WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Italian Distributor Apologizes for Controversial "12 Years a Slave" Posters

Posted: December 27th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Italian Distributor Apologizes for Controversial "12 Years a Slave" PostersSubmit Comment
In hopes of attracting the biggest audience possible, Italian distributor BIM Distibuzione created posters for "12 Years a Slave," making it seem that Brad Pitt and Michael Fassbender were the stars of the movie, despite the fact that they had small roles. Meanwhile, the film's main star, Chiwetel Ejiofor, appears in the corner. See posters below.

Italian bloggers immediately took notice and accused the distributor of being racist for featuring supporting actors so prominently and ignoring the black star. Soon after, Lionsgate and Summit Entertainment released a statement, separating themselves from the controversy. "Summit Entertainment is investigating and taking immediate action to stop the distribution of any unauthorized posters and to have those posters currently in the marketplace recalled," said the statement.

BIM then released its own statement, agreeing to take down the posters. "We apologize for creating and releasing unauthorized posters for '12 Years A Slave' in Italy featuring Brad Pitt and Michael Fassbender in a manner inconsistent with approved advertising materials. All inappropriate materials have now been withdrawn. We are very proud of the film and regret any distraction this incident may have caused."

Posters: (click to enlarge)


Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 45 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 4:37:18 AM

i would like to thank The Coehn Brothers' commercials for barely acknowledging Justin Timberlake appearing in Inside Llewyn Davis
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 4:41:28 AM

I actually like the posters. The symbolism works. He is a small person, running from these big people who enslave him. Kind of lame but I'm saying controversial sometimes ends up being the most interesting. Although could someone tell me what Pitt's role was to see if I am right? Try not to spoil it. As simple as the plot is I want to see it for myself. LIke be general in describing Pitt's role. Was he a slave owner?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 5:01:35 AM

Or, one more thought, the idea of the slave owners being seen by society at the time as idealistic men and the slaves nothing more than little in the grand scheme of things. This second idea is dumb but it's late here so off to bed. Hopefully I can get a response tomorrow. Later everyone!
Cindy Brady writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 5:47:23 AM

Remember you read it here firth, not from thupid old Alecth. "Sony Announces New Brain Trust for Venom and Sinister Six Spin-Offs. Sony Pictures drops the bombshell that they're launching Venom and Sinister Six spin-off franchises." Juth call me Thcoop Brady.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 5:57:30 AM

People are way too picky about things.
boogiel writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 8:20:40 AM

Now those unauthorized posters are going to become rare collectors items.
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 8:48:51 AM

2 kind white giants take care of a tiny, ornery black man.
Stapes writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 9:07:36 AM

The Chinese Thor 2 poster was better.
lebowski writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 10:37:45 AM

people know pit people know fassbender,nobody knows ejiofor no matter how talented he is and thats why we have this stupid posters,they do it here all the time,stupid yes,racist no,merry christmas to you all
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 10:46:24 AM

who knew I-talians were so sensitive?

PORN-FLY writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 10:48:27 AM

Tanman32123 writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 1:48:04 PM

I wouldn't have watched the film even if they were the main stars lol
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 5:08:21 PM

Jokes on you, You made a spelling error!

Na Na Na Na boo boo!
bandolero999 writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 6:13:53 PM

Snooki is a spic adopted by eyetalians
bandolero999 writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 6:14:33 PM

Seriously that black dude is no Denzel
drewsmit24 writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 6:29:52 PM

Love the chicken sh*t troll racist on this site you gulp with fear around your black and hispanic friends
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 9:22:49 PM

Seems legit^
elrei writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 9:25:58 PM

WAY off topic

Have you guys seen this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=72RqpItxd8M

Bwahahahahahaha
minkowski writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 10:04:04 PM

..because companies don't have a right to market THEIR material any way they seem fit within the law.

White people are such pussies. 13% of the US American population but they make the white majority cower in fear every time there's a bullsh*t "controversy".

Go away already.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 10:07:48 PM

Lmfao Can't say that I have :P
minkowski writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 10:10:52 PM

minkowski writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 10:55:09 PM

Proof.









http://www.commercialappeal.com/news/2011/aug/01/united-in-prayer/
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 11:01:05 PM

ha
*Brown Berry*
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 11:02:23 PM

here ya go everybody but MINK

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GaWM6xmdYxM&feature=youtube_gdata_player
minkowski writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 11:04:41 PM

Doc*mentaries are never worth my time unless they illustrate the film-making process, even if I'm a fan of the film being doc*mented.
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 11:05:33 PM

the first five minutes offers more proof that Sony has its head up its ass
bandolero999 writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 11:05:44 PM

"Love the chicken sh*t troll racist on this site you gulp with fear around your black and hispanic friends"

Who are you referring too MASTER P??
bandolero999 writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 11:11:27 PM

cocaine cowboys is a great doc*mentary.better than watching scarface.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 11:18:24 PM

make them say ugh
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d5ZvzIOO6aU
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 11:20:07 PM

its all about the film making process of the last season
if you hang in there for more than 3seconds

i excluded you to avoid this
but deep down i knew it was unavoidable

did you get around to The Snowball Effect,MINK?

(if my spelling sucks,i've gotten a blind spot in my eye due to an oncoming migraine.i alreadt took Tylenol.if it doesnt kick in in 45min.Im gonna be hatin life)
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 11:21:16 PM

*...avoidable,lol*^
bandolero999 writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 11:21:32 PM

anyone in the mood to watch a funny mexican comedy and something different should check this one out.MATANDO CABOS
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nujJ3sXSU18
minkowski writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 11:29:25 PM

@porn: have it on my computer from The Bay, but no watchie yet. Saw Captain Phillips though. Basically United 93 all over again. No difference, no growth, just standard directing with Greengrass' standard shaky-cam patina. I swear that dude would film a shaky cam with a shaky cam.
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 11:40:56 PM

i'd rather watch a true depiction of Captain Phillips where he's a defiant stubborn tool that cost his company and our government tons and who uneccassarily put lives at risk

i know Silent Bob gets alot of crap around here
but from I've heard,his podcasts has tons of film making process info
minkowski writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 11:45:26 PM

Philips was also a big fat coward, and you can see some of that in the film when he blubbers after his rescue.
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 27th, 2013 at 11:56:55 PM

woohoo my blind spot went away with no migraine
boy did my punctuation suffer


idea for a book
Real Stories
true crazy funny stories told by normal everyday people

the idea is that when you die,your stories die with you
and the world should hear these stories/mini adventures

has potential for a series
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 28th, 2013 at 12:19:18 AM

you tell the story when youre writing
you tell the story when youre filming
and you tell the story when youre editing

it gets pretty deep,MINK
2hours and fifteen minutes about how 16episodes gets made which mostly takes place in post
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 28th, 2013 at 12:55:06 AM

Immmmm boorreedddddd
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 28th, 2013 at 12:59:13 AM

TAN
i posted the Breaking Bad making of doc.
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 28th, 2013 at 1:12:10 AM

i also posted the Michael Bay time travel movie Welcome To Yesterday trailer on the 23rd

but f*ck'em all big'n small
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 28th, 2013 at 1:37:09 AM

I've probably seen it lol Ever seen the "Alternate Ending" to Breaking Bad? It's so funny haha

Also: Ever seen the Legit alternate ending to Titanic ? It's actually pretty crazy. I didn't believe they made one but when I watched it I was like "Whhaaaaaa.."
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 28th, 2013 at 1:53:06 AM

Ive probably seen it...

well the link is right there,ya pain

saw the BB alt.(classic)
didnt know Cam took the time to have an alternate ending
Imma have to peep that
Patrick Bateman writes:
on December 28th, 2013 at 7:39:21 AM

Fassbender was damn good in this
Venom1970 writes:
on December 29th, 2013 at 7:33:35 PM

I could watch that fat f*ck from Jersey Shore get punched for hours :) golden

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved