WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bryan Singer Compares Bolivar Trask From "X-Men: Days of Future Past" to Hitler

Posted: February 3rd, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bryan Singer Compares Bolivar Trask From "X-Men: Days of Future Past" to HitlerSubmit Comment
In the "X-Men" movies, the Nazis played a big role in shaping Magneto. And now that director Bryan Singer is promoting "X-Men: Days of Future Past," he has no trouble comparing Bolivar Trask, who created the Sentinels to hunt mutants, to Hitler.

"Trask is, ultimately, a peace lover. He feels that humanity will go on fighting each other unless they find some common element to unite against," said the director. "Perhaps as Hitler used the Jews as a scapegoat to bond the darker parts of Europe, he's doing the same thing with mutants."

But Peter Dinklage, who playes Trask, doesn't like that comparison. "I wouldn't go so far as Hitler. I sympathize with [Bolivar Trask], having played him, and I don't know how one does that with Hitler," he explained. "Trask does actually believe that what he's doing is going to save the world."

Source: Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
M. Bullitt writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 7:50:44 AM

The same old sh*t to use the Hitler reference just to get the attention. f*cking idiot knows nothing about European history.

Enough to hear from that pathetic wanker already!
boogiel writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 7:53:51 AM

"I wouldn't go so far as Hitler..."

A midget Hitler? Very interesting. Anyway, perhaps the right statement would be: I wouldn't go as Tall as hitler. Just sayin'
boogiel writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 8:00:34 AM

Wait a minute...come to think of it, perhaps Singer has a point there. Fox is perfect embodiment of Adolf Hitler that is full of promises and then when they have your trust, they crush your soul and rape your childhood.
Cannon writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 8:04:35 AM


In other midget news: Warwick Davis turns 44 today.

BadChadB33 writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 9:23:12 AM

Yea no where close to being like Hitler.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 9:24:14 AM

I still say we clone Hitler and let him have another stab at it.
Stapes writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 10:07:11 AM

I would like to see singer eaten alive by a pit full of wild boars.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 10:09:44 AM

If it has anything to do with the pic above, I wouldn't say a small Hitler...maybe a small John Holmes?
GreenLensman writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 10:40:42 AM

this xmen movie is gonna suck...it's full of retarded themes, ideas, and actors... the propaganda to turn humans against mutants went too far into the full on retarded realm. and im still pissed about the people they chose to play certain characters...shamey shame shame
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 10:49:57 AM

hmm, well i'm glad peter dinklage has a different view...death at a funeral was on last night...makes me feel cheap!! like some cheap piece of ass! lol...and @ boogiel, you cleverly redirected bryan singer's comment, 20th century fox is a lot like hitler...they pour out these great comedy films, but when it comes to translating from book to screen, they literally f*ck the fans over
bandolero999 writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 11:18:00 AM

he's too short for me to take him seriously
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 1:29:56 PM

Kind of a default example there. People seem to forget there were other evil tyrants in history. Next you're going to tell me Mystique in this film is like the Oswald when he shot Kennedy. Actually...yeah okay maybe I could get behind that. Worthless character having more relevance to a national situation than it should be. Seriously they better explain why Magneto isn't the one who is trying to kill whoever instead of his good time gal. Because if it has anything to do with Lawrence's popularity and not relevance to the story I am going to be f*cking pissed. Like if it makes sense sure but it's killing me Mystique is the main problem given in the last film she was undeniably Magneto's little bitch at the end of the film.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 1:54:06 PM

Sleuth <3 J-Law
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 2:00:35 PM

@ minkowski...in regards to your last comment on the previous bryan singer/x-men thread, i value your blueprint analogy, but that's exactly the point i was trying to make...x-men's blueprint is in the comics...which bryan singer banned...so naturally you have a lot of pissed fans and soon to be executives scratching their heads on why enough money wasn't made as expected, they never stayed true to source material, not once...not even for the f*ck of it...just to see if it was possible to make more money by being faithful rather than unfaithful...after all the money it's already made, would it really hurt them so bad to take that risk?...not as much as it's going to hurt the franchise the way it's headed...and it's at that point when hopefully actors will be a bit more fan considerate and take notice of things people notice that directors don't...just cause directors have a 'vision' or 'see what nobody else sees' doesn't mean everyone else sees what he doesn't see...it was a big no no to say superman returns was intended for a female crowd...everyone knows superman is like super mario, rated E for EVERYONE, so of course targeting females is naturally gonna piss off the rest of the crowd...if i had written a book and gotten a movie deal, and they asked me if i'd let bryan singer direct my film i'd say f*ck to the no!...i'd ask for peter jackson or guillermo del toro instead
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 3:11:25 PM

@Deaft0ne
Dude really? You going to start that sh*t because mink said it? Am I not wrong in saying that character progression makes no sense? Was Mystique not a follower by the end of First Class and, by the time you hit the original trilogy, still Magneto's follower?
minkowski writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 4:21:52 PM

I don't get the analogy. Really, I don't.

Sure, Hitler used the Jews as an excuse for Germany's failure, but that was an exceptional case. Not everyone in Europe felt that way, especially considering the Jewish problem as then posed was specific to Germany post-WW1 and during the Wiemar Republic. Certainly the Poles and French didn't have much of an issue with them, nor did they blame Jews for Germany's failure, which was a very minority opinion shared by a relatively few Germans.

So...the comparison isn't apt unless the entire world is an analogy for early 20th century Germany, and unless the world is suffering a severe failure of confidence, and unless said failure can be realistically blamed on "mutants".

Even then, Trask would have to go about setting up concentration camps. He'd have to try to exterminate mutants as Hitler did with the Jews. Really don't see how that's possible with the mutants' powers, even with Trask's super-powerful "Sentinels".

The analogy fails even more because it begins with a false premise: Hitler has no desire for peace. He had no desire to save the world. He wanted to eliminate an "infection" of Jews, to destroy them, not to save the world, but to redeem German's nationalistic glory and power. He also had a deep desire to conquer all of Europe, and Euro-Jewry was a considerable obstacle to that plan.
Quidd writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 4:36:35 PM

Though Hitler was a f*cking mad man, the git site was an amazing leader. I mean, how many leaders of nations in recent history can you think that got their entire country to stand by every word they say no matter how ridiculous and extreme they were. Outside of the war and his f*cking extermination, that guy turned Germany around and made the economy boom. I would like to see a solid film on Hitler that covers his entire life and not just that last decade.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 5:18:26 PM

@Quidd
Someone once said no one is ever completely good or evil and this is true even for the madman that was Adolf Hitler. WE like to simply call the man a devil in the clothing of a man, but if you really want to avoid the evil repeating you need to understand his motivation, even if it didn't make sense. That is the only way to avoid history repeating itself. Hitler would be an incredible research study brought to film.
minkowski writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 5:27:43 PM

Hitler is one of the most researched men of all time, and bringing his story to the narrow confines of film would add absolutely nothing of historical value to the voluminous mountains of research already extant. Nothing at all.

Not only that, but it would f*cking bomb because no one's going to see anything that paints the world's most vicious mass-murderer in any light other than that of a deranged mad man, which he verily often was.

Not to mention Hollywood's not likely to sign off on such a project given the number of Jews therein, plus the aforementioned dismal box-office returns.

In addition, such a film would likely be banned in Germany, and perhaps other locales, such as Poland which lost most of its Jewry to Heinrich Himmler's Final Solution.
M. Bullitt writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 6:07:31 PM

Mink

You pretentious lying c*nt, you know sh*t about Hitler without c*ntopedia you undeuc
M. Bullitt writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 6:09:48 PM

why don't we meet Mink? Just give your f*cking phone N
minkowski writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 6:12:12 PM

"Though Hitler was a f*cking mad man, the git site was an amazing leader."

If by leader you mean the pied piper of Germany who led all the little rats off the cliff with his siren song, then yes. If by leader you mean a brave, confident man who led his people out of darkness into a better way of living, then absolutely not.


The problem with Hitler is simple: he was f*cking stupid. He did everything wrong. Everything.

Sure, the people of Germany found strength in him and his belief in the superiority of the German state, but that's what they were seeking: a strongman, a strong man who would fight for Germany. Someone to redeem Germany. Someone to restore the greatness of their nation and realize their pathological and ideological belief Germany was destined for dominance on the European continent.

Unfortunately for them, they chose the loudest mouth, not the best and brightest mind.



Anywho, like I said...stupid.

Hitler had his chance. He had a chance to do what was right for Germany, and instead he opted for settling personal grievances through the apparatus of the state.

First mistake? Ostracizing, and then wholesale murdering, Jews, who held a large percentage of Germany's intellectual capital. For instance, Albert Einstein, Niels Bohr and Leo Szilard, all of whom were instrumental in the development of America's atomic bomb project, which beat Germany's nascent nuclear ambitions, but perhaps only barely, and only because Hitler and Himmler drove before them the talent necessary to make such a project a reality.

In fact, when Hitler invaded Russia, many of the people the Heer, German's army division, encountered thought they were being rescued from Stalin, only to be murdered by Hitler's mobile murder squads, the Einsatzgruppen. Hitler then went from European liberator to panoramic mass-murderer, which did no wonders for him and his plans. In fact, it's perhaps one of the very good reasons the Wehrmacht was resisted so tenaciously by the starving and long suffering peasants of the Urals.

Other humongous mistakes and missed opportunities: Hitler failing to force Hirohito into an agreement whereby the latter would avoid drawing the ire of the US until Operation Sea Lion, German's planned invasion of Britain, completed. Had Sea Lion actually occurred and succeeded, the Allies would have been deprived of the British Isles, which was at the time was effectively the world's largest aircraft carrier, stationed right off the coast of France. Had Japan not bombed Pearl Harbor, Sea Lion would have commenced before Operation Barbarossa, which was the codename for German's invasion of Russia.

Germany could have certainly taken the British Isles, and once done there, it would have cut off the Allies off, leaving Hitler to consolidate his Westerly gains.

Another missed opportunity: Mussolini, who acted like Watson to Sherlock: Hitler's little fawning puppy.

Il Duche's Northern African military campaigns were pretty much a disaster, and this required Hitler to send armed divisions t shore up the southern flank, which deprived his Eastern armies of men and materiel, and delayed the invasion of Russia by months, which put Germany right in the path of General Winter, Russia's name for the harsh weather that had defeated previous invaders.

Other errors abound, such as his failure to push to Moscow, or his refusal to push harder for newer weapons like the Horten Ho 229. He also put too much faith in U-boats and pocket battleships instead of forgoing the Versailles armistice agreements, all leading Germany's eventual loss of dominance in the North Atlantic.





In fact, looking over the history, Hitler was as bad a military commander as he was an artist. He thought he knew best, even when he clearly did not. He painted boring buildings and then wondered why he was rejected by the Viennese art community. He commanded non-existent battalions and then wondered why his military advisers mocked his clear lack of ability. Hitler could do no wrong, in his mind. Hitler was supreme and all-knowing.

Arrogance got the best of him, and it was his downfall.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 6:30:25 PM

@mink
No doubt Hitler was an arrogant bastard. It was his arrogance and stupidity that led to his failure. He let his soldiers freeze which led to them being squash. I forget the location but I always remember that was one of the turning points of the war was he didn't send his soldiers somewhere and they ended up freezing in the cruel winter with insufficient supplies. And perhaps as a film it be impossible to accurately depict him, not to mention yes people would be too narrow minded to even watch and consider there was more to his character. My point is that we're too damn naive as of late. We want blur the line whenever we can but on our terms. The idea of looking further into an historical figure and understanding the entire motivation behind his horrific actions scares people because it means looking at something they hate and truly understanding the motivation behind that man's actions which could have started out as the purist of intent. He wanted to help his nation...but he let a deranged sense of hate and madness drive him in the end making him the monster we all know and hate. But that's all anyone really focuses on is the end, the monster. Understanding the man behind him is what prevents us from going down that same road.
minkowski writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 6:47:09 PM

@Sleuth: that was the Battle of Moscow. Basically Hitler's men froze to death because his invasion occurred too late in the year. It was supposed to begin early that spring but instead occurred in June. Whoops.

And no, they didn't have warm clothing, nor were they prepared for the Russian freeze which immobilized their mechanized infantry, IIRC.

More idiotic planning by Der Fuhrer.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 6:53:30 PM

@mink
Yeah that was it. You might be able to answer another question. I remember watching a history doc*mentary on the war and they pointed out how a few changes here and there to history and Hitler would have on. The Battle of Moscow was one but I remember there being one other very significant choice Hitler made in battle. Something about him sending his troops one way instead of another. That might actually have been the Battle of Moscow but I swore there was another one where he sent his troops to one place instead of another and it allowed the Allie Forces to take a win because they went the wrong way.
minkowski writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 7:07:18 PM

Are you referring to Calais versus Normandy?

Basically the Allies led Hitler and his goons into to believing they were crossing the English Channel into the French city of Calais, where the channel is the most narrow, IIRC, and which at the time was a heavily-fortified German port. The Allies even created a faux military invasion force opposite Calais, in addition to bombing the hell out of the city before the real invasion at Normandy.

The biggest problem, for Hitler, was that Normandy was largely defended by the Vichy French, who halfheartedly fought the Allies' amphibious landing there, giving the latter the beachhead they needed to sweep Western Europe clean of Hitler's Wehrmacht.
minkowski writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 7:07:37 PM

-to.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 7:11:16 PM

@mink
Maybe. I just remember that it was a defining moment where he basically went left when he should have gone right. It sort of tied into his arrogance. He sent troops the wrong way. WWII was one of the most extensive wars ever that for all I know Hitler could have taken his troops a wrong way multiple times.
Doucheception writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 7:23:54 PM

F*ck you Singer
minkowski writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 7:25:26 PM

There was a lot of mistakes made. For instance, during the war, the Allies sent all of their women to work the war effort. In Germany, they sat home, relying instead on halfhearted slave labor.

Other errors include: cancellation of necessary war weapons programs, moving the focus of the Battle of Britain from destroying the RAF to the bombing of British cities, forcing the Me 262 to be used as a bomber instead of as an interceptor, issuing no-retreat orders to the Wehrmacht, and Hitler's idiotic desire to meet the Allies head on at the Battle of the Bulge.

When people say Hitler was a "great leader", I have to laugh.

Sure, he gave the Germans what they thought they needed: a confident, nationalistic strongman, but a "great leader"? Perhaps that was true before World War 2 began, but thereafter, Hitler's gross incompetence as Germany's commander left a great deal to desire and brought the entire nation, and much of Europe, to total ruin.

If that's great leadership, I sure as f*ck don't want to see bad.
Quidd writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 7:30:21 PM

Mink, I wasn't talking necessarily about the man himself. He's burning in hell and deserves it. I was talking about what he did for his country outside of the war on a economic stand point. He actually cared about his people, unlike most politicians. He wanted every German to have a job and food on the table by developments in infrastructure, which not only lowered unemployment but renovated the country. He also took education and technological advancements seriously to create a better nation. To this day Germany is one of the nicest countries I've been to and is also one of the few European counties not in economic trouble. I'm not saying any politician should be like Hitler at all, but they should take notes on how he cared about his people and his country from inside the walls.
Quidd writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 7:30:21 PM

Mink, I wasn't talking necessarily about the man himself. He's burning in hell and deserves it. I was talking about what he did for his country outside of the war on a economic stand point. He actually cared about his people, unlike most politicians. He wanted every German to have a job and food on the table by developments in infrastructure, which not only lowered unemployment but renovated the country. He also took education and technological advancements seriously to create a better nation. To this day Germany is one of the nicest countries I've been to and is also one of the few European counties not in economic trouble. I'm not saying any politician should be like Hitler at all, but they should take notes on how he cared about his people and his country from inside the walls.
Doucheception writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 7:33:41 PM

Weren't some of the Jews German citizens?

I'm pretty sure he didn't care about all his people.
minkowski writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 7:43:43 PM

"To this day Germany is one of the nicest countries I've been to and is also one of the few European counties not in economic trouble."

Yes, and largely thanks to the Marshall Plan, which pumped in tens of billions of dollars in reconstruction aid, as Hitler and his leadership only worsened Germany's plight, such that by 1947 Germans in West Germany were begging for food and coal.

But anywho. Sure. We can agree Hitler improved Germany's fortunes from 1934 to 1939, a whole five years, also during which German Jewry was already being slated for liquidation.

But yes, compared to the disastrous Wiemar Republic, what Hitler did, for that half-decade, was certainly an improvement over Paul von Hindenburg's miserable administration.
minkowski writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 7:51:28 PM

"but they should take notes on how he cared about his people and his country from inside the walls."

As long as you were a pure-bred Aryan, and as long as you fought to your death for your country, then yeah, Hitler cared about you, although he'd throw you under the Volkswagen if he thought it would assist his ambitions.

Nah. I really don't think Hitler cared about "the people" nearly as much as he cared about his conception of The German Dream, and accomplishing that was far more important to him than any Germans.

For instance, where was his concern for the German people when he sent his men into Russia without the prerequisite supplies, or when he told them to fight to the last man, even though he knew their was no possibility of their survival?



Hitler cared about Hitler, and to Hitler he was the spiritual embodiment of the perfect German state. Everything else could be sacrificed in furtherance of that singular goal.
minkowski writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 7:56:56 PM

*there.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 10:06:15 PM

@mink
There is a lot indeed to that time period. I need to brush up on my history.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved