WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Look at Jeff Bridges in "The Giver" Sci-Fi Film

Posted: January 25th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Look at Jeff Bridges in "The Giver" Sci-Fi FilmSubmit Comment
Entertainment Weekly unveiled the first look at Jeff Bridges in "The Giver" sci-fi film, which is based on a 1993 novel that Bridges has been attempting to bring to the big screen for twenty years. Check out the photos below.

Plot: In a seemingly perfect community, without war, pain, suffering, differences or choice, a young boy is chosen to learn from an elderly man about the true pain and pleasure of the "real" world.

The new movie is directed by Phillip Noyce (Salt, Patriot Games) and is set to hit theaters on August 15th.

Photos: (click to enlarge)


Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Biz Malarkey writes:
on January 25th, 2014 at 9:51:35 AM

The book was good or what I remember at least sh*t it's been 15 years or so

Bradbury or something f*ck i don't remember
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 25th, 2014 at 12:52:27 PM

Okay so story time. I actually grew up reading this story and what I love about this is that Jeff Bridges has been wanting to do this project for years. In fact I guess his father Lloyd Bridges, may he rest in peace that funny man, was originally going to play the giver. Either way, this book is one of the finest dystopian stories for Young adults I ever read. It was what Hunger Games should have been but they were too busy thriving in melodramatics whereas this film dealt with what we lose by not fighting for emotion and desire. It's a spectacular book that, when I read it in like junior high, had my gut sink because it was such a tragic world. It is a stupendous story filled with mature writing, a good lead character, and a tragic tale enwrapping it all. I hope it succeeds.

@Biz Malarkey
By the way the author was Lois Lowry. While I've never read Bradbury's Fahrenheit 451, it seems to have a similar concept of stripping away individual thought but this book is just tragic.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 25th, 2014 at 12:53:59 PM

Course...that's the point of every dystopian story so yeah. LOL
LearJet writes:
on January 25th, 2014 at 1:51:15 PM

It doesn't look like it's going to be in black and white like the book.... Still, looking forward to seeing such an amazing novel come to life on the big screen.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 25th, 2014 at 1:53:30 PM

@LearJet
If I had to guess, he might still do that. Both the scenes depicted here were moments were the characters aren't being suppressed by the society so it could still be that way. Either way, I think they'll tone down the color. It looks like they aren't relying on any bright colors.
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 25th, 2014 at 2:41:34 PM

attempting to bring to the big screen for twenty years


good
then there should be no excuse for it sucking
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 25th, 2014 at 3:05:23 PM

@PORN-FLY
Jeff Bridges is one actor I would defend to the brink about his creativity. He's a very dedicated actor and the fact it took him decades to get an Oscar was a shamble. But all I know is we have him, Streep who is never off her game after 40 YEARS of working in film, and a short but effective story that could really impact people on the how dumbed down we are and what it could lead to eventually. A great film starts with a combination of faith and caution. Right now though I have an insane amount of faith in the story and the director, whose greatest films have to do with isolated heroes, really adds to that. Like I said, it's what Hunger Games should have been.
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2014 at 3:47:33 PM

I hate science fiction stories that aren't. Just because it's set in the indefinite future doesn't automatically make it "science fiction".
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 25th, 2014 at 5:18:15 PM

@mink
I suppose although there are some stranger elements such as the powers of the giver and the medication aspect of it. Now that I think about it, this story reminds me of Equilibrium a little. I wonder if it was an inspiration for it.
sm00th_eskimo writes:
on January 25th, 2014 at 5:56:56 PM

Hope Hollywood doesn't try to turn this book into some kind of trilogy....cough..the hobbit...cough!!!!
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2014 at 7:26:48 PM

"I suppose although there are some stranger elements such as the powers of the giver and the medication aspect of it."

Not really sure sorcery and magic means science fiction...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved