WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Future Sentinel From "X-Men: Days of Future Past" is Made From Magnetic Plates

Posted: January 29th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Future Sentinel From "X-Men: Days of Future Past" is Made From Magnetic PlatesSubmit Comment
Last night, we got a look at 25 covers of Empire magazine's latest issue, which features a look at different characters from "X-Men: Days of Future Past."

The first cover gave us a look at a Sentinel, which is a robot built by human in order to stop mutants. Anyone who's ever read an "X-Men" comic-book or seen the animated show will immediately recognize the design. But then Empire unveiled the last cover, which was also of a Sentinel, but not likely anything we've seen before.

It turned out that the bizarre looking robot is a Sentinel from the future. And now, production designer John Mayhre explained the idea behind the look and how it's different from the Sentinels we're used to.

"They're biomechanical weapons. We had to come up with what would be the ultimate version that could actually, in principle, stop the X-Men," he said. "We started with this idea that they were almost made up of magnetic plates slapped over one another, imagining that the plates could contract or grow, so the Sentinel can be skinny to get through a small space or the plates can open up to become a bigger shape. So they have become virtually unstoppable."

Check out both Sentinels below.

Sentinel Covers: (click to enlarge)


Source: Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 8:05:30 AM

I don't give a rat's ass of what's it made from. It's looks like sh*t. Why can't they stay true to the original?
Slypher writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 8:08:21 AM

@boogiel because everything is about 3D and cgi.
Avirex writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 8:55:34 AM

I'm so sick of anorexic looking aliens/monsters/robots in films. I blame Steven Spielberg and James Cameron for stating that. Now everyone thinks that looks cool for some reason. Theoretically if they were real maybe they'd be effective but this sh*t is fiction anyway. Visually the audience needs to feel like the characters are actually in danger. Having the X-Men chased by charcoal clones of Calista Flockhart is not threatening.
Avirex writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 8:56:21 AM

Also, the 'present day' Sentinels look like they were designed by Apple.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 9:39:15 AM

Magnetic plates huh? So no ones going to question how it can't be stopped by a certain mutant who can control magnetic fields? Either that or that was poorly worded.
i124q writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 9:53:52 AM

@Sleuth1989 - I was thinking the exact same thing myself....
BJsforeveryone writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 10:21:59 AM

^^ We all were !!!
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 10:37:50 AM

Im guessing since it is a future Sentinel,Magneto has been long dead
synthetic1985 writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 10:52:17 AM

funny how the sentinals look WAY different than in x-men 3...and yet elements of x-men 3 are very visible in this new film...such as storm's hair, color is right, length is wrong...in the 3rd x-men the sentinal had eyes and looked a bit closer to the 90s cartoon sentinals...now they just look like sh*t...so this is where i say as far as what i think would be better is to close my eyes and picture every moment of the cartoon in a live action format...the good people of 20th century fox couldn't even get it right if they were dared to
Avirex writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 11:34:39 AM

@synthetic

I always believed "Night of the Sentinels" from the old toons could have been adapted for film pretty easily. All the themes were there and much more relevant today. It actually contained clear messages unlike the clusterf*ck films. Go figure.
synthetic1985 writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 1:06:23 PM

@ Avirex i always thought they should make x-men apocalypse into a film but then i started thinking that they'll f*ck it up miserably...ironic isn't it?...how after over 6 films, the cartoon is still better in the true fans' eyes...i mean i can foresee a breaking formula: fan base of x-men grows bigger with the films meaning a huge increase of fans of the comics whether they read it or not or watched the cartoons...bigger fan base = more money ONLY if you stay true to source material...pissing the fans off by changing a bunch of sh*t doesn't help at this point...hell if i was a famous person, i'd be telling all the fans to watch the 90s cartoon and not waste any time with the new films...no disrespect to the cast or crew, but honestly can they say the film is better than the cartoon...yea i'm sure some of them would say that, but they'll have a hell of time getting fans like us to believe such a statement cause i still don't
WV-Films writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 2:04:10 PM

I guess this is Nimrod?
BlackDynamite writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 3:19:37 PM

Magneto and his kid Polaris must be dead in the future for this to work.
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2014 at 3:58:06 PM

Magic trumps science, and that's what the mutants are. Magic. No technological design is going to trump them.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved