WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" Will NOT Bring Back Actors From Original Trilogy

Posted: February 1st, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bryan Singer Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" Will NOT Bring Back Actors From Original TrilogySubmit Comment
It was recently announced that just two years after "X-Men: Days of Future Past" hits theaters, 20th Century Fox will release "X-Men: Apocalypse" and will bring back Bryan Singer to direct.

In a new interview with Empire magazine, Singer cleared up that "Apocalypse" will be a sequel to "Days of Future Past," but will not bring back any of the characters from the original "X-Men" trilogy.

The helmer went on to hint what the story of the sequel will be. He said: "What would people thousands of years ago, without the benefit of science, think mutants were? And more importantly, what would mutants thousands of years ago think they were? Gods? Titans? Angels? Demons?" Singer asked. "If such mutants did exist thousands of years ago, what became of them? Did one survive?"

Singer also commented on the rumor that "Days of Future Past" will have a post-credits sequence featuring Magneto and Apocalypse. "That's not the case," he said. "People were concerned we were making Apocalypse an alien. It's odd. I don't know where that came from."

Source: THR, Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
filmaddict24 writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 12:31:39 AM

Do u think the general audience really cares about the younger mutants? No. They care about the original trilogy characters. I was more familiar with the original characters. Why are they doing this? I bet wolverine will still be the main focus in apocalypse.
Stapes writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 12:51:21 AM

Wow, Singer, what a novel thought.

I wish someone would drop an airplane on this *sshole's head.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 1:11:03 AM

Unbelievable. Why even focus on the younger cast? I thought Apocalypse was in the present. The problem with focusing on a younger cast is you know exactly where they are going. This film should have been what redirected the film back to it's original storyline. To the darker, more interesting storytelling of the original trilogy. But hey...got to be young and hip right instead of making a better, more unpredictable film. f*cking disgraceful. You let me down Singer and now, regardless of well this turns out, all I have to look forward to is once again a young, narrow-minded cast who we will simply see go through the motions leading to here they are going to be.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 1:35:01 AM

Did I miss something here? Where did it say Singer would focus on a "younger" cast? Historically younger yes, but not in actual age guys. I remember part of Apocalypse's story being in ancient times when he ruled more primitive civilizations as a god. Sounds like that's where the film is focusing. Might be interesting to see mutants from another time fight him before the modern world even comes about. Maybe they vanquish him but are destroyed in the process only to have their stories passed on as myth and legends until Apocalypse returns for his next attempt at conquest. Maybe their story holds the key to the Xmen beating him in the future.
GreenLensman writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 1:40:12 AM

there are many cool mutants to replace the rather played out A-team...however, i'm sure they will f*ck it up...not as bad as DC tho.

I mean, apocalypse does destroy all of the xmen at one point iirc, but are brought back by Roma
vincere01 writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 1:50:09 AM

If its not an "A" team of household name xmen the general movie going public will just ignore this movie completely. They lost a large chunck of box office by replacing the original cast with younger actors and doing away with a few of them.

If they throw out the older cast and theyre characters all together than this franchise will die with it.

Patrick stew, ian mckellan, and hugh jackman are the 3 pieces you need for the best possible movie. If u have 2 of the 3 you are still ok. If its just jackman and a good story like THE WOLVERINE than its got potential too.

But if all 3 are not present. Flush it hard cuz its a big stinking turd
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 1:59:17 AM

@SACDaddy
If they did that yes I would be very interested but unfortunately we all know how the studios think usually which is to keep the young cast so as to get whiny teenagers to come aknockin' at the box office.

@everyone
Perhaps I overreacted. Perhaps this is a set-up to the original cast later on. I would be best to tell Apocalypse's story in full detail and then work off that in the modern story. I only hope they don't stick with the young cast that have zero charisma compared to the old cast. I will say this...Fassbender and McAvoy are really good as the younger Magneto and Professor X. Like they really add depth and a focus to their characters.
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 2:05:35 AM

in other words...it is just how i declared it to be in the beginning...if they do an x-men apocalypse film they will royally f*ck it up...in the words of ace ventura, 'man i'm tired of bein right'
GreenLensman writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 2:28:05 AM

as long as the cgi on apocalypse is impeccable i dont care who the f*ck tries to kill him

maybe they dont want money grubbing A-listers so they can spend more on effects, i'm all for that, but nowhere does it say that they arent searching for great actors, just new characters, so who knows, and this early on, who the f*ck cares
boogiel writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 5:52:58 AM

Eh, who gives a sh*t. Singer most likely is lying again. That guy can't keep a straight poker face and he expect us to believe him?
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 6:30:55 AM

I've forgotten a lot of what happened in all the X-Men movies. I didn't even watch The Origins films lol I'll probably have a Marathon the day before this comes out
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 10:02:15 AM

Hugh Jackman will be back no matter what.
Dundee writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 10:05:13 AM

Why are there so many updates about X-men?
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 12:37:49 PM

Right? ^

We need more Spiderman 2 updates Alex! Come on man, we need our fix! Lol but seriously.. This is a lot of news recently. At least he's back to posting everyday
PORN-FLY writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 1:26:50 PM

damn ALEX
keepin the news movin,eh?
keeps the comments at a minimum and closer to being on topic,huh?
minkowski writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 3:58:08 PM

Aaaaaaand the end run around the original three films continues....
minkowski writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 4:01:15 PM

"Why are there so many updates about X-men?"

Alex has a rare congenital disorder that makes him see three of every single letter, which means an A to him looks like AAA, a B looks like BBB, and so on. So when he sees X-Men, he sees XXX-Men instead of what we normal folks see. So all these years the stupid f*ck has been waiting for the male mutants to strip and start f*cking.
PORN-FLY writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 6:57:38 PM

i changed the tv at the carwash from the soccer game to the Rocky marathon with my phone

Im such a thug
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 7:53:32 PM

Was it ion pf?
minkowski writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 8:38:07 PM

""What would people thousands of years ago, without the benefit of science, think mutants were?"

Bullsh*t? Because mutants are bullsh*t. They're not "science". Most real-life "mutants" in fact are grossly defective, and do not live long enough to reproduce. They certainly don't sprout angel wings and shoot fireballs like we see in your films, so when you try to conflate actual science with a guy who fires lasers from his eyes, you look all that more stupid, not smarter.

Try again, Singer, you wannabe uber-nerd.
minkowski writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 8:44:13 PM

"If such mutants did exist thousands of years ago, what became of them? Did one survive?"


If you're a mutant, if you're that powerful, at least as powerful as say Magneto and Wolverine, and I think Apocalypse is just that powerful, if not more so, than you'd probably conquer the world.

Really.

If ordinary men, non-mutants, such as Hitler, Alexander and Genghis Khan came ever so close to conquering the world, as known to them, then what capabilities would a super-powerful being, a "Titan", a "god", possess?

And if not, why didn't they, then? If they existed ages ago, and had the powers you claim, why didn't they use those powers to make as large a mark on the world as would befit such a powerful being?


You're not making any sense, Singer.
minkowski writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 8:59:16 PM

Hello, worthless bitches.


Dune concept art:

http://www.theverge.com/2014/1/31/5366478/dune-concept-art-shows-the-evolution-of-david-lynchs-sci-fi-vision

Pretty awesome!
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 11:57:12 PM

Sting killed it. Stfu ramby.
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 6:38:31 PM

Trolling, trolling on the river!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved