WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bryan Singer Wanted Darkseid For "Superman Returns" Sequel, Regrets Not Rebooting Franchise

Posted: February 2nd, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bryan Singer Wanted Darkseid For "Superman Returns" Sequel, Regrets Not Rebooting FranchiseSubmit Comment
In the latest issue of Empire magazine, director Bryan Singer (X-Men: Days of Future Past) spoke about the negative reaction to his "Superman Returns" movie, which has been called the worst comic book film of all time.

"Half of that I understand and half of it I never will," he said. "It was a movie made for a certain kind of audience. Perhaps more of a female audience. It wasn't what it needed to be, I guess. I think I could lop the first quarter off and start the movie a bit more aggressively and maybe find a way to start the movie with the jet disaster sequence or something. I could have grabbed the audience a little more quickly. I don't know what would have helped. Probably nothing. If I could go again, I would do an origin. I would reboot it."

But the plan was always to follow "Superman Returns" with a sequel and it turns out that Singer wanted Darkseid to be the villain. "I think Darkseid was going to be the villain. It was pretty world-destroying, actually," he revealed.

So why didn't the sequel ever happen? "I ended up having the opportunity to go and make 'Valkyrie,' and I think the studio lost interest at that point," Singer replied. "I can't say it was all the studio's fault and I can't say it was all my fault. It just fizzled out."

Source: Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 6:56:00 AM

"Female audience"?! Unbelievable!! Are you f*cking kidding me? Just admit you made a f*cking terrible movie and don't pin a part of it's failure on a f*cking gender. I guess this proves it that Singer is an *sshole indeed.
boogiel writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 6:59:57 AM

"Female audience"?! Unbelievable!! Are you f*cking kidding me? Just admit you made a f*cking terrible movie and don't pin a part of it's failure on a f*cking gender. I guess this proves it that Singer is an *sshole indeed.
KillerCOck writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 9:20:57 AM

This guy is the ultimate hack, I swear.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 11:23:53 AM

Sleuth will post a massive paragraph about this that no one will read and somehow work Jennifer Lawrence into it.
PORN-FLY writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 11:42:34 AM

if women cared about action films
then White House Down would have been a hit

even Superman 2 had more of a love story
and most would argue, its the best film in the series

keep the c*nt-catering to a minimum,ya dweebs
TheFirstRule writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 11:56:46 AM

superman returns sucked big donkey d*ck.
a love letter from bryan singer to superman that no one wanted to read.
so dull and boring.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 12:49:06 PM

Superman Returns was a neutered version with an uncomfortable love triangle & a lame twist...not to mention the casting choices.
GreenLensman writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 1:15:25 PM

y'all didn't watch the movie properly, every time you see Kevin spacey you are supposed to take a bong hit and a shot of everclear. then tell me it's not the best movie ever made.
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 3:17:25 PM

Just rename this site to Bryan Singer Says already...
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 3:22:28 PM

@Porn-fly: as a female I love action movies almost never go to see "chick flicks". Please don't lump every female into the same group that will willingly rush out to see crap like 50 Shades of sh*t or Twilight.

As for "White House Down": I didn't see it because it didn't look that interesting. The next big budget film I plan on watching will be the new X-men movie. Otherwise I tend to stick with independent films or doc*mentaries.

Anyone seen the live action and animated film shorts that are being nominated this year?
PORN-FLY writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 3:49:46 PM

dont forget horror movies^
:)
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 4:35:01 PM

"which has been called the worst comic book film of all time."

Really? By who? DC fan nerds? Worse than RIPD? Worse than Batman and Robin? Worse than Batman Forever? Blade Trinity? Jonah Hex? f*cking CATWOMAN? The Spirit? Howard the Duck? The Last Stand?

Yes, people admit the movie has numerous flaws. Much of the casting is awful. The pace is terrible. It's not framed for action. The story is bizarre and contorted. The romance angle is annoying. The child was just downright laughable.

But it's still well-directed, has decent effects, a lead that apes Reeve well enough, a villain that plays Hackman's Lex better than you might imagine, and some interesting moments that harken back to the original film.

Yes, the idea Lex is going to make a new continent, from which he can rule, out of crystal, is rather absurd, but that's not a unique flaw of Superman Returns. Many comic book movies have ridiculous plot devices.

Indiana Jones and a magical cup? A flying aircraft carrier? Giant, transforming talking robots that just happen to smash buildings when they're not pissing on humans?

Summer blockbusters and comic book movies are littered with outright, abject absurdities. Jaws featured a shark that was larger than a boat and was nearly indestructible. Jurassic Park had not just reanimated dinosaurs, but reanimated flora too. GI JOE had metal-eating nanobots.

So yeah, Superman Returns was certainly flawed, and I blame the fifty writers that worked the story over like Eva Angelina on a gangbang shoot. It was a doomed concept from the beginning and the fact DC and WB had no idea what to do with it, and had no idea what the final product should look like, didn't help.

But worst comic book movie of all time? lol. Stop asking angry DC nerds what they think, man.
elrei writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 5:53:44 PM

Dammit Minkowsky! It took me a long time to get The Spirit washed from my brain. Thanks for bringing it all back with one comment.
KillerCOck writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 6:15:02 PM

The Spirit was better than Any crap Singer directed.
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 7:28:08 PM

^^So you think The Spirit is better than The Usual Suspects and X-Men 1 and 2? Well, you're the only person who thinks that...


Man, and people say I troll...
nuttie30xx writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 8:21:45 PM

mini you crack me up,,, well said on your 1st comment
triggax writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 9:11:29 PM

Yah, wow.

Better than Usual Suspects and Apt Pupil? Youre f*cking stunned.

the bean stock movie he made last year was miles better than the excrement that was The Spirit.

THAT is some excellent trolling.
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 10:06:07 PM

I know, right? I'm so jealous.
KillerCOck writes:
on February 6th, 2014 at 1:15:14 AM

I completely disagree. I forgot about Apt. Pupil doh. That movie is actually good. But Ya Usual Suspect sucks after the first viewing and it wasn't really that good to begin with and ya X1 and X2 were always lame movies, People were just happy to finally see an X-men films.
The Spirit is seriously better than all of those.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved