WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First "Terminator Genisys" Photos, Plot Details Revealed
Oct 30th, 2014
Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot
Oct 30th, 2014
Michael Bay to Direct "13 Hours" Benghazi Film
Oct 30th, 2014
Final Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 30th, 2014
First Poster for Alex Garcia's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
Keanu Reeves' Next Film is "Replicas" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
"Avengers: Infinity War" Trailer Leaked Online
Oct 29th, 2014
First "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip is Here!
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Explains Why "Hulk" and "Black Widow" Films are NOT Happening
Oct 29th, 2014
First Look at "Black Panther" Costume
Oct 29th, 2014
"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Unveils Titles, Logos and Release Dates For All Phase 3 Films
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team
Oct 28th, 2014
David Goyer Writing Superman Prequel TV Series "Krypton"?
Oct 28th, 2014
First Look at Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Oct 28th, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Trailer Coming This Year?
Oct 28th, 2014
Ewan McGregor Says "Trainspotting" Sequel to Shoot in 2016
Oct 28th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in Marvel's "Doctor Strange"!
Oct 27th, 2014
"Furious 7" Unveils Second Poster
Oct 27th, 2014
Jesse Eisenberg May Return as Lex Luthor in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film
Oct 27th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Unveils Title and Poster, Trailer Coming Soon
Oct 27th, 2014
Photos: "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" to Show Funeral of Bruce Wayne's Parents?
Oct 27th, 2014
"Ouija" Easily Beat Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" at Box Office
Oct 27th, 2014
Russell Brand is Quitting Acting Because He's Scared of Money
Oct 27th, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says He Wanted to Play Wolverine and Batman
Oct 26th, 2014
Christopher Nolan No Longer Involved With Warner Bros' Superhero Films
Oct 26th, 2014
Trailer for Lee Daniels' "Empire" Hip-Hop TV Series, with Terrence Howard
Oct 26th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Coming in December
Oct 25th, 2014
New "Ant-Man" Set Photos are Possible Spoilers
Oct 25th, 2014
Disney's "John Carter" Actually Cost Over $300 Million to Make
Oct 25th, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joaquin Phoenix May Play Lex Luthor in "Batman vs Superman"

Posted: December 23rd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joaquin Phoenix May Play Lex Luthor in "Batman vs Superman"Submit Comment
Now that "Batman vs Superman" has both Batman (Ben Affleck) and Superman (Henry Cavill), Warner Bros has started its search for the villain.

According to Variety, the studio is in talks with Joaquin Phoenix to play the main villain in the movie. While it has yet to be revealed which villain will actually appear in "Batman vs Superman," Variety believes that Phoenix is up for the role of Lex Luthor.

Meanwhile, Warner Bros just hired Oscar-winning writer Chris Terrio (Argo) to re-write David Goyer's screenplay. Production is set to begin early next year. The film will then hit theaters on July 17th, 2015.

Source: THR, Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 68 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 4:45:02 AM

Seems interesting..
M. Bullitt writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 5:03:11 AM

But more seriously, who will play Miss Teschmacher?
Venom1970 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 5:05:05 AM

No you say!

codeman_1216 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 5:20:15 AM

I had no idea the script was being re-written, I liked Argo.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 5:30:01 AM

Really bad idea Phoenix should just stick to making movies with pt Anderson
Avirex writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 5:44:56 AM

The studio is just Joaquin guys.

SACdaddy writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 6:09:02 AM

Too hairy for Lex
SACdaddy writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 6:11:11 AM

Bald is way too far of a believable stretch for Phoenix.
markoz writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 6:33:04 AM

Isn't that like a week long news?
boogiel writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 6:56:15 AM

Crambo writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 7:26:56 AM

the breaking bad dude was a better choice.
Venom1970 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 8:23:48 AM

I personally think the best choice for Luthor is Mark Strong. Great actor could play it well and quite sinister.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 9:05:35 AM

yer i would be down for snagletooth mark strong
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 9:26:01 AM

Holy f*ck, I wake up to news on here!!! That's the sign, Ragnarok is gonna happen on Feb 22, 2014.
James Blond writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 9:28:38 AM

d'accord @ Venom

mark strong is a good idea
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 9:33:03 AM

BC
LOL
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 9:38:04 AM

Avirex Wins haha
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 9:46:58 AM

Afterward, the world will resurface anew and fertile, the surviving and returning gods will meet, and the world will be repopulated by two human survivors.

pornfly and..

BadChadB33 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 10:02:32 AM

Thanks Porn, off to j*zzhut I go.
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 10:21:50 AM

i'll be right behind you^

wait,WHAT?
Crambo writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 11:16:35 AM

^you stole Alex's line
nuttie30xx writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 12:12:17 PM

f*ck no he's a d*ck and i hope they change the title batman vs superman is a sh*t title may aswel call the thing justice league at this rate
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 12:53:40 PM

Thanks Porn.. Now I've gotta go Fap.. :(
WV-Films writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 1:58:16 PM

This aint happening. This is just WB's lame attempt to get you to go out and see "Her." Also this news is like a week old.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 3:52:51 PM

Porn- whoa there buddy!! Let me get some drinks in me first. Lol
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 4:26:14 PM

This "news" was reported a WEEK ago.

lol. Wow.
shiteater writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 4:36:11 PM

I'm surprised the headline isn't "Joaquin Phoenix WILL Play Lex Luthor in "Batman vs Superman"
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 4:50:55 PM

You know they're in trouble when they send in a "hot writer" to refresh the work of a veteran screenwriter.
freepass76 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 5:59:44 PM

Mark Strong!! no doubt is the best choice!
freepass76 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 6:04:00 PM

Mark Strong!
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 6:20:15 PM

I think they're going with Phoenix because he has that "I got punched in the mouth by Superman and it didn't heal" look.
greenfreak69 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 7:24:00 PM

Apparently, Freepass76 very much wants Mark Strong to know that the band members of No Doubt collectively would be the best choice to play Lex Luthor in "Batman vs. Superman"
James Blond writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 9:06:15 PM

Lex lutho grabbing butt:

http://theblemish.com/images/2008/09/kevin-space-ass-2.jpg
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 9:31:46 PM

@M. Bullitt
Jennifer Lawrence. LOL Actually not kidding. Miss Teschmacher was pretty much eye candy. You see her opening scene in Superman: The Movie? LOL I want the character to be just like that and unfortunately Lawrence is the only blonde bimbo with the right frame for the job. See guys I can like her if I want! LOL

@everyone
On a serious note this film needs some serious acting chops to improve over the mess that was Man of Steel. I have to hope, like Hunger Games, they can figure out to fix all the errors the second time around. Snyder I think needs more freedom because, as crazy as it sounds, it got atmosphere really good in Watchmen and even 300. I think he could add the right amount. I am settling now for this crappy Superman film and simply hoping for the best. Now I have shown I can be civil about two things I hate and despise! A two dimensional piece of eye candy with a brain the size of an almond (That second part was a joke to the eye candy reference) and a two dimensional franchise! Merry Christmas everyone! Is there anything else I have shattered in hatred? We all know it's justified but I am trying to focus less on hate and rather how to move on and focus on better sh*t. For example, I might just see American Hustle. Not for Lawrence who I am sure is just a big bitch in here as always. Also wouldn't be for Russell. It would be Christian Bale and his always hypnotic performances. If anything I can say to Russell that is good is this...thank you for finally helping this guy get an Oscar. Point is Russell's style is overrated as sh*t, but the cast for the most part is worth my time and I guess Lawrence is basically just a big slut in this film which I can deal with. Again, looking at the positives. LOL
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 9:36:41 PM

@Sleuth

I will probably catch Amer Hustle soon because I like 70s cinema and also 70s period films as well.

Also, I hope you did not bash Justified, that's a great series, the new season starts on 1/7.
codeman_1216 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 9:44:02 PM

I choose Michael Rosenbaum for the next villian, not particularly Lex Luthor. Smallville wasn't the greatest, but he was the best part of the series and I stopped watching a lot when he left. And he has a pretty strong connection to DC already since he's played Lex and voiced as The Flash for the Justice League animated series.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 9:46:01 PM

@Deaft0ne
What? When did I bash Justified? I love that show! Timothy Olymphant is spectacular in that series! When did I mention justified? And yeah again I'll see it for Bale, Adams, Renner, and Cooper who are solid actors but man I'm telling you, and I think and analyze films because I'm a BIG film guy, but LAwrence just isn't that good! Like the first time I saw SLP I enjoyed it just because I loved the comedy and I do have a soft spot for cheesy romance...but Oscar worthy on any level? No way! And I know if watched it again I'd have a disgusted look on my face the whole time at how ridiculously constructed the plot and love story is. LOL But American Hustle sure. Although apparently Lawrence steals the show...yeah like Bale ever has to worry about her screaming like a banshee and feel threatened. LOL I swear man, people don't watch movies for art now, it's for trends. We all need to like Lawrence so everyone just says it regardless if her characters are unmemorable. LIke really, sex-addicted dancer with a potty mouth. Slutty 70's housewife with a potty mouth. It's just so unnerving how general her performances are! So again, anyone who thinks LAwrence could steal anything from Bale's more focused, subtextual performance is messed up. SLP used to be the movie you make parodies of for being so bad. Now it's Oscar worthy! LOL
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 9:51:56 PM

Sleuth hasn't yet figured out Deaftone likes to f*ck with folks.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 9:59:24 PM

@mink
Wat are you talking about? He used to piss me off remember? He would always point out little details on my posts? What so the Justified thing was bullsh*t? Makes sense. Course I'm writing up stuff for Christmas so I couldn't guess if I was being played or not. LOL
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 10:07:36 PM

Yes, Sleuth, you're being manipulated.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 10:13:49 PM

@mink
LOL It's Christmas man. I'm only working 50% as hard to sense cynicism on here. I know...shouldn't be that hard to begin with but I'm really f*cking tired since, unlike the jackasses of Hollywood, I have to work for a living.
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 10:24:41 PM

I get you, just thought I'd clue you in if you weren't already.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 10:32:30 PM

@mink
Thanks for that. Kind of you. Although Deaft0ne has f*cked with me for a long time. I'm surprised how civil he's been even when he isn't messing with me. LOL What movies you seen lately mink? I need some holiday suggestions?
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 10:46:27 PM

I've been watching Hitchc*ck. Vertigo, Strangers on a Train, Dial M for Murder...going to watch The Arrival again. Thought about viewing The Heat, but many of the comments at IMDb indicate the film is nothing but fat jokes, which of course renders McCarthy's antics humorous through pity only. Caught some of Domino, and flipped through The Lone Ranger. Also been meaning to catch Paperhouse and Split Second with perhaps a rewatching of Dragon: The Bruce Lee Story.

You?
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 10:53:44 PM

Mink-

I love Hitchock! So far I've seen Pycho, Rear Window and North by Northwest. I have Birds, Strangers on a train, Lifeboat and a couple others on my list of movies to watch.

I got Vertigo on DVD a while back but haven't gotten around to watching it yet. Any of those good?
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 10:56:09 PM

Oh and Dial M For Murder looks good as well.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 10:56:28 PM

@mink
Let's see. Saw Hobbit 2 which was better in terms of visuals and better action but the energy was a hit and miss to me. Still Smaug was spectacular. Hunt for Red October, Let the Right One In (The original Swedish Version) which was so f*cked up but really well done horror movie, Tim Burton's Sleepy Hollow, Ridd*ck, Gravity and probably a couple more but those are the ones that come to mind. Only watched one film in the last few weeks. Going to check out Sergio Leone's Dollar Trilogy, Catch Me If You Can which as I state basically sounds like what American Hustle is trying to be with a sluttier supporting chick LOL, and a bunch of films from Al Pacino's early, solid gangster era like Serpico, Carlito's Way, and Donnie Brasco. In theaters I hope to see Saving Mr. Banks, American Hustle (For the reasons I gave being mostly Bale's sure to be great performance), and maybe some indies that sound good. I need to see Captain Phillips bad. Big fan of Hanks when he goes bold with his performances and August: Osage County.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 10:58:15 PM

@Tanman
Vertigo is spectacular! LOL I remember watching that the first time. James Stewart was amazing. Haven't seen North by Northwest yet. Is it good? I recommend Rope. Not considered Hitchc*ck's finest but the experiemental filming style in real time was very well done even by today's standards and the the psychology was pretty great too.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 10:59:14 PM

Oh and Birds was haunting! I remember some scenes in the film making me freak out for weeks. So well done.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 11:13:50 PM

Oh yeah, forgot about Rope lol That's on my list as well. North by Northwest is really good, Dras on at times but it's worth a watch
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 11:14:45 PM

@Tanman: Vertigo was panned by critics of that day because of its pace and useless padding. Today its better received with most critics and though I agree with the then-contemporary criticisms, it's still a very weird movie with a nice twist and a bizarre ending.

Still, the twist should have occurred closer to the film's finale, but it does give it more to do with the characters, which works in my opinion.

I also thought Stewart at fifty was too old to play Kim Novak's love interest at twenty-five, and Hitchc*ck said similarly.

Strangers on a Train is better. Tighter, tauter, more engaging and has a psychological complexity lacking in Vertigo.

I also enjoyed Dial M for Murder but thought the film didn't possess any plot contortions, didn't maintain a proper sense of time continuity and was befallen by a ludicrous solution that would have made Sherlock blush.

I wasn't a fan of the British setting either, which came off rather fake, even with some heavy-handed and exaggerated c*ckney accents and seemingly stock establishing shots.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 11:14:49 PM

Drags*
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 11:18:31 PM

Yeah, Rope is pretty decent. Seems like a one-shot one-take film but isn't. Well done given that it's essentially a handful of people in one setting for the entire film, which today would make it an ultra-low-budget school or indie film.
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 11:20:21 PM

@Sleuth: thanks for that list. Most I have seen, a few I have not. I'll catch the stragglers when I can to keep abreast of your film-going habits. Looking forward to Captain Phillips, although I think Hanks is pretty much out to pasture these days and looking to hit up the Oscar material because he's more focused on a "legacy" than having fun.
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 11:23:07 PM

lol Sleuth, I was just messing with you. Re-read your post above mine.

I just watched Scrooged.
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 11:23:38 PM

Still haven't seen Birds, but Rear Window is one of the most enjoyable and likable films I've ever seen, and if you've ever viewed it, you must go back and watch it again just to capture all the little neighbor performances.

There's a lot of miniature stories within the film, really, like the ballerina girl who cheats on her small, dopey boyfriend, who is away at war, with rich bachelors.

Hilarious stuff.
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 11:24:40 PM

"who cheats on her small, dopey boyfriend, who is away at war, with rich bachelors."

Man, the things I could do with edit option.
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 11:24:40 PM

I do actually watch/dl Justified though.
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 11:28:55 PM

*an.

le sigh.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 11:40:19 PM

i love rope by hitchc*ck
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 11:43:45 PM

Rear window is an easy 10/10 lol
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 11:48:09 PM

Yep. Hitchie at his peak, arguably.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 24th, 2013 at 12:06:45 AM

The Simpson Parody was retry good too :)
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 24th, 2013 at 12:07:00 AM

@Deaft0ne
LOL Saw. Excellent twist on wordplay. I suspected it was the way I worded something but I typed it in a hurry. Yeah Justified is a solid series and I enjoy the more loose stories and concepts. I even enjoyed Patton Oswalt's guest slot in the last season.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 24th, 2013 at 12:10:09 AM

@mink
Yeah the "one take" of Rope was deceptive enough where even though you get the cuts are there it still blends well together where it doesn't bug you. I think the main bad guy was great. His smile was evil as hell but so well done overall. I didn't know he was so old when he did Vertigo, but I still liked Stewart. He did a good job. The obsessive nature of his character is what drew me. The story is very simple but the performances were good none the less.
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 24th, 2013 at 1:40:36 AM

trailer for
michael bay's
Welcome To Yesterday

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KnGcWVoxftI&feature=youtube_gdata_player
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 24th, 2013 at 1:48:28 AM

last night i was also thinking about rewatching The Arrival,MINK

The Heat wasnt as bad (cliché) as i thought it was
theres hardly any fat jokes
that moron lied

but if anybody wants to shut their brain off for an hour and a half,watch Ron Burgundy

way better than i thought it was gonna be
drewsmit24 writes:
on December 24th, 2013 at 1:56:11 AM

I like it he's a good character actor no lex luthor has been ground breaking yet

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved