WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bryan Singer Explains Why He Didn't Cast Henry Cavill in "Superman Returns"

Posted: February 2nd, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bryan Singer Explains Why He DidnSubmit Comment
While promoting "X-Men: Days of Future Past," director Bryan Singer spoke about his "Superman Returns" movie and the recent "Man of Steel."

"I saw ['Man of Steel'] when it came out," he said. "I am in awe of the world building and the scope of that picture. There were things I might have done a little differently just because of the way I view the character."

When Singer came on board to direct "Superman Returns," Henry Cavill (Man of Steel) was set to play Superman, but Singer replaced him with Brandon Routh. "I think Henry Cavill is great. I knew Henry. He and I were friends years ago," said the director. "The reason I didn't cast him was because I was making a sequel to Christopher Reeve and I wanted somebody who embodied Reeve more."

Source: Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 46 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 6:49:36 AM

What a douchebag. First, he ruins X-men by making Wolverine the primary protagonist,then he leaves the franchise to butcher Superman, and now he critiques someone else's vision? Singer is a piece of sh*t.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 6:58:06 AM

I agree that Routh looks more like the Reeve version, but damn MOS is so much better in every way !!!
Think Spacey is such a great actor, but i´m not a fan of Lex and I really feel Kevin was a bad choice for the part- Eisenberg sounds even worse !!
But it will still be interesting to see the finished result.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 6:58:37 AM

I agree that Routh looks more like the Reeve version, but damn MOS is so much better in every way !!!
Think Spacey is such a great actor, but i´m not a fan of Lex and I really feel Kevin was a bad choice for the part- Eisenberg sounds even worse !!
But it will still be interesting to see the finished result.
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 9:43:20 AM

Very off Topic but have any of you seen Donnie Darko?

I watched it earlier today and I've got to say it was an amazing film. Confusing at first? Yes. But once you do the research after the film (Which I did heavily) you start to further understand what the f*ck you just watched and how absolutely brilliant it was.

Opinions? Did you guys enjoy it? Was it as confusing to you as others? Personally, I understood the ending, I really did. But I couldn't help but feel perplexed on some aspects of the film. There's some very well done "Explained" videos on YouTube
warriors187 writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 9:47:40 AM

@Tanman

You just now watched Donnie Darko? Ha
I can understand your need to discuss it if this was your first time seeing the movie, but we would need a whole thread in of which itself.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 9:52:14 AM

@Tanman - saw it, not a movie for simple minds.
I have a list of movies that I simply don´t understand and it was honestly a bit confusing at times.
The acting was pretty solid but the storyline was not appealing to me.
Wasn´t Swayze in that flick ??
Stapes writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 10:44:23 AM

Cavill was like 22 or 23 at the time, get real.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 11:28:30 AM

Yeah but Routh was 26 at the time too so it's not a big difference.
PORN-FLY writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 11:36:13 AM

"I am in awe of the world building and the scope of that picture.
There were things I might have done a little differently just because of the way I view the character."

translation:

beautiful crap
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 11:47:49 AM

You're absolutely correct on that. Not for simple minds lol Here's a link to a video that sums the film up perfectly for those confused And yes Swayze was in it lol

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=2mzR37e1EVk

honestly, after watched the trailer after I bought it years ago, I decided that it looked like crap and left it on the my shelf. Even after the countless positive word of mouth I've heard, it was until my buddy made me throw it on yesterday that made me watch it
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 12:43:59 PM

Both SM versions sucked...

Singer was too much in awe of the original insulting the audience's intelligence. Snyder's version was too dark and overcooked.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 12:52:18 PM

If I had to choose...MOS. Just on sheer scope and ambition...
GreenLensman writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 1:06:32 PM

off topic but Has anyone seen this movie called Braveheart? i just picked it up off of my coffee table (which is conveniently shaped like a ball sac) and decided to watch it because my gay little friend said i should. It was an amazing film. It was hard to understand what I was watching but I did research on it and it made sense after that.
Cannon writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 1:46:55 PM


Breaking News: Philip Seymour Hoffman dead. Drug overdose.

http://nypost.com/2014/02/02/philip-seymour-hoffman-found-dead-in-his-apartment/
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 1:50:03 PM

@Green

Oh my god, that same thing like happened to me! Oh my god, what are the odds!???!?!!?
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 1:52:24 PM

sh*tty to hear about Hoffman, he had some good acting under his belt
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 3:11:53 PM

So sad to hear about Hoffman. Yet Lohan still lives.
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 3:16:39 PM

Yeah, just read the news.

Hollywood needs to address drug use in Hollywood, and fast, and stop worrying about "guns" when they have their own killer epidemic.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 3:24:11 PM

Horrible news about Hoffman. He was the closest thing to a living legend nowadays. A truly great actor.
Addiction is an ugly thing.

RIP PSH
M. Bullitt writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 3:26:50 PM

Just so The Counselor and what a horrible story. I felt sick afterwards.

What's the point to make films so dark these days? What is sure, I'll never watch that film again. Bloody disgusting!

And Hoffman choose his way out à la John Belushi, sad way to go man. RIP.
M. Bullitt writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 3:27:33 PM

*Just saw
PORN-FLY writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 3:46:20 PM

i just heard of this entertainment medium called 'film'??

can anyone recommend any 'f i l ms' that i might fine ent ter taining?

you guys are awesome
PORN-FLY writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 3:48:16 PM

HOLY CANADIAN BACON!

THERE USED TO BE SILENT AND BLACK 'N WHITE FILMS??

what's next?
landing on the moon??

*fascinating*
M. Bullitt writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 3:51:55 PM

^ ^ "Filth" with James McAvoy, it has some funny bits and it bit f*cked up flick but enjoyable.
M. Bullitt writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 3:53:56 PM

*it's a bit

f*ck!
BlackDynamite writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 4:41:35 PM

Both of the movies weren't great, but Routh's Superman was way more intune with the comics character.
jafinbham writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 4:43:55 PM

No Bryan Singer you in fact did not make a sequel to Christopher Reeve. We heard Marlon Brando tell his son that they had spent 12 years studying in the fortress of solitude. He specifically mentions they will cover the history of all the known planets in the known systems. He specifically tells him that he is the last surviving son of his home world Krypton. I don't know what kind of proof he gave the boy but I'd be fine with taking his word on the matter.

That being said, why in the hell would Superman want to go to the remains of his home world that exploded? Why would he waste five years round trip to be certain he's really the last of his kind? Didn't Reeve's Superman spend 12 years learning the answers to that very question.

And Reeve's Superman nearly drowned in a swimming pool because some kryptonite was hanging around his neck. In your "sequel" to Reeve's film you must have forgotten that as you had Superman lift an entire island made partially of kryptonite, fly it to the edge of our atmosphere and hurl this massive kryptonite island into space. That's the sequel to being drug to the bottom of a pool and nearly drowned by a small rock.

Bryan Singer, after watching all of the X-Men films I can't help but strongly suspect that you have a problem with what's known as continuity. The main problem being you don't seem to know what it is or why it's important in connecting a story across multiple films.

Bryan Singer I guess I'm saying.....you forgot your shine box you worthless hack!!!
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 4:44:59 PM

Alex wrote his little article in the hopes people would continue trashing Singer. Guess it worked.



The REST of the article

http://movies.yahoo.com/news/superman-returns-director-bryan-singer-why-cast-brandon-002004386.html


“I am in awe of the world building and the scope of that picture. It’s tough for me. I’m not a critic and it starts to get into a weird thing where one director is talking about another director. I know how hard it is to make a movie, especially one of these movies and especially a Superman movie, and there was so much I was impressed with in that movie,” said Singer, who offered a minor criticism as well.

“There were things I might have done a little differently just because of the way I view the character. Don’t misinterpret that as me not liking something,” cautioned Singer, who added that his thoughts shouldn’t be mistaken as a proper review.

While Singer praised Henry Cavill’s performance, he said there was a distinct reason why Brandon Routh was cast in “Superman Returns” over Cavill.

“Um… I think Henry Cavill is great. I knew Henry. He and I were friends years ago. Oddly enough, the reason I didn’t cast him was because I was making a sequel to Christopher Reeve and I wanted somebody who embodied Reeve more.”
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 4:49:57 PM

"That being said, why in the hell would Superman want to go to the remains of his home world that exploded? Why would he waste five years round trip to be certain he's really the last of his kind? Didn't Reeve's Superman spend 12 years learning the answers to that very question."



And if you were an orphan, removed from your birth home, wouldn't you want to visit that place to know, to comprehend, your roots, instead of viewing images of it via Wikipedia and Google?

Imagine you were born in Ireland and had Irish parents. Imagine you were removed from there to America, only later to realize your place of birth, the pace you originated, is across a vast ocean. Wouldn't you feel inclined to visit said place? Would internet research be enough?

Methinks not. And that's why Superman traveled the vast gulf of oceanic space to see with his own eyes the place from which he came.
PORN-FLY writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 4:54:02 PM

Hoffman offed himself using Hunger Games $$

between Jennifer Lawrence and those films
they'll be the death of us all


(yes Im f*ckn aware he could have gotten free drugs anywhere)

*f*ckos*
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 5:07:42 PM

"saw it, not a movie for simple minds"

No, it's a movie for bullsh*t minds.


",then he leaves the franchise to butcher Superman,"

Actually, it wasn't entirely or primarily his fault. DC had been trying to get Superman back into theaters since the late eighties. Part of the Superman Returns script was written back during the Death and Return of Superman, in fact.

And for ten years thereafter, DC and WB had done everything to get the film made. They hired Kevin Smith to write a script, then rejected it. They hired Lemkins only to reject his ideas.

They went through Burton, McG and Ratner before settling on Singer, who was, arguably, the best choice out of the four or more directors attached to the faulty and ultimately doomed production.

They were looking at Will Smith for Superman, Shia LeBeouf for Jimmy Olsen and Beyonce for Lois Lane.

Really, blaming Singer alone is farcical, considering DC had absolutely no idea where they wanted to take the character, which if you've noticed, has totally f*cked up Man of Steel 2 and made Man of Steel into a incoherent CGI-plastered wrecking ball of a movie




In other words, since Superman IV, DC and WB have had absolutely no idea how to handle their superhero properties, and that's why what they're doing *now* looks so bad, and why, in all likelihood, it, this new JLA/Superman-Batman/World's Suckiest film, is going to fail in some major way, if it ever gets made.
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 5:08:28 PM

+also.
jafinbham writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 5:19:21 PM

Fair enough. But a five year plane ride would definitely factor into that decision. The way he knocked Lois up and then split town without so much as a good-bye bang gave Routh's Superman a bit of a deadbeat dad vibe to him. I mean come on. Surely Superman pays his child support in crystals or something.

I bet these films are nightmares to work on just based on the sheer number of people working on it. I bet someone actually said we should make Superman more emo. B*tches love emo.

I've always loved Kevin Smith's talk about being involved with that Superman project at Warner Bros. where he would read script pages to Jon Peters. I see some sort of kryptonian world changing machine/squid monster at the end of Man of Steel and all I can hear in my head is Kevin Smith saying "What do you know about squids? Most dangerous predator in the ocean's animal kingdom man. Superman has to fight a squid in the third act."
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 5:21:02 PM

hmmm...it's as i have envisioned...these directors...they have no respect for the material because they choose to portray 'in their vision' not the way fans were hoping to see...a respectable director portrays it as it is portrayed in the comic books or cartoons
PORN-FLY writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 5:25:14 PM

excellent point,SYNTHETIC
Hulk is a good example
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 5:29:44 PM

"Fair enough. But a five year plane ride would definitely factor into that decision. The way he knocked Lois up and then split town without so much as a good-bye bang gave Routh's Superman a bit of a deadbeat dad vibe to him. I mean come on. Surely Superman pays his child support in crystals or something"



Well, for Superman to be a deadbeat dad, he'd have to know he had a child and be given a chance to factor into that kid's life. You can't blame him for not being there when he had no idea Lois was pregnant.

Of course, the fact Lois was able to give birth to Superman's kid, or the vast unlikelihood of Superman having compatible DNA and/or "human" reproductive organs, renders the super-child concept all shades of stupid, not to mention the fact the kid had psychic powers instead of Superman's traditional abilities, which turns Mendelian genetics on its head.

At the very least, you'd think Superman would have taken Lois with him, so as to provide to Earth first-hand doc*mentation of Krypton's existence, an idea that would have been better than what we got.

You know, "The Adventures of Lois and Clarke in Space". Maybe make it into a television show or something.
PORN-FLY writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 5:30:45 PM

good point,SYNTHETIC
Hulk is an excellent example
(fixed)

Im medicated(got a cold)
(both naturally & pharmaceutically) <-is that a word?
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 5:34:14 PM

"a respectable director portrays it as it is portrayed in the comic books or cartoons"

Director's do what the studios want, not what THEY want. Singer doesn't own WB or DC. He makes what he's given.

Even in the infrequent scenario whereby the director is allowed to write the story, say Nolan with respect to Batman, he (or she...) MUST still work within the given guidelines of the producer's, studios and IP holder's vision. And if that vision doesn't pass muster, it's sh*t-canned.

So when you say a director should make a film according to the fan's wishes, you're saying the fans call the shots, and they DO NOT, especially considering a movie is made for the widest possible audience, and NOT for the fans alone.




If you want your own fan-faithful comic book movie, then buy the rights and pay for the production yourself.
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 5:34:43 PM

-'
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 5:41:19 PM

As for PSH...what a loser. Fat bastard doing heroin at his age with his weight. Stupid fat f*ck.

And if the drugs didn't get his dumb fat ass, the fatness would have.

Great actor, usually terribly boring, bland character performances, and a total f*cking loser, obviously, not to mention just another sh*tty "role model" out of Crapifornia, a la Paul "Rotisserie" Walker.
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 5:49:00 PM

"There were things I might have done a little differently just because of the way I view the character."...that's the kind of thinking that ruined x-men and superman...no director should ever make a translated comic/book/series/story into a film in their own selfish view...unless it's their own damn story
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 5:49:02 PM

"good point,SYNTHETIC
Hulk is an excellent example
(fixed)"


You mean the Ang Lee movie that looked just like a f*cking comic book? The one that was intended to mimic a comic book as rendered onto film?

Yeah, that went well. /sarc.

All the reason why studios DON'T let usually directors have free rein, and why they DON'T usually pander exclusively to the "fans". It ruins productions and breaks box office profit.

Perfect example: Ang Lee's Hulk, the best reason extant for how NOT to make (or experiment with) a comic book movie.
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 5:58:33 PM

@ minkowski, well in that case i redirect my other comment to either a director or studios executives...as i recall it was studio execs i was reading that scrapped gambit out of x3 because 'they' felt his character was too much of another cyclops or wolverine, another selfish reason not to include him nor any of the other mutants that still never made it in the films, nor portrayed faithfully...and @ boogiel if i remembered right, i think the 90s x-men had no protagonist...well i guess maybe the whole team was the protagonist, i'm just glad there's people out there that notice these things whereas studios don't
jafinbham writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 6:09:27 PM

no director should ever make a translated comic/book/series/story into a film in their own selfish view...unless it's their own damn story

It's not some selfish view. This the persons involved false sense of having talent. They honestly think their stupid ideas are actually better because they are so clever.

"There were things I might have done a little differently just because of the way I view the character."

Translation: Superman doesn't commit murder. I know that much about the character. That felt like someone's attempt at being clever by adding a "twist" at the end. They after all have "talent." It was probably supposed to be "dark and gritty like Nolan's batman." It was not. I award them no points and may god have mercy on their soul.
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 7:26:28 PM

Dunno if this was ever posted here:

http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/JoshWildingNewsAndReviews/news/?a=80192

Hugh Jackman Reveals That Bryan Singer BANNED Comic Books From The Set Of X-MEN





Makes sense if he wanted to ensure the cast and crew weren't channeling what they read in comic books instead of what was in the script.

After all, it's his job to make sure the cast and crew make what's supposed to get made, not what the cast and crew think THEY should get made. They're the hired help and they do it the studio way within a large margin.

Kind of like if I and a bunch of guys hired a contractor to build a house or commercial building. We want what we see on our blueprints, and not what the contractor read about last night in the latest edition of Evolo or Architecture.
Doucheception writes:
on February 3rd, 2014 at 7:27:42 PM

Bryan Singer, the reason I became a knick-picking x-men facts douchebag.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved