WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

2014 Oscar Nominees Announced!

Posted: January 16th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
2014 Oscar Nominees Announced!Submit Comment
On behalf of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS), Chris Hemsworth (Thor: The Dark World, Rush) and Oscars President Cheryl Boone Isaacs announced the nominees for the 86th Academy Awards.

"American Hustle" and "Gravity" dominated with ten nominations each, including Best Picture and Best Director. "12 Years a Slave" followed with nine nominations.

Academy Awards, which will be hosted by Ellen DeGeneres, will be presented on Sunday, March 2nd, at the Dolby Theatre, and televised live by the ABC Television Network.

And the nominees are:

BEST PICTURE:
* American Hustle
* Captain Phillips
* Dallas Buyers Club
* Gravity
* Her
* Nebraska
* Philomena
* 12 Years a Slave
* The Wolf of Wall Street

DIRECTING:
* David O. Russell (American Hustle)
* Alfonso Cuaron (Gravity)
* Alexander Payne (Nebraska)
* Steve McQueen (12 Years a Slave)
* Martin Scorsese (The Wolf of Wall Street)

ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE:
* Christian Bale (American Hustle)
* Bruce Dern (Nebraska)
* Leonardo DiCaprio (The Wolf of Wall Street)
* Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years a Slave)
* Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club)

ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE:
* Amy Adams (American Hustle)
* Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine)
* Sandra Bullock (Gravity)
* Judi Dench (Philomena)
* Meryl Streep (August: Osage County)

ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE:
* Barkhad Abdi (Captain Phillips)
* Bradley Cooper (American Hustle)
* Michael Fassbender (12 Years a Slave)
* Jonah Hill (The Wolf of Wall Street)
* Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club)

ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE:
* Sally Hawkins (Blue Jasmine)
* Jennifer Lawrence (American Hustle)
* Lupita Nyong'o (12 Years a Slave)
* Julia Roberts (August: Osage County)
* June Squibb (Nebraska)

WRITING (ADAPTED SCREENPLAY):
* Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke (Before Midnight)
* Billy Ray (Captain Phillips)
* Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope (Philomena)
* John Ridley (12 Years a Slave)
* Terence Winter (The Wolf of Wall Street)

WRITING (ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY):
* Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell (American Hustle)
* Woody Allen (Blue Jasmine)
* Craig Borten and Melisa Wallack (Dallas Buyers Club)
* Spike Jonze (Her)
* Bob Nelson (Nebraska)

FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM:
* The Broken Circle Breakdown (Belgium)
* The Great Beauty (Italy)
* The Hunt (Denmark)
* The Missing Picture (Cambodia)
* Omar (Palestine)

ANIMATED FEATURE FILM:
* The Croods
* Despicable Me 2
* Ernest and Celestine
* Frozen
* The Wind Rises

PRODUCTION DESIGN:
* American Hustle
* Gravity
* The Great Gatsby
* Her
* 12 Years a Slave

CINEMATOGRAPHY:
* Philippe Le Sourd (The Grandmaster)
* Emmanuel Lubezki (Gravity)
* Bruno Delbonnel (Inside Llewyn Davis)
* Phedon Papamichael (Nebraska)
* Roger A. Deakins (Prisoners)

COSTUME DESIGN:
* Michael Wilkinson (American Hustle)
* William Chang Suk Ping (The Grandmaster)
* Catherine Martin (The Great Gatsby)
* Michael O'Connor (The Invisible Woman)
* Patricia Norris (12 Years a Slave)

FILM EDITING:
* Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers and Alan Baumgarten (American Hustle)
* Christopher Rouse (Captain Phillips)
* John Mac McMurphy and Martin Pensa (Dallas Buyers Club)
* Alfonso Cuaron and Mark Sanger (Gravity)
* Joe Walker (12 Years a Slave)

DOCUMENTARY (FEATURE):
* The Act of Killing
* Cutie and the Boxer
* Dirty Wars
* The Square
* 20 Feet from Stardom

MAKEUP:
* Adruitha Lee and Robin Mathews (Dallas Buyers Club)
* Stephen Prouty (Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa)
* Joel Harlow and Gloria Pasqua-Casny (The Lone Ranger)

MUSIC (ORIGINAL SCORE):
* John Williams (The Book Thief)
* Steven Price (Gravity)
* William Butler and Owen Pallett (Her)
* Alexandre Desplat (Philomena)
* Thomas Newman (Saving Mr. Banks)

MUSIC (ORIGINAL SONG):
* "Alone Yet Not Alone" - Bruce Broughton and Dennis Spiegel (Alone Yet Not Alone)
* "Happy" - Pharrell Williams (Despicable Me 2)
* "Let It Go" - Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez (Frozen)
* "The Moon Song" - Karen O and Spike Jonze (Her)
* "Ordinary Love" - Paul Hewson, Dave Evans, Adam Clayton and Larry Mullen (Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom)

SOUND MIXING:
* Captain Phillips
* Gravity
* The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
* Inside Llewyn Davis
* Lone Survivor

SOUND EDITING:
* All Is Lost
* Captain Phillips
* Gravity
* The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
* Lone Survivor

VISUAL EFFECTS:
* Gravity
* The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
* Iron Man 3
* The Lone Ranger
* Star Trek Into Darkness

DOCUMENTARY (SHORT SUBJECT):
* CaveDigger
* Facing Fear
* Karama Has No Walls
* The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life
* Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall

SHORT FILM (ANIMATED):
* Feral
* Get a Horse!
* Mr. Hublot
* Possessions
* Room on the Broom

SHORT FILM (LIVE ACTION):
* Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn't Me)
* Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just before Losing Everything)
* Helium
* Pitaako Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?)
* The Voorman Problem

Source: AMPAS


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 85 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Wallace writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 9:47:48 AM

Tom Hanks is not nominated for Captain Philipps? Really?
j-man writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 9:58:10 AM

American hustle was 100% meh
M. Bullitt writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 10:08:03 AM

9 nominees for best picture??? Phoenix's "Her" shouldn't be there that is just preposterous.

Scorcese has greater chances there and I wouldn't be surprised Meryl Streep will win for the umptieth time over Amy Adams.

And Jonah Hill is a nominee! Who saw that coming but I have to admit he was quite good in TWOWS.
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 10:48:35 AM

at least this year
aside from 12 Years (i have to be in the mood to see movies about injustice) and the Hanks phony-bologni movie,Im at least interested in seeing these films


where's Inside Llewin Davis?
the ads made it seem like everyone was on the Cohen Brothers d*ck
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 10:50:23 AM

in other news:
the black guy from Capt. Phillips has been signed by Jerry Bruckheimer to do 3 more pirate movies
and will be basing his character off a drunk James Brown
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 11:32:24 AM

Got it...there are no surprises once so ever in these nominations. Please God don't let Russell get an Oscar or anyone for that matter from that bullsh*t film. Let there be some justice in this world!!! But on a more debating mood...I can't believe Tom Hanks and Emma Thompson both got snubbed for their starring roles in Captain Phillips and Saving Mr. Banks! Just ridiculous! By the way I love how Russell will now go down as the only director to have two movies where they get nominations for every acting category. That was done ONCE in the history of film but he gets it twice. Total bullsh*t!
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 12:02:31 PM

Honestly.. It'll be rediculous if Leonardo doesn't win an Oscar this year. He did a f*cking great job in The Wolf of wall street
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 12:17:15 PM

I hope American Hustle wins every Oscar it's nominated for. Best movie in like a decade!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 12:25:46 PM

@Deaft0ne
LOL Man you are high but dead again I feel this is a trap to make me respond. Not happening if it is and if you are serious...my friend you need to watch more movies.
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 1:06:58 PM

DEAF just wants to see the Oscars burn
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 1:14:18 PM

Lmao
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 1:36:59 PM

@PORN-FLY
Well we all do at this point. It's not about who is better anymore but who is promoted the best. American Hustle has a producer behind it who knows how to grease palms. And you know Lawrence...probably been f*cking ever nominator since before the movie came out. LOL
boogiel writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 2:13:59 PM

WTF??? Lone Ranger for visual effect??? Get Out!
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 3:16:18 PM

shouldnt Sound Mixing & Sound Editing be the same sh*t?

the only nom All Is Lost gets is editing?
wutta jip
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 4:17:27 PM

Bored so here goes.

My oscar predictions-

Best Picture - Wolf of Wall Street
Directing- Alfonso Cauron (Gravity)
Actor, Leading role- Leonardo Decaprico (Wolf, wall street)
Actress Leading role- Cate Blanchett
Actor, Supporting- Barkhad abdi (Captain Phillips)
Actress, Supporting role- Jennifer Lawrence (AH)


Tanman32123 writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 4:21:48 PM

-Skip a few-

Cinematography- Roger A. deakins (Prisoners)
Music original score - John William (Book Theif)
Sound Mixed- Lone Survivor
Sound editing- Lone Survior
Visual Effect- Gravity

That's all, and goodnight
cress writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 4:54:00 PM

Fassbender was quite good in 12 YEARS
SACdaddy writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 4:56:25 PM

Been saying for years that Matthew McConaughey is one of the best male leads in Hwood and have gotten a ton of sh*t on this site for it. Now it looks like the guy is finally getting the respect all his hard work deserves. Dude is on a serious roll over now skipping the typical pretty boy studio sh*t for more challenging critical work. Don't get me wrong, he still stays in his Southern wheelhouse most of the time but the parts are still more emotionally dynamic than most actors are capable delivering. Ever since The Lincoln Lawyer he's stepped his game up and delivered nothing but great performances. Whether he's snake charming kids in Mud or scaring the f*ck out of everybody in Killer Joe, the dude is awesome on all ends of the spectrum. True Detective will be his next masterpiece so stay tuned. All that being said, is there anyone else out there that's grown a new appreciation for this former bongo banging bong smoking Texas redneck turned award winning actor?
BJsforeveryone writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 5:05:52 PM

@Sac -Did You watch the True Detective show ??
He did quite alright !!!
SACdaddy writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 5:10:19 PM

I could say all the same thing about Leo but that guy has always been a great actor. He's just getting better with time.

I just watched Revolution Road again for the first time since its release and couldn't help but feel like he got robbed again of another Oscar. Kid was awesome and so was Kate Winslet. Haven't seen The Wolf yet but judging from the response I know its just another shiny notch on this acting hall of famer's belt.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 5:30:35 PM

The oscars are just as bad if not worse than the razzies.
Deckman writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 6:12:55 PM

I hope fassbender takes it for 12 years a slave. great movie
secondbest writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 6:22:01 PM

Judging from the nominees, only 10 movies have come out in the last year.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 6:48:05 PM

Best Actor - Matthew Mconaughey - Dallas Buyers Club

Best Supporting Actor - Jared Leto - Dallas Buyers Club

Best Actress - Cate Blanchett - Blue Jasmine

Best Supporting Actress - Lupita Nyong'o - 12 Years A Slave

Best Adapted Screenplay - Terence Winter - Wolf of Wall St.

Best Original Screen Play - Spike Jonze - Her

Best Director - Alfonso Cuaron - Gravity

Best Picture - American Hustle


These are my predictions, not opinion on who I think **should** win.
WallyDee writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 6:54:52 PM

@sacdaddy

Leo's performance in Wolf of Wall Street was indeed great as usual!
Im not going to say that he deserves the oscar because some movies like for example American Hustle and Dallas Buyers Club are movies i havent seen yet simply because theyre not released yet here in Holland, and ive been hearing and reading good thing about the performances of the lead actors.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 6:58:30 PM

Don't know, don't care.

Not like I or any of you have a horse in this race.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 7:08:24 PM

Dracula actor cast as Avengers villain

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/dracula-actor-cast-villain-avengers-202600631.html

Actual news.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 7:09:47 PM

Gilligan's Island Professor Dead at 89


http://abcnews.go.com/US/slideshow/memoriam-remembering-stars-died-18116446
GIST writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 7:52:55 PM

MattMcCon's character in True Detective is straight up legit. He's been on point in the films he's recently been in this past year, especially Mud.
mpiper821 writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 8:50:30 PM

Was the Dallas Buyers Club really that good for all these noms??
Any good?
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 9:01:13 PM

^^No. Over-rated. Matt doesn't perform nearly as extraordinarily as some claim, but he's emaciated which gets people excited, I guess, because noting says cool like doing what Bale did ten years ago and what Jews did seventy years ago.

Also, the format of the film is highly manipulative in such a way to make you concerned for some piece of sh*t Texan who cared about AIDS and HIV only after he contracted the disease from f*cking every bar skank in Dallas, and you might also get the feeling that Hollywood wants to make the viewers sympathize with the plight of gay American men who take it up the ass, which means we all have a new found sense of appreciate for the trials and tribulations of Shia "sh*t Beef" LeBeouf.

Also has lots of shots of men in cowboy hats and rodeos, because we all know it ain't Texas unless you're wearing a cowboy hat and riding a bull.

(hint: Dallas Buyer's Club is bookended with shots of a rodeo, just to beat into the viewer's head the film's "protagonist" was a Texan)



In fact, I downloaded all of the latest "hot hit" films and found none of them were worth a damn. All of them are shallow, hollow, Oscar bait. There's not one damned film in the pack that isn't a cheap, garish cynical bid for some damned award. f*ck them and f*ck the "awards".

(and if you don't like my opinion, you can shove it up your ass)
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 9:03:31 PM

*nothing


And Gravity was sh*t too. Stupid, preposterous story, crybaby Bullock, stock uber-smug Clooney, some minority who died without ever being seen, lots of annoying, obnoxious CGI meant only for IMAX.


Hollywood and films in general have just gone to hell, I tell you.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 9:14:11 PM

Captain Phillips was another one. Two hours of Greengrass' endless shaky-cam sh*t and Tom Hanks' fat-ass blubbering. I swear the little black bucktoothed Somalian stole the show. Nothing at all going on. No tension, slack pace, basically like every other "based on a true story, sort of" film we've seen within the last fifteen years. And lots of film grain, just to give it that faux-authentic look.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 9:16:14 PM

"And Jonah Hill is a nominee! Who saw that coming but I have to admit he was quite good in TWOWS."

Because fake teeth, a big gut and lots of stupid open-mouthed grinning is what it takes to win an award, apparently, and yet Leo and Denzel have won how many Oscars?
Attos writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 9:46:12 PM

@mink
That would be zero and two, respectively. Lol.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 9:49:46 PM

I love Fassbender but I have to say Leto deserves the best supporting actor award
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 9:52:03 PM

yer alfonoso for best director is a f*cking joke gravity was a pile of sh*t
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 9:53:07 PM

also think daniel bruhl was at least deserved a nom for rush he wasnt bad
SACdaddy writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 9:53:36 PM

@BJ: Definitely a great beginning for True Detective. Love the dynamic between Woody and Matthew. I heard each season of the show will focus on a whole new set of characters which is kind of interesting, and the first season is only 8 episodes long. Perfect setup for top talent like Woody and McConaughey types to give great performances without taking them away from their big screen work. I'd love to see a few A-listers like Clooney, Pitt, or even a Sam Jackson pop in for a season just to stretch their acting chops with HBO studios and remind us how good than can be.

HBO is still delivering the best material Hwood has to offer.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 9:59:35 PM

I had no idea Denzel ever won an Oscar. He received one way back in 1989 for his near-bit part in Glory (wherein he plays a black soldier during the Civil War, natch) and another in 2001 for his lead in Training Day (wherein he plays a black thug cop, natch).

Leo still hasn't won d*ck even though he's been pumping out quality work for nearly fifteen years.



But like I said, I don't pay attention to awards shows. They're worthless.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 10:01:21 PM

"HBO is still delivering the best material Hwood has to offer."

Please. The BBC is kicking Hollywood's ass in television with just one three-episode show every two years.
mpiper821 writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 10:07:35 PM

No sh*t Sherlock!
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 10:08:28 PM

True Detective looks like yet another nihilistic American show, voiced by an ever-drawling Matthew McConaughey, with a predictable predilection for America's obsession with serial killers, nudity, murder, guns, drugs and brutality, but then it wonders why its culture churns out some many sociopaths and psychopaths.

(Must be all those evil guns, I guess.)



America is a nation infatuated with its own terminal disease as told through the lens of capitalistic "entertainment".



I'll stick with quality television.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 10:29:27 PM

Gilligans island's professor died today? Yeah, Him
And my grandma.. :( Maybe she was a fan, Say hi to him Grandma!

Anywho..

Mink-

Although the film was obviously made to catch Nominations, I still think Dallas Buyers Club was a pretty good flick.

I might tune into this years oscars just to see if they completely f*ck Leanardo in the ass this year like they have many before. That man deserves an Oscar more than any actor going.

Denzel was great in Training Day, I figured that was worth an award. He was also really good in Flight, I'm surprised that never got anything, or maybe I did.. I really don't know.. Lol



Deaft0ne writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 10:35:26 PM

@Tanman

Denzel was nominated for Flight but lost to DDL for Lincoln. I think that Joaquin Phoenix should have won for The Master.
Donyae 420 writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 10:42:08 PM

WTF Dracula in Avengers....am I the only one to read that?
Donyae 420 writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 10:47:26 PM

JK
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 10:54:16 PM

Yes, I wrote "Dracula cast as Avengers villain"...oh, wait, no I did not. I actually wrote "Dracula actor cast as Avengers villain", which changes everything relevant with respect to this little digression.


And I did I read that right? Donyae is really J.K. Rowling?

(jk)
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 10:58:05 PM

@Tanman: really, how hard does an actor have to work to play an alcoholic? Not much a stretch in my opinion. Because of that, I don't think Denzel should have won over Daniel Day-Lewis' excellent work in Lincoln, although I might agree with Deaftone that Phoenix probably had to do more work to make his role succeed over Day-Lewis who had the benefit of exemplary make-up and costume design.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 11:01:28 PM

@Tanman: sorry to hear you lose your grandmother. Really. That sucks. But know she's now in a better place with Jesus and The Care Bears.

No seriously, just kidding. I'm really feeling your pain. My grandmother passed back in 1994. She was like a mother to me and treated me the best out of the litter.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 11:02:45 PM

Here's an image straight from heaven, and by heaven I mean between those chicks' thighs.

minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 11:03:36 PM

Really, that dude looks just like Charles Manson. Coincidence? I think not.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 11:12:11 PM

Deaft- I was unaware he was nominated lol

Mink- Thanks man.. Deaths a bitch but it's inevitable. It wasn't my legitimate grandma, she was my moms step mom. Still was a wonderful women who I enjoyed talking to.. My moms, mom (Grandma) is still kicking at 65. She's not in the best of health and I personally doubt more then another decade, but you really never know..

And To be between those thighs.. Almost seems worth it lol.. Hope all is well minky, thanks for the kind words.
cress writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 11:13:53 PM

@Mink. Don't you think SHERLOCK went downhill quickly this season? The premiere started strong, but the last 45 minutes were "meh". The explanation he gives for his fake death was preposterous, and the end scenes between John and Sherlock on the train were schmaltzy. Episode 2 was a bore until about a half hour in, and then it got entertaining. But the the fact that the two stories Sherlock is sharing with the reception guests just so happen to be related to the climax of that episode was contrived, ludicrous, and poorly written. It was entertaining, though, but nonsensical. Episode 3 was the best of the season, but it was a letdown as well. It started strong, and Magnesson (?) was a interesting, Rupert Murdoch-esque villian. I just find John Watson to be poorly written, as he seems to be Sherlock's puppy who doesn't know how live in the world without his master, Sherlock.

SHERLICK is best when he's shown sleuthing, observing every detail of a scene/area for clues. This season didn't seem to have too much of that. The second episode in the back 45 minutes did, and that was good, but it was to service an outcome that was beyond ridiculous. Most of this seasons episodes seemed to have Sherlock functioning as a computer, spouting out facts/details without really showing us his deductive reasoning skills. Just my opinionn. Not trolling.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 11:14:11 PM

@Tanman: no problem. I had to mix in a little cynicism so I didn't choke on the sentimentality, but you get my drift, young nigga.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 11:15:03 PM

Thomas Kretschmann has played a german officer like 15 times lol
cress writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 11:15:27 PM

@Tanman. Sorry for your loss.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 11:21:15 PM

@Cress: Magnusson is NOT based on Rupert Murdoch, so you need to stop getting your opinions from what you read on the internet.

Magnusson is actually exclusively based upon Charles Augustus Milverton:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Adventure_of_Charles_Augustus_Milverton



And yes, I could carp on and on about this season's writing, no doubt, especially the finale which had Sherlock killing Magnusson only to be put on a plane to Eastern Europe, only for him to immediately return because Morarity predictably turned up not-dead.

Definitely not the series' high point.

I did though, get a huge blast out of the first and second episodes, so much I've seen each several times.
Yes, more action than deduction this season, but you cads never had a problem with that when Nolan was turning Batman into a growling comic-book buffoon in TDK and TDKR, so why the concern now?
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 11:25:34 PM

"The explanation he gives for his fake death was preposterous"

I think you mean OF his death, not for, because I can see why he would kill himself to save his friends and then use his apparent mortal decession to bring down Moriarty's crime network.

Certainly any explanation involving him falling to the ground in an apparent and confirmed suicide is going to need some kind of suspension of disbelief to operate and given that television is fertile ground for fantasy, I found Sherlock's explanation of his death no less incredulous than any other anything seen in any other television show.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 11:27:53 PM

Cress- Thanks man..

How did Sherlock explain him faking his death again?.. I'll have to Wikipedia that lol
cress writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 11:30:05 PM

@Mink. Actually, I watched the episode this morning, and my initial impression was that it was loosely based on Murdoch. Especially how the episode opened, as he was sitting in front of a committee being grilled with questions, it it reminded me of Murdoch's public grilling. Plus, Murdich is still a relatively recent scandal, and Magnusson's background and penchant fir digging up dirt on people led me to my view.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 11:36:19 PM

"and the end scenes between John and Sherlock on the train were schmaltzy."


Sure, but they had to have some kind of finale to John's anger over Sherlock's apparent death, right? They had to close that issue so as to move on to the next episode, right? Not like John would just say, "oh well, you put through hell for two years, losing my best friend forever, and now you're making cracking jokes". Right. Like that didn't need what we Americans love to call closure.


"But the the fact that the two stories Sherlock is sharing with the reception guests just so happen to be related to the climax of that episode was contrived, ludicrous, and poorly written"


Perhaps, and that was my first thought as well, but given they were at a wedding, I cannot see a better way to make it work. Sherlock would certainly have to attend his friend's wedding and yet would also be required to solve a crime for the show's sake, So the writer u must intertwine the two strands somehow for the point of making a plot that adheres the audiences' expectations of seeing both occur within the same hour.

Now, if there had been just a murder, one would complain of the odds of such a major crime occurring during John's marriage, but the way it was written was actually intricate although admittedly farfetched, but then the entire series is farfetched to begin with.

I can see, really, how the one crime Holmes didn't solve would have an unforeseeable conclusion at some point in the future, and that point would arrive during John's wedding. Stranger things have certainly happened in real life, no doubt.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 11:38:26 PM

@Cress: His Last Vow is NOT based on Rupert Murdoch. Perhaps some minor aspect of Murdoch's recent antics bled into the show, but that's just supposition.

In fact almost everything that happens within His Last Vow is actually based on the Doyle story His Last Bow.

Case closed.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 11:41:09 PM

Correction: his Last Vow is based on The Adventure of Charles Augustus Milverton. The title His Last Vow is taken from His Last Bow.


Also, Milverton and Magnusson are based on real-life blackmailer Charles Howell.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_Augustus_Howell
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 11:42:47 PM

+me -making and others.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 11:43:40 PM

+you.

Haven't had a bite to eat all day. Damned dieting.

And no, I'm not fat, just vane.
cress writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 11:44:43 PM

Season premiere: Sherlock flicks the off switch on the bomb. The off switch? That's very convenient way to wrap up a tension filled climax, and then he bursts out laughing at John for his emotional speech. I don't know--that ending didn't impress me at all.
There are a lot if things I love about SHERLOCK (c*mberbatch, the directing and cinematography, wit), but this season was my least favorite. And Moriarty? I hate that actor's portrayal. I'm not looking forward to his return at all.
cress writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 11:47:32 PM

@Mink. I never said it was, and you're probably right. I'm just saying that was my impression from the episode. I wasn't familuar with Milverton
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 11:49:24 PM

"and Magnusson's background and penchant fir digging up dirt on people led me to my view."

Well, you and the entire internet got that one largely wrong.

In fact, when I heard of the idea Magnusson was playing Murdoch, it didn't seem to fit, really, given that Murdoch is a media mogul and Magnusson is a professional blackmailer, which as elements have no set in common. Not in reality, anyway.

Yes, Murdoch has had to answer some questions, as do all billionaire capitalists (eventually) and yes Moffat doesn't like right-wingers much, but 99% of the Magnusson character is taken right from Milverton, a fact that cannot be denied.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 11:57:15 PM

"Season premiere: Sherlock flicks the off switch on the bomb. The off switch? That's very convenient way to wrap up a tension filled climax, and then he bursts out laughing at John for his emotional speech. I don't know--that ending didn't impress me at all."


Well, they were in front of a bomb, and we know they don't die, so Holmes had to defuse it somehow. So which is more preferable: Holmes disarms the bomb with one second to go, or what they did?

Sometimes writing is about getting it perfect. Sometimes it's about a choice between the bad and the not-so-bad, and the bomb having an off switch, which was used to strain John's competing resentment of Sherlock for faking his death and his love of his best friend, was a not-so-bad moment.


"but this season was my least favorite. And Moriarty? I hate that actor's portrayal. I'm not looking forward to his return at all."

Same here. A weak and perhaps rushed season. Maybe they're running out of steam and ideas. Perhaps they're being pushed to make more episodes when the will just isn't in them. Definitely could have been better and doesn't do the other two seasons justice, but not as bad as some people are saying.

As for Moriarty...well, the portrayal is bizarre and non-canonical, but what's worse: the way he is currently or the way he's been portrayed for a hundred years? Granted, I'd prefer Moriarty to more resemble Mycroft, but at least this way there's a lot of contrast between hero and villain.

And yeah, John needs to get his own pair of testicles because the love triangle between him, his wife and "Sherl" is getting old.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2014 at 11:57:51 PM

ISN'T about getting it perfect.

God I'm hungry.
minkowski writes:
on January 17th, 2014 at 12:01:05 AM

Anyway, I'm off to snag some pasta. Lots of carbohydrates. And starch. Or so the FDA says. So you kiddies can come out of the woodwork now that big bad old Minky isn't around.
cress writes:
on January 17th, 2014 at 12:02:01 AM

How many Sherlock stories did Doyle write? Can't the producers keep mining that well? I have no idea how many Sherlock stories he wrote.
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 17th, 2014 at 12:07:02 AM

TAN
sorry bout your people
this one's for you and yours

mpiper821 writes:
on January 17th, 2014 at 12:12:58 AM

I really don't think Sherlock explained exactly how he faked his death. In the scene with Anderson towards the end. Anderson had realize he would be the last person that Sherlock would tell how he actually faked his death. I think Sherlock was lying to Anderson and just making something up. I figured they just left that open end with no actual explanation.
minkowski writes:
on January 17th, 2014 at 12:13:50 AM

Did ya miss me?!
Did ya miss me?!
Did ya miss me?!




@Cress: quite a few, but the writers seems to diverging from Doyle's canon for the sake of a more action-orienting adaptation.
minkowski writes:
on January 17th, 2014 at 12:19:44 AM

@mpiper: perhaps, but my take is that Sherlock did tell Anderson how he did it. At that point, as Hillary Clinton would say, what difference would it have made?

Besides, Anderson is disappointed with the mundane way Sherlock faked his death, to which Sherlock shrugs, which tells me Sherlock had no ulterior motives.

Doesn't matter. Sherlock's explanation is pretty much the most simplistic and least contrived explanation one could imagine, which fits with his use of Occam's Razor, although I didn't really see the point of the second body if everyone on the street was in on the gag, except for John, which makes me wonder why Sherlock told Anderson and John only him, Molly and his homeless network were involved, even though you can clearly see professional doctors and nurses assisting in setting the stage.

Guess John had to see a body for that moment before he was thrown to the ground, and by "Molly" Sherlock meant Molly and her co-workers.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 17th, 2014 at 12:20:37 AM

Lol that was like 12 minutes Minkydoodle
Did you enjoy your pasta?

DID YEA!?
DID YEA!?
minkowski writes:
on January 17th, 2014 at 12:22:09 AM

The second body thing still bothers me though. I think that was a poor way of explaining why the little girl screamed when she saw Sherlock the previous episode. The writers had wanted to make you think Sherlock was a fraud and they never quite cleared up that little wannabe mindf*ck. The second body was a hasty attempt to do so.
minkowski writes:
on January 17th, 2014 at 12:23:30 AM

@tanman: not yet, not yet, not yet. But there's a hungry wind coming.
mpiper821 writes:
on January 17th, 2014 at 12:36:01 AM

^Yeah same here, about the body double.
mpiper821 writes:
on January 17th, 2014 at 12:46:29 AM

@mink: you could be right about that; Anderson wasn't happy with Sherlock's explanation and Sherlock just rolls his eyes and shrugs him off as if any explanation would not have been good enough for Anderson.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 17th, 2014 at 12:52:53 AM

@mink
Oh did you have rant duty today and I have the weekend? Alright sounds good. LOL Man you drowned this article today with your words my friend.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 17th, 2014 at 1:30:46 AM

Random thought-

I think I'm one of few people on this site who has NEVER changed his Avatar :P
minkowski writes:
on January 17th, 2014 at 6:52:28 PM

"Man you drowned this article today with your words my friend."


I tried.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved