WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Vin Diesel Says Universal Pictures Wants a "Riddick" Sequel

Posted: January 29th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Vin Diesel Says Universal Pictures Wants a "Riddick" SequelSubmit Comment
Vin Diesel did everything in his power to get "Riddick" made, even putting up his house as collateral. The film eventually hit theaters in September, grossing $98 million worldwide on a budget of $38 million. The results aren't incredibly impressive, but apparently the movie has been performing great on DVD/Blu-ray.

Diesel recently posted a seven minute video on his Facebook page, which mostly consists of him dancing to music. But hidden in the video is a message from the actor to his fans, revealing that Universal Pictures is ready to move forward with a "Riddick" sequel.

"I'm just excited, and happy, and I'm shouting out to you guys to say thank you," said Diesel. "Universal just called me and told me 'Riddick' is number one on the DVD charts. There's no way 'Riddick' would have been made without you guys. You know that. And you guys have been a part of our page since 2012 and remember how arduous a road it was to get the movie made, and to make it rated R, and to do it with such a low budget. It's a win for all of us and I really, really thank you so much. Yeah, I'm excited, and of course, Universal also says they want to develop the next one."

Source: Vin Diesel


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Slypher writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 8:04:32 AM

i liked ridd*ck BUT it was exactly the same as pitch black. i'm ok with them doing another as long as they don't copy one of the other films.
M. Bullitt writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 8:35:24 AM

Well of course they will do a sequel since Urban disappeared into thin air and he has to settle up accounts so they couldn't leave it like that.
Avirex writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 8:45:19 AM

Sure they do Vin...sure they do...
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 8:57:22 AM

I'll get around to seeing it sometime.
YoungChris writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 9:50:02 AM

Cant't wait !!!
synthetic1985 writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 10:55:59 AM

just don't give it overkill...not doing it so often keeps it fresh and allows the ideas to make it more realistic, that is if they are good ideas
Zeroguy writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 11:38:01 AM

Ridd*ck was alright. Good action scenes, some clever funny lines, and Starbuck's tits revealed.
WallyDee writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 12:26:37 PM

I also cant wait! Loved Ridd*ck, it wasnt perfect but very entertaining.
It was a bit disappointing that we didnt get to see him get his revenge on the necromongers after they betraid him.
So i hope they will include that in the sequel.
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 1:25:55 PM

what RAMBO said ('loving'& 4x's aside)
riddled with clichès,tho
but still
compared to the pg13 crap they call 'action' cast with turds they call 'action stars',it was a decent lil ride

i liked how Vin stuck to his guns to make it 'R'
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 2:42:18 PM

Still haven't gotten around to seeing it..
BlackDynamite writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 3:22:53 PM

The budget was a lot lower than i thought, which in itself is a bit impressive, but the movie itself wasn't that great. It did next to nothing to move the story forward from Chronicles of Ridd*ck, and if anything, was a big step back. It would have been more interesting to have a film where Ridd*ck is still king of the Necromongers (i think thats what they were called) and he has to fight off a conspiracy to usurp his reign.
vincere01 writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 3:29:57 PM

Next one should take place entirely on a beach in hawaii. Ridd*ck has to deal with tourists and crying babies and has to brave tge scalding hot sand to get refreshments to the customer before they complain to his boss.

They could call it, The Chronicles of Ridd*ck: The Reckoning
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 4:32:51 PM

Ridd*ck is essentially something out of Greek mytho-drama, and that's fine. Even has what might look like a little of Wagner going on.

Having said that...the film starts off strong but loses tension near the middle of the second act. Pretty much never picks up from there. Not a well-paced action movie at all, and thus not nearly as tight as the first film, although structurally much-improved over the second.

Really though, such an epic character could really do well if they'd just redress him as Odysseus for the fourth film and have him trot around the universe. Too big a place for such a bad-ass tough guy to have nothing to do but chew scenery like he did in Ridd*ck.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 4:57:52 PM

Yeah I thought that Ridd*ck was enjoyable but too much meandering kept it from being as good as the first film and this was somewhat of a remake of that anyways.

Ridd*ck still has a vendetta against his betrayers and that needs to be addressed in the next one. I'm sure that story fact is not lost on Vin.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 5:47:04 PM

Haven't seen Ridd*ck yet.. I suppose it's worth a look. Karl Urban is one of those guys who's underrated IMHO, I like most of the roles he tackles even if I don't like the actual film he's in.

I'd add that- assuming the 'putting his house up as collateral' story is true- I give Vin Diesel some props for sticking his neck out for a project that he really believes in. most A-listers are content to collect huge upfront paychecks on projects where there's no risk and no incentive to eke out the best of what they can offer to audiences. Even if he's only a C-grade actor, Diesel deserves the credit for getting Ridd*ck off life support and into theaters. Good for him.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved