WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Michael Douglas is Ant-Man in Marvel's "Ant-Man"

Posted: January 13th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Michael Douglas is Ant-Man in MarvelSubmit Comment
Marvel recently announced that Paul Rudd will star in "Ant-Man." But the more director Edgar Wright hinted at the story, the clearer it became that the plan is to use both Hank Pym and Scott Lang as the title character.

In fact, about a week ago, Wright posted an image from an "Avengers" animated series, showing Scott Lang stealing Hank Pym's Ant-Man equipment to commit crime. Lang then goes on to become the new Ant-Man. So will Rudd play Hank Pym or Scott Lang.

Marvel has now made a new announcement, revealing that Rudd will be Scott Lang and Michael Douglas has just been cast as Hank Pym.

"With Hank Pym's rich history in the Marvel Universe, we knew we needed an actor capable of bringing the weight and stature to the role that the character deserves," said the studio. "We felt incredibly relieved when Michael Douglas agreed to step into the part with the charm and fortitude he brings to every character he inhabits, and couldn't be more excited to see what he will do to bring Hank Pym to life."

Click here to read more about "Ant-Man."

Source: Marvel


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 54 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 9:39:10 PM

Wait, I thought it was Paul Rudd?
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 9:41:41 PM

So I guess Douglas plays the old Ant-Man and the new guy (Rudd) steals the old guy's equipment?

Good to see Mike getting some work and not having to slow down just because he's "old".

Now if only Jack Nicholson could do the same.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 9:47:37 PM

Falling Down remains my favorite Douglas role. The fast food breakfast scene is amazing.

More detailed live blog link on 24:

http://m.hitfix.com/the-fien-print/24-live-another-day-press-tour-live-blog
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 9:59:47 PM

Falling Down is my favorite Douglas role as well, though perhaps not his absolute best work.

And thanks for the 24 news. Not like we ever get anything on this website except for Alex's poorly-scribed d*ckbeating articles on young men in neon skinsuits.
boogiel writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 10:09:37 PM

Whoa, I didn't see that coming. I can hear Marvel fanatics screaming for blood.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 10:13:34 PM

Who cares? People who call themselves "Marvel fans" are losers by definition.

And these movies aren't really made for them anyway. That's why they have the Saturday morning cartoons so they can sit down in their Optimus Prime jammies with a big bowl of Kix and while away the day.

Here's an example of the typical "Marvel fan"



minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 10:17:41 PM

"Just months after the United States dropped an atomic bomb on Hiroshima, Kix offered an atomic bomb ring in exchange for a box top and 15 cents. The ring was purported to detect radiation."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kix_%28cereal%29


(nothing says America like cashing-in on nuclear apocalypse)







And now back to your irregularly-scheduled "news"!
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 10:24:30 PM

np mink, and yeah I doubt alex will post on 24.

As for this news, Michael Douglas will do his thing and be good as Pym. I am a bit more curious about this film because of Edgar Wright and I really liked Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz and The World's End.
mrstretch writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 10:28:24 PM

Just watched True Detective. It was really good. Any body else?
cress writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 10:30:43 PM

@Deaft. Off-topic, but I watched HER a few nights ago. Good flick. It evoked a lot odd feelings. The ending was a bit "meh", but I enjoyed it nonetheless. Thanks for the recommendation.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 10:32:07 PM

Shouldn't it have been titled Her-lipped instead?
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 10:34:42 PM

Np cress, and I feel it is a film to watch a few times to notice all of the subtext within it. Best screenplay in a while.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 10:37:16 PM

@mink

Regarding Elementary, Jonny Lee Mille
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 10:37:42 PM

Just read the premise for Her.

So the guy falls in love with an AI inside a computer? Do they just bundle true AIs into normal computers then? If so, wouldn't it make more sense for him to fall in love with a female Data instead of OS XXX? If it's the future, why isn't it on a tablet? Everyone knows PCs are dead and tablets and phones are the future.

Makes no sense, these movies they make these days. They try to be cute and intelligent but it all comes off pretentious, but Jonze is known for writing worthlessly pretentious drivel like that horrible, evil, insipid and ugly little film Being John Malkovich, which was the first DVD I ever owned, by the way.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 10:41:02 PM

Also, Goddard's Breathless was sh*t and so was John Cassavetes' Faces, both of which are disjointed, black and white, poorly acted and sh*ttily shot nothing films about people being *ssholes, drunks, lecherous douches and annoying people all around.

Watch 'em if you want to see yourself on screen with a lot of noisy film grain.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 10:43:39 PM

And yes, I am being a d*ck for the hell of it as it's so very rare these days for me to get into a thread quite this early.

Bawahahahahaha!
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 10:45:23 PM

@mink

Regarding Elementary, Jonny Lee Miller is British and his portrayal of Sherlock Holmes is as well. He does not play him as an American.

The show is decent on its own merits and Aidan Quinn is good on it too and I have never really liked Liu in anything besides Kill Bill but her and Miller have good chemistry on the show.

I have seen all of the c*mberbatch/Freeman Sherlock eps but this last season was not as good as the first 2.

minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 10:47:37 PM

@Deaftone: it's an American show set in America. That makes it American enough to me.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 10:49:49 PM

@Rambo: The Game was great, true, but I was thinking of some other his younger roles, like Fatal Attraction, Wall Street and...well...that's it.

And we all know Sharon Stone's vagina was the real star of Basic Instinct.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 10:52:28 PM

@Deaftone: having read nearly everything Sherlock Holmes, at least of the Doyle canon, I cannot in good conscience submit myself to watching some balding douche and Lucy effing Liu romp around New York City, especially after it's been proven the show frequently picks Sherlock's pockets.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 11:00:33 PM

Someone at IGN said Douglas is Pym from the future sent to warn The Avengers, a thought which was then applauded for its genius.

Of course, in all their excitement over that poster's apparent brilliance, they forgot to think. Had they tried using their noodle, they'd realize that Marvel isn't going to sign on Douglas just to play a cameo-role from the future, and anything more than a cameo (within the time-traveling vein) would f*ck with the film's coherency.

No, Douglas is going to have a more central role, and it's not going to involve The Avengers, because this is Ant Man's movie, not theirs, so if they were to appear it would in an after-credit scene, and Marvel's not going to pay to have the entire team return for such minor roles. Perhaps Jackson and maybe RDJ, which would be a waste of Douglas.

So having said that and knowing nothing of Ant Man, I say Douglas will play an older Ant Man from whom his equipment is stolen by the younger Ant Man.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 11:02:24 PM

@mink

Lol I can still enjoy it because I like seeing a version of the Holmes character every week. As for it copying the bbc series, I have not noticed this. If anything Elementary has gone in an opposite direction regarding a lot of the traditional elements of the stories.

@Crambo

Yeah there have been a few filler eps but it's definitely not as bad as LOST or 24 or X-Files.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 11:05:28 PM

@Rambo: jesus f*cking christ! Moriarty is a woman? What, was CBS trying to make a Sherlock Holmes for women? Was O and Lifetime not interested? Why the f*ck didn't they make Sherlock a woman so we could be regaled with tales of her solving crimes by running bloody tampons across the lips of terrified suspects?

Sounds like Sex in the City mated with a lower-brow version of Matlock, with all those romantic triangles and sexualized subtexts.

No f*cking thank YOU.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 11:07:48 PM

"I have not noticed this. If anything Elementary has gone in an opposite direction regarding a lot of the traditional elements of the stories."

You're seeing the superficial, politically-correct surface, and not the structural elements "borrowed" from Sherlock.

Read the forums, the websites, and you'll see that even the fans of Elementary admit that show lifts liberally from the idiosyncratic nuances of BBC's masterpiece.

Damned unimaginative Americans.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 11:13:10 PM

"at least sherlock can finally f*ck Moriarty,I know I would..."

I think he did, when Moriarty was pretending to be Irene Adler.

Whatever.

And The X-Files was mostly filler only if you thought the show should have been titled Aliens 'R Us. After all, the show was called The X-Files, and that meant they had to investigate more than the musing of the cigarette smoking man, which meant monster of the week episodes and other paranormal nonsense.

As for 24...yeah, some of the subplots were annoying, but it was done to break the show's often Jack-centric monotony, give it some humanizing depth, cut costs and develop characters, since Jack never went too far beyond his "I need a hacksaw" moment. So you can't blame them, really, although season eight with the guy stuffed in the wall was jumping the shark in a show full of shark-jumping escapades.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 11:13:44 PM

*musings.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 11:16:46 PM

And Lost...Lost was NOTHING BUT filler. A television show about absolutely nothing. They should have called it Seinfeld's Island instead.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 11:17:48 PM

@Crambo: what, you didn't like the super-soldier plot in seasons seven through nine?
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 11:22:14 PM

@mink

I don't see it honestly. The chemistry between Holmes and Watson is maintained regardless of who plays the characters.

Also Elementary had 24 eps in the first season whereas season 1 of Sherlock had 3 and if fans think it copied any aspects of them then I think they are imagining things.

Flashing back to clues and so on does not count because MillenniuM was one of the first tv series to do that in that fashion and then Profiler and then CSI used that type of editing a lot since then and it now influences nearly every crime drama.

It's not as overt in Sherlock but I still don't compare it with Elementary because they are 2 different takes on the characters and I like both of them.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 11:25:09 PM

Some eps of LOST were blatant filler like when take a sh*t guy and his bitch got bit by the spider and died. None of the main story moved forward in eps like that.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 11:26:44 PM

@Rambo: Mulder often had all the proof he needed, but it was later stolen by CSM, who was revealed to be perpetuating tales of UFOs and aliens just to cover up the real alien invasion, or something like that.

By season seven the show stopped making much if any sense, and I usually say the series died either at the end of season six with the destruction of the conspiracy syndicate or mid season seven when Mulder locates his now-dead sister encased in "eternal starlight".

Everything thereafter, save parts of the episode wherein Scully finds a dead Mulder, are nothing short of laughably appalling.




But yeah, an iPhone might have made a bit of difference for Mulder and his quest.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 11:28:24 PM

"and 'Lost' - lol,you barely watched it mink..."

I watched more than you think, Rambo.

I transcoded a library copy of season one, and I had to go through each episode to make sure the quality was decent for my "archival" purposes, so I saw way more of that damned show than I ever wanted...
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 11:36:54 PM

@Deaftone: supposedly CBS approached Moffat and the BBC for an adaptation, but were promptly told to f*ck off. CBS then decided to make their own.

http://nerdbastards.com/2012/05/17/steven-moffat-comments-on-cbss-sherlock-rip-off-elementary/

But here's an example of CBS knocking off Sherlock

http://www.blastr.com/2012/03/uh_oh_1st_elementary_film.php
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 11:40:32 PM

Escape Plan sucked ass.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 11:46:50 PM

I won't even get into it because I don't have the time, but Escape Plan is poorly paced, under-uses the geriatric action stars at its center, has no character development, is darkly shot in most instances, features some of the most preposterous plot devices, has a horrible supporting cast, employs a more closeted villain than the queer from Skyfall, and basically doesn't give the viewer nearly enough action to compensate for the film's total lack of tension and brains.

If you want to watch a smart prison escape movie, watch Escape from Alcatraz of Prison Break. Don't watch Escape Plan unless you want to see two seventy year-old men in Botox masks jawbone their wrinkles for ninety minutes.





I wouldn't watch Escape Plan again if Caitriona Balfe came through the screen and sucked my d*ck dry.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 11:47:41 PM

"you just made Alex very interested in that movie"

Why? The credits said "no animals were harmed during the filming of this movie".
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 11:50:48 PM

Also, if you want to see Vincent D'Onofrio in an albino Eddie Murphy fat suit, watch Escape Plan.

I kept thinking...is that Vincent D'Onofrio? Sure does look like him, under all that fat, but what the f*ck happened?!
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 11:53:20 PM

I like how the women on IMDB think Vincent D'Onofrio looks good in blubber. lol. Wonder why. His money and fame? Bet they wouldn't think he was hot if he was fat and POOR.

American women, a curse of the earth (unless you're famous and wealthy).
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2014 at 11:54:53 PM

Dustin Putman looking for a date



And you people think *I* need professional help...
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2014 at 12:00:30 AM

I know someone is annoyed with me when they start making my moniker into something cute and cuddly. Minky, minkster, minkypoodle, you get the idea.
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2014 at 12:05:50 AM

@Rambo: not much, but I'm cleaning house at The Pirate Bay for all those new DVD screeners of recent releases like Rush, Runner Runner and Saving Mr Banks.

Watched some of The Fly again and never noticed before that it's basically a parable for growing old. I've also been rewatching the Three Stooges, hence my comment in another thread about turning a mutt into a poodle which is what they do in a short. Started watching some of The Pledge but got bored and clicked the X.

I wonder how many people here know Avatar isn't the least bit original? Cameron stole the story from Pocahontas (Jim said as much), stole the visuals from artist Roger Dean (again Jim said as much) and everything else from either Aliens or a few other films that feature identical plot devices.

Oh, and I recently watched World War 2 from Space, which is from the History Channel, I think. Very, very good program.
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2014 at 12:08:00 AM

What Dustin calls a "pick of the litter", aka "which one will ride my d*ck tonight?".



Dustin Putman, the world's first superhomo.
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2014 at 12:10:22 AM

On his Facebook, Dustin says one of his favorite bands is Tears for Fears, although you'd be justified in thinking that's what his cats prefer.
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2014 at 12:16:29 AM

@Rambo: nothing good is right. Winter rubbish.


Here's one for Sleuth

minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2014 at 12:23:36 AM

Yeah, now she looks like a blonde Moe on stilts.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 14th, 2014 at 12:31:29 AM

Sleuth's reaction any time Jennifer Lawrence/David O. Russell is mentioned:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BD1f39Ny9C8
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2014 at 12:32:21 AM

Meh. She has tits, twat and an ass. What woman doesn't? Plus she looks like she's in the early stages of Down Syndrome. Yeah, I know that sounds mean, but I am sick of looking at an actress how hasn't done as much as she needs to do to earn her constant fame.
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2014 at 12:32:57 AM

*who.
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2014 at 12:34:43 AM

Of course, when Dustin says he loves Jennifer Lawrence, he doesn't mean he loves her like you and I like might love her. He means he wants to wear her skirt and makeup.
drewsmit24 writes:
on January 14th, 2014 at 2:36:31 AM

@mrstretch yeah True Detective 1st ep was really good im confident it will be the best show on this season, mcconaughey is in rare from
M. Bullitt writes:
on January 14th, 2014 at 3:07:47 AM

Breaking news on Star Wars:


http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2538983/Michael-Fassbender-linked-new-Star-Wars-film-rumoured-Luke-Skywalker-Princess-Leia-Han-Solo-bigger-roles-movie.html
nuttie30xx writes:
on January 14th, 2014 at 6:37:01 AM

im going to have to find some comic books or even cartoons to read up on this ant man character i don't see how 3 people can play one character 2 people yeah but 3 im lost i need to learn more on ant man
mrstretch writes:
on January 14th, 2014 at 8:24:59 AM

What's with the halo picture?
Biz Malarkey writes:
on January 14th, 2014 at 9:44:48 AM

Why is the picture of master chief then?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved