eleven and this is the end, or even something like mars attacks can work with that setup because its not to be taken as seriously.

I dont know, maybe im in the minority on this. I just feel it was a good story and could have been a better movie if executed a little differently. Id still give it a 6.5 or 7 out of 10. And SVP is a 9.5
vincere01 writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 2:41:37 PM

I just find it easier to get invested in the character's and the story and world if I can suspend disbelief and be sucked in and believe they are those people. Its easier ti do that if you are not always saying, oh theres john cusack!, theres nolte!! And hes yelling alot in this movie too!

Best part of the movie is the thread dealing with the unit captain pleading with nolte about not agreeing with his orders. Very tense and dramatic
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 2:59:20 PM

@vincere

SVP is okay but aside from the opening 30 minutes and the last 40, everything in between is just a standard WWII movie like something John Wayne did numerous times.

TTRL OTOH is a much more emotional and intelligent and captivating film. I think it's the best film ever made by Terrence Malick and I have watched it over 50 times.

SPR does not hold up as well now.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 3:00:22 PM

Lol @ me saying SVP like you. It's SPR damnit!
vincere01 writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 3:11:46 PM

@deaft

Its still a good movie. Just like SPR more myself. I will say is also my favorite mallick film as well.

Did you like Platoon, Apocalypse Now, Or Casualties of war better?

I think platoon is the stronger film, however Apocalypse is not far behind and deserves credit for alot of the classic scenes and all the copying of it that would follow.

Casualties of war is a great movie as well, just came out later without as much fanfare or attention. I believe that film brought about Michael J. FOX'S best performance to date. As well as a top 3 sean penn performance as well
vincere01 writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 3:14:51 PM

The other two being Mystic River and Carlitos Way. Honorable mentions for Taps, Fast times at Ridgemont High, and I AM SAM. Sam was a ok film but an absolutely retarded good performance by penn.....see what I did there.....ay??? -elbow nudge-
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 3:21:42 PM

Lol,

I feel like Apocalypse Now shows the bizarre environment of the Vietnam War but not as much of the emotional toll aside from the opening with Martin Sheen.

Platoon otoh explores that much more consistently because Oliver Stone based it on his own experiences during the war.

Full Metal Jacket is great as well.

All 3 are fantastic films for their own reasons. Casualties of War was not bad but it's not in the same league as the other 3.
brigulon13 writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 3:26:37 PM

@Vincere I believe LOTR made quite a bit of money and all 3 held quite a few noms. LoTR:ROTK actually won quite a few including the big one. Not necessarily a fan, just sayin'.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 5:14:04 PM

I'd like to see how much it would have made in conventional cinema, because it's easy to inflate your numbers when tickets are twenty bucks a pop.
vincere01 writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 6:35:19 PM

@brig

Good point. I stand corrected and update my list to include that and heath ledgers win for TDK. But other than that I still say its rare
vincere01 writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 9:18:58 PM

@mink

Id like to see how much howard the duck would have made with an IMAX release. Picture his piano tie the size of my apartment!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved