WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jesse Eisenberg is Lex Luthor in "Batman vs Superman"

Posted: January 31st, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jesse Eisenberg is Lex Luthor in "Batman vs Superman"Submit Comment
Warner Bros announced today that Jesse Eisenberg (The Social Network) has been cast as Lex Luthor in the upcoming "Man of Steel" sequel, "Batman vs Superman." Meanwhile, Jeremy Irons also joined the production as Alfred.

"Lex Luthor is often considered the most notorious of Superman's rivals, his unsavory reputation preceding him since 1940," said director Zack Snyder. "What's great about Lex is that he exists beyond the confines of the stereotypical nefarious villain. He's a complicated and sophisticated character whose intellect, wealth and prominence position him as one of the few mortals able to challenge the incredible might of Superman. Having Jesse in the role allows us to explore that interesting dynamic, and also take the character in some new and unexpected directions."

He continued: "As everyone knows, Alfred is Bruce Wayne's most trusted friend, ally and mentor, a noble guardian and father figure. He is an absolutely critical element in the intricate infrastructure that allows Bruce Wayne to transform himself into Batman. It is an honor to have such an amazingly seasoned and gifted actor as Jeremy taking on the important role of the man who mentors and guides the guarded and nearly impervious facade that encapsulates Bruce Wayne."

"Batman vs Superman" is set to hit theaters on May 6th, 2016.

Source: Warner Bros


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Slypher writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 6:19:11 PM

i actually don't know how i feel about this. I will see if he can pull this off.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 6:31:06 PM

Seems about right for this doomed production. This is f*cking laughable.
minkowski writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 6:33:38 PM

Who needs Doomsday to destroy Superman and the JLA when you have WB?
WV-Films writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 6:43:53 PM

I kinda can't wait to see this movie now. It's like a train reck casted by a 13yr old.
minkowski writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 6:48:51 PM

I put "retarded train wreck" into Google and got this back



No lie.
minkowski writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 7:04:18 PM

Hellen Mirren Twerks

http://movies.yahoo.com/blogs/movie-news/helen-mirren-twerks-harvard-hasty-pudding-woman-230949057.html
WallyDee writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 7:14:00 PM

@Mink

Lol at your first comment!!!!
Biz Malarkey writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 7:39:58 PM

This has green lantern written all over it
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 7:50:08 PM

Did Alwx update the site when he heard big news? That's a f*cking first. But seriously... This movie is shaping out to be a big sh*tfest
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 8:22:41 PM

NOFRIGGINWAY
Batman vs Superman makes Green Lantern look like the total opposite of DragonBall Evolution
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 8:47:43 PM

He's a complicated and sophisticated character whose intellect, wealth and prominence position him as one of the few mortals able to challenge the incredible might of Superman.

Having Jesse in the role allows us to turn it into a ridiculous laughing stock
boogiel writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 9:53:10 PM

Now that's what I call as Unexpected for real. So, it was Lex luthor who invented facebook.
minkowski writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 9:55:28 PM

Methinks Rambo just likes being a contrarian.
boogiel writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 9:59:13 PM

Come to think of it, I would rather had John Hurt over Irons.
minkowski writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 10:00:25 PM

I'd rather have Katy Perry over myknee.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 10:03:52 PM

Jew luthor?
synthetic1985 writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 10:08:50 PM

@SACdaddy & minkowski, you guys are right on the money lol...seems like the new spiderman, and this production are facing similar results as dare i say it, batman & robin...i mean maybe when they did mr. freeze, they should have made him more unsuspecting and mean like the first terminator film...but that was the same production that royally messed up two face...tommy lee jones did a great performance, but that make up was just a horrible portrayal
minkowski writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 10:16:24 PM

Well, Syn, you should see the comments on THR. Those guys seem to think this is GREAT casting direction, so I would like to hear from others why we're all wrong and why you think that not only is this a good decision but also how DC is making all the right moves with respect to casting.
boogiel writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 10:27:50 PM

Batman = fail. Wonder Woman = fail. Potential Lex Luthor = fail. This movie will fail......big time.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 10:38:23 PM

That's a bold move. Either they are certified geniuses or ethetic whackos.
minkowski writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 10:40:08 PM

Well I think we can rule out the genius option...
cress writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 10:44:03 PM

What the f*ck are they smoking over there at WB?
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 10:44:16 PM

Mink- just trying to give them a benefit.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 10:46:27 PM

Cress- I dunno but I want some of that sh*t!
minkowski writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 11:06:37 PM

You want something that makes you bleed your brains out of your *sshole?
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 11:12:17 PM

wheres TRUEMAN
we need more muhf*ckaz comments
to show we mean business

BADCHAD
i got Platinum Master Bub
:/
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 11:18:13 PM

Mink- well, since you put it that way, hell no.
Plowage writes:
on January 31st, 2014 at 11:25:34 PM

Terrible. Irons is good though.
triggax writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 2:09:43 AM

Irons is an interesting choice for Alfred. I don't think he quite has the right look for the role tbh. I actually would have been just fine with Irons as Luthor.

Eisenberg is a terrible miscast. Maybe he nailed the audition. Would have been interesting to see Joaquin Phoenix take on this role. Even that drug addled piece of sh*t has standards though.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 3:11:24 AM

Cranston as Lex
Eisenberg as homeless jerkoff #3

-this project is starting to smell !!
Imation writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 4:15:31 AM

I think Eisenberg could be a good choice, he always plays unlikeable douchy characters - besides, IŽm sure heŽll do a better job than Hack man and Spacey! Also, check out this badboy Irons at the SAG awards:


Irons, my man!
SeWerin writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 6:31:54 AM

So we ask for Heisenberg and we get Eisenberg?
KillerCOck writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 8:35:34 AM

best casting so far
Kon Kun writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 8:46:49 AM

If they cast him, probably they know something that you don't,they have (more) experience and for that reason they are more capable of choosing the right actor for the job. Eisenberg, Irons, Affleck and Cavill are all excellent actors and I hope the movie is as good as man of steel.
jafinbham writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 8:54:46 AM

Heisenberg. Eisenberg. I guess I can understand the confusion. One played a cold blooded sociopath that built a criminal empire in his spare time after teaching high school chemistry. The other looks like the ugly girl that had to take her cousin to prom.

Simple. Just fire the extra from Mean Girls and get us a real villian.

It disturbs me to think that a room full of adults said, "arch nemesis of Superman? Let's get that Facebook kid!" "Genius! I should give myself a raise."
BlackDynamite writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 12:06:51 PM

Jesse Eisenberg plays a good unlikable douchebag, so I guess they're going with New 52 Lex. I wonder if he'll shave his head or go baldcap
Daft Duck writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 12:15:16 PM

I can see Eisenberg playing Jimmy from the Daily Planet. However, he might be perfect for Lex because he has an intense stare that might cause one to think "This guy wants to murder my cat", he's intelligent, and we've seen him play a mischievous billionaire before. The only thing about him that doesn't fit the character well is his meek frame. Lex is intimidating, especially black Lex from the cartoon...
Daft Duck writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 12:15:36 PM

I think I know where snyders going with this. he's trying to do a darker but humorous version of gene hackman's luthor in the original superman movie. This new luthor is a snarky murderous sociopath whereas hackmans luthor was more cartoony.It'll resemble the difference between nicolsons joker and ledgers joker.
python6 writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 12:47:58 PM

What's wrong with Joseph Marcell as Alfred. He Played an Butler before and he can do it again.
python6 writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 12:53:01 PM

What's wrong with Jeff Bridges playing Lex Luthor as he appeared in the The Man of Steel comic book.
python6 writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 12:55:14 PM

Why are they wasting Jeremy Irons talent as a Butler when they can use him in a bigger better part.
Whitelock84 writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 12:57:09 PM

I was willing to give them a pass after the cast Affleck as Batman, and then Gadot as Wonder Woman, but now.... I'm done. The sequel is dead as far as I'm concerned. Thank you, good night!
PORN-FLY writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 1:28:35 PM

KON-KUN has gone re-tard
Kon Kun writes:
on February 1st, 2014 at 7:47:28 PM

Pornfly is it retarded to believe at what they are trying to do? These people are trying a different approach than all the other comic book movies and it may fail, but I think that they are really trying to make something good. It may not be as faithful to the source material as some fanboys would like but it may still be a fun movie to watch. Why all this hatred?
jafinbham writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 3:22:34 AM

Is it retarded to believe at what they are trying to do?

Yes. Absolutely. No question.

Why all this hatred?

Well for me I think it goes back to the fact that the film makers conscientiously used metric tons of Jesus symbology throughout the Man of Steel to the point of having Superman literally assume the position of the crucifixion as he floated out of Space Noah's ship and his long deceased father told him "you can save them. All of them" referring to every human on the planet. That's false by the way. Superman can't save everyone, everywhere, all of the time. We were supposed to learn this when Jonathan Kent died from a heart attack. Not even Superman could save his dad from a heart attack. This would have shown the audience that Superman has limitations and vulnerabilities serving to relate an alien with god like powers to us. The audience. The common man. Instead, Jonathan died on purpose in a fit of stupidity. To prove a nonexistent, imaginary, and ultimately false point. That Clark was "sent here for a reason." And that reason was to drive a tractor in Kansas for his entire life just like any other guy from Kansas. And to grow corn just like any other guy from Kansas. Good thinking Jonathan. Too bad that idea was completely crushed the instant Clark put on a blue leotard with a red cape and flew all over the planet at a low enough altitude to be seen by any and everyone. It's as if your son that you've raised from an infant took everything you ever said to him or taught him and just wiped his *ss with it to go for a joy ride. That's gotta sting. Maybe one day he can build a baseball diamond in one of those corn fields and you can come back from beyond the grave, SuperHeaven, or whatever and have a game of catch with his sorry, smart*ss. Just remember to bring that dude from Goodfellas and Darth Vader with you. This brings us to a point where we would still be if Costner had not uttered on line of dialog the entire film. This character's existence has been rendered pointless. He really is just some guy that found him in a field. Fed him. Now that he's grown if you could just jump into the nearest tornado. Thanks.

Then we meet his "heavenly father" from outer space. From beyond the grave, SuperHeaven, or whatever. Now it's SpaceJesus, SpaceJesus, SpaceJesus. The film makers showed real moxy by straight up stealing the lines verbatim. "Be a beacon of hope. A symbol they can aspire to. They will join you in the sun. You are SpaceJesus" So sayeth SpaceNoah. Henceforth and whatnot, therefore.

Then the film makers, Zack Snyder, David Goyer, Nolan, or whoever despises logic, common sense, and storytelling in general decided to have a twist at the climax of the film. This screams Nolan or at least somebody willing to blow him in public. I'm sure they thought this will be "dark, edgy, and realistic." Let's take all this SpaceJesus symbology stuff we've built our protagonist on and just chunk it. Ignore it. Like it never happened or just doesn't exist. One quick jerk. One loud CRACK!! And SpaceJesus just killed the bad guy. That's not very Jesus like of SpaceJesus. I could almost still be on board at this point except for one small fact. Thousand's of people just died because their city literally caved in on their heads and crushed them to death. And all of that could have been avoided with one super jerk with a loud CRACK!! Again, one loud CRACK just made the entire third act of the film completely pointless. If it had never even happened we would still be at this same point in the story with one small difference. All of those dead people under all that rubble would still be alive. "You can save them Kal. All of them." Bad news Jor-El. Evidently he can't. Let's ask him about it....where the....he's still crying. Jesus Jumping Christ on a Cracker he's in the floor crying like a b*tch while Lois holds him. Super. As soon as he gets his tampon changed maybe we could get a word with the man of steel....or SuperSpaceJesus....that murders...or better yet the film makers can go f*ck themselves. It's not a twist so much as more similar to defecating into their own hand and flinging it at the audience.

Is it retarded to believe at what they are trying to do?

They brilliantly thought "let's get that twin guy from Social Network to play the Lone Ranger." Since that worked out so well "let's get that kid who played the lead in Social Network for Lex Luthor. Because I think I read that Facebook is....bad now...or something. I'm so good at this stuff I should give myself a raise."

This is how I know that none of these Hollywood jerk offs have any talent of any sorts. They are where they are because of who they are. Or who their father/uncle/grandfather/in-law is. Or they blew the right person. I'm sure none of these jerk offs got through a real college level freshman comp class. Reading a story and writing about said story. If they turned this kind of crap in they would still be trying to pass freshman comp. I'd bet my life I can find a guy flipping burgers in Jersey that could have come up with a better story than this crap.

So why all the hate you asked. I guess if I wanted to see a comic get raped I'd just stay home and do it myself. The next film will be Lex Luthor does something bad. SuperJesus swoops in, breaks his neck, falls in floor crying, gets held by Lois, changes his tampon, smiles for the camera. The end. Now where's my $10 million. I'm already hard at work on the next big blockbuster. Working title is "Gandhi has a Big Mac and wastes everyone that disrespects him, yo." Kanye doing the soundtrack. Keanu Reeves set to play Gandhi.
WV-Films writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 3:45:17 AM

@jafinbham
I was just gonna say that.
Kon Kun writes:
on February 2nd, 2014 at 7:26:55 AM

jafinbham wow! you just wasted a considerable amount of time just to prove that you are right and I am not. Space Jesus or not, it was a film that I liked, in my humble opinion it was the only good superman film (so far). Now write a 3 page comment of how the old ones are better.

P.S. I think the lone ranger was great too

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved