WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Look: Ben Kingsley as The Mandarin in Marvel's "All Hail the King" Short Film

Posted: January 10th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Look: Ben Kingsley as The Mandarin in MarvelSubmit Comment
We've been hearing that Marvel has been planning a new "One Shot" short film to go along with the February 25th Blu-ray release of "Thor: The Dark World." We knew it was called "All Hail the King," but it wasn't clear which character it would focus on.

Today, Marvel has confirmed that it will revolve around Trevor Slattery (Ben Kingsley), the British drug addict and actor who impersonated The Mandarin in "Iron Man 3." The 14-minute short will include both Kingsley as Slattery and Scoot McNairy (Argo) as a documentary filmmaker. Check out the photos below to see for yourself.

"When we find Trevor at the beginning of this short, he is living a somewhat curtailed version of the celebrity life," said "Iron Man 3" writer Drew Pearce. "But he's also leading arguably a better life than he did when he was living with four other actors at the age of 52. When we meet Trevor in the short, Trevor won. The Mandarin didn't, but Trevor in his own way was victorious."

He went on to hint that the "real" Mandarin may still be out there. "It's said in 'Iron Man 3,' but very briefly, Aldrich essentially took a thing that was real, historically real and culturally real, and co-opted it for his own means - essentially co-opting an ancient terrorist concept," Pearce explained. "What ['All Hail the King'] does is show that The Ten Rings was a real terrorist cell."

Photos: (click to enlarge)


Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 8:23:12 AM

A 14 minute short film centered in the thing that pissed off almost every IRON MAN comic book fan. Brilliant!
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 1:05:40 PM

Is it me or does this site not work with Firefox anymore?

*muh-f*ckin ads*
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 1:29:04 PM

Thanks for deletimg my post Alex. Just a question that's all.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 1:29:55 PM

It's back up! Hallelujah! Lol

What was the question? ^
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 2:09:39 PM

If it was just me or was the domain sh*t down for good?
boogiel writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 2:19:31 PM

seagate? Whoa, that's luke cage's prison. Nice easter egg there.
Avirex writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 2:46:16 PM

Alex forgot to pay his bills to GoDaddy.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 3:31:01 PM

Lol@alex not paying his godaddy bill. I don't think any domain costs more than $100 a year. Pathetic.
i124q writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 3:31:56 PM

I saw the GoDaddy site appear. I did think about buying the domain, just for sh*ts and giggles, lol.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 4:56:37 PM

Silly old Alex! And me too ^ haha
minkowski writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 6:23:14 PM

I think that would be kind of awesome if it turned out Kingsley was the REAL Mandarin, but I also feel Marvel is milking Ben and trying to smooth out the rough edges on a terrible concept, specifically that of making Pearce The Mandarin and Kingsley an actor, which not only didn't play nearly as well as one might think but provided the film with an insipid twist at the wrong place in the film's tempo.

The revelation should have arrived later in the film and there should have been far more build up to it so it felt like a Big Reveal™ and not some cheap, humorless gag.
minkowski writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 6:25:58 PM

I missed the GoDaddy blooper, and I wonder if it's just more of Alex being a cheap douche or if he was f*cking with us. Perhaps both.

Anyway, I said In December or so his domain expires middle this month. Funny then how I know more about WP than Alex.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 6:48:46 PM

Yeah, I was a little worried mink. Where else would I get my craptastic movie news!? Lol
minkowski writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 6:48:50 PM

Shia LeBeouf "retiring" from social media, public life

http://celebrity.yahoo.com/blogs/celeb-news/shia-labeouf-retiring-from-showbiz-190247188.html

Says, and I quote: "In light of the recent attacks against my artistic integrity, I am retiring from all public life."
minkowski writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 7:11:55 PM

@Tanman: lol. If I ever do that movie news site, I might use such a name like www.craptisticpreviews.com. Then I'll make a CP logo in black and white, change my name to Alex Jewberg, load up a billion ads, sh*t on my loyal readers, and crash the site three times a day.

Of course, I'll have to do a lot more than that to compete with Alex and WorstPreviews, but I think if I work really put forth the effort, I can suck as bad as Alex.
minkowski writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 7:28:56 PM

-work.


@Rambo: haven't seen the second episode of this season's Sherlock, but I hear really bad things, which has put me off. I'm also starting to think that the series may be going downhill as the quality has started to fall off, not in the way it's told but in the sense many of the elements simply don't make sense or conjure up any honest recollections of how Sherlock should comport himself.

For example, the first episode of the series was very smartly written, and everything made clear sense. Sherlock would arrive at deductions that were based on his observations, and the audience could follow along. We could even say we could make the same deductions if only we took the time to observe and think as Sherlock does.

With The Empty Hearse, it seems Sherlock just does stuff as if he's more Merlin than Agatha Christie. He's become less a highly-skilled brain and more of a magical hero. He does something and little explanation is provided.

Unfortunately, I can't thin of any examples per se because the episode isn't fresh in my, but one scene stood out, and it was when he was on the street with John's fiance, when Watson was hailing a cab after Sherlock revealed himself. Sherlock had numerous, almost endless, revelations as to Mary's composition, but none of it was explained. I understand it was something of stylistic choice, but if we're going to follow along with the protagonist, he have to understand him and his motivations and methods. It just seemed the audience was being bombarded by bombast instead of being given an insight into Sherlock's mind, which is really why we watch the show.

Also, not really feeling the new villain, and I understand the writers are now setting up Sherlock and Company for total destruction, perhaps pitting Sherlock against Mycroft, which would be very interesting if I didn't feel that we had already seen enough of that with Moriarty last season. I also don't think the show should stray too far from its crime-solving roots.

I guess I just feel the writers are running on empty, having plumbed the depths of Doyle' original stories, and are now doing a Jack Bauer, which means they're going to have Sherlock run the gauntlet until the audience does of boredom from repetition.

Sad then, because they could have made the show more like the X-Files and Kolchak, having Sherlock solve supernatural cases only to reveal the very human element involved, like say, Scooby Doo or the second season, second episode The Hound of Baskerville, which was missing only the Mystery Van.
minkowski writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 7:30:45 PM

*think *mind.
minkowski writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 7:32:14 PM

*dies.

Goddamn it. Because editing would require more procedural callbacks than just popping in a fresh DIV element as a comment.

f*cking lazy idiot.
minkowski writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 7:42:00 PM

@Rambo: agreed. Perhaps they'll regain form with the last episode, although I have no desire to wait two more years for three more episodes just to see Sherlock transform more fully into a hollow caricature of dime-store spy-novel prestidigitation.

They also really under-used Moriarty who was supposed to be Sherlock's equal but opposite antagonist, the archenemy villain of archenemy villains, only to have the funny little man blow his brains out for no good real reason.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 7:47:51 PM

@Crambo

Tanny popped up like a Jack-In-The-Box when he saw that poster.
sedibus writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 8:00:54 PM

Iron Man 3 was a crap fest, Iīm glad I didnīt pay for it.

Why was crap? Well, because it seems to me that at some point they wanted to take some serious risk with the plot, then, because they are investing more than a hundred millions on it, they went for the safe bet, which was a success indeed.

I know it has been a while since the last time I made a post here, but I been constantly entering and reading some of the comments posted here.

As for Sherlock and all that stuff, that made me remember how good of a writer Richard Matheson was, havenīt and probably wonīt be seeing Sherlock.

So, there you go.

P.S. I know there are better movie news site than this, but the people here just make some pretty f*cking cool comments just to not read them.

That one Porn-fly posted yesterday about
sedibus writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 8:05:01 PM

the topic Photo: Ben Affleck Hugs a Corpse for David Fincher's "Gone Girl"

when porn said:

PORN-FLY writes:
on January 9th, 2014 at 1:10:43 PM
Ben Affleck Hugs a Corpse for David Fincher's "Gone Girl"

might as well
Pike worked with one

and then that gif animated photo of Affleck pretending he was surprised, it just proof how bad as an actor that motherf*cker is, however I must admit I like some if not most of his films and Iīm pretty sure he will pull off a great Batman, good the guy is getting the recognition, as a director he is indeed way better.

But I must admit that was a f*cking blast I laugh so f*cking hard that I almost cried. Not, but, cool comments here.

Cheers to those who came and went and kudos to those who are still tripping here.
minkowski writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 8:11:43 PM

With Affleck you can't tell if he's acting or not because he knows only one role: stupid, and it's the one he plays equally well in both life and in film.

Truly a one-dimensional man.
sedibus writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 8:18:24 PM

hahaha
Donyae 420 writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 8:33:17 PM

Iron man 3, one of the 5 worst movies of 2013.
sedibus writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 8:40:57 PM

Pacific Rim was such a waste, I canīt comprehend why a very talented man like Del Toro and a very capable screenwriter like Beacham were yerking off and then sh*tting in the face of the public with that f*cked up and stupid dialogues and all that stuff that made me so angry.

A waste of a movie, Pacific Rim that is, that was the biggest and most harmful of cinematic dissapointments of last summer.

Why harmful, because they threated every person willing to see the movie, like a f*cking brainless stupid idiot, like aliens from another f*cking dimension.

If I just wanted to see a robot and a f*cking extraterrestrial monster fighting without anything else, I would probably be seeing MTVīs Bully Beatdown. Period.

I wonīt even dare to mention any other stupid and offensive movies that rapes the inteligence of every human being.

Is just that Pacific Rim stole the f*cking prize.
Donyae 420 writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 8:42:46 PM

Pacific Rim worst than IM3?
triggax writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 8:43:07 PM

Minky. I remember you saying that. Funny you were right. Too busy taking loads to renew his domain.

Classic WP.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 8:51:53 PM

Pacific Rim was one of the best films of last summer. But I went into it not trying to compare it to anything else. Sedibus's bad english doesn't really give any genuine reason why it's a bad movie.
sedibus writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 8:56:24 PM

Donyae 420:

Iīm not saying is worst thatn Iron Man 3, is just that I expected it to be a better and more well developed movie in its own right, donīt get me wrong, Iīve seen it more than 4 times and I enjoyed the movie for what it is, but is a slap in the face, a drag, technically well done but they just, well it was a terrible letdown for me.

But yeah, as for what it is, yes, is very cool and a winner, as I said before, right.

Also, Tetsujin-28 is much more mature in its scope and conception.

Anyway, a simple and mindless opinion.
sedibus writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 9:01:22 PM

I mean, I donīt want to be a hater, because I actually enjoyed Pacific Rim, a lot, but my problems are with the characters, the dialogue, how they decided to develope that cool if not original concept.

Hell, any character from any type of japanese animation have more dept than any character in that movie.

I mean, look at Pacific Rim, surrounded by real actors who can pull off difficult character driven situations.

It felt like dropping unusued oil quimics to the ocean in Greenpeace ships.
sedibus writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 9:07:20 PM

I mean, I donīt have trouble watching the movie again, it will be a hell of a very cool ride, but there is not much more to it, thatīs what I hated about, thatīs what Iīm pissed about, is not that Iīll ever write something that could top what they did with Pacific Rim in terms of structure, dialogue and character & plot development, but they just didnīt care.

The same happened to Gravity.

And my main concern about it is that the production cost for movies are increasing and this well educated bastards doesnīt care at all about their public, nor about the story and all that sh*t.

As long as it makes money who gives two thirds of a tiny f*ck.
sedibus writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 9:08:31 PM

Deaftone:

Maybe I donīt want to say my real reasons and Iīm just talking badly written nonsense so you canīt give a sh*t about my point of view.
sedibus writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 9:43:23 PM

Screen Junkies - Honest Trailers - Pacific Rim

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fupWquPNoTc
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 9:44:31 PM

@Sedibus

Pacific Rim is fully intended to be enjoyed like something akin to Voltron or Power Rangers but with a big budget to fully realize those themes on an epic scale. It is eye candy for the little boy in all of us.

For those reasons I loved it.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 9:46:00 PM

Even honest trailers does not say the movie sucked. They admit it is awesomely dumb or dumbly awesome lol
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 9:51:45 PM

Mink- That sounds very familiar..

I'd attend that site, but only if you promised not to post Christmas or New years posts! Oh, and no Edit button!
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 9:53:17 PM

Holy sh*t, triggax is alive!?
sedibus writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 10:00:12 PM

well, yeah, I know what you mean, Deaftone, is the same reason I like the flick, but at the same time they should have gone into the esoteric, mystic territory which Del Toro is know for, however I know doing things differently is also a good thing.

But, well, have a good and smooth weekend fellows.
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 11:36:32 PM

Will post more later but for now
Welcome back SEDIBUS

and

We need to have a contingency plan for when this site really gets f*cked off

I was gonna check Collider's comment section for the usual suspects
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 11th, 2014 at 1:02:59 AM

Yer Sherlock has been disappointing the first episode almost felt like a reboot but I have them the benefit but episode two the writing was just lazy farfetched and lame. Without the spoilers all the small stories come together unrealistically and its missing the essence of the show the crime mystery solving element it's turning into a buddy comedy with a quirky Simon baker.
Whitta writes:
on January 11th, 2014 at 1:20:13 AM

Aww I was starting to enjoy the racially diverse people from GoDaddy that appeared on my screen.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 11th, 2014 at 2:42:54 AM

The Lone Survivor is an absolute triumph of a film. Rest in peace to all the men who died on that fateful day during what was 'operation Red Wings'.

The film adaption to Marcus Lutrell's book was amazing, and hands down not only a Ten out of Ten, But easily my favorite movie of 2014.

And I highly doubt it'll be beat. You guys?
minkowski writes:
on January 11th, 2014 at 7:51:05 PM

"Too busy taking loads to renew his domain."

lol.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved