WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

New Photos From Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" Sci-Fi Thriller

Posted: December 9th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
New Photos From Tom CruiseSubmit Comment
Warner Bros is planning to unveil a new trailer for Tom Cruise's upcoming sci-fi thriller "Edge of Tomorrow" before the end of the year. But now, we have three new photos from the movie. Check them out below.

The movie is set in the near future, in which the world's armies are forced to unite to battle an alien race that landed on Earth, destroying cities and killing millions. Cruise plays Lt. Col. Bill Cage, an officer who has never seen a day of combat when he is demoted and then thrown into battle. Within minutes, he is killed. But he awakens back at the beginning of the same day and is forced to fight and die again -- and again, like a sci-fi version of "Groundhog Day."

The new movie is directed by Doug Liman (The Bourne Identity) and co-stars Emily Blunt and Bill Paxton. It's set to hit theaters on June 6th, 2014.

Photos: (click to enlarge)


Source: Scified


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on December 9th, 2013 at 8:22:41 AM

Tom cruise working hard
Cannon writes:
on December 9th, 2013 at 8:24:40 AM


I detect shaky-cam.

boogiel writes:
on December 9th, 2013 at 8:46:19 AM

Nice exo-suit, I give you that. However, since the movie is basically a Groundhog Day with aliens and fighting, that sounds more like a poop.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 9th, 2013 at 9:06:59 AM

Sounds more like Source Code only less boring. Its Cruise so I'll give it a go.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2013 at 11:03:31 AM

f*cking stupid. If you can pack that much cyborg sh*t onto a person, you can just make a killer robot instead.

That's where it's going anyway. DARPA is already building cyborgs that can walk, and not walk like AIBO either. Throw in a brain and a power pack and you've got a Terminator.

People are going to look back on this one fifty years hence and laugh at the silliness of sending humans into combat strapped down with a bunch of metal junk.
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 9th, 2013 at 11:46:17 AM

The most interesting part for me is Doug Liman. I'm pretty interested of his execution & interpretation of the book...

As for Cruise, that weird little guy always brings it. Of the movies I've seen of him, I cannot recall a role the guy has phoned in....not even when he was a huge star.

I expect good things from these two...
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 9th, 2013 at 11:47:08 AM

better than Shane Carruth's version
http://costumefail.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/oscar-the-grouch-costume-02.jpg

watchin Upstream Color was an uphill battle
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2013 at 11:55:20 AM

^lol


@CelluloidMan: I was expecting good things from the guy who made Tron Legacy and Cruise too, but they made Oblivion instead.
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 9th, 2013 at 2:26:54 PM

At Mink:

Point taken, but no, I noted OBLIVION was the possible result of TRON LEGACY's helmer...kinda like a Favreau. Great opener, but hasn't been able to surpass his game changer.

TRON LEGACY was good, but generally was more order of the day: style over substance.
How can you tell? Where's the f*cking sequel that left a good cliffhanger to pick up LEGACY?!...As you can tell, they got d*ck! The iron WAS hot, but now? Meh...

f*cking effects were pretty crazy, very innovative though...a true evolution from the original, IMO.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2013 at 2:38:24 PM

@Celluloid Man: yeah, agree. TL had spectacular effects and cinematography, and the music is instant classic, which is rare for most modern films. Even the casting was fine for me, even though the lead was out of his element and seemed to lack much range or depth. Should have given Bridges a more central role but they had to market it to a certain age group of course.

By biggest gripe (beyond the poor digitization of Bridge's face which is inexcusable for a behemoth company like Disney): Legacy is a vastly different film in look and feel in comparison to the first, and I thought they should have remade the original instead. It just didn't seem like Legacy was a true sequel even though Bridges, like his name, was there to span the space between both films.
TheSkippySpartan writes:
on December 9th, 2013 at 5:13:42 PM

Looks like Cruise is trying to impress his Scientology overlords
SACdaddy writes:
on December 9th, 2013 at 6:48:46 PM

Good looking...yes
Soundtrack...ok
Jeff Bridges....great as usual.

Everything else....mediocre bullsh*t.

Tron Legacy is as vapid as it is beautiful. Hedlund was TERRIBLE!!!! (as he is in absolutely every project he's in)

No offense Mink but I will never understand the credit you give that POS movie while you dog every other film on the market. TL is just a whole lot of NOTHING. Huge c*ck tease without the happy ending. I've always thought its PG rating was mostly to blame. It targeted the completely wrong audience with its watered down story and content. The generation that grew up appreciating the original was completely discounted in this new film's conception. They literally sucked all the life out of a good premise to make a few extra bucks at the BO on kids. Whether they did it because they already knew they weren't working with much of a script or they were just being f*cking greedy and didn't give a sh*t, I will never know. But I do know (and surprisingly I think Disney knows) that its not worth the time, effort, and especially the $$$ to continue with this sham anytime soon.

From the end results I'll almost guarantee that Oblivion was greatly crippled by the director's complete inability to handle anything outside of the look of the film. Just look at TL for proof.

The Rundown was 10x better than that wet blanket of a film IMO simply because its more entertaining. Its fun and action packed (while TL can easily double as generic Lunesta), and it has a charismatic cast of characters even if they are a little over the top at times. Sure its a little silly, but so was the "biodigital jazz" of Legacy. The action and chemistry between its players are just far better and well done than TR. I'd take a Rundown sequel over a Legacy sequel any day of the week.

Anyway so ends my rant of the day. Crucify me if you must, but it won't get you a TR sequel anytime sooner, so I can take it :)
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2013 at 7:44:27 PM

Nothing was going on within Oblivion either.

Alien invades Earth. Kills humanity. Post-apocalyptic survivor. Wise, old Morpheus-like Negro. Clones. Cheesy happy ending. Love interest. Love triangle. Clone fighting clone or man against his twin. Round drones.

And so on and so forth. Totally empty.

A big absolute wasteland, literally, metaphorically and visually.


As for the rundown...stupid film, from that freak-jawed Seann Scott guy to The Rock's lame attempt at taking on the action genre, to the lack of a meaningful villain, to the terrible setting, to the fact I've seen the film a few times and can remember NOTHING about it other than Arnie's cameo.

Movie SUCKS, and the fact it made only 80mil worldwide, even considering it was The Rock's first outing, only emphasizes no one wanted to see it.

Methinks you were just impressed with the cast and Walken as the villain, which seems to get people such as yourself interested in a film no matter how much it sucks.


As for Legacy...like I said, beautiful CGI, excellent music, Olivia Wilde who this one time doesn't play a worthless c*nt, some superb cinematography, great integration between the live-action and CGI, and a certain feel and vibe that resonates with folks like me who are all things technical, even if the premise is a bit too New Age-goofy- Silicon-Valley-Zen-Buddhist to take seriously.

As for the plot and story...the film is really about a boy trying to find his father, and he goes on a journey to do so, along the way finding himself and someone to love.

Sure, Bridges could have a more integral role, and his son could have taken up more of the battle against CLU, and Wilde could have had more purpose, but in the end it did what it was supposed to do, albeit minimally.

I could have used some more character and plot development, which would have gone a long way to make the film an instant modern classic, but we got what we got, and in the end I think the visuals and music alleviate the film's story and plot shortcomings.

I could also nitpick the technology to hell and back, but it IS a sequel to the 1982 film, which was all kinds of nonsense in a time when people thought computers were some kind of sorcery, so it had to hew close to the original film's metaphysical underpinnings.



Anyway The Rundown has a 6.6 on IMDb, Tron Legacy has a 6.8, and former has had more time to be appreciated and mature, so I expect the latter's score to rise with time, meaning statistically Tron Legacy is better received with the aggregate movie-going public The Rundown.

As Patricia Cornwell is wont to say: case closed.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2013 at 7:46:19 PM

*it.

Why I bother wasting my time on a website that doesn't let me edit my posts and thus doesn't consider my opinion worth much, I have no clue.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 10th, 2013 at 12:01:17 AM

"The Rock's lame attempt at taking on the action genre"

Didn't think there was anything lame about his performance in that film. In fact, I loved the way they showcased his unique attributes and style of action without needing to highlight his over the top wrestling persona. He was the straight man of the movie. He let his action do most of the talking which was awesome considering he's done the exact opposite in nearly every movie since then except for Fast Five.

Say what you want about Berg, I thought the way Berg filmed the Rock was very creative and effective. Rock wasn't going to just step into the action genre and succeed by being the biggest guy in the room. Arnold made a career off of that and was so good at it that he made it nearly impossible for anyone following him to live up to that legacy. But the Rock had something different to offer...agility. At 260lbs the Rock was every bit as big as Arnold but his long history in the WWE afforded him a different skill set than Arnold never had. Where Arnold was more of the huge unmovable object, the Rock was more of a human wrecking ball. Where Arnold threw punches, the Rock threw his entire body into the action, and Berg new exactly how too showcase that. From the opening scene of the film where the Rock takes on the entire football team in the nightclub (who were all bigger than him), to the bar fight with the dude with the whip, to the final showdown, he was launching himself into harms way in every scene. It was something that had really never been done before to that level in an American action film. The Rock was more of a bigger American version of Samo Hung than an Arnold clone.

Berg did a great job of placing the camera right over the Rock's shoulder where all the action was coming right at it and him just to show how agile and physical this monster of a man could be. He even slowed the scenes down at times so the audience could really appreciate how different this action was from all the shaky cam bullsh*t that we had grown used to. Makes me wonder if you had grown so accustomed to the sh*tty filming style of the modern action movie that you couldn't really appreciate something so blatantly different and more creative staring you in the face. Those were some of the best one man army action sequences filmed since the glory days of the 80s action genre IMO. The football ring brawl, the bar whip fight, the Amazon monkey fight, the brutal mountain fall, and the three man whip finale were all highly entertaining and unique in there own little way.

Methinks you let the mediocre story and Stifler's sh*tty acting get in the way of some great action filmwork, even though you didn't let a much sh*ttier plot and much worse acting get in the way of you liking Tron. Oh well, to each his own.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 10th, 2013 at 12:04:28 AM

"than Arnold EVER had"

--god I feel your pain Mink.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved