WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Writer Discusses "Skyfall" Follow-Up

Posted: January 19th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Writer Discusses "Skyfall" Follow-UpSubmit Comment
In a new interview with IGN, "Skyfall" writer John Logan spoke about the next James Bond film, revealing what he and director Sam Mendes are attempting to accomplish.

"My goal is to write a great movie that's appropriate, to build on what we did on 'Skyfall,' but make it its own unique animal," he explained. "The themes, ideas and the characters from 'Skyfall' can obviously continue on, because it is a franchise, and it is an ongoing story. So I think there's resonance from 'Skyfall' in the new movie."

Logan went on to say that the new film will borrow elements from the entire Bond history. "Going back to Ian Fleming is where I started with 'Skyfall' -- and there's certainly elements of the [James Bond] movies and the novels that we've brought into the new movie, as they did into 'Skyfall.'"

Regarding the villain, Logan hinted: "I think our villain is appropriate to the story we're telling."

The new James Bond film is set to hit theaters on November 6th, 2015.

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SACdaddy writes:
on January 19th, 2014 at 8:35:12 AM

Let's try to leave all the mommy issues out of this one shall we and get back to the Bond we all remember. You know the one who could give three sh*ts about his past, saved the world countless times, and was always on the p*ssy hunt. Remember that guy Mr Logan? I thought the final scene of Skyfall was supposed to be a signal that they were done rebuilding this character's past and transitioning to his future. Sounds like I might have misread things.
mrstretch writes:
on January 19th, 2014 at 8:39:05 AM

Yeah and how about some more gadgets from Q. He hasn't had anything cool to play with in years.
Stapes writes:
on January 19th, 2014 at 10:48:43 AM

So in other words, it'll be like every Bond film ever made.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on January 19th, 2014 at 11:18:58 AM

That's why I haven't watched a bond movie since golden eye
Cannon writes:
on January 19th, 2014 at 11:34:24 AM


So, basically, this is total non-news: "We're going to make the next James Bond movie about James Bond stuff."

Okay then.

But, yeah, I agree ...less pathos and more p*ssy and cooled indifference la the Connery years.



vincere01 writes:
on January 19th, 2014 at 12:27:23 PM

My take on skyfall was like this.

1. He spent this movie reconciling his past, which started to affect his performance on the job and make him think twice about what he is doing with his life and his commitmwnts.

2. Coming to terms with the fact that his job goes by different rules than normal. I.E. Dont trust anyone, people you care about can betray you, and that his life is not all that important in the grand scheme of things and when faced with a choice to either try to save his life but cause an international incident, or simply disown him for the greater good of MI6 and england they wont hesitate to do that to him.

3. I also think it was showing the aging/mortality aspect of the character alot.

4. In all I just felt like skyfall was meant to be the MI6 spy version of getting baptized and washing away your past to become a new person moving foward. A la a cold low emotion badass that only cares about queen and country.
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 19th, 2014 at 2:06:30 PM

BIZ
you should at least give Casino Royale (they dont even play the JB theme till the end)a chance
and probably the opening scene for Quantum
minkowski writes:
on January 19th, 2014 at 4:52:18 PM

As long as the next Bond film doesn't steal from Home Alone like Skyfall did, I think it'll be okay.
minkowski writes:
on January 19th, 2014 at 4:53:58 PM

"Let's try to leave all the mommy issues out of this one shall we and get back to the Bond we all remember."


You must have missed when they said they were taking a page from Nolan's Batman films, which are just CHOCK FULL of Batman moping about the city because mommy and daddy left baby Bruce home alone in his soiled diapers with surrogate nanny and wet nurse Alfred, right?
Dirt writes:
on January 19th, 2014 at 8:26:20 PM

Whatever, I'm keen. I like this new Bond series and Daniel Craig kills it.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 19th, 2014 at 9:35:48 PM

Well Craig is only doing 2 more so I hope they give this a good ending for the 5th film.
minkowski writes:
on January 19th, 2014 at 9:44:38 PM

I wish they would replace Craig *now* with someone who doesn't make my old shoes cry.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 19th, 2014 at 9:45:02 PM

I have grown to love most Bond films, even Solace just because I liked some of the older elements they entered into it. I thought Skyfall was a much more intense film then the Solace and half of Brosnan's films. However, I agree that they can't just rely on his past to make a good film and should take a break from it.

@vincere1
I think you were right that the film was solidifying Bond taking on the mantle of 007 without emotional blowback.

@SACdaddy
If vincere1 is right, then they will return to a more in-the-present storyline now that they have closed off his past and Mendes seems to have great respect for the series so hopefully he won't try to make up elements for more family drama and focus on a clever spy story instead.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 19th, 2014 at 9:46:31 PM

@everyone
What is this I'm hearing about Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit getting good reviews?! I mean I want to see it because I loved "The Hunt for Red October" but I'm worried they overdid the action.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 19th, 2014 at 10:02:49 PM

@Sleuth

Kenneth Branagh is a very good director so I assume that Jack Ryan is a solid film like his other ones. Also it's always cool to see Kevin Costner in something.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 19th, 2014 at 10:19:40 PM

@Deaft0ne
It is nice to see Costner back in films lately. I probably will check it out and Chris Pine is one of the lesser annoying eye candy actors out there. He actually did a great job in Into Darkness in my opinion.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved