WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Ride Along" Comedy Breaks Box Office Records

Posted: January 20th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Ride Along" Comedy Breaks Box Office RecordsSubmit Comment
"Ride Along" comedy, starring Kevin Hart and Ice Cube, turned in the best performance of all-time for the Martin Luther King Jr box office weekend. Costing only $25 million to make, the new movie grossed a whopping $41.2 million over its first three days and is expected to hit $48 million for the four-day weekend.

"Cloverfield" was the previously MLK record-holder with a three-day gross of $40.1 million back in 2008. "Ride Along" not only beat it, but also scored the top opening for the month of January and one of the best debuts ever for an African-American comedy.

Despite such incredible results, "Ride Along" has a disappointing 16% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

"The Nut Job," which is a new animated film, landed in third place with $20.5 million. While that's lower than expected for an animated movie, "The Nut Job" cost only $42 million to make, which means that it will easily become profitable. It has a 16% fresh rating.

The new Jack Ryan film, called "Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit," which stars Chris Pine and is directed by Kenneth Branagh (Thor), failed to attract an audience. It grossed only $17.2 million in its first three days. "Jack Ryan" performed better overseas, where it opened to $22.2 million, for a worldwide total of $39.4 million.

The movie has a 61% fresh rating and cost $60 million to make. Its performance has likely killed the Jack Ryan franchise.

The weekend's other new wide release was 20th Century Fox's "The Devil's Due," which cost $7 million to make. Despite landing in seventh place and having a RottenTomatoes rating of 17%, the horror film still managed to gross $8.5 million domestically and another $2 million internationally.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
vincere01 writes:
on January 20th, 2014 at 1:00:34 AM

Here you go TAN. dont open this link unless you are alone, dont wanna make a scene lol

http://m.ign.com/articles/2014/01/19/gillian-anderson-doesnt-think-an-x-files-movie-would-happen-until-2016-possibly-too-late-for-an-invasion-storyline
vincere01 writes:
on January 20th, 2014 at 1:10:04 AM

Too bad for shadow recruit. It looks like a well done spy movie and I have liked the previous installments. Yes even the ben affleck one. He wasnt horrible in it but morgan freemam and cromwell made that movie dance a fine jig indead
vincere01 writes:
on January 20th, 2014 at 1:10:19 AM

Indeed*
shafe41 writes:
on January 20th, 2014 at 1:24:26 AM

I'm pretty sure you mean "Ride Along Too"... coming March 2014.
BlackDynamite writes:
on January 20th, 2014 at 3:17:54 AM

Shadow Recruit isn't that great of a movie. It's fomulaic, and somewhat predictable. it plays out as if Branaugh had a checklist on what ever action-thriller is supposed to have, then follows that checklist strictly, never straying, never showing anything remotely unique or interesting.

Its a decent movie, it just feels like something you've seen before.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 20th, 2014 at 3:20:28 AM

Ugh.. Will they just make the 3rd movie already? I honestly love that show more than any other show. Grew up watching it and still through episodes on occasionally.

Anyways, Kevin hart is beginning to make his way up to the top in the way of Comedians. I just wish Martin Lawrence would come back and show all these guys what real comedy is lol
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 20th, 2014 at 3:55:17 AM

I'm bored.. Gonna watch No country for old men. It's been awhile since I saw this neat little flick lol
telur writes:
on January 20th, 2014 at 4:22:24 AM

is it white peoples , asian, and latino, and middle east seen these movies ?


$41.2 million in 3 days it is just wow

who's come to theater? even tyler perry movies never did like this
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 20th, 2014 at 6:06:17 AM

No country for old men is a great flick but there's just a couple things that upset me about the film.

The main character, who everybody thinks will come out ahead ends up dying, which ISN'T a problem with me, it's that they didn't show the killing. The sheriff roles up just moments after it happens. I never liked that.. I think they should have shown the fire fight and then had the Sheriff role up just to late to help out

Another is the ending. He (Sheriff) ends just talking about his dreams. Is the story of his dreams somehow relevant to the situation? I can't tell.

I also don't care much for the killer just walking off down the sidewalk after the car crash and how that completes his part of the story. I know it's safe to assume he doesn't get caught and continues doing what he does for however long and it opens up for your own interpretation but I just didn't care for it that much. I feel it should have some sort of conclusion ..

Other then those couple things, The movie is really well done lol I also like how they don't tell you if he kills the wife. But if you're smart enough to notice, then the answer is obvious once he checks his boots.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 20th, 2014 at 9:17:31 AM

Happy Chocolate Milk Day Motha-f*ckers!
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 20th, 2014 at 1:11:26 PM

^
bandolero999 writes:
on January 20th, 2014 at 1:31:14 PM

Rambo I guess your not fond of black ppl and your not even American.what have they done to you???
bandolero999 writes:
on January 20th, 2014 at 1:33:09 PM

If you wanna watch a coens masterpiece watch millers crossing.then watch once upon a time in America
bandolero999 writes:
on January 20th, 2014 at 1:34:03 PM

Just watched the players club last week.is been a while and Bernie Mac was funny in it
bandolero999 writes:
on January 20th, 2014 at 1:38:36 PM

That I Frankenstein movie is gonna be sh*t
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 20th, 2014 at 4:50:39 PM

Thanks, at least I know I'm not alone lol
Taco writes:
on January 20th, 2014 at 5:15:54 PM

@ Tanman, how can you still like No country for old men when there are that many fundamental problems with the story? i agree with you on all your points however i have even more than that to mention. its pacing was slow and scenes were mostly inconsequential. flipping the coin like he's two face? come on, rip off. Hey look its Woody Har.....he's dead?! etc
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 20th, 2014 at 5:24:51 PM

I thought the story was excellent and told very well, the acting was great and so forth lol I just like the movie for those things :P
Danger-Lips writes:
on January 20th, 2014 at 8:09:16 PM

@Crambo - How can you be so racist on MLK day? Of all the days!!! You make me sick.
minkowski writes:
on January 20th, 2014 at 9:47:19 PM

In other news, inner city murders were down 50% during the so-called Martin Luther King holiday, but correlation doesn't equal causation...
bandolero999 writes:
on January 20th, 2014 at 9:50:10 PM

UR comments can be quite stereotypical sometimes.not like I'm black or anything
minkowski writes:
on January 20th, 2014 at 10:30:53 PM

An excellent and intelligent article on why Man of Steel 2 was delayed till 2016:


http://www.forbes.com/sites/scottmendelson/2014/01/20/why-batman-vs-superman-had-to-be-delayed-for-10-months/


Yes, as we all know, Batman Vs. Superman has been delayed from July 17th, 2015 until May 6th, 2016. And yes I discussed the curious date choice Saturday and how Warner Bros. was probably better off using its tried-and-true mid-July release slot, namely July 22nd, 2016. But one thing Id like to touch on is the idea that a 10-month delay is in-itself a sign of production turmoil and trouble. The film may in fact be going through a complete top-down revamp. It may in fact be using every moment of that ten month delay to whip the project into workable shape. But the fact that its been delayed 10 months is irrelevant to this notion. Due to the release calendar, even a delay of a couple weeks would have meant a delay of at least ten months.

If Warner Bros. found themselves unable or unwilling to commit to having Man Of Steel 2: Justice League Inhibited ready for July 17th, 2015, then that meant by default that theyd pretty much kiss summer 2015 goodbye. By moving any more than two weeks, theyd end up in August, which is not where one of the biggest films of the year generally go to open. Yes, there are blockbusters that launched in very early August (The Sixth Sense, The Fugitive, Rush Hour 2, The Bourne Ultimatum, and Rise of the Planet of the Apes), but none of them had the kind of opening weekends or final grosses that Warner Bros. would find appropriate for a Batman/Superman movie.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 21st, 2014 at 2:24:51 AM

Saw the trailer to this and all I can say is...

f*ck THIS PEICE OF sh*t WITH A BROKEN HERPES INFESTED BOTTLE.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved