WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros Sets 2013 Record with $5 Billion Gross

Posted: January 5th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros Sets 2013 Record with $5 Billion GrossSubmit Comment
Warner Bros Pictures announced that it grossed more money domestically, internationally and worldwide in 2013 than any other film studio. Warner Bros earned a whopping $5.035 billion, setting a new overall record and becoming only the second studio to break the $5 billion mark.

This is also the fifth consecutive year that Warner Bros has surpassed $4 billion worldwide, which is an industry record. Globally, the studio has now ranked #1 or #2 in nine of the past ten years, also an industry record. The studio also crossed the $1 billion mark, both domestically and internationally, 13 years in a row, another industry record.

The success came thanks to such films as "Man of Steel" ($668 million), "Gravity" ($663 million), "Pacific Rim" ($411 million), "The Hangover Part III" ($362 million), "The Great Gatsby" ($351 million), "The Conjuring" ($318 million) and "We're the Millers" ($270 million).

Source: Warner Bros


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 6:20:58 AM

So, where it does leave for Fox?
boogiel writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 6:23:36 AM

Also, who is #1 for the past ten years?
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 6:52:28 AM

Pirates are slackin off
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 6:55:22 AM

apparently^
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 7:42:27 AM

Good for them I'll give em a cookie.
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 12:29:30 PM

Steven Seagal Considers Running For Governor

http://abcnews.go.com/m/story?id=21423192&ref=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com%2F
Venom1970 writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 1:12:45 PM

this is all i can add.

Deaft0ne writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 1:22:59 PM

Venom wins the thread!
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 1:26:25 PM

Damn.. We're the millers made 270 Million? Wasn't expecting that lol
rancid meatloaf writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 1:51:15 PM

I watched the new texas chainsaw movie, started off promising and then went to sh*t fast. The ending was god awful. i would give it a 5, although if i got to see that chicks tits i would give it a 9, theres NO way they're not amazing!
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 2:37:38 PM

your 5 is generous,RANCID
but same here
'went to sh*t fast'

watching Its All Over

can you imagine if Robert Redford was pissin&moanin like Sandra Bullock?
and Sandy was calm cool collected?
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 2:41:52 PM

^i actually think it would have made Gravity a way better movie
but that didnt stop James Cameron from 'meowing' the hell out of it

30YoVirgin writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 3:20:17 PM

yeah Texas Chainsaw was disappointing. Waited the whole movie to see Alexandra Daddario's tits but least we saw a nice side boob.
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 4:10:25 PM

Warner Brothers needs to ask for more corporate welfare to compensate for all that profit lost to piracy, methinks.

Boo hoo hoo.
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 4:42:28 PM

@pornfly: Regarding Nostradamus, I've seen that show/movie whatever, and I've read a few books on the man. When I was a child, I read Erika Cheatham's volumes on Nostradamus, although later in life I (about 14) rejected it all in favor of science because I figured 99% of it is total bunk. Kicked religion to the curb even earlier but that's another story.

Regarding N, well, all I can say is, most of his predictions are little more than verbal Rorschach tests, or a form of literary pareidolia/apophenia, in that the reader/viewer sees exactly what they want to see.

Case in point: Hister, a person Nostradamus mentions, a name that only barely resembles the name Hitler, is almost universally conflated with the German dictator, which then leads and has led to various people to reading whatever they want from the other lines of N's quatrains and stanzas.

Bullsh*t.

Besides, in the year 1999 a terrible king did not come and rake havoc on the world. In fact, George W. Bush became President in 2001, two years later.




http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pareidolia

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apophenia

Merry Christmas, you filthy animal.
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 4:43:10 PM

Jesus.

*Wreak.
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 4:44:05 PM

Suffering from a bout of anomic aphasia today for some reason. I hope it's not brain damage/Alzheimer's. Perhaps the polish pickles I just ate. I hope.
Stapes writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 4:51:44 PM

Big whoop, major video game studios made three times that.
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 4:55:46 PM

^^Why do you think they often release titles like GTA 5 on XBOX and PS before PC? Piracy. PS and XBOX both have strong DRM in the form of hardware that prevents gamers from playing illegal copies, which isn't (currently) possible on the PC.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 5:08:33 PM

I have the book of Nostradomus somewhere at home Mink lol The majority of the "upcoming" predictions are complete bullsh*t that won't happen. But because it's the almighty Nostradomus they'll find a connection out of thin air.

-Everyone else. Texas Chainsaw 3D was sh*t lol "Omg! I trail of blood leading into the basement? Better follow it!"

... Idiots lol
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 5:16:36 PM

Any time I find a trail of blood leading into a dark basement I follow it in the hopes I'll encounter a brutal monster who will then viciously murder me. I assume everyone else does the same.
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 5:25:11 PM

Dear Hollywood Bad Guy,




Please murder me in the most brutal and heinous way.




Yours Truly,

Hollywood Bimbo of the Week
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 5:55:22 PM

so many interpretations of N
i believe i saw another doc. that said Hitler got the idea for the Swastika from a prophecy of his

just one of those doc.s i grew up watchin on HBO/Cinemax
along with that phony bologni Ark doc. that showed the Ark perched up on Mt. Ararat

MINK
my roommate has bouts of anomic aphasia

i believe it stems from giving herself diabetes at 17 and acidosis can do serious damage to the brain as well as the other obvious body parts

the smell of cinnamon is supposed to help with memory
Almond Milk is packed with Omega-3s
although i dont know how cost effective it is since you can make your own with almonds and Krill Oil is expensive
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 6:06:41 PM

I was kidding about the anomic aphasia, Pornfly. I was merely experiencing a "brain fart", which meant for some reason a word looked weird and spelled incorrectly. Seems to happen to most people, as does deja vu, and was probably brought on by a momentary lack of proper oxygen. I had just eaten, was yawning, ans still waking up. You know how it be, dog.
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 6:07:11 PM

*AND.
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 6:11:50 PM

btw,i know you were being a smart-minky and youre really not suffering from some debilitating ailment
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 6:25:25 PM

@pornfly: Not yet!
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 6:51:25 PM

There sure are some sick people in this world

http://www.clickorlando.com/news/palm-bay-man-charged-for-sex-acts-with-family-dog-police-say/-/1637132/23756996/-/15regj4/-/index.html

Man charged for boning fido.
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 7:02:29 PM

woops
blindly posted my 'btw' without checkin for your response
but i knew you were bein you and not frantically typing while blood pours from your nose

minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 7:20:37 PM

Actually I do like arguing over the internet because I can say what I want without incurring a physical fight and the other person doesn't feel a desperate need to escape, largely because they have more time to think.

WP used to be a battleground of wits. Now it's a wasteland of boredom.
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 7:39:59 PM


Ursa: You are master of all you survey.
General Zod: [bored] So I was yesterday. And the day before
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 7:43:05 PM

Kneel before...zzzzzzz.
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 7:43:26 PM

No seriously, just not enough action on WP these days.
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 7:49:24 PM

General Zod: I win. I always win. Is there no one on this planet to even challenge me?
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 7:53:40 PM

ha bout that new Michael Bay time travel movie i keep pesterin you like a crackhead about?
Welcome To Yesterday
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 7:57:10 PM

trailer^
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 10:03:52 PM

Meh.. WP has gotten pretty boring these days, But at least the main people I chat to haven't left. It'd be boring without the regulars lol

Anyways.. Just left Captain Phillips. Pretty damn good film, and an interesting true story.
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 5th, 2014 at 11:15:00 PM

'Captain Phillips' true story,that is
Venom1970 writes:
on January 6th, 2014 at 1:05:33 AM

I watched Out of the furnace last night, very good film, would be surprised if it does not win an Oscar.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 6th, 2014 at 4:24:59 AM

Agree 100% ^ It was a great movie
gerard kennelly 7654321 writes:
on January 6th, 2014 at 4:36:52 AM

THE SHARK IS NOT WORKING
a blacklist script about the making of Jaws

pages 37 -40

INT. MANSION
A party full of Hollywood’s movers and shakers. Steve, d*ck
and David engaged in intense discussion

d*ck
The studio’s pushing Charlton for
Chief Brody.

STEVE
Charlton just saved a jetliner in
Airport ‘75, and he’s about to save
Los Angeles in Earthquake. He’s a
goddamn superhero! I need Brody to
be relatable, an Everyman.

d*ck
They’ve got him under contract for
two more pictures. They think we
need a star to carry this thing.

STEVE
The shark’s the star.

DAVID
We’ll talk to them.

d*ck
Who’re you looking at for Hooper?

STEVE
My buddy George suggested Ricky
Dreyfuss, we’re meeting next week.
Quint’s proving a bigger problem.

DAVID
How about Robert Shaw? We used him
on The Sting, he’d make a great
Quint. And the timing’s perfect,
he’s finishing a run on Broadway.
The man’s one hell of an actor.

STEVE
Great, let’s set a meeting.

d*ck shoots David a look. David realizes his mistake.

d*ck
Just to forewarn you, kid. Robert’s
a little... intense.

STEVE
That’s exactly what I need, someone
the audience will buy as a worthy
opponent for the shark!

d*ck
No, you don’t understand --

ROY (O.S.)
What’s up, fellas?

Steve, d*ck and David turn to see ROY SCHEIDER (42). Roy’s
laid back, not an ounce of fat; the lean physique and natural
confidence of a former amateur boxer.

d*ck
Roy, you know Steve Spielberg?

ROY
Not personally. Great to meet you,
Steve. Loved Duel.

Steve and Roy shake hands. Something about Roy has Steve
perplexed, lost in deep thought.

ROY
So, what’s this about a shark?

d*ck, David and Steve say nothing. It’s an awkward silence
that makes Roy feel very self-conscious.

ROY
I’ll let you get back to it.

Steve watches Roy walk away... something clicks.

EXT. MANSION - CONTINUOUS
Steve tears out of the house. He glances around frantically,
sees Roy climbing into a car.

STEVE
Roy! Roy, wait up!

Steve runs to Roy’s car. Roy winds down the window, confused.

Steve catches his breath, then:

STEVE
Do you get seasick, Roy?

INT. HOTEL ROOM - NIGHT
Steve and Carl with RICKY DREYFUSS (26). Ricky’s short, fun-
loving, and full of kinetic energy. Without the beard or wire-
rim glasses, he looks nothing like Hooper.

RICKY
I hated the book.

STEVE
We all do. Carl’s gonna fix it.

RICKY
The character does nothing for me.
He’s boiler-plate exposition,
boring as hell. Shark-this, shark-
that, *beep*

STEVE
That’s all gonna change, Ricky. We
see Hooper as the voice of
scientific reason in a town that
cares more about tourist dollars
than protecting its own citizens.
Your character elevates this whole
picture from a formulaic monster
movie to something with a clearly
defined social perspective.

Ricky lowers his voice, almost conspiratorial.

RICKY
I just saw myself in Duddy Kravitz,
and I was awful. I need to choose
my next role very carefully, or my
career is well and truly *beep*

Ricky goes to leave. Reaches the door when Steve speaks.

STEVE
Growing up in Scottsdale, Arizona,
I felt like an alien. I was the
only Jewish kid in school, a skinny
runt with a big schnozz the other
kids used to call “Spielbug”. Spent
most of my days trying to keep my
face out of the drinking fountain.
I longed for Saturday, when my dad
would drop me at the Kiva Theater
on Main Street for the double-
header. I’d sit in the dark staring
up at that big screen, and feel...
connected. Then one day, I realized
something: I never saw myself in
those movies. There were no Jewish
heroes embodying our rich tradition
of intellectual enquiry, respect
for learning, intense involvement
with morality and law.

Ricky hangs by the door, listening intently. Steve turns to
look directly at him, delivers the killer line

STEVE
Those kids out there, the ones like
me? They need heroes too.

EXT. NEW YORK CITY - NIGHT
Skyscrapers reaching skyward to test God. In the streets
below, people fight over yellow cabs.

INT. VIVIAN BEAUMONT THEATER - CONTINUOUS

Steve and Carl sit in the AUDIENCE, watching ACTORS on stage.
Steve tracks one ACTOR in particular, analyzing every
movement, every gesture.

INT. DRESSING ROOM, VIVIAN BEAUMONT THEATER - LATER

Steve and Carl wait in the small dressing room, empty booze
bottles covering every available surface.

CARL
The guy sure likes a drink.

The door blows open and in walks ROBERT SHAW (46), a steel-
gazed mass of wiry muscle who seems to be fighting a constant
urge to give you a severe beating, then buy you a frothy
drink in a dented tankard, then give you another beating.
Unlike the character we’ll remember him by, Shaw’s clean-
shaven and speaks with a cut-glass English accent. He marches
past Steve and Carl, grabs a bottle of whiskey, pours a large
measure into a chipped cup, drains it. Beat, then:

SHAW
I hate the book.

STEVE
We all do, sir. Carl’s the writer,
he’s gonna fix it.

Shaw turns on Carl.

SHAW
Oh? And what have you written?

CARL
(flustered)
Well, I’ve mostly worked in TV --

SHAW
I’ve written for Lawrence Olivier
gerard kennelly 7654321 writes:
on January 6th, 2014 at 4:40:32 AM

THE SHARK IS NOT WORKING
a blacklist script about the making of Jaws

page 109

INT. SOUND STAGE - CONTINUOUS
Lights, cameras, ACTORS, CREW.
Steve enters, walks through the darkness to get a better look...

ALFRED HITCHc*ck, sits in the director’s chair: older,heavier, looking tired, yet still with a magnetic quality; a poignancy in every fiber of his being.

Steve watches every move, analyzing every detail.
And then, almost as if he can feel the eyes on the back of his bulbous
head, Hitchc*ck begins to slowly turn around...

A SECURITY GUARD spots Steve, approaches.

SECURITY GUARD
Closed set, sir. I’m gonna have to ask you to leave.

Just before their eyes meet, Hitchc*ck is interrupted by a
question from his ASSISTANT DIRECTOR.

SECURITY GUARD
Sir?

Steve smiles.

STEVE
Sure. No problem.

Steve turns around and walks off the sound stage,
into the blinding light outside.
The assistant director sees what just happened
and rushes over to the security guard, ashen-faced.

ASSISTANT DIRECTOR
What the hell are you doing? Don’t you who that was?!

The security guard shrugs as we...

FADE TO BLACK,

And the following text scrolls over the screen:

Jaws opened on 20 June, 1975.
Sixty-four days later,
it surpassed The Godfather to become
the most successful film in motion picture history
gerard kennelly 7654321 writes:
on January 6th, 2014 at 4:41:25 AM

page 10

THE SHARK IS NOT WORKING
a blacklist script about the making of JAWS



EXT. BEACH HOUSE - DAY

A lopsided A-frame on Nicholas Beach, down the road from
trendy Malibu.
YOUNG FILMMAKERS grill steaks, drink wine and
smoke joints as they stare at TOPLESS SUNBATHERS.

Amongst those present are
four young lions taking Hollywood by storm:
BRIAN DE PALMA (34), JOHN MILIUS (30),
MARTIN SCORSESE (32), and GEORGE LUCAS (30).
And then there’s Steve, the youngest, sipping a Coke, listening intently.

DE PALMA
I’m telling you, this town’s got no
idea what audiences want anymore.
This is the great unknown, they’re
looking to us for guidance.

MILIUS
For now, maybe.

DE PALMA
You’re paranoid, John!

MILIUS
You think they’re just gonna give
up, play golf? The gates have swung
open, the citadel may look empty --
but it’s just an illusion. Soon as
they figure out how to make money
without us, we’re *beep*

SCORSESE
The inherent dichotomy between the
economic imperatives of capitalism
and the bravery of true artistic
endeavor. It’s a dichotomy, is what
it is. We’re facing a dichotomy.

DE PALMA
The studios need us more than we
need them. All they know is movies,
they’ve got no idea how to make
films. This is our time.

STEVE
What if people want movies?

They all turn, look at Steve.

STEVE
Artistic expression’s all well and good,
but don’t you wanna reach normal, everyday folks --
the kind of people you grew up with?

DE PALMA
No offense, Steve, but you’re part of the system.

STEVE
What’s that supposed to mean?

DE PALMA
You’re a studio guy, always talking about grosses and *beep*

MILIUS
Hell, Stevie’s more conservative than the *beep* suits!
Didn’t they have to talk you out of giving Sugarland a happy ending?

Steve’s clearly offended, but nobody seems to notice except
George Lucas. De Palma drains his wine.

DE PALMA
Screw this, let’s go swimming.
They all set off down the beach towards the ocean,
except for Steve, who hangs back.
George sees.

GEORGE
You coming, Stevie?

STEVE
I don’t like the water.

George nods, understands.

GEORGE
Never know what’s down there, huh?

George runs off to catch up with the others.
Steve sits down in the sand alone, deep in thought

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved