WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

DGA Announces Nominees for 2013 Best Director Award

Posted: January 8th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
DGA Announces Nominees for 2013 Best Director AwardSubmit Comment
The Directors Guild of America (DGA) has revealed the five nominees for its 2013 award, which usually mirrors the nominees in the Best Director category at the Academy Awards. The DGA will announce the winner on January 25th and it will be a good indication who will win the Oscar.

Ever since the guild started giving out awards in 1948, only seven times did their winner not go on to win at the Academy Awards. The big exception happened last year when Ben Affleck won the DGA award for "Argo." The film went on to win the Oscar for Best Picture, but Affleck wasn't even nominated.

Check out the list of nominees below, listed in alphabetical order, and let us know if you agree with the choices.

* Gravity - Alfonso Cuaron

* Captain Phillips - Paul Greengrass

* 12 Years a Slave - Steve McQueen

* American Hustle - David O. Russell

* The Wolf of Wall Street - Martin Scorsese


Source: DGA


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 8 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nuttie30xx writes:
on January 8th, 2014 at 9:59:36 AM

havent seen any yet but 12 years a slave sounds great im going to watch captain phillips later and i dunno how someone floating round in space makes a good film
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 8th, 2014 at 2:46:23 PM

@nuttie30xx
Gravity is one of those contemplative films but while there is indeed floating...a lot of sh*t goes down. LOL

@Everyone
It comes down to this...who has gotten the most attention. Russell I was worried might get it but it looks like Cuaron has managed to hold notice on his film "Gravity" and McQueen's work is somehow staying strong. While "12 Years A Slave" is a very general movie in concept I am curious about his direction. Did he seem like he really led the film on the straight and narrow or was it all over the place? I'm not going to lie, while I love Greengrass, I didn't think he'd get much for "Captain Phillips" and any Scorcese film is welcome by my standards. :)
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 8th, 2014 at 3:01:25 PM

Being as non-bias when I say this...how is Russell even considered a director. The way Bale described his directing...he literally throws sh*t out there at them at the last minute and has zero process. He says he develops a close relationship with his cast...so does any decent director!!! What a f*cking impertinent prick! His style is so basic and irregular. I know when I actually see American Hustle I'm going to scratch my head the whole time wondering how this all adds up into a film that is being considered so great!
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2014 at 7:39:05 PM

WGA, DGA, PGA.

Does the Craft Services people have a labor union guild from which they can offer their picks as well?
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2014 at 7:40:46 PM

*Do
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 8th, 2014 at 8:16:50 PM

@mink
If it's like a union there are probably tons of handshaking if you know what I mean. LOL There really is nothing. All I know is the people's Choice Awards didn't even pick JL for Hunger Games so I think they are adding stuff under the table to boost film's popularity. Like I said before, people here saw American Hustle and said it was sh*t. 12 Years A Slave perhaps while being well acted is one of the most unoriginal concepts in history. I feel like they pick the safe movies that politically make sense and for other small reasons. They are basically forcing David O. Russell's work down everyone's throats for the last 3 years. It seems like there is a lot of bullsh*t backroom deals going on.
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2014 at 8:37:20 PM

@Sleuth: that last line of yours sums it up perfectly, except for the fact the "backroom" is the entire industry.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 8th, 2014 at 8:41:17 PM

@mink
Yeah they aren't being very sneaky about it anymore huh? LOL Oh man did you see the letter Scorcese sent to his daughter? It was beautiful. That guy is still all about the art form and while he doesn't see a bright light for cinema he sees a chance for low-budget projects to make it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved