WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Disney's "Frozen" Finally Topples "The Hunger Games: Catching Fire" at Box Office

Posted: December 8th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
DisneySubmit Comment
Disney's animated "Frozen" film took first place at the domestic box office this weekend, grossing around $32 million, which was good enough to finally topple "The Hunger Games: Catching Fire" from its top spot.

Overseas, the 3D movie took in another $30.6 million for a new worldwide total of $190.2 million. "Frozen" cost $150 million to make, which means it's currently on track to become successful. It has an 84% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

"Out of the Furnace" thriller, starring Christian Bale, landed in third place with $5.3 million from 2,000 theaters. It cost only $22 million to make, but will struggle to make a profit. The movie has a 52% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, Coen brothers' "Inside Llewyn Davis" was released in four theaters, but grossed $401,000, which is $100,250 per screen. That's one of the best performances of the year. The new movie has a 94% fresh rating and is expected to get a wider release next weekend.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 8:32:00 PM

Inside Llewyn Davis looks like a good movie.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 8:40:42 PM

@Deaft0ne
Never gotten into Coen Brothers. I only saw True Grit which was a solid film but nothing has ever gotten me to say, "Hey I need to see this." Any film I should see besides Fargo?
Stapes writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 9:11:43 PM

Oh brother where art thou
The big libowski
No country for old men
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 9:28:43 PM

@Sleuth

I don't like every Coen Bros. film but Fargo and The Big Lebowski and Miller's Crossing are major standouts to me.

Blood Simple is great because it actually makes sense as a real-time film without an ounce of gimmickry like Nick of Time or Phone Booth.

Raising Arizona is notable just for its 90 minutes of pure hilarity.

Inside Llewyn Davis is the Coen's 2nd musical film after O Brother, Where Art Thou?

I am particularly drawn to this because I absolutely love all forms of rock and folk music from all eras. I have about 2500 physical CDs and those are on 2 ipod classics and 3 more have downloaded albums.

So I am a tad biased lol.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 9:38:00 PM

@Deaft0ne
LOL I am more biased than you if that helps. But the ones you mention seem to be universally considered great so I'll check them out. But that sounds great for "Inside Llewyn Davis" since I love the older rock 'n' roll. I miss that kind of music.
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 9:59:36 PM

@Sleuth

I really like the plot description of the film. Llewyn is basically Robert Zimmerman AKA Bob Dylan. They are telling his story more or less and Dylan has seen it said it was "A joy to watch."
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 10:00:05 PM

and*
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 10:03:32 PM

@Deaft0ne
That is interesting. There was that other film they did about Bob Dylan with Cate Blanchett and Heath Ledger and a bunch of people that I also heard was good. I should research more Bob Dylan. LOL
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 10:38:38 PM

@Sleuth

Yeah "I'm Not There" is a very unique movie. I watched it on DVD with a sixer of Lowenbrau and a 5th of Jack Daniels. Very memorable afternoon and it is a great film.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 10:49:37 PM

Yer I love all of the cohen's movies except for the ladykillers intolerable cruelty( accurate title) and burn after reading pretty average but still not a bad strike rate
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 11:39:40 PM

@Deaft0ne
LOL Sounds like a blast. You helped give me a good list of films to check out. Thanks man.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 11:40:59 PM

@Deaft0ne
One movie I did see also was "The Hudsucker Proxy". I loved that film for being an off-the-wall comedy with a clever production design and awesome performances by the entire cast.
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 11:48:15 PM

@Sleuth

Yeah Hudsucker was great. I loved the initial tracking shot in the car factory right before you see Tim Robbins.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 9th, 2013 at 12:01:40 AM

@Deaft0ne
That was Tim Robbins at the top of his game in my opinion. Just such a witty role from start to finish and the breaking of the fourth wall near the end where the guy stops the clock was just brilliant.
boogiel writes:
on December 9th, 2013 at 6:18:37 AM

I thought Frozen was a doc*mentary about the Obamacare website
Venom1970 writes:
on December 9th, 2013 at 6:29:41 AM

Ahh animation always shoots the sluts down
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 9th, 2013 at 6:38:15 AM

I'm surprised Frozen has such a high rating on RT, it looked like standard, cliched Disney garbage to me from the advert. Finally got round to watching No Country For Old Men and really enjoyed it, Coen brothers do know their stuff and have definitely got their own unique style with each of their films that is defined by the clever dialogue.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2013 at 11:06:48 AM

And to think Alex could have written a cute title based on the diametric dichotomy of fire and ice, but didn't. Ha.

What would Robert...Frost think?




Some say the world will end in fire,
Some say in ice.
From what Iíve tasted of desire
I hold with those who favor fire.
But if it had to perish twice,
I think I know enough of hate
To say that for destruction ice
Is also great
And would suffice.


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved