WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Frozen" Sets Thanksgiving Box Office Record, "Oldboy" Bombs

Posted: December 2nd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Frozen" Sets Thanksgiving Box Office Record, "Oldboy" BombsSubmit Comment
Over the Thanksgiving weekend, "The Hunger Games: Catching Fire" remained in the first place at the domestic box office with a whopping $75 million. The movie grossed another $35 million on Wednesday and Thursday, bringing its worldwide total to $573 million.

Disney's animated "Frozen" film scored the top Thanksgiving debut of all time with a five-day gross of $93 million, beating the $80.1 million opening of "Toy Story 2" in 1999. It also scored the top opening for a Disney Animation Studios title, beating the $68.7 million grossed by "Tangled" in 2010.

For the three-day weekend, "Frozen" earned $74.5 million. Overseas, it took in another $16.7 million for a worldwide debut of $109.7 million. The new movie cost $150 million to make and has an 84% fresh rating.

The other wide release of the weekend was the "Homefront" action thriller, starring Jason Statham and James Franco. The movie took sixth place with a five-day total of $9.8 million and a three-day gross of $7 million. The movie cost $22 million to make and has a 34% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, *sshole Spike Lee's "Oldboy" bombed. It was released in 583 theaters, earning only $1.2 million in five days. It has a 42% fresh rating.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 2nd, 2013 at 2:11:46 AM

@Crambo

Unless you live under a rock, they are making 2 films from the 3rd Hunger Games book, Mockingjay.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 2nd, 2013 at 2:15:12 AM

@Deaft0ne
That is the stupidest thing I've ever heard done. I mean Harry Potter sure...the final book was huge and needed to be done in detail to satisfy fans. Twilight even. But Mockingjay is barely 400 pages! They'll have to add a lot of sh*t because the story is very barren in the last one.

@Crambo
Hunger Games will end and then they'll just do another YA book that completely strips us of intelligence, personality, and a desire for anything more than arrogance and simple themes that a 10 year old could write about.
KillerCOck writes:
on December 2nd, 2013 at 2:26:40 AM

Oldboy was fun. very good.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 2nd, 2013 at 2:35:56 AM

@Crambo
Yeah but really what can they do?! Do a revolution against the revolution?! Not to mention these films have critics swooning over it, mostly because they are all bought and paid for as it has been discussed on here that critics really just become critics to get free stuff. Really...that's the only reason I think anyone is a critic anymore. LOL Point is that everyone is that the films can only go so far before it loses that backing because this storyline is very limited and people will realize this and...there really is no where to take this after where people with even a shred of common sense will look at it and go "Really?". Course, as we also stated, Lawrence won't have a career afterwards and she has even pushed for more HG films knowing this. So yeah you might be right since she is a whore. LOL Just giving the hard truth.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 2nd, 2013 at 2:41:54 AM

@Killerc*ck
Would you say I should see the original before I see Lee's version?
Venom1970 writes:
on December 2nd, 2013 at 2:59:34 AM

I take is Alex has no love for Spike Lee, n*gger Hating?
Venom1970 writes:
on December 2nd, 2013 at 3:09:36 AM

Venom1970 writes:
on December 2nd, 2013 at 3:10:12 AM

came out all f*cked!

http://blog.beliefnet.com/moviemom/files/2013/10/photo-3.jpg
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 2nd, 2013 at 3:43:54 AM

Absolutely sleuth, and I would not even bother with Lee's version. The original is 2 hours and has a very fleshed-out and well-written screenplay. Lee's remake is only 100 mins and only hits the most well-known scenes from the original and eliminates most of the compelling dialogue from the original.

The original is on Netflix to watch.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on December 2nd, 2013 at 4:39:52 AM

@Sleuth
Think the original movie is quite special but watching the remake trailer makes me think they are not that different, so itīs really up to You if You want the characters to speak english or Korean.
Actually liked the Korean movie :īA bittersweet Life` better !!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 2nd, 2013 at 4:46:14 AM

@Deaft0ne
Nice. I'll definitely check out the original first then. Netflix is horrible on the list of good English-language films but it seems to have all the foreign film delights. I'll check it out. Thanks man.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on December 2nd, 2013 at 4:50:08 AM

...and off topic...Really hate Hungergames, Jennifer Lawrence(she is as bad an actor as Kristen Stewart)and all these ridiculous,boring book adaptions : Twilight,Enders Game,Potter , Percy Jackson,I am Number Four and so on ...
But since peaople loves these teen piles of sh*t, the will probably continue to make them :( -Really donīt get the fuzz around Lawrence.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on December 2nd, 2013 at 4:53:22 AM

@Deaftone...well, if You put it like that !!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 2nd, 2013 at 4:55:15 AM

@Bjsforeveryone
Asking why Lawrence is so great, with her monotone voice and lack of character on-screen to her idiocy off-screen, is like asking why we voted for Obama or why we let 5 year olds have iPads. Because we like doing stupid sh*t that is bad and makes no sense. LOL
BJsforeveryone writes:
on December 2nd, 2013 at 5:46:17 AM

Good point !!!
kickit writes:
on December 2nd, 2013 at 7:22:51 AM

I'm going to have to politely disagree with you guys about jennifer Lawrence/hunger games. The first one was ok, interesting enough to make it worth seeing, but I really enjoyed the 2nd one which I thought did a really good job with developing the characters and making you emotionally invested in them. I also thought lawrence did a great job, displayed a great emotional range and did a great job selling you on the internal conflict that her character was going through. I will say I thought she was a dud in first class, she came off very mechanical like she was mailing it in.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 2nd, 2013 at 12:30:05 PM

@kickit
I'm sure she overacted the hell out of every scene. LOL Look man don't get me wrong I thought she was pretty good at first too but as she goes on it becomes apparent that she can only do one character. In fact, watch all of her movies and you will see that. She is REALLY good at playing an arrogant woman who talks a lot of sh*t to people but let me assure you that is easy to do. She's never had to surrender to people on film or play a character that is weak on the inside. It's easy to say the lines, but there is a certain essence I've noticed she doesn't have internally as an actress. An emotional investment. It's somewhat cheesy and makes no sense to you I'm sure but to me it's like watching an empty doll go through the motions.
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 2nd, 2013 at 3:14:40 PM

Actually saw FROZEN...84%?! Really?!

I gotta say the animation was beautiful, the 3D was cool, and the snowman comic relief got some unexpected chuckles outta me, but the plot needed a brushup.

Although it does not follow the traditional romantic route, the plot looked like they struggled to make it fresh & some of it looked disjointed.

Despite, I liked it for the kiddies or family, but 84%?! Meeeh, not really.

I'd say a 65% to 70%...no more than 75%. A 3 out of 5 stars, if you will.
minkowski writes:
on December 2nd, 2013 at 3:46:18 PM

Who the f*ck cares?
KillerCOck writes:
on December 2nd, 2013 at 6:38:44 PM

The Korean version is definitely more fleshed and has more of a dramatic and Comic book feel to it. Its filmed to be depressing.

This one played out like a dark comedy which I had alot of fun watching.

I liked both and unlike most. I'm actually a fan of Spike Lee, So I'd say it depends on your preference.
KillerCOck writes:
on December 2nd, 2013 at 6:39:57 PM

@ Sleuth

You and I rarely see eye to eye on a film so just keep that in mind as well

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved