WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ed Helms is Detective Frank Drebin in "The Naked Gun" Reboot

Posted: December 14th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ed Helms is Detective Frank Drebin in "The Naked Gun" RebootSubmit Comment
Paramount Pictures is developing a reboot of "The Naked Gun" franchise with Ed Helms (The Hangover) on board to play Detective Frank Drebin, a character played by Leslie Nielsen in the original comedies.

Thomas Lennon and Ben Garant, who are best known for "Night at the Museum" and "Reno 911," have been hired to write the script with a new spin on the Drebin character.

Paramount released "The Naked Gun" in 1988 with Nielsen battling Ricardo Montalban's character plotting to assassinate Queen Elizabeth II at a baseball game in Los Angeles. Sequels "The Naked Gun 2 1/2: The Smell of Fear" and "Naked Gun 33 1/3: The Final Insult" followed in 1991 and 1994; the three films grossed a total of $275 million.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 14th, 2013 at 4:00:41 AM

Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 14th, 2013 at 4:19:29 AM

@PORN-FLY
Well said...or well perceived I guess. LOL This guy is at the top of the pathetic talentless pile of sh*t...right next to his close friends Zach GaligFATnis and Bradley Cooper. LOL
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 14th, 2013 at 4:26:51 AM

Nielsen's secret was always to play the character straight...no matter what.

What does Helm know about funny anyway. He'd just rehash his role in THE HANGOVER.

Meh....

They're just purchasing the brand, but they'll never match the humor, IMO.

What's next? Remaking BLAZING SADDLES?! GTFOH...
Avirex writes:
on December 14th, 2013 at 5:16:57 AM

Only if they bring back O.J. Simpson
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 14th, 2013 at 5:33:04 AM

Im down for a Nordberg movie!

with lots of double murder,white ex-wife and getting away with crime puns
Venom1970 writes:
on December 14th, 2013 at 6:34:27 AM

Oh f*ck off, the naked gun shot was f*cking terrible with Leslie Nielsen, why reboot this sh*t?? Slap stick is for the mindless c*nts who cant think about a plot.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 14th, 2013 at 6:48:02 AM

Nobody can replace Leslie Nielsen. Man was a genious
butterballx writes:
on December 14th, 2013 at 7:29:02 AM

Out of sheer principle I will pirate this and distribute it to every single random person I meet.

@Porn - the way the industry is heading I'm guessing we will be seeing jacky boy flipping the bird a few
More times on this site.
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 14th, 2013 at 8:23:10 AM

really,VENOM??
boogiel writes:
on December 14th, 2013 at 8:29:05 AM

f*ck remakes. Hollywood is officially in zombie state now.
flybynight writes:
on December 14th, 2013 at 8:40:34 AM

This is depressing.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 14th, 2013 at 9:37:17 AM

f*ck you Hollywood!!
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 14th, 2013 at 10:03:54 AM

Haha @ porn
30YoVirgin writes:
on December 14th, 2013 at 12:16:08 PM

What Sleuth1989 said

even Mel Gibson would be better. I mean, we look for old, grey haired guy with calm voice who can act serious in a comedy. Not loud, unfunny POS like Ed Helms who ruined The Office.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 14th, 2013 at 12:30:29 PM

Shirley you can't be serious...
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 14th, 2013 at 12:31:30 PM

Surely*

Damnnit I ruined the joke...
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 14th, 2013 at 4:36:11 PM

@Crambo

Charlie Sheen would be much better. He already did near-perfect deadpan humor in both of the Hot Shots! movies. His delivery can really work great in the right scene.

Ed Helms OTOH is primarily a comedic actor and while I liked him on The Office, he's an awful choice for Frank Drebin.
Attos writes:
on December 14th, 2013 at 4:42:13 PM

@porn
That second gif may be the greatest gif of all time. Bravo.

@Celluloid
If anyone touches Blazing Saddles, I'm officially done with movies forever.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2013 at 4:43:46 PM

Seth McFarlane is the new Mel Brooks. Nuff said.
greenfreak69 writes:
on December 14th, 2013 at 5:15:05 PM

Eh, I dunno... Mel's brand of humor was never as mean-spirited as Seth's

Take that with a grain of salt, though, because I've seen only Blazing Saddles, Young Frankenstein, and High Anxiety
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 14th, 2013 at 8:10:03 PM

Cool Crambo
alleyg21 writes:
on December 14th, 2013 at 8:46:03 PM

Can hollywood be any more original? Are they really that scared to innovate and bring something new to the table!
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 14th, 2013 at 11:50:52 PM

thx ATTOS
i was savin that one for a special occasion

but apparently physical comedy isnt funny

although,Only God Forgives is the funniest movie i have ever seen
MontoyaWA writes:
on December 15th, 2013 at 1:20:12 AM

"Paramount released "The Naked Gun" in 1988 with Nielsen battling Ricardo Montalban's character plotting to assassinate Queen Elizabeth II..."

Who would have though that Queen Elizabeth would out live Leslie Nielsen? Amazing.

I first read the title as, 'Ed Harris is Detective Frank Drebin...' Which I thought would be pretty sweet, given Harris' acting ability, and not being a comedic actor. I like Helms, but I don't like him for this role.

BJsforeveryone writes:
on December 16th, 2013 at 1:51:02 PM

Blasphemy !!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved