WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ten Films Competing for Visual Effects Oscar, "Man of Steel" Snubbed

Posted: December 6th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ten Films Competing for Visual Effects Oscar, "Man of Steel" SnubbedSubmit Comment
The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced that only ten films remain still in competition for the Oscar in the visual effects category. Surprisingly, "Man of Steel" didn't make the list.

The Academy's visual effects committee determined the shortlist. All members of the committee will now be invited to view 10-minute excerpts from each of the remaining films on Thursday, January 9th, 2014. Following the screenings, the members will vote to nominate five films for final Oscar consideration.

Oscars nominations will be announced live on Thursday, January 16th, 2014, at 8:30am EST in the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

Below are the ten films (in alphabetical order) still in the running for the visual effects Oscar.

* Elysium

* Gravity

* The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

* Iron Man 3

* The Lone Ranger

* Oblivion

* Star Trek Into Darkness

* Thor: The Dark World

* Warner Bros. Pictures and Legendary Pictures Pacific Rim

* World War Z


Source: AMPAS


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on December 6th, 2013 at 7:18:54 AM

Lone ranger?? Well, Why I am not surprised?? Oh well, I guess this proves that even The Academy Awards knows Lone Ranger is better than Man of Steel. Btw my money is on "Gravity".
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 6th, 2013 at 7:21:36 AM

Why is Pacific Rim now Warner Bros. Pictures and Legendary Pictures Pacific Rim?

Also if The Hobbit is on there I assume they've done something about that terrible looking dragon in the trailer that looks like something from a Japanese 90s kung fu movie. Gravity was visually amazing, but will they chose a film with bigger set pieces and more variation of effects?
M. Bullitt writes:
on December 6th, 2013 at 7:44:20 AM

"Man of Steel" Snubbed.

Too much lens flares perhaps?

Yeah, Gravity is the clear winner.
YoungChris writes:
on December 6th, 2013 at 8:27:18 AM

WWZ ?? Get the f*ck out of here .. It was a good movie but MOS has better visual effect ...
BJsforeveryone writes:
on December 6th, 2013 at 9:56:03 AM

Iron Man & Thor, but no Supes...
Pathetic !!!
SACdaddy writes:
on December 6th, 2013 at 10:20:38 AM

Say what you want about the film, but leaving MOS off this list is just idiotic. Thor was a f*cking joke, and so was Iron Man 3. Neither one of those films was better than MOS visually or in any other aspect.

My vote would go to Pacific Rim or Elysium (probably the most underrated visual film of the year). Loved Gravity (its the best film in the category) but its effects are almost too seamless and well done to fully appreciate. It will probably win though.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 6th, 2013 at 10:36:16 AM

May have not been the best film but MOS deserved to be on there.
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2013 at 10:45:07 AM

Radical, dude!
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2013 at 10:56:03 AM

Gravity has this one all the effin' way.
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2013 at 10:56:31 AM

Elysium for a strong second place.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on December 6th, 2013 at 1:16:41 PM

MOS deserves a sh*t turd... Gravity and Elysium gets my vote... WWZ had horrible effects...
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 6th, 2013 at 4:15:54 PM

Gravity will probably win just because of how much praise it is getting for combining that with it's emotional anchors. Although Pacific Rim could take it too out of the amount of detail and excellent scope that they utilized. Iron Man 3 had some good effects too although I don't find they were as hard to do. Really will depend on who is voting and their perspective. Will they tie the visual effects to the story or just judge it on it's own?
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 6th, 2013 at 5:25:24 PM

Gravity will most likely win but Elysium felt more ambitious to me as far as VFX go.
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2013 at 5:53:54 PM

@Sleuth: my understanding is that they view special effects through a technical lens only, not in relation to the story, although an emotional bias may play an unintentional role.
KillerCOck writes:
on December 6th, 2013 at 7:01:26 PM

Oblivion! I never saw Gravity doh.
Quidd writes:
on December 6th, 2013 at 7:47:10 PM

These awards go to the film that blended its visual effects with the movie the best. Not the best special effects that year. Which is why I still will never understand why The Curious Case of BB won a few years back. Gravity will win though I feel either Elysium or Star Trek should.
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2013 at 8:05:11 PM

"These awards go to the film that blended its visual effects with the movie the best. Not the best special effects that year"



lol! They're the same damned thing, man, and if you knew anything at all about CGI or SPX in general you wouldn't make such ignorant statements.
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2013 at 8:07:12 PM

*SPFX

In other news, CGI in live-action movies does not need to look photo-realistic or match the film to look good....
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2013 at 8:08:50 PM

"The Academy’s Scientific and Technical Awards honor the men, women and companies whose discoveries and innovations have contributed in significant, outstanding and lasting ways to motion pictures. Each year’s honorees are celebrated at a formal dinner held two weeks prior to the Oscar ceremony. The Sci-Tech Awards presentation has become a highlight of the Academy Awards season."

http://www.oscars.org/awards/scitech/


@Quidd: please don't speak about things you clearly do not understand.
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2013 at 8:09:39 PM

http://www.forbes.com/sites/alexknapp/2012/02/27/the-oscars-scientific-and-technical-awards-deserve-their-own-show/
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2013 at 8:10:14 PM

And yeah, I'm copying and pasting because I'm not about to reinvent the wheel every time I correct someone.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 6th, 2013 at 8:29:18 PM

@mink
In the end it really is a bias vote all together. Films will win based on who "convinces" the voters the most. For the most part the wins are fair to me but my God I'm already hearing about "American Hustle" or rather "Catch Me If You Can 2" getting award wins. So I'm worried that this year the effects will go to some sh*t film. Although, I will admit, Lone Ranger pretty much takes it with that train sequence at the end. It might stand a chance based on that alone. But Gravity should win because, and this is just me, the effects blended the best. Like I feel great effects are the ones you don't even notice in the background that complete a scene but don't stick out like a sore thumb you know?
supaflywill writes:
on December 7th, 2013 at 3:55:04 AM

SANDRA BOLLOCK AGAIN FOR GRAVITY ....NEXT !
BlackDynamite writes:
on December 7th, 2013 at 8:39:28 AM

A bit surprised Thor the Dark World and Iron Man 3 made it over Man of Steel, but we all know the frontrunners are Oblivion, Elysium and Gravity, with Gravity most likely to win.
Quidd writes:
on December 7th, 2013 at 9:23:14 PM

Ok mink. If you don't wanna talk about things we don't understand then please don't talk at all. You act like you're some kind of intellectual that knows it all. Do the ladies fall for that sh*t, or are you just on Wikipedia all day and go on movie sites trying to impress people with your outstanding "knowledge". And what I meant by what I said was say a movie like transformers actually has really good special effects, but did they ever win? Then movies like Hugo, which aren't based on effects, win cause it's more of a matter of the quality movie they were in rather than how amazing and all dune the special effects were. Ps d*ck off d*ck. Sup acting like you are so f*cking smart and better then everyone.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved