WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Will Smith Won't Return for "Independence Day" Sequel

Posted: February 9th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Will Smith WonSubmit Comment
Director Roland Emmerich previously revealed that there are two scripts for the upcoming "Independence Day" sequel, one that includes Will Smith and one that doesn't.

In the last few years, we've heard stories that Smith was considering to return, but never actually signed on. And now comes word Smith has contacted the studio and told them that he will not be part of "Independence Day 2," which is actually called "ID Forever."

The sequel is already set to hit theaters on July 1st, 2016. And considering that the first movie grossed over $800 million worldwide, the studio will still likely move forward with the new movie.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 51 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Venom1970 writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 2:38:06 AM

Who needs the overrated negro.
WV-Films writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 3:04:05 AM

Turned down DJango Unchained and now this, and for what? After Earth.
Doucheception writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 5:04:10 AM

^After Earth, worst movie I never finished since Ghost Rider 2.
Stapes writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 6:06:15 AM

Guess he couldnt secure a role for willow.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 7:54:30 AM

He's probably mad BC they wouldn't allow his talentless son in it.
FrancoUnAmerican writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 8:09:31 AM

"Will Smith, you are now cool due to that decision."
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 9:25:28 AM

Hopefully he just gets on to doing Bad Boys 3 already!
AbsoluteMuppet writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 9:41:17 AM

@WV-Films.......did'nt he also turn down the role of Neo in The Matrix for that classic Wild Wild West.
PORN-FLY writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 11:15:18 AM

Bad Boys3 will just be Lethal Weapon3 with Kevin Hart in Pesci role

what VENOM said
WV-Films writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 11:18:15 AM

@AbsoluteMuppet
I heard something like that too.
zxz writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 11:20:26 AM

Good. Now it may actually be an awesome movie. His kids are growing up to be butt ugly brats like him. They can all live in bantustan sh*t huts with the hyenas.
vincere01 writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 1:01:28 PM

@absolutemuppet

He did indeed. Apparently the deciding factor that made him choose Wild Wild West was the fact that the studio also would sign him to do the soundtrack as well.

He also had that deal for men in black. Apparently the wachowski brothers....at the time brothers at least said hell no this movie is not gonna feature clean cut rap! Lol
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 1:07:30 PM

@cress

Yeah i'm guessing that The After will get a season order because of Chris Carter's fanbase and because it was a solid pilot.

BOSCH deserves one too.
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 2:50:19 PM

Better not be porn!
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 4:23:26 PM

"...did'nt he also turn down the role of Neo in The Matrix for that classic Wild Wild West."

Yes, and Sean Connery turned down the role of Gandalf because he didn't understand the script. Same thing he said when asked to play Morpheus opposite Will Smith. Had Connery taken the Rings role, he would have earned fifteen percent of worldwide box-office receipts...




But the worst of them all is Steve McQueen, who refused a lead role in Apocalypse Now because he didn't want to film in the jungle, refused the lead role in The French Connection which went to Hackman who won an Oscar for it, and refused a lead role in Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid because he couldn't have top billing over Newman.

What a stupid f*ck. Makes Will Smith's mistakes look pale in comparison.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 5:02:59 PM

@Deaftone: Bosch was boring and tired. An hour of nothing. I sat there waiting for the show to pick up, to give me something, but it never did. The lead role isn't interesting. So he shot some fat and allegedly unarmed Latino. So what? So did Vincent in Collateral. Well, the bullet and the fall killed him, but I digress.

My point is the show is absolutely lackluster, and it should have pulled the audience in by the episode's end, if not within the first few minutes. A very dry, boring procedural with a very dull-as-dead lead. Phillip Marlowe he is not.

Also, the serial killer angle is risibly generic. We don't even see the villain. We see nothing but his ancient handiwork, like such a crime is so unique it's worthy of an entire episode, much less an entire series.

And the scene wherein Bosch runs to the bathroom fighting off his rising gorge was just poor. No hardened, veteran cop such as himself should be driven to near-puking because of the ME's lurid tales of cracked bones and child abuse. Just bad, maudlin writing.

After is even worse. Terrible characters, terrible plot. You have the cliched innocent black guy, the Magical Negro, here to save whitey; the warrior-mother with her no-nonsense sensibility and tough, gritty exterior; a gay Gary Shandlin-esque clown who I assume is the show's comic relief; a goofy white British criminal with a terrible accent and bad teeth; an eccentric old lady who predictably trips just to lose her glasses, like we didn't see that a thousand times with Velma, whom she greatly resembles, in Scooby Doo; a crooked, dirty lawyer (is there any other kind?;) a high-dollar model-ish philosophizing hooker with a heart of gold; and Michelle Rodriguez's retarded little sister who looks like she should be playing wither a Teletubby or Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle at Chucky Cheese parties.

In fact, the entire casting is right out of Hollywood central. Totally politically-correct and full of liberal stereotypes. And all the white guys are total losers (gay, criminal, sc*mbag) but the one black guy is the show's Robin Hood c*m John McClane. f*cking bullsh*t.

But it gets worse. The plot isn't actually scary. It's downright stupid, really. What's with the noises? Godzilla? God doing the Macarena? No one knows and nothing is introduced to make the audience give a sh*t. But towards the end we see something so poorly rendered and conceptually bankrupt it likely made the guffaw with incognizant hilarity. Really, what the f*ck was that? An alien? A demon? Something out of Dan Brown's take on Fire in the Sky? And how does it come to run around in the woods, naked? Who knows, who cares? It can shake the world with apocalyptic fervor but it has no need for clothes or a car, apparently. And like we haven't seen such a beast before in a thousand other films and shows. Beasts with spidery backwards legs and glowing read eyes. Yawn. Nothing new.

But the worst part, the part that made me realize Chris Carter is merely making fast trash, was the gratuitous and ridiculous nudity scene, put in there because pointlessly naked women is de rigeur these days within the ecology of "mature" television, and if Dexter and Game of Thrones is haphazardly chucking disrobed wenches into the mix, certainly After must so likewise, lest Amazon Prime look like CBS' Youtube Channel.

But it wasn't just the nudity, it was the fact this stupid woman, included in the cast singularly for her sex appeal, is taking a f*cking dip while the world comes to an end, which begs the question: why the hell did they all run to the mansion anyway? Whose idea was that? And why didn't any of these people go home? Why the hell would they choose to hang with total strangers as the world comes undone, one of whom is a convicted murderer, when they could find their families instead? Really, who the f*ck chooses to go on the run with people you've just met instead of finding your dearly, beloved family? I felt like I was watching Prison Break season two with a smidgeon of The Exorcist.

But back to the bitch.

What's with the philosophizing? She goes from blowing dirtbag lawyers to spouting eschatological bullsh*t to a boozing Brit crook? What the f*ck ever. And what was with her and the lawyer anyway? They just ducked into a random motel stairwell to screw? Very classy! Instead of taking his high-priced whore to a clean room, he forces her to perform her function on a set of cold concrete stairs where bums take their watery wino dumps.

And how does this Dark Half Perry Mason break his leg so easily? Is he made of green cheese and snot? And why is the black guy even contemplating going back for a dead phone in a world of NO ELECTRICITY? And the Latino gangbangers...lol. How cliched. They're even wearing their "L.A. for Gangsters" fall-wear too. Not like the super-wealthy eccentric lady would have performed a major background check on the help, or hired from a reputable provider. No, she goes down to Home Depot and hires the first chubbily cherubic Latina she sees sitting inside a goofy little plywood barn.

Just terrible. Neither show deserves a green light, but Prime needs content and instead of waiting for good concepts to come trundling along, they'll jump at whatever, which will only hurt them in the long run.

Oh, and Bosch does not deserve a rating equal with Sherlock. That's just downright f*cking insane.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 5:04:52 PM

*either +a
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 5:05:43 PM

Grrrrr.

+audience.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 5:42:07 PM

@mink

Lol. I liked Bosch more than The After honestly. You have to let them develop the narrative. Titus Welliver is not bad as the character. I feel that with 12 more eps it can build into something cool.

As for The After. Yes CC was being lame with Sharon Lawrence looking like some old TOOTSIE c*nt and falling over every 5 seconds but Carter always has a concept.

I feel that both of these will go to series but I also feel that it is unfair to judge them this early mink.

I respect your opinion but let's see where they take it.
Stapes writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 5:44:49 PM

While I would have enjoyed seeing McQueen in Apocalypse Now, all the money in the world wouldnt have saved him from mesothelioma, and his status as legend is cemented, so he didnt miss out on a miserable shoot in the jungle doing acid with Hopper.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 5:57:54 PM

" I respect your opinion but let's see where they take it."

That's not the point. Shows don't get green lit because someone somewhere wants to give them a chance, and Amazon has to choose wisely if they want to make a profit. They can't green light every series just because the audience says "meh, let's wait and see". Doesn't work that way.

And you should know, too, that movies, television and books should ALWAYS grab the reader/audience within the first few minutes/pages. In fact, that's a time-honored metric for a book's or film's success. And it's even rule #1 when writing a novel or a screenplay.

Neither After or Bosch do that. They don't demand the viewer's attention. After is downright stupid and Bosch is boring as f*ck and far too in love with itself. Certainly they both think they're way better than they are.

Having said that...almost every successful show grabbed the viewer by his or her nuts within the first hour, or at least alluded to an expectant and worthy reward in future episodes, which was enough to make the viewer return. Bosch and After don't do that. They don't create a need to see any more of what they have to offer.

Both of are downright terrible shows in different ways, and neither can be compared favorably to truly good serialized television, or even, for a cynical example, The A-Team's pilot episode, which is today still more watchable than another hour of some old short hound dog cop slumped in a dour courtroom, or more of the antics of After's Jelly Belly Saved by the Bell casting.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 6:04:50 PM

-of
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 6:08:11 PM

-whom +who.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 6:24:44 PM

Just deleted that crap from the hard drive, which is rare because I save almost everything I download, although I admit I also recently deleted all ten season of Friends to make room for something that wasn't f*cking awful.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 6:37:41 PM

Will made what he made in the early days because he was building a name for himself. He sought big-ticket movies to rapidly expand his name and to get way from his small-time Fresh Prince role. Money also mattered, but I think Will was looking to make himself into a legend. He wanted more than just another bloated bank balance.

So he tried branching out into more dramatic roles only to discover he lacks the prerequisite talent and appeal. People want to see him making wisecracks and detonating boats on a highway, not tearing up with his real-life son to the tune of a rapidly rotating Rubik's Cube.

From there then he made it his mission to build his son into the dramatic, serious success that was never his own. Again, he failed, and with After Earth's stentorian implosion and Will perhaps finally realizing even he can't prop up his annoying and untalented mini-me son, he's probably a little bitter things haven't gone with the way he planned.

In my mind, it was always about familial empire. He wanted to make him and his family into a powerful black empire of four. Unfortunately, Will Smith really has only his goofy black guy schtick, which just wasn't enough to prop up three other black holes of talent.






Long story short: when Will was young, he had a "fresh" personality, and it made him famous and popular. He was the wise-cracking goofy negro, and white people ate it up. When he tried to do more, he found he had little else to offer and most people just weren't interested. Now he's trying to make something of his dullard kids, both of whom lack even Will's one-trick pony comedic idiosyncrasies.

The well hath runneth dry, Will. Time to have your dustcakes and eat them too.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 6:40:58 PM

@mink

I get what you mean but it's premature to write off The After and BOSCH so soon. A slow burn can work.
PORN-FLY writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 6:42:38 PM

The Act Of Killing

a mind f*ck on so many levels
brought on by so many different images
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 6:47:43 PM

"A slow burn can work"

It can, sure, but who's paying for the gamble?

Not me.

Instead, I'll let Amazon and you waste your money.
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 6:52:05 PM

Mink-

Damn.. I was unaware that Steve McQueen was offered all those roles. He could have had an even better Filmography had he not been so oblivious to what opportunities were laid before him.

He was f*cking wicked in The Great Escape tho! Which to this day is still one of my favorite movies.

And lol @ you having had all ten seasons of Friends. That's a show I wouldn't have though you'd like. I downloaded seasons one and two on my comp a long long time ago but got disinterested and switched to some other crap. How big is your hard-drive?

On my comp (Which is back at my moms house cause I don't use it anymore) I had about 200-250 Gigs full of TV shows and movies. Such as the first 4 seasons of Simpsons, 3 Seasons of Prison Break, Couple Family guy and south park seasons as well as Pawn stars and Life after people lol Not to mention the 20-25 movies.

Unfortunately by downloading all that crap I use up all the space in my comp and had a bunch of virus's.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 7:02:09 PM

@Tanman: I didn't download Friends. I found it on an old laptop I bought way back. Before I formatted the hard drive, I copied Friends over to my external hard drive. I thought maybe, just maybe, one of the most popular comedic television episodics would offer me something useful. It did not, and to this day I wonder what was so great about it. Definitely not the humor, which was, at best, childishly simple.

And I have about eight terabytes of external storage space. I also have another 1.5 terabytes on various computers, although I could easily fill another ten terabytes if I had them.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 7:02:19 PM

@mink

Lol I pay $79 a year for amazon prime and those shows would be included if they go to series so I would not pay any additional money to see them.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 7:11:06 PM

@Deaftone: okay. I have no clue about Amazon Prime because I refuse to pay for anything I can get for free anyway. Made that mistake a long time ago when I bought DVD after DVD of crap I thought I'd watch at least once, only to discover I had no intention of finishing The Repo Man or Repo The Genetic Opera, and thus my walls and selves were littered with round, optical trash.

Besides, streaming sucks because you have no real tangible ownership. With Youtube I can at least employ Internet Download Manager to retain a copy for off-line viewing.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 7:11:48 PM

*shelves.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 7:16:42 PM

@mink

But I like prime for their back catalog of older films & shows. Many of which are absent from Netflix and hulu+.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 7:18:54 PM

Pfffft. I like downloading from TPB.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 7:27:38 PM

@mink

But I like prime for their back catalog of older films & shows. Many of which are absent from Netflix and hulu+.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 7:27:38 PM

@mink

But I like prime for their back catalog of older films & shows. Many of which are absent from Netflix and hulu+.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 7:31:43 PM

Pfffft. I like downloading from TPB.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 7:31:48 PM

Pfffft. I like downloading from TPB.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 7:31:53 PM

Pfffft. I like downloading from TPB.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 7:31:57 PM

Pfffft. I like downloading from TPB.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 7:32:03 PM

Pfffft. I like downloading from TPB.
Daft Duck writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 8:09:09 PM

I think about stuff and things.
warriors187 writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 8:51:16 PM

TPB is the sh*t.
I have recently gotten a letter in the mail saying some sh*t about it though. Should I be worried? It was from my cable provider and it basically just said to stop. I forget what it said exactly.
warriors187 writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 8:54:31 PM

file:///C:/Users/docrimbaud/Desktop/0208141919-00.jpg
warriors187 writes:
on February 9th, 2014 at 8:57:53 PM

Thats my dvd collection. I bought those stands when Movie Gallery was going out of business.
I spent 20 dollars a pop for most of those.
I have so many bad movies that I don't want to admit.
This is why I don't feel bad about downloading now.
Every cent I had growing up from birthdays, Christmas, first job, went to DVDs.
(We had just as many VHS, no lie)
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 10th, 2014 at 3:23:07 AM

@Warrior

I had re same thing go on with me. I own 650 DVDs and a buch of VHS's. Every cent for the holidays was on movies. This Christmas I got like 13 DVDs from various people. It's really all I ask for :P

Also, I don't know how to open that link lol
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 10th, 2014 at 7:07:39 AM

That makes two of us Will.
cress writes:
on February 10th, 2014 at 7:30:08 AM

@Mink. I got Amazon Prime simply because I order a lot of stuff through them, and free 2-day shipping made sense. The access to thousands of movie and tv shows is just an added bonus that makes it a win-win. I'm assuming Deaft probably did the same thing when he signed up for it.
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 10th, 2014 at 2:39:09 PM

will smith won't return for independence day 2, nor men in black 4....there goes his chance where his movie comes out as 'number 1'
Jigga_Watts writes:
on February 10th, 2014 at 4:09:26 PM

no will smiths? i ain't gone watch dis movie

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved