WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Philip Seymour Hoffman Found Dead From Heroin Overdose

Posted: February 3rd, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Philip Seymour Hoffman Found Dead From Heroin OverdoseSubmit Comment
Oscar-winning actor Philip Seymour Hoffman was found dead in his Greenwich Village apartment from an apparent heroin overdose. Police say that a hypodermic needle was still stuck in his arm. He was only 46 years old.

Screenwriter and friend David Bar Katz went to check on Hoffman after the actor missed an appointment to pick up his three kids. Katz found him in his underwear on a bathroom floor.

Police found five empty glassine envelopes in a garbage can, two more under the bed and one on a table in the apartment, where Hoffman who has repeatedly struggled with substance abuse. Cops also found a charred spoon in the kitchen sink.

The envelopes were marked "Ace of Spades," which sources said is a brand of heroin that hasn't been seen on the streets since around 2008 in Brooklyn. Hoffman's death is believed to be accidental.

Hoffman has an incredibly long film resume and a very respectful career. He most recently was working on "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1." His part was almost complete with only seven days left to shoot. Lionsgate says the actor's death will not affect the release date of the film.

Source: NY Post


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 9:26:49 PM

You heard it here first, folks.
shafe41 writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 9:26:52 PM

Shocked when I heard this. Truly an amazing actor taken from us for such a terrible reason.
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 9:31:06 PM

Taken from us? He shot f*cking heroin. You act like Baby Jesus plucked him up to heaven without cause or reason.
capsule writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 9:32:17 PM

f*ck that fat f*cking piece of sloth sh*t. f*cking troll f*cker looked like he would test you with a riddle if you ever saw him in public. f*cking disgrace drug addict whore. Get what you deserve.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 9:32:48 PM

Still sucks could have been quite a few memorable performances left in him
sm00th_eskimo writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 9:34:13 PM

While I don't condone his drug usage, I will say that he was a better actor than most of the trash in Hollywood. R.I.P. Mr. Hoffman....u will be missed!!!!
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 9:43:05 PM

He was a damned fine actor but he should have taken better care of himself.

When I saw that he was 47, I thought "no way, he has to be in his fifties at least".
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 9:52:41 PM

Tragic and horrific as the good ones seem to keep leaving us. I don't condone his personal issue but damn it if he wasn't one of the finest actors out there. He was a great dramatic actor and found time to make awesome blockbuster roles such as Mission: Impossible III. Why do the good ones leave the show first? It just bewilders me that people with so much fall prey to that garbage. Damn tragic. RIP Mr. Hoffman.
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 10:05:08 PM

Can you imagine the pie-eating contest him and Chris Farley are going to have in heaven? But god help them if Michael Moore dies soon.
Zeroguy writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 10:09:09 PM

He let his vice/addiction get the better of him. He's human. We all have problems that we try to say aren't a problem or push aside.
He was an amazing actor that's was completely versatile. Granted he could never play a charming male lead, this allows him to play roles similar with subtly injected into them wonderfully by him.
Happiness, The Savages, Love Liza, Before the Devil Knows You're Dead, Jack Goes Boating, Capote, Charlie Wilson's War.
Then there's Synecdoche New York and his work with Paul Thomas Anderson (hilarious in Punch Drunk Love and heartbreaking in Boogie Nights and Magnolia).
He was even hilarious in awful sh*t like Invention of Lying and Along Came Polly.

I won't say its a tragedy but I take this as personal blow. I respected him as an actor and his approach to the craft. So it hurts that this happen, especially the way it's processed.

RIP PSH.
boogiel writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 10:20:57 PM

Damn! Another fine actor wasted. What a pity. RIP
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 10:21:44 PM

I read he was "on the wagon" for 23 years, previous to his early years as an addict. Only recently did he start shooting up again. Guess his body, with its rather poor health, couldn't handle the toxic shock after so many years of relative sobriety.
capsule writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 10:25:20 PM

And Hollywood could care less as long as the studio gets their insurance check. That's why these ducks are insured for millions so when the drugs do their job the studio just says Payday!, and washes their hands of it. Tactical. ...
crimsonshaft writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 10:31:28 PM

Welcome to the party Alex!
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 10:34:21 PM

Worstpreviews where being the last is first.
Stuntmanbob writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 10:45:32 PM

Seriously people are gonna talk sh*t and say he deserved it because he was an addict? If it was your family, your mother, brother, sister, whatever you wouldnt be saying the same thing. Addicts arent horrible people, drugs change you and everyone has a drug of choice you may just not know
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 10:47:12 PM

I, for one, never said he deserved, and admitted it's a genuine loss to cinema.

On the other hand, be brought it on himself.
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 10:47:29 PM

*to die.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 10:57:21 PM

Shame he was into heroin.but he was a good acteur.why couldn't it been Tatum or gosling
GreenLensman writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 11:14:51 PM

I thought I read he died of a "Hermione" overdose...like he jerked off so much to Hermione his d*ck disintegrated into a pile of salty sand...which he then tried to cook and inject into his fat f*cking pedo face to get high....

may he RIP and what not
el-ray writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 11:33:38 PM

RIP Philip Seymour Hoffman
boogiel writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 11:44:12 PM

Hopefully Justin (no-talent) Bieber won't be far behind.
blumpkin4 writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 11:56:06 PM

We all have are vices mink. When you die i will be the first to point out that it wasnt much of a loss. 1/3 of minks life was wasted on this site. Give poor phil a break
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 12:48:57 AM

I've honesty got to agree with mink here. If you've got three kids, a great family and a f*ck load of money, and you're still doing heroin you're kind of a piece of sh*t..

None the less, it's always sh*tty when someone can't get over their habits and they overdose or even worse.
He really was a great actor.. Rest in Peace..
Zeroguy writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 1:33:33 AM

Wow. Reading mink's posts, I'm not detecting him as a basement dweller who loves to be edgy, a person who enjoys cracking jokes immediately after one's death.
He has a point when it comes to a family. PSH had a family he left behind, something I'm sure he didn't take properly into account when he relapsed.
But like I said before, we have our vices. He succ*mbed to his, sadly.

One thing I'm catching on, is how it's seems as though fame and fortune means one should be comfortable in their life. Money doesn't mean happiness. It can help take off some stress, sure. But it's not a solution to depression.

But I don't want to diminish his skill and talent within the industry, and for the craft. He was a brilliant actor who brought a tremendous amount of talent to each role.
Brody writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 1:54:28 AM

Really sad news, a great actor, one of the finest of his generation. R.I.P.
nuttie30xx writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 2:55:09 AM

antone who puts that sh*t onto there body deserves what they get f*cking prick has kids he sould be think of them not smack
M. Bullitt writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 3:13:53 AM

I guess The Hunger Games: Catching Aids 3rd part will have a problem then.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 3:26:18 AM

Pie eating contest with john belushi and john candy
i124q writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 3:26:51 AM

A truly outstanding actor, he made every film he was in a better film.
SmOkEdCrAcKiN writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 9:04:41 AM

If you don't agree that he was the best of this generation of actors, then you are a Vin Diesel lover. Heroin sucks. Opiates suck. He wasn't screen idol good looking but he could play the prep and he could make you want to know more about whatever role he was in. So gifted and proof that people with these artistic abilities are often suffering from inner demons.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 9:12:31 AM

Loved him in everything he was in especially The Big Lebowski. RIP PSH....but herion?!?! This guy must have had some serious demons to fall back on that sh*t.

Stick to weed people!!! Still hasn't killed anyone as far as I know. Need to trip, stick to the shrooms. Non-lethal and natural is the way to go.

Wouldn't you rather read headlines like:

http://www.thesmokinggun.com/mugshots/celebrity/hollywood/matthew-mcconaughey


shafe41 writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 9:35:40 AM

Wrong choice of words. He was taken for a terrible reason. A selfish reason. I personally just can't fathom how one starts on heroin. "Ohhh I'm bored, this needle in my arm will solve it."
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 11:05:55 AM

i liked him in a lot of films...had more wisdom and knowledge in acting than a lot of no talents today
WallyDee writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 2:48:23 PM

Im amazed Alex posted this in 2014
minkowski writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 8:13:16 PM

Alex's 2015 calender is booked solid for Spider-Man 3 posts and Bryan Singer interviews.
shafe41 writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 9:42:37 PM

Reports saying they found 50 bags of heroin in his apartment??? 50 f*cking bags? Eat your heart out Cory Monteith.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved