WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Alfonso Cuaron Wins DGA Award for Best Director, Becomes Favorite for Oscar

Posted: January 26th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Alfonso Cuaron Wins DGA Award for Best Director, Becomes Favorite for OscarSubmit Comment
Earlier this month, the Directors Guild of America (DGA) unveiled the five nominees for its 2013 award, which usually mirrors the nominees in the Best Director category at the Academy Awards.

In fact, since 1948, only seven times did a DGA winner not go on to win an Oscar. The big exception happened last year when Ben Affleck won the DGA award for "Argo." The film went on to win the Oscar for Best Picture, but Affleck wasn't even nominated.

This year, the nominees were Alfonso Cuaron (Gravity), Paul Greengrass (Captain Phillips), Steve McQueen (12 Years a Slave) David O. Russell (American Hustle) and Martin Scorsese (The Wolf of Wall Street).

The awards have now taken place, giving the top prize to Cuaron for his "Gravity" space thriller, which grossed $678 million worldwide on a budget of $100 million. This is Cuaron's first-ever nomination by the DGA, although he had previously been nominated for "Y Tu Mama Tambien" and "Children of God."

Source: DGA


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 10:04:58 AM

Good to see.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 10:35:33 AM

You have to Cuaron. He made a really successful movie off no basis of popularity. There was no franchise, Cuaron isn't exactly the big household name, and Bullock, while popular, isn't this kind of box office draw. Yet somehow, the film went on to gross an amazing amount of money, get nominated for 10 Oscars, and managed to make a great film in my opinion. Well done Mr. Cuaron.
Wallace writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 10:58:16 AM

Children of Men, not Children of God
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 11:08:35 AM

@Wallace

More unsettling is this sentence makes no sense.

"This is Cuaron's first-ever nomination by the DGA, although he had previously been nominated for "Y Tu Mama Tambien" and "Children of God.""

I assume this is how this sentence was suppose to go down:

This is Cuaron's first-ever WIN by the DGA, although he had previously been nominated for "Y Tu Mama Tambien" and "Children of MEN."
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 11:10:08 AM

@everyone
Oh and the first sentence of my first post that "You have to GIVE IT TO Cuaron." Don't want to be a hypocrite and not fix my own mistakes. LOL
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 1:53:23 PM

@crambo
LOL You're an *sshole man. I'm just saying he definitely had one of the hardest films to direct visually and who would you rather give it to? The director of a Scorcese rip off or of the one millionth slave film? Maybe Greengrass sure and you can't give it to Scorcese because at this point anything he does is great and if we rated by that he's need a whole house to house all his awards.
vincere01 writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 3:01:58 PM

Gravity was the best looking, best directed film of the year. It was so realistic looking its crazy. Say what you want about the story/dialogue. The direction and performences were top notch and tense. Thats what you are looking for with best director
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 4:00:48 PM

@vincere01
Damn right! Thank you! And for Cuaron it was a personal story since he wrote it with his son who also did the score. This was a pure artistic film, done for art and not the awards which is why it deserves it more than any of the other films this year!
bandolero999 writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 4:04:11 PM

I Frankenstein bombs.what a surprise
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 4:15:46 PM

Gravity is over-rated drivel. Bullock crying the entire time, looney Clooney being looney Clooney, some obnoxious CGI and a plot that makes Avatar look like Saving Private Ryan.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 4:37:25 PM

"It was so realistic looking its"

lol. And you know this how? Ever been to space? No. You say it looks realistic because Cuaron made people fly around weightless the entire time, and that's your only conception of what space looks like.


Tired of hearing about f*cking Gravity. Maybe it looked awesome in 3D or on IMAX or something, but I saw it on the small screen and was grossly underwhelmed. A ton of CGI, a ton of greenscreen. A ton of Sandra whining and moaning, like NASA would ever send up someone that emotionally fragile.

Nothing more than that.

I really can't even begin to understand how you people can be so easily impressed and manipulated by what you think you see, and the opinions of others, but then I wonder ever day the same thing: why can't people THINK?




lol Cuaron got you though. He made a movie explicitly made for IMAX. That was his attention. He knows the medium and how to exploit it, and yet if you watch Gravity on a smallish television or computer, you'll wonder why you ever gave a f*ck. Not like the damned story wasn't borrowed from The Descent or anything...
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 4:48:58 PM

@mink
I normally would agree with you but in this case you're being too sensitive on the matter. In most cases yeah films have gone down A LOT but in this case I enjoyed the "Cast Away in Space" and feel Bullock didn't overplay her part, in fact being less irritating than her other roles. And the reason she was thrown in space with little training was explained inthe story. And Clooney...well he was the comedic relief and that was it. I have admit he was for a change funny because he acted cool like he always did but jokes about it for a change. You said it yourself that Bullock being space was silly because she was so fragile and Clooney plays the experienced astronaut perfectly on that logic. So for once his confident attitude was appropriate.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 5:00:40 PM

Not much of a defense. You're basically saying the movie is as dumb as I claimed but it's okay because that's the way it was written, which again isn't a defense.

"And the reason she was thrown in space with little training was explained inthe story."

I don't recall the explanation, but whatever it was, it's indefensible. NASA would never send up someone with "little training", and in order to become even an astronaut, much less someone working on shuttles and satellites in space, you must pass the most rigorous mental and physical tests known to man.

There's just no way in the world Bullock's character would get sent into space with her obvious lability, and it's clear Cuaron wanted to make yet another "Ripley" type character: tough, emotionally compromised, and superior to her male counterpart, which is all the rage these days, apparently.




"And Clooney...well he was the comedic relief and that was it"


Yes, but he wasn't remotely funny. He was smug, condescending, snarky and glib. He was Clooney in one of the only two roles he knows how to do.





Gravity bored me. It really did. I liked some of the shot from the very ending, but the entire movie was about as realistic as The A-Team, so much that I kept looking for Skip Woods' name in the credits.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 5:08:14 PM

Hell, the thing with Bullock was the sub-plot of Independence Day. Remember that one? Will Smith was a crack ace pilot, but couldn't get into NASA. And yet we're to believe they'd send up someone who wouldn't pass the personality test on a McDonald's job application.

But that's Cuaron. He makes laughably ridiculous movies and then people fall all over him, like no one but him could do the ugly long-shot from CoM or green screen Clooney and Bullock into CGI space scenes.

Gravity mostly sucks, and I find it ironic critics hated 2001, the far superior space film, way back in 1968, but raved for Gravity, which tells me most critics aren't smart enough to know good when they see it.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 5:17:44 PM

@ Minkowsk - so by small screen, you mean your laptop? Because you refused to pay to see it? So why are bitching? And don't tell me your valuable time was wasted, because you waste 10X as much time sh*tting witty comments all over this waste of a website. Watching Gravity was probably a better use of your time than 97% of whatever it is you do that is productive to society.

Why do you have to act like a c*nt just for the sake of acting like a c*nt?

Green screen? NO sh*t, THEY DIDN'T ACTUALLY FILM IN OUTER SPACE? And it must be worthless because you don't have the imagination to see how the techniques they experimented with can be applied to better movies in the future.

And for the record, in IMAX 3D, YES, it did look awesome, few visual achievements in film this year rival that of the International Space Station getting wrecked scene (outside of maybe the single-shot long take from the barrel scene of the Hobbit).

Seriously, you're a c*nt, have some f*cking respect for one of the few directors in hollywood actually pushing ahead with the craft, and enjoy the fact that this was a drive-by comment with no follow-up and I don't give a f*ck so PEACE.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 5:19:14 PM

^^In other words, you have absolutely nothing to contribute but name-calling.

Have a nice day, kid.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 5:27:03 PM

"You said it yourself that Bullock being [in] space was silly"

So you're admitting the entire plot was undermined by silliness, right?


"because she was so fragile and Clooney plays the experienced astronaut perfectly on that logic."

So the movie works, in your opinion, because Bullock was emotionally incompetent and Clooney, who committed suicide, was not?

You and I have very different definitions of what the word "works" means.



"So for once his confident attitude was appropriate."

More so than in Ocean's Eleven wherein he had a master plan constructed after months, if not years, inside prison? How was he smug persona more confident here, wherein he killed himself after magically flying around space, than in Ocean's Eleven where he actually had a good reason to be confident? All he did in Gravity was kill himself and look self-assured. I was almost expecting him to whip out the apple Pine was seen eating in Star Trek.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 5:28:12 PM

*his
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 5:59:41 PM

"And for the record, in IMAX 3D, YES, it did look awesome, few visual achievements in film this year rival that of the International Space Station getting wrecked scene..."




Because if it isn't blowing up, it isn't awesome, or so sayeth the warlike, simple-minded Americans...
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 6:00:06 PM

"Why do you have to act like a c*nt just for the sake of acting like a c*nt?"

Who the f*ck said I was acting?
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 6:06:56 PM

"And it must be worthless because you don't have the imagination to see how the techniques they experimented with can be applied to better movies in the future."


Well, f*ck then, let's give Cuaron a billion dollars so someone else can depict the International Space Station exploding, because nothing says cinematic advancement like using CGI models instead of practical models, i.e., Armageddon's Mir scene, to make things go boom, even though such plot contrivances add nothing to the movie and only advance the nearly non-existent plot by having the whining heroine jump from one self-destructing platform to another like a bad version of Donkey Kong Country.

But no, I actually have some experience in 3D, unlike you, and if it didn't impress me, there's a problem. On the other hand, 2001, which is decades old, DID impress me because they used simple, clever-as-hell practical effects to achieve the nearly-impossible, whereas Gravity just put it all in a computer blender and hit the render button.






So this is what I do when I'm bored, whereas most of you go get drunk and/or stoned.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 6:22:17 PM

@mink
So by your definition we should be super realistic so it makes sense...but then you limit the story possibilities. Children of Men was a well done film and Gravity was too.

In terms of the acting I don't know what you're mad about. Lawrence spends two hours whining and bitching and playing a broad character during every single film. On the other hand, at least Bullock had a motivation to her character that was more specific. And you have to stretch the realism or you defeat the purpose of the film. How is she like Ripley?! Yeah she gains confidence but it was more about her finding her reason to live again by being in a hopeless situation.

I'm just saying that Bullock was not whining the whole time. In fact, I remember her only getting upset in two scenes. The opening scene and the moment when she realizes the escape pod is out of fuel which would piss me off after all the sh*t I went through before that. LOL

The story is not a masterpiece. But it's not suppose to be. It's the character's struggle that matters and visually conveying the abyss she is spinning through. And how was Clooney was condescending? He was taking charge when, as you point out, the useless astronaut had no idea what to do. And it was pointed out even in the story it was strange that she was there with little experience but because she knew the system on the space station they had to rush her training which has been done several times in films. It is indeed stupid but the point of most films is to point out people getting caught in crap they are not ready for. It was a rush mission that they needed her for. It's make enough sense where I could enjoy the ride.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 6:53:34 PM

@Crambo: no sh*t. The earth is nearly three fourths water, but she manages to land the damned thing in a pond. How convenient. But I'm sure Sleuth will have an explanation for that one, too.

Gravity is a mediocre film, nothing more, and so was Prisoners.

Basically people today wouldn't know an exceptional film if it came out of the dark and kicked their asses, because they've been conditioned to accept sh*t for average and average for superior.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 7:03:07 PM

"So by your definition we should be super realistic so it makes sense...but then you limit the story possibilities."


No, that's not what I said. I said the film's plot is ridiculous. Russia shooting down missiles which then creates a hurricane of destruction? Really? REALLY? You don't think Russia would think twice about blowing up a satellite with a f*cking missile? You don't think the people who were first into space would think their actions just might cause some havoc by annihilating satellites with ballistics? Like blowing up something they helped build (the ISS) wouldn't be a national loss?

Yes, VERY unrealistic, but according to you making a movie make sense means said film is limited, which means then I must accept outlandish plot devices just so to make the entire preposterous film work, which means perhaps one (Cuaron for example) should reconsider the over-all concept to begin with instead of contriving idiotic plot devices just to make the film-at-large function.

He did the same thing in Children of Men. He started with a stupid premise and then had to contrive backwards to make the film work. Really. Humanity is infertile, and the only woman who can give birth is the a magical African Madonna, because in Britain if your films aren't politically-correct peons to immigrants you're not doing it right.

And really, how the f*ck do 3.5 billion people go infertile? What the f*ck happened to all the frozen ova? Who the f*ck cares? Cuaron wanted a film dedicated to white people trying to save the holy, magical black immigrant, so f*ck logic, common sense and rationality. Just wave your wand and the idiots watching won't ask questions.




But hey, that Michael Bayish long shot of sh*t exploding was nifty, I admit.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 8:48:49 PM

@mink
You're assuming this sh*t based off the idea that people are that smart! LOL Man Russia shooting missiles into space and so is no different than half the stupid sh*t we've done in history like when the US got involved in Vietnam and created one of the most political-heated wars in history to date. There was literally NO REASON for us to be there but we did. Human stupidity is the fuel point of film and human error. So yes Russians doing something f*cking stupid, which could be lent to a million moving parts down on the ground, works just fine for me. And the whole landing in a pond, she landed off the coast of Korea or something like that, makes enough sense because half of the greatest rescues and successions in film WERE based off luck. Luck is half the contribution to events in film. We could be here all day in talking about how GOOD films had moments of luck and chance. Is it so hard to believe the pod would have somewhat of a guidance system that would land it in a coastal area?

And man I don't get what you are bitching about with the white person saving a black person. I mean it was just a symbolism thing of the possible origin of man, perhaps the idea that with the birth was a new beginning for humanity or the repeat of it. I don't know but how is that a bad thing? I mean black people portray themselves as smart and victims in the slave era when, history shows, THEY SOLD THEMSELVES INTO f*ckING SLAVERY. Human error is the reason we have any tragic films let alone why the world has crappy moments. Children of Men is a completely theoretical film, not meant to be taken so damn literal and Cauron added tidbits of sh*t here and there because people would be too stupid to know more of that whole theory of Africa being our origin. The message was simple and not complex. Will I agree to that yes. The idea is VERY simple but that doesn't take away from the human struggle, the interesting trivia, and the exhilarating moments like that panned out shot which I don't know why that one shot pisses you off so much. I think he just wanted people to follow the character the whole way in a dangerous moment so you were there the whole time wondering if he'd make it through or not.

Dammit mink I respect the hell out of you but you're nitpicking at the film's ideas. Why do you and me always tear David O. Russell's films down? Because they are cliche, literally make no sense, and have zero thought put into them. At least Cuaron attempts to be original in an era where they say, "f*ck that! Where is there a sh*tty teen novel we can adapt?!" Cuaron gives some of the best stuff we got and it may not be perfect but you could literally say that about any great film in history. Hell Big Bang Theory, a stupid show that manages to make a point, points out the entire story of Raiders of the Lost Ark could have happened without Indiana Jones with the Nazi ending up on that island and dying anyway. But it's about that character and his adventure being, as Lucas originally conceived him, an "American James Bond."
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 8:58:42 PM

It's just a movie, sleuth.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 9:14:31 PM

@mink
Oh now it's just a movie? Before it was "These movies seriously f*ck with realism or convuluted plots and all that sh*t." Seriously I felt like today you were trolling people. Did I just get trolled mink? And if so...was it worth it?
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 9:25:04 PM

I don't know if you got trolled or not, Sleuth.

All I know is I meant what I said, but I'm not going to have some kind of endless, ridiculous argument with you posting eight-hundred word paragraphs replete with emotional outbursts. It's just not *that* important to me.

But I do strongly stand by what I originally said.
vincere01 writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 9:32:51 PM

If u really wanna split hairs on it being realistic or not.....the space shuttles are retired so there is no way that the story could even happen. Bam! Drop the mic....

But seriously though, I treated this movie like star wars meets castaway. Decent character story with great cinematography and special effects. I wasnt going to see a live broadcast of a nasa mission, I did that for that last mars probe landing on mars live on xbox live. Boring.

So for what its worth I really enjoyed the movie. And out of all the nominees I feel in my opinion that alfonso deserves the oscar. Apparently an overwhelming amount of the people agree with that opinion.
Its pretty much a fait accompli at this point that he will get the oscar
vincere01 writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 9:37:25 PM

If u really wanna split hairs on it being realistic or not.....the space shuttles are retired so there is no way that the story could even happen. Bam! Drop the mic....

But seriously though, I treated this movie like star wars meets castaway. Decent character story with great cinematography and special effects. I wasnt going to see a live broadcast of a nasa mission, I did that for that last mars probe landing on mars live on xbox live. Boring.

So for what its worth I really enjoyed the movie. And out of all the nominees I feel in my opinion that alfonso deserves the oscar. Apparently an overwhelming amount of the people agree with that opinion.
Its pretty much a fait accompli at this point that he will get the oscar
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 9:42:01 PM

"If u really wanna split hairs on it being realistic or not.....the space shuttles are retired so there is no way that the story could even happen. Bam! Drop the mic...."




Yeah, I was the first person on here to mention that very point back when we were still looking at teasers and posters...


"Its pretty much a fait accompli at this point that he will get the oscar"

Well, you used that phrase (which means something that has already occurred and cannot be reversed) incorrectly, but that's neither here nor there.

Perhaps Gravity will go the way of Argo and fail to collect the Best Picture win. I hope.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 9:44:17 PM

*Argo for Best Director, which everyone was sure Affleck would win.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 9:47:28 PM

I also thought Argo was terrible, too, but whatever.






"Apparently an overwhelming amount of the people agree with that opinion."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Argument_from_authority


Argument from authority (Argumentum ab auctoritate), also authoritative argument and appeal to authority, is an argument that often takes the form of a statistical syllogism. The appeal to authority is a common logical fallacy.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 9:57:38 PM

"I wasnt going to see a live broadcast of a nasa mission, I did that for that last mars probe landing on mars live on xbox live."


You're comparing the mundane, routine rocket launch of a probe to a Hollywood movie. Why not compare Gravity to 2001, instead, where the latter gets the science and plot right, whereas the first is a cartoon caricature of reality?

Man, cinema is sliding through your fingers and you neither know nor care.



Here's a link to Popular Mechanics' ten most and least accurate science fiction films. Notice 2001 is at the top. Now if Cuaron can't improve on what Kubrick did back in 1968, what good is he?

http://www.popularmechanics.com/technology/digital/fact-vs-fiction/the-10-most-and-least-accurate-sci-fi-movies




By the way, Cameron stole "unobtainium" from The Core, which stole it from the science of aerospace engineering.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unobtainium
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 10:10:13 PM

@mink
You make valid points mink and all I am saying is that within that universe the film got it's point to me across. And yeah I noticed Cameron ripped off unobtanium from the 'The Core" which is a small cult favorite of mine just because it was a fun disaster film. Although, in Cameron's defense, I looked that up myself wondering if there was some element it was based off of and found that exact article you put up from wikipedia where it pretty much just applies to any fictional material they are too lazy to come up with a name for.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 10:39:35 PM

Gravity is a decent film, Sleuth, just not the greatest movie I've ever seen and certainly not worthy of a Best Picture award.

Like Rambo said...5 or 6 out of 10. No mas.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 11:13:56 PM

@mink
True...but out of the contenders that we have been given yeah it's up there. Like I said early, would you prefer the Scorcese rip-off, the millionth slave movie ever made, and so on. Although Wolf of Wall Street looks good and, while I haven't seen Her, that looks good and I like Bruce Dern so "Nebraska" maybe. So saying lesser of many evils.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 11:28:36 PM

Prisoners was the best film of 2013.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 11:39:20 PM

@Sleuth: like I said above...sh*t-->average, average-->superior.
vincere01 writes:
on January 27th, 2014 at 1:02:23 AM

@mink. Im not saying it should win best picture. Im only saying alfonso is gonna get best director. Its not a sure thing, or even odds favorite for best picture.
vincere01 writes:
on January 27th, 2014 at 1:06:37 AM

Something tells me the slave movie is gonna get best picture. Im just getting a strong feeling hollywood is gonna bendover and take it in the pooper from black america and give it best picture because it makes all of them feel bad and guilty.

Plus there are still alot of jews in hollywood, and they have a similar historical perspective to these kinds of movies.

Either that or they will vote against it on grounds that black people never gave a sh*t about the 10 times worse stuff that they're people endured under hitler so why should they care about a slave movie.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 27th, 2014 at 1:35:18 AM

@vincere01
As much as I think it's completely set-up, I was reading Entertainment Weekly and they discussed this. Basically it comes down to three movies. American Hustle, Gravity, and 12 Years a Slave. Most think American Hustle is the weakest of three (Thank God they are smart enough to see that) because the story is bad and mostly is entertaining. Why that warranted Best Picture is beyond me. If that were true "The Avengers" should have been nominated the year before. Anyway then you have Gravity and 12 Years a Slave. Gravity, in comparison, stands out the most whereas 12 Years a Slave is overall being considered the best human movie of the three. Now Cuaron is almost a shoe-in for the Oscar and this makes it wonder if Gravity will follow since, as noticed, only 7 times in 30 years has the director of the Best Picture not won the Oscar and vice versa. So it My bet is that Russell won't be in the race because Cuaron and McQueen have him beat in the praise for directing. But since we are doing the whole monopolizing thing where awards are being handed out almost out of fairness instead of actual which is better it really is just a matter of the 5-year-old voters deciding who gets what piece of candy. And that my friends is how movies have become political. We want to let everyone have awards, destroying the concept of great film, as long as everyone gets their shiny little naked man. Nice to know the spirit of competition is f*cking gone.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved