WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Megan Ellison Will No Longer Fund "Terminator" Reboot

Posted: January 24th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Megan Ellison Will No Longer Fund "Terminator" RebootSubmit Comment
Megan Ellison, the daughter of Oracle billionaire Larry Ellison, bought the rights to the "Terminator" franchise at an auction for $20 million. The plan has been to develop three films before the rights revert back to James Cameron.

Since then, Megan brought on Paramount Pictures and her brother David Ellison to co-finance the films. But now that "Terminator: Genesis" is only a few months from production start, Megan has announced that she is dropping out.

The main reason for the change of heart is due to the act that her company, Annapurna Pictures, focuses on independent films like "American Hustle," "Her," "Zero Dark Thirty" and "The Master." Meanwhile, her brother and Paramount will continue without Megan. The plan is for David's company, Skydance Productions (Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol, Star Trek, World War Z), to put up 66% of the money and Paramount to put up the rest.

"Skydance Productions focuses on elevated event-level film making and the relaunch of this iconic franchise is a perfect match for our company," said David Ellison. "I am very confident in our top-notch creative team and the material driving this project. I'm grateful to Megan, who will remain involved as an executive producer, and for initially bringing the Terminator franchise to us. I look forward to our continued creative partnership as we prep for production in April."

Megan Ellison added: "We have been working closely with the filmmakers and have the utmost faith in their abilities. We love this project and the direction it is going in, but for now Annapurna's primary focus is to produce independent films. As I am staying on as executive producer, I am looking forward to working closely with David and Paramount to make a film that will live up to the brands' legacy and one that I know audiences will love."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SACdaddy writes:
on January 24th, 2014 at 7:42:23 AM

Didn't know much about these sibling producers but it sounds like they do have their sh*t together. Their production companys are behind some of the better new films out there and they both seem to know their limits and strengths. There might be a slim chance in Hell that they might not completely screw this up before Cameron gets the franchise back.
M. Bullitt writes:
on January 24th, 2014 at 7:58:29 AM

Sell it back to greedy Cameron! Problem solved.
mrstretch writes:
on January 24th, 2014 at 8:28:51 AM

Throw it in the trash! Problem solved.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 24th, 2014 at 9:53:38 AM

Burn Hollywood down! Problem solved.
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 24th, 2014 at 10:53:36 AM

so shes going to concentrate on films that have already been made?

and now she gets an 'executive producer' credit
which doesnt mean jack but another paycheck for her

*lazy spoiled beaver*
vincere01 writes:
on January 24th, 2014 at 11:48:29 AM

Shes still gonna make a killing either way, just with less personal financial risk. Considering she herself owns the rights at the moment, I assume she will still be receiving a significant portion of the gross.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 24th, 2014 at 1:06:39 PM

Wait she helped fund "American Hustle"?! Oh thank God she didn't fund it! LOL Although Zero Dark Thirty, Her, and The Master is good and everyone is allowed to make a mistake I suppose. I just don't feel good about this at all in general. I'm tired of the reboot sh*t because you just know they are going to completely follow the exact story with alterations to update to the new age.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 24th, 2014 at 1:49:17 PM

I do commend her for funding The Master. She really believed in Paul Thomas Anderson's vision for the film and gave him full creative control and it is a great film.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 24th, 2014 at 2:27:37 PM

@Deaft0ne
Agreed. I haven't seen it yet but the idea is very ballsy especially since it faced controversy for sharing similarity to the founder of Scientology if I remember the debate on that. I love that kind of daringness in filmmakers.
Zeroguy writes:
on January 24th, 2014 at 2:36:11 PM

Megan Ellison is a saviour of good film. I want to marry her.
Zeroguy writes:
on January 24th, 2014 at 2:36:12 PM

Megan Ellison is a saviour of good film. I want to marry her.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 24th, 2014 at 2:51:54 PM

@Sleuth

Also by creative vision it included PT Anderson shooting it on 70mm and using old film stock from the 1960s for several scenes AND renting some of the cameras that Stanley Kubrick used to shoot 2001: A Space Odyssey.

I think it cost about 50k a day to rent one and he used 2 or 3 of them.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 24th, 2014 at 3:46:12 PM

@Deaft0ne
No doubt Anderson is a hell of a committed artist. And since Kubrick was mad crazy about collecting camera I bet Anderson had a great selection.
minkowski writes:
on January 24th, 2014 at 4:43:16 PM

"There might be a slim chance in Hell that they might not completely screw this up before Cameron gets the franchise back."

What? Did you read the article? They're dropping out, so they now have little to do with the film.

Wow. People just can't read, apparently.
Avirex writes:
on January 25th, 2014 at 12:26:04 AM

Either way, their rich daddy is paying for it. Same difference. These spoiled c*nts have never worked a day in their lives.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 25th, 2014 at 1:01:17 AM

@Avirex
Why do you think I hate Lawrence so much? LOL That's have the reason art is dead. Most people involved are about the image and the style but don't bother to create a sense of substance that flows through the body of the story like blood in the veins.
Avirex writes:
on January 25th, 2014 at 7:54:27 AM

^^Unfortunately true. Its a backwards world many of the creatively gifted visionaries lack the resources or funding to properly bring their work to life. Meanwhile the creatively devoid empty minds have an over abundance of resources that are wasted on trivialities.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 26th, 2014 at 10:14:57 AM

Don't worry Megan Ellison, I won't be financing "The Terminator" franchise either.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved