WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug" Dominates Box Office with $74 Million Opening

Posted: December 15th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug" Dominates Box Office with $74 Million OpeningSubmit Comment
Peter Jackson's "The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug" easily took first place at the domestic box office with an estimated $74 million, which is the fourth-biggest December opening ever, behind "The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" ($84.6 million), "I Am Legend" ($77.2 million) and "Avatar" ($77 million). It opened ahead of "Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King," which opened to $72.6 million in December 2003.

Internationally, "The Desolation of Smaug" opened to $131 million for a worldwide debut of $205 million. It's already on track to gross over $1 billion worldwide. "The Desolation of Smaug" has a 73% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

Taking third place was Tyler Perry's "A Madea Christmas," which grossed $16 million. The film has a 20% fresh rating.

On the limited release side, David O. Russell's "American Hustle," which stars Christian Bale, Amy Adams, Bradley Cooper, Jeremy Renner and Jennifer Lawrence, opened in six theaters, earning an impressive $690,000. That's a per-location average of $115,000. The film will expand to a wide release next weekend. "American Hustle" has a 94% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, Tom Hanks' "Saving Mr. Banks," about Walt Disney, opened in 16 locations and earned $421,000. It has a 81% fresh rating.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on December 15th, 2013 at 6:39:58 PM

Like there's anything else to watch.
minkowski writes:
on December 15th, 2013 at 6:42:57 PM

So what was second place? Madea? No, that was SECOND place you effin' retard.
minkowski writes:
on December 15th, 2013 at 6:46:15 PM

That didn't sound right. Madea was *second* place, not third.
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 15th, 2013 at 6:51:15 PM

I await Sleuth's great wall of text regarding American Bullsh*t. (Original title)
minkowski writes:
on December 15th, 2013 at 7:04:25 PM

Yeah I know, He hates JL.
minkowski writes:
on December 15th, 2013 at 7:09:20 PM

I see the Catturdburglar didn't like the new hobbit. Was there not enough hobbit-on-hobbit action for his catnip tastes.
minkowski writes:
on December 15th, 2013 at 7:11:11 PM

?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 15th, 2013 at 7:21:46 PM

@mink & Deaft0ne
It's all been said. Lawrence is a two-dimensional, overrated twat. Russell is, ironically, a con man of art. And this film got nominated for everything even though the film will most likely be a simple-themed calamity of a film. Just when Lawrence please just may she finally say, "Thanks Weinstein for kissing ass to give me another shiny toy." That is my only regret. I have decided to be better than those two poor excuse for artists and just deal with in silence the stupidity of this generation and it's increasingly low standards. Any questions? Are you both satisfied?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 15th, 2013 at 7:21:47 PM

@mink & Deaft0ne
It's all been said. Lawrence is a two-dimensional, overrated twat. Russell is, ironically, a con man of art. And this film got nominated for everything even though the film will most likely be a simple-themed calamity of a film. Just when Lawrence please just may she finally say, "Thanks Weinstein for kissing ass to give me another shiny toy." That is my only regret. I have decided to be better than those two poor excuse for artists and just deal with in silence the stupidity of this generation and it's increasingly low standards. Any questions? Are you both satisfied?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 15th, 2013 at 7:23:00 PM

Just when Lawrence wins*
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 15th, 2013 at 7:27:59 PM

@Deaft0ne
Although for you my friend I think we can both agree the original title would have been more appropriate to describe the grand "quality" of the film. LOL
minkowski writes:
on December 15th, 2013 at 7:42:42 PM

Two slutty, trash lesbians say they enjoyed kissing during American Hustle



http://movies.yahoo.com/blogs/movie-news/amy-adams-kisses-and-tells-with-jennifer-lawrence-204842975.html

"She does a great job at it! She has very soft lips," Adams said of Lawrence, 23. "She's a really awesome woman. Everyone's chemistry is so electric in this. The volatile energy between Jennifer and I, it almost borders on intimacy because it's so immediate and so there and then she kisses me."





These "people" are so full of sh*t it makes we want to go take a dump.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 15th, 2013 at 7:47:57 PM

Watched The Hobbit 2 early Friday.. Was alright, not as good as the first lol 3D Sucks balls, But then again I say that openly hating 3D..
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 15th, 2013 at 7:58:30 PM

@Sleuth

The reviews of AH have not been very stellar. They praise the period recreation and Bale's performance but ultimately say it has a flaccid narrative.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 15th, 2013 at 8:24:23 PM

@Deaft0ne
Well then what the f*ck is with all the awards?! Whatever. I just have to assume Lawrence and this kind of petty filmmaking is a trend that will break soon.

@mink
I actually have asked this before...does anyone who works with Lawrence actually like her? It's like the director Catching Fire he said she was a nice, candid girl which doesn't say much. And you notice how no one wants to work with her besides Weinstein and Russell of actually "note". I don't think anyone actually likes her which might explains why she lashes out as everyone. She's frustrated because of all the crap she gets. So Adams actually was right...she is a volatile.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 15th, 2013 at 8:27:01 PM

@mink & Deaft0ne
I know I am radicalist when it comes to this sh*t and for the end of the year I wish to offer you the gift humble acceptance. I am being critical but there was a time when that was considered having standards. I don't like judging people unless they give me a reason to judge. But I suppose then I might take it too far. For that I apologize. It's been an interesting year conversing with you too in particular along with BadChad, Tanman, and SACDaddy along with the others whose names escape me.
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 15th, 2013 at 9:09:33 PM

here ya go,WARRIOR187
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6IyVqsn9auM&feature=youtube_gdata_player
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 15th, 2013 at 10:00:28 PM

@Sleuth

I like you and care for you even though we have had differences in the past. Same goes for mink and stapes and pornfly and etc. If one day I never post again I want this on record.

On topic somewhat. I paid to watch Frozen today and it was a very cute movie. Highly recommended. I snuck into Catching Fire afterwards and it was surprisingly solid and better than the first film by a mile.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 15th, 2013 at 10:22:30 PM

@Deaft0ne
well appreciated. And I'm glad Catching Fire was better than the first. Because really the first one was a f*cking ripoff.
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 16th, 2013 at 1:35:18 AM

DEAF

Deaft0ne writes:
on December 16th, 2013 at 1:54:48 AM

Lol whats that from piffles
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 16th, 2013 at 2:23:18 AM

Spiderman 3

back when he was straight
(spiderman,that is)
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 16th, 2013 at 3:48:37 AM

@PORN-FLY
LOL Well said man. I tip my hat to you sir.
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 16th, 2013 at 4:43:12 AM

PORN-FLY writes:
on December 16th, 2013 at 4:51:35 AM

Tyler Perry copied Eddie Murphy
but turned out to be Adam Sandler

(and not 90s Sandler either)

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved