WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Beverly Hills Cop 4" and "Top Gun 2" are Moving Forward

Posted: December 8th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Beverly Hills Cop 4" and "Top Gun 2" are Moving ForwardSubmit Comment
After Disney and Jerry Bruckheimer (Pirates of the Caribbean) parted ways, the producer started seeking a new partner. And now comes word that Paramount Pictures is finalizing a three-year first-look deal with Bruckheimer that will begin in April 2014.

The first project under the new deal will be the fourth "Beverly Hills Cop" movie that will bring Eddie Murphy back police officer Axel Foley who will return to his Detroit roots. Brett Ratner is attached to direct.

Bruckheimer is also developing "Top Gun 2." And while original director, Tony Scott, has passed away, Tom Cruise has already signed on reprise his role.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 6:16:45 PM

Anything Bret Ratner is already tainted with the taint of that man's taint. No f*cking thanks.
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 6:22:59 PM

Someone needs to have a real convo with Jerry about what "return on investment" really means, because if Top Gun 2 continues what The Lone Ranger did, the former will cost 300 million dollars (because Jerry wanted to build the planes and aircraft carriers from scratch instead of using extant hardware and stock shots) and make three dollars.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 6:46:23 PM

@mink
Bruckheimer usually has good instincts but I notice that anything he does with Disney tends to fail. His audience is testosterone-fueled junkies in the their late-20's-early 40's. And Disney basically holds teens and young kids who have nothing ebtter to do so they go see movies.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 6:47:55 PM

POTC being the exception that proves the rule.
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 7:14:59 PM

@Sleuth: Dunno. Fail? Some of the Disney movies, yes, do fail, but his Touchstone ventures, while more thinly budgeted, are hardly huge wins. Deja Vu, Confessions of a Shopaholic, Kangaroo Jack...the guy hasn't had a nice confluence of BO success and good film since his days with Columbia, if you exclude the first POTC.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 7:18:31 PM

@mink
If the movies don't have huge budgets and double their money then that is considered success I suppose. I'm not sure what is considered a good success anymore because movies will barely succeed and yet sequels will be commissioned.
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 7:20:02 PM

BHC 3 was trash so this must have a hell of a script to be any good. Rat has covered this ground 3 times with Rush Hour but Murphy cannot be a p*ssy.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 7:22:30 PM

@Deaft0ne
I would love to see Murphy back in his prime. I have a lot of respect for the guy because he toned down his adult roles for his kids but now that they are all grown up it be a huge 180 to go back to the smartass, foulmouth character he was. I'd love it though!
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 7:29:46 PM

@Sleuth

That is exactly how I feel. Murphy has to once again be the hilarious *sshole cop he was in the first 2 films which to this day never get old.

BHC 4 must be a hard R and be balls out to add to the legacy.
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 7:36:36 PM

Murphy seems to be out of material, so they need to keep him away from the script and hire some new, fresh comedian to do the writing.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 7:37:55 PM

@Deaft0ne
Well for some reason I agree with Ratner being director just because Chris Tucker was like a parody of Eddie Murphy's character. If Ratner has any respect for Murphy, which he seems to as they almost hosted the Oscar's together, he will goes hard R for the rating of the film. And I feel Murphy will as well as I believe he has been outspoken about how bad the third one was.
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 7:38:01 PM

So basically this will be Rush Hour 4, with Murphy in Rock's role. Wonder what chink sidekick they'll get to play Chan's role.
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 7:38:38 PM

^^Wrote that before Sleuth posted. Hate when that happens.
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 7:43:04 PM

The major issue becomes the script then. Foley's profan sarcasm drives the first 2 movies to near comedic perfection. Capturing that over 20 years later will be a major challenge.
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 7:43:29 PM

Profane*
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 7:50:44 PM

Tell Ratner to get his ass on Lethal Weapon 5 already! Lol
The 3rd Beverly Hills Cop sucked, But id still watch a fourth
And to be honest I never watched Top Gun.

(Sue me lol)
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 7:54:28 PM

@mink
Decent internet I beat you by 6 seconds. Sorry man.

@Deaft0ne
I would say let Murphy have a shot at the script for his character. He feel that part of the reason his humor is not as great because he has to hold back his more mature humor. If they get the go ahead for an R rating then that obstacle becomes nonexistent.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 7:54:55 PM

I feel that*
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 7:55:33 PM

^You never watched The Terminator, Total Recall, Commando, or The Running Man either!
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 8th, 2013 at 7:56:41 PM

@Tanman

And I feel you Sleuthy.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 9th, 2013 at 1:42:33 AM

NUH UH! I watched the Terminator lol
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 9th, 2013 at 2:33:03 AM

John Landis directed the third BTW. I still think he's a piece of sh*t, but HEY! he'll bring the funny, right?! Nope...

As reported by Wikipedia...

"In a 2005 interview, John Landis claimed that Eddie Murphy worked against the comedy of Beverly Hills Cop III. Landis said that the film 'was a very strange experience. The script was not any good, but I figured, 'So what? I will make it funny with Eddie.' I mean, one of the worst scripts I ever read was [the original] Beverly Hills Cop. It was a piece of sh*t, that script. But the movie is very funny because Eddie Murphy and Martin Brest made it funny. And with Bronson Pinchot, that was all improvised. Everything funny in that movie is not in the screenplay, so I thought, 'Well, we will do that.' But then I discovered on the first day when I started giving Eddie some shtick, he said, 'You know, John, Axel Foley is an adult now. He is not a wiseass anymore.' I believe he was very jealous of Denzel Washington and Wesley Snipes doing these [straight roles]. So, with Beverly Hills Cop III, I had this strange experience where he was very professional, but he just was not funny. I would try to put him in funny situations, and he would find a way to step around them. It is an odd movie. There are things in it I like, but it is an odd movie."

Bronson Pichot (Serge) reported:

"In an interview with The A.V. Club in 2009, Bronson Pinchot claimed that Eddie Murphy 'was really depressed' at the time Beverly Hills Cop III was being filmed: 'Eddie was going through his period at the time of doing movies that were not hits, and he was very low-spirited, low-energy. I said to him, 'All anyone ever wants to know when they meet me is what you're like.' And he said, 'I bet they don't ask that anymore.' And then when we did a scene, we were shooting, and he was so low-energy that John Landis sent him upstairs and said, 'Just rest, Eddie, and I'll do the scene with Bronson.' So whenever you see my face in the movie, I'm not really talking to Eddie, I'm talking to John Landis. And I can understand it, he was just having a bad stretch. I don't know what started the funk, but it lasted a chunk of time, and that was in the belly of the funk, and he was just really sad and low-energy and I basically did the scene without him there."

Needless to say, Murphy, by these reports, seemed he sabotaged himself...
Lloyd Christmas writes:
on December 9th, 2013 at 3:16:28 AM

f*ck. Brett. Ratner. Bring Martin Brest out of retirement.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 9th, 2013 at 3:54:06 AM

@Lloyd Christmas
I don't think he could live Gigli down and went into exile the poor guy. LOL
Cameron Wells writes:
on December 9th, 2013 at 4:05:49 PM

Dump Cruise, get John Goodman and call it Top Gut

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved