WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Hobbit 2" Defeats "Anchorman 2" at Box Office

Posted: December 22nd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Hobbit 2" Defeats "Anchorman 2" at Box OfficeSubmit Comment
"The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug" remained in first place this box office weekend for the second week in a row, forcing newcomer "Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues" to land in second place.

"The Desolation of Smaug," which has a 74% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, earned another $31.5 million, bringing its worldwide total to $403.8 million. It's currently pacing slightly behind "The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey."

"Anchorman 2" grossed $26.8 million, less than the $28.4 million that the first "Anchorman" earned back in 2004. Internationally, the second was released in five markets where it took $13.4 million. That's nearly three times more than the entire lifetime gross of the first movie.

"Anchorman 2" has a 75% fresh rating and cost $50 million to make. In the first five days, it earned $40 million, which means that it will easily become profitable.

Meanwhile, Christian Bale's "American Hustle" and Tom Hanks' "Saving Mr. Banks" expanded to wide releases. "American Hustle," which has a budget of $40 million, took fourth place with $19 million. "Saving Mr. Banks," which has a budget of $35 million, took fifth place with $9.3 million.

Click here to read our "The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
sc_kg writes:
on December 22nd, 2013 at 8:15:42 PM

Wooooow. A new update? So early? Awesome!
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 22nd, 2013 at 8:27:23 PM

should i see TDOS if i havent seen the first Hobbit?

serious and smart-ass answers are welcome
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 22nd, 2013 at 8:28:31 PM

Omg, I can't wait to talk for the next 24 hours on this thread about everything except what's said on this thread.
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 22nd, 2013 at 8:29:06 PM

i did see TLOTR Trilogy in theaters,if that helps your answer
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 22nd, 2013 at 8:31:05 PM

Porn- I guess you don't REALLY have to, Just know he picked up the ring from that precious dude and they're on their way to find that dragon and get some gold and sh*t!

Lmao That was the worst description of a previous movie ever. But seriously. You don't HAVE to but I'd Reccomend it
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 22nd, 2013 at 8:38:40 PM

TAN
i just found a lil nugget in a piece that dont use anymore
so your answer will more than suffice

at least till somebody else says something smarter

(smarter than the great TANMAN??)

nahh
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 22nd, 2013 at 8:52:37 PM

That's really sad more people went to see "American Hustle" than Saving Mr. Banks. Is the world that cynical and hyped up by the media? Oh whatever. Seeing Mr. Banks for Christmas.

@mink
I saw your post from earlier on the other article and I realize now what your name and writing reminds me of. It reminds me of stuff Charles Bukowski. Interesting writing style but always did some in your face critiques on the world around him. Anyway you reminded me of his style a little.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 22nd, 2013 at 9:38:07 PM

I guess the world didn't really need another anchorman movie
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 22nd, 2013 at 9:42:00 PM

Porn- Yea!

Wait a minute..
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 22nd, 2013 at 9:56:06 PM

SLEUTH
thats a good idea
i might see that tomorrow
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 22nd, 2013 at 10:03:11 PM

Fast and furious 7 release date pushed back to 2015. Who didn't see this coming?

http://comicbook.com/blog/2013/12/22/fast-furious-7-release-date-pushed-back-to-2015/
boogiel writes:
on December 22nd, 2013 at 11:09:30 PM

Yay, Eat up that box office, Smaug
velocityknown writes:
on December 22nd, 2013 at 11:51:26 PM

I might be reaching, but I honestly believe that Burgundy fatigue played a heavy part in this. I still want to see Anchorman 2, but a big part of why I didn't see it this weekend is because any excitement/motivation I felt towards seeing a sequel has been beaten out of me over the past few months with endless promotions, Dodge commercials, SportsCenter appearances and overall media blitz.

There was a smart way to promote that sequel and then there was the way they did it. I saw American Hustle this weekend. No regrets, one of the best films of the year featuring arguably the best performance of the year from Christian Bale.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 12:18:36 AM

Crambo-

Any other recommendations you guys wanna Reccomend? Lol Make the next one half decent :P

What're you doing for Christmas Cambo?
warriors187 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 12:21:23 AM

@Sleuth

Mink is now Charles Bukowski???
Are you joking?
I think Mink would agree with me...
Bukowski? not at all-
not even a little bit... Ha
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 12:22:25 AM

Crambo- Reading an earlier thread, You think Terminator 1 is better then Terminator 2?

Terminator 2 is (In my opinion) one of the greatest action films ever made. Few even stand close :P
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 1:20:24 AM

Bored.. So I'm watching War of The Worlds. It's been awhile lol
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 2:18:28 AM

Fair enough lol and Isn't that what everyones hoping for haha
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 3:41:28 AM

True enough lol.. So Alex can update WorstPreviews Facebook with movie news but can't put it here on the actual site..

I sure told him! Lmao And thanks Alex. I was really wondering when Ice Age 5 was coming to Theaters.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 4:15:13 AM

PORN-FLY- Definitely see the first Hobbit before the second one as the story follows straight on, it's like watching Empire Strikes back first otherwise.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 5:33:29 AM

While t2 is awesome would have to agree that number one is a superior film
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 9:31:36 AM

thx CINEMA
my parents made the cardinal sin of having Star Wars be my first movie (@2)
skipping Empire then taking me to see Jedi

no sense,right?
i'll just wait for the box set
i should have a good surround sound by then
nuttie30xx writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 12:17:41 PM

a little over a week and just over 400 million i'd love titanic knocked off 2nd spot i hate that film lol peter Jackson needs to do what Cameron done and put the extended versions in the cinema i'd go back to watch it again :)
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2013 at 4:31:55 PM

lol, who didn't see that one coming?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved