WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Superman Fan Jerry Seinfeld Reviews "Man of Steel"

Posted: January 7th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Superman Fan Jerry Seinfeld Reviews "Man of Steel"Submit Comment
Jerry Seinfeld is a huge fan of Superman. In fact, the superhero has appeared or was referenced in every episode of the comedian's "Seinfeld" TV show, in addition to many commercials starring Jerry. So now that Seinfeld went on Reddit to answer fan questions, it didn't take long for someone to ask for his opinion on "Man of Steel."

"I was so happy that they made another Superman movie," he wrote. "I'm really reluctant to be critical of it in any way. But I thought the glossing over of the figuring out a secret identity and why he felt he needed one was a huge missed opportunity for that character, and one of the most interesting things about Superman is the whole secret identity. So to me it was too much action / violence and not enough character study."

Outside of the Superman questions, Seinfeld went on to say that he and Larry David are re-teaming for something "big."

Source: Reddit


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BJsforeveryone writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 2:55:57 AM

And we care about one unfunny jews opinion because... ???
That show really smoked c*ck and him in particular.
He is not a has-been, hes a newer-was and MOS rocked !!!
CelluloidMan writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 3:47:06 AM

Seinfeld makes a good and valid point.

Lois Lane already knows who he was before he even became a reporter/ Superman?! WTF?!

Although Kent spends most of the time trying to find himself which was a good change of focus (if it were trimmed would be better), the secret identity is really one of THE things that makes Superman so well known.

Generally MOS was uneven, too overly complex at times...they just overstuffed it with so much unnecessary detail. Some good (origins/ Krypton home planet technology), some bad (machines changing atmosphere)...

Overall, it sucked because it was too dark, overly complex and took itself too serious...minimal to no humor. That's why it's also a challenge, you can't make it too dark because it is a family brand.

Honestly, watching MOS made me appreciate Donner's/Reeve's interpretation even more.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 3:47:47 AM

@BJsforeveryone
Hey man not to be critical as well but if you're going to insult someone make sure when you mean to type "never-was" that you do. LOL

@everyone
He is right though. The character development was awful! Goyer totally skipped over the depth of the characters, settling for bare-bones stereotypes.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 3:56:55 AM

*never-was...there !!!
Not trying to insult-just stating a fact :)
Hate that guy and show.
-About MOS...well, sometimes You really like a movie that everybody hates and sometimes You hate a movie that the majority likes(Inception) !
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 3:57:40 AM

@CelluloidMan
I just always find the changes Nolan made to Superman unnecessary. he is a good director but he was WAY off on this one. He says idealism is old which is why he made the character more realistic. Yet, if you watch his Dark Knight films, he made Bruce Wayne the poster child of idealism! He doesn't kill, use guns, and attempts to even at times convince the bad guys to change. Mostly just Ra's Al Ghul and Catwoman but still it just cracked me up is all.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 4:00:05 AM

@BJsforeveryone
LOL Fair enough. You are entitled to your opinion. I just found the movie too over the top and silly...ironically sometimes cheesier in it's science-fiction elements than Donner's film. I mean seriously...a world changing machine. Was that necessary? Why would they change the atmosphere so they can't have powers anymore? I feel Zod in his narrow views would want to keep his powers but find a way to subdue others like how they did it on Smallville in that alternate future.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 4:01:52 AM

Many origin stories get boring - for me this had some epic moments and some real action plus it lacked all the corny stuff we saw in previous movies!!
BJsforeveryone writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 4:05:05 AM

Many origin stories get boring - for me this had some epic moments and some real action plus it lacked all the corny stuff we saw in previous movies!!
BJsforeveryone writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 4:15:14 AM

Oops...wtf happend with my post ? Never ment to post it twice...
@Sleuth - Never watched smallville !
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 4:23:56 AM

@BJsforeveryone
You need corny stuff. That's the problem! We don't want a variety of emotions anymore. We want these dark characters but if all you have is dark then it becomes white noise and leaves no effect because it is all the same.
Taco writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 4:34:10 AM

Mos main problem was there was No story! It was all exposition. Russell Crow was only there to tell people whats happening. Amy adams was only there cuz...well no reason actually. It could have been written out. She provided nothing. She just needed to fall so he coukd catchher. Kriptonions were idiots, they knew there planet was doomed and stayed there anyway yet shipped off criminals safely way in a space ship!! Then then they stayed and died! Well.....good by planet retard!
BJsforeveryone writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 4:42:08 AM

I get what You say and I think this might just be a phase because people after movies like Watchmen and Dark Knight triology got intrigued by the more serious dialogue, dark tone and almost melancholic feeling - haunted heroes if You like.
I actually liked Avengers as well but to me it was almost drowned in fun and games-witty lines !!
markoz writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 5:34:44 AM

Well, I can understand why Lois Lane knows his secret identity. If she's really so good investigative reporter, it wouldn't be plausible for her to get fooled by pair of glasses. I hope the sequel gets brighter because of events of MoS and to show some contrast compared to Batman.
markoz writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 5:38:28 AM

What I said about Lois, I meant it wouldn't be plausible in today's age. It was a concept that worked before, but it just slowly faded, and the only reason the glasses work in comics and other media is because everyone is used to him not being recognized.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 5:49:17 AM

I saw him live here in Toronto last year, was a good show lol I hope the "Big" thing is a Seinfeld reunion.

Also, From what I've read their are several episodes without a superman Refference in them.
boogiel writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 5:52:54 AM

Seinfeld really nails it. Even I have to agree with him.
CelluloidMan writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 10:13:21 AM

^^ Definitely. You can tell Seinfeld was talking as a fan...
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 10:25:55 AM

Spot on Jerry!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 2:14:34 PM

@BJsforeveryone
I suppose although Avengers also had character development! The Hulk's struggle, insight into Black Widow and Hawkeye, Captain America's more old fashion ideals verses Stark, and Thor's sort of separated nature from the rest being from another world as well as his struggle with his brother Loki. Not to mention Nick Fury's constant debate over what to do and Maria Hill's by the book, irritating attitude toward Fury's decisions where she is sometimes right but also wrong. See it had fun AND story. Granted the battle in New York was a stereotype...but it was mostly the icing on the cake of the buffet of characters that we got insight to. And unfortunately I don't see the dark characters as a phase. It seems to be getting worse. Why? Because younger generations are more self-centered...so they focus more on characters that are closer to the dreary realities they face who even display a slight sense of courage and suddenly they are heroes. 10 years ago we would see Katniss Everdeen as an anti-heroine. She is never really gives a sh*t about anyone unless it feeds her own needs and she is emotionally disconnected. Now...she is apparently a strong female heroine. Bullsh*t she is! I said it before and I'll say it again...we're too damn busy trying to like everyone and understand them that we forgo our own moral judgements which is why Avengers is EXACTLY the movie MOS should have been. Heroes who are actually heroes fighting for the right reasons...those are heroes. Man of Steel had a melodramatic lead with zero personality, a storyline that I feel Goyer picked its elements out of a hat for, and the ever present bullsh*t concept that grittiness somehow can match wits with well-thought out logic and a versatile characters that aren't all a bunch of cold-staring dummies. I need personality in these films and it sucked. And I feel Seinfeld might have said more but he was being polite about it. MOS is the worse Superman, nay overrated superhero film ever!
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 2:18:50 PM

Seinfeld was always a very funny show and Jerry's standup is great too. Not sure what bj's problem is.

MoS was just okay.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 2:57:38 PM

Also, alex is wrong. Superman was not referenced in every single episode of Seinfeld. Showing the Superman figure on Jerry's shelf in his apartment does not count and there were some episodes where they did not show his apartment or the figure was not always shown.
velocityknown writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 3:13:22 PM

Man of Steel is a sh*t movie. That is all.
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 5:55:11 PM

"So to me it was too much action / violence and not enough character study."


Could be said about almost every summer tentpole flick post-Jaws.
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 7:49:21 PM

Lowest grossing movie of the year made only 72 dollars.

http://movies.yahoo.com/blogs/movie-news/meet-lowest-grossest-movie-2014-box-office-haul-205622727.html
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 11:16:18 PM

The lowest growing movie I saw in theaters was "Wrecked" With Adrian Brody lol
GreenLensman writes:
on January 7th, 2014 at 11:52:48 PM

Seinfeld went on to say that he and Larry David are re-teaming for something "big".

A show called "Noses"?
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 8th, 2014 at 2:48:50 AM

Comedians In Cars Getting Coffee is a guilty pleasure of mine

the Louis CK,Mel Brooks/Carl Reiner and Michael Richards eps. are the best
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 8th, 2014 at 5:12:11 AM

I'm bored :( Night guys!
CelluloidMan writes:
on January 9th, 2014 at 9:50:39 AM

At Pornfly...same here bro...
drewsmit24 writes:
on January 10th, 2014 at 2:32:36 PM

(Seinfeld theme music) ba-did-doo-dooo-dooo

"What's the deal with krypton is it a city or an ice sculpture?"

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved