WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Spike Lee Slams Artist Who Claims "Oldboy" Stole His Poster Designs

Posted: November 30th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Spike Lee Slams Artist Who Claims "Oldboy" Stole His Poster DesignsSubmit Comment
A few days ago, artist Juan Luis Garcia wrote a letter to *sshole director Spike Lee in hopes of getting assistance with a legal battle between him and the studio behind the upcoming "Oldboy" remake.

According to Garcia, he was hired to create several posters for the movie. But when he rejected their low offer, the studio apparently proceeded with using his poster designs for the promotion of the film. When Garcia complained, he was immediately hit with legal threats.

Lee has now responded to the letter on his Twitter account, stating: "I Never Heard Of This Guy Juan Luis Garcia. If He Has A Beef It's Not With Me. I Did Not Hire Him, Do Not Know Him. Cheap Trick Writing To Me."

When a Twitter user urged Lee to help the artist, Lee responded: "Why Should I Pay Someone Who I Never Met Nor Had Any Contact With Ever? He Never Made Any Deal With Me. Why Don't You Pay Me For Your Stupid Text On Thanksgiving Day?"

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 45 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
WV-Films writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 11:50:25 AM

f*ck you.
hellsing writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 12:29:47 PM

this right here is why people hate spike lee
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 12:30:14 PM

I guess Juan wasnt dark enough to receive any help from the black Steven CongealedTurd(spielberg)

Lee acts like one of those old black people who had to use colored drinking fountains and who had riot hoses turned on him

lighten up, jerk

stop worshipping Lee and Kanye
theyre not doing any good for anyone

Somebody give Sydney Poitier a RedBull and a belt so he can sort these two embarrassements out

isnt Spike being sued because he posted some poor old couple's address on Twitter claiming it was George Zimmermans?
DeathMaster writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 1:03:45 PM

And suddenly I decided to not watch this film at the movie theater. Because why don't you pay me to watch it?
drewsmit24 writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 1:18:11 PM

i like Spike Lee f*ck the media! getting in minor spats with people cant make me hate someone. use your brain
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 1:50:56 PM

Ah, the irony of Spook Lee complaining that he's the victim of "stupid texts". He's the same guy who retweeted someone's address in the hopes of seeing a lynching.

No sympathy for this negro.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 2:06:42 PM

BJsforeveryone writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 2:16:48 PM

Brolin is my reason to watch this movie anyway, not Spike !!
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 2:26:05 PM

From The Dustin Files

minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 2:26:54 PM

Stapes writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 2:32:16 PM

Studios do this sh*t all the time. Too bad starving artists seldom have the finances to take it to court. Maybe this guy could kill himself so that his art will sell, then have his estate sue.

minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 3:24:06 PM

Lots more info


http://hyperallergic.com/95917/spike-lee-doesnt-do-the-right-thing/



minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 3:35:35 PM

People are saying the original guy's poster is superior, but I think they're wrong.

Perhaps the composition is better, but the original has unprofessional typography, doesn't include the headliner's face (Brolin or another actor as a stand-in) which is a marketing no-no, the colors are under-saturated, the brightness and contrast are off and the far background character is far too small to merit much attention or interest.

I will give the original poster a plus for the use of a higher horizon line, which gives his composition a more developed feel as the ground is the viewer's focus, not the sky, and a better sense of directionality with the image's iconography (or "dramaturgy" in Cannon-speak), but that's it.

Also, in Lee's poster, Brolin's posing contains more story, whereas the original just shows a guy laying in a box. Brolin looks like he's not only escaping successfully from the box from which he's been held, a symbolic importance, but that he's posed for action, for vengeance while doing it with cool aplomb and determination.

The other poster is basically saying "I'm on my ass trying to zip my fly in a box that won't stay open", which is clearly inferior, perhaps even comedic, which is not the right tone for this film.




I welcome any other computer artists' opinions.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 3:39:26 PM

Also, funneling the typography into the box is a poor attempt at drawing attention when the viewer is going to look at the box first thing regardless.

Dude needs to go back to graphic design school.
Stapes writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 4:35:15 PM

Actually, if it wasnt the artists idea to use that particular scene for the poster, then he's just a whiny bitch who needs to go f*ck himself.

Kudos to mink for posting a comparison.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 7:32:32 PM

Yeah, my pleasure. Not like Alex was going to do it.
greenfreak69 writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 7:44:16 PM

Does this dude really capitalize every word in every one of his tweets?? Seems exhausting

Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 8:30:16 PM

The first picture looks like he's fallen in to the box and the text looks like some 70s time travel film.

Also, this is the first article about Spike Lee in a while that doesn't say "big time ass hole Spike Lee" somewhere amongst it. I think Alex has gone over to the dark side :|
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 9:19:53 PM

Saw Spike's version of this movie a few hours ago. It stunk.
DeVries writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 9:21:02 PM

Will someone finally kick that puke in the mouth ? f*cking sc*mbag Lee.
velocityknown writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 9:41:49 PM

Paul Walker died in a car accident:

http://www.buzzfeed.com/mackenziekruvant/paul-walker-dies-in-car-accident
boogiel writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 10:15:47 PM

^ While other claims it's a hoax : http://en.mediamass.net/people/paul-walker/deathhoax.html
lakers320 writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 10:29:15 PM

It's official paul walker has died what a shame especially since he had been taking ppl on drives in his porsche to raise money for tornardo recently
Frank4969 writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 10:35:48 PM

Somebody please kill this man already
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 10:42:07 PM

I've researched the sh*t out of this since I read about it like a half hour ago. The mains and trustworthy news reports say that sources close to him claim he's dead.

I have no doubt now. There's just to many people reporting it. GlobalNews, TMZ, USA Today. Those are considerably trustworthy sites and news reports when it comes to deaths.

They NEVER report on Hoaxs.
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 10:42:36 PM

Spike Lee dont wanna help nobody=alive
using your celebrity to help raise $$ for victims of a natural disaster=death

"who's the BigTime*sshole now? Peckerwood?",said Lee

wutta bummer
RIP
Barney Stinson writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 10:42:48 PM

RIP Paul Walker. May not have been the greatest actor, but he seemed like a nice guy. I'm bummed out.
Venom1970 writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 11:13:34 PM

Terrible news about Paul Walker, I liked most of his performances especially Running Scared and Eight Below. RIP

As far as goes to Spike Lee , f*ck off n*gger :)
boogiel writes:
on November 30th, 2013 at 11:46:50 PM

Good people die young. RIP Paul.
Rocksteddy writes:
on December 1st, 2013 at 12:43:15 AM

Paul Walker died today at 40, guys.
mrstretch writes:
on December 1st, 2013 at 1:05:56 AM

Race in peace.
zxz writes:
on December 1st, 2013 at 1:26:39 AM

Spike Lee is an overrated *sshole. Ernest d*ckerson made his early films what they were with his incredible cinematography. Spike has a chip on his shoulder and anyone who acts like him would find it very hard to have a career in any field but Hollywood.
Venom1970 writes:
on December 1st, 2013 at 2:42:17 AM

The whole world knows about it, (Paul Walker) and in a few hours Alex will put a thread up about it acting like its breaking news.
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 1st, 2013 at 4:02:01 AM

no sh*t^
PW Facebook/Twitter updated an hour after the accident
Džeko writes:
on December 1st, 2013 at 4:27:13 AM

Never been a big fan of Walker's work but still shocked
R.I.P
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 1st, 2013 at 5:21:16 AM

Legend of Bobby Z was a fun ride
save for the extra cheesy ending
Venom1970 writes:
on December 1st, 2013 at 5:27:20 AM

I suppose Ale is gnawing on Dustin's rectum for breakfast.
Venom1970 writes:
on December 1st, 2013 at 5:27:59 AM

*Alex
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 1st, 2013 at 6:58:55 AM

ALEX PULL YOUR HEAD OUT OF DP'S ASS AND POST THE NEWS OF WALKER'S DEATH YOU *sshole!!! EVERYONE HAS IT EXCEPT FOR YOUR LAME EXCUSE FOR A SITE!!!
M. Bullitt writes:
on December 1st, 2013 at 7:38:10 AM

Alex invented the slow news concept!

Get your ass in gear and update your bloody site!
mrstretch writes:
on December 1st, 2013 at 7:56:34 AM

Maybe Alex was in the car too?
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 1st, 2013 at 9:23:59 AM

alex was obviously the driver!
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 1st, 2013 at 9:40:29 AM

2 Slow
2 Curious
M. Bullitt writes:
on December 1st, 2013 at 10:24:22 AM

sh*t man! I just finished washing my car and the master plonker of this site didn't do his only job.
BlackDynamite writes:
on December 1st, 2013 at 12:26:56 PM

Both posters are meh, and for once, I kind of agree with Spike Lee.

A director doesn't overlook every single tiny part of the movie advertising process. IT is incredibly likely that this garcia guy sent in his art to a company affliated with the movie production, and they themselves made the final decision on what art to use, then sent those final picks to Lee for approval, wihtout him meeting any of the actual artists.

Wi

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved