WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Fresh Prince of Bel-Air" Actor James Avery Dead at 65

Posted: January 2nd, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Fresh Prince of Bel-Air" Actor James Avery Dead at 65Submit Comment
James Avery, who played Uncle Philip Banks on the "Fresh Prince of Bel-Air" TV series, has passed away from complications from open heart surgery. He was 65-years-old.

Alfonso Ribeiro, who played Avery's TV son on the sitcom, broke the news on New Year's Day on social media. "I'm deeply saddened to say that James Avery has passed away. He was a second father to me. I will miss him greatly. The world has lost a truly special man."

Before becoming an actor, Avery served in the US Navy in Vietnam from 1968 to 1969. After moving to San Diego, writing TV scripts for PBS and graduating from college, Avery ended up co-starring alongside Will Smith in 140 episodes of "Fresh Prince," which ran from 1990 to 1996. He also voiced Shredder on the animated "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" TV show and War Machine in the animated "Iron Man" series.

His last role was in Zach Braff's "Wish I Was Here."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on January 2nd, 2014 at 6:18:40 AM

Goodbye Uncle Phil. RIP
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 2nd, 2014 at 6:22:40 AM

my ex died from complications of surgery on her heart

she didnt have one
*ZING*
GreenLensman writes:
on January 2nd, 2014 at 6:42:20 AM

I'm pretty sure Will warned him about his eating habits in every single episode....
SACdaddy writes:
on January 2nd, 2014 at 7:37:41 AM

RIP Uncle Phil. One of the best tv dads ever. Had no idea he voiced Shredder too.

Wow tough couple of weeks for fans of that show. First the creator/producer dies and now Uncle Phil.
cress writes:
on January 2nd, 2014 at 8:04:56 AM

I met him once, and he was a very nice guy.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 2nd, 2014 at 10:19:24 AM

R.I.P mate.
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 2nd, 2014 at 10:41:15 AM

GL
lol
Deckman writes:
on January 2nd, 2014 at 11:17:15 AM

As I posted on my Facebook...

NO!!!DEAR GOD BABY JESUS!!!

Uncle Phil Passed Away. I have commonly said Uncle Phil was like my second dad. I am not kidding. James Avery played an amazing performance and I grew up with him Seriously!! His performance have made me cry MULTIPLE TIMES!!! He reminded me of my own father.

God Bless James Avery the Actor. I have he have a special place in Heaven.
crimsonfiend420 writes:
on January 2nd, 2014 at 11:31:59 AM

d*ckman, just FYI, no one gives the tiniest f*ck about what you "posted on Facebook". Say it, don't say it, no one gives a sh*t. But to quote your own Facebook post (that no one here knows or will ever see) is perhaps the gayest thing I've ever seen. And clean yourself up. Stop crying like a bitch.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 2nd, 2014 at 11:46:14 AM

Lol he snapped^

Anywas, Rest in peace. He was a great actor :(
Stapes writes:
on January 2nd, 2014 at 3:38:43 PM

I get he's in heaven teaching Corey Haime to drive.
Stapes writes:
on January 2nd, 2014 at 3:39:07 PM

*bet
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 2nd, 2014 at 3:40:52 PM

that 'clean yourself up' bit made me chuckle my last piece of poop out
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 2nd, 2014 at 3:59:12 PM

He seemed like a nice guy and Uncle Phil really was a great TV dad. I miss shows like that where you learn something. RIP James Avery. You will be missed...most likely with millions of Fresh Prince of Bel-Air marathons all over the world. :)
SACdaddy writes:
on January 2nd, 2014 at 4:24:09 PM

Dude will be immortalized through syndication for decades to come along side Cliff "Combustable" Huxtable, Homer Simpson, and Al Bundy, the Kings of TV dads.
minkowski writes:
on January 2nd, 2014 at 10:20:00 PM

Before I read the news, I guessed it was his heart that killed him.

Big and heavy and eating all that American sh*t food will do that to a person, you know?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved