WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Family Guy" Kills Off Major Character

Posted: November 25th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Family Guy" Kills Off Major CharacterSubmit Comment
"The Simpsons" have been promoting an upcoming episode in which a character will be killed off, but it was "Family Guy" that accomplished this sooner. And not just any character, it was one of the main ones.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

During Sunday's "Life of Brian" episode of "Family Guy," the series took the life of Brian Griffin, the talking family dog, by hitting him with a car as he played in the street with Stewie. Ultimately, his injuries were to severe and he could not be saved.

It's not clear whether Brian will be brought back (possibly with the use of Stewie's time-machine) or whether he'll remain dead and potentially replaced with some other animal. But for now, he's dead.

Question: Do you think "Family Guy" should have killed off Brian?

Video:


Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 9:13:40 AM

Umm...they should've killed off the entire series instead.
M. Bullitt writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 9:14:09 AM

Wow! They played the same opera theme used in Raging Bull.

I almsost shed a tear there.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 9:19:23 AM

Who cares.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 11:16:21 AM

*too
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 11:17:53 AM

sh*t reeks of desperation. Didn't The Simpsons pull this sh*t off with the killing of Mr. Burns?! Meh...

Pass.

If they're trying to pull on my heart strings...lower, pull lower...
lakers320 writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 12:28:15 PM

He's coming back the episode list for the current season has two episodes coming up called brians a bad father and season finale brian the closer...just a ploy to get a ratings boost
hellsing writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 12:32:29 PM

actually unlike you lot i've seen this episode he's dead that's it and i can tell you it's a really sad episode and no the simpsosns didn't killl off mr.burns @cell
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 1:23:13 PM

I enjoy Family Guy and my favorite character was always Brian, It's sad for his to be gone, But he'll probably come back..

OneTime writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 1:51:42 PM

no that was dumb of the,...the new dog is terrible...bring him back please
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 4:36:30 PM

Should have hit that one-hit wonder talentless hack Seth McFarlane instead.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 5:17:31 PM

@mink
There isn't a car big enough to hit MacFarlane and his ego. LOL What's really sad is the Oscars got better ratings with that guy then someone actually have decent. Course the whole show sucked. I mean most the people I wanted to win won...except one and we all know who, but MacFarlane was okay I suppose. At least he had some charisma, but I like Billy Crystal. His jokes don't have to be 100% offensive all the time. While I admit this episode had a surprisingly touching moment, it does seem stupid when they do it on an animated show with no real character arcs. And everyone is right he'll come back. It will be just like how Lois died with a thousand gun shots and survived.
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 6:58:58 PM

@Sleuth: the thing I find the most offensive about Seth is his personality. He makes jokes about everyone and everything, and then says "that's comedy".

He paints his routines the way Mexicans paint a barn: with a very wide spray. No tact, no skill, just spray and run. A real comedian would have learned how to make pointed, intelligent jokes, but Seth just takes anything, whether it be cancer, AIDS, fetuses in a dumpster, et cetera and churns out a crude, often-hateful cheap imitation of a joke. There's simply no skill whatsoever in him doing endless 80s cutaway gags and digs at any and all tragedies. It may be humorous to some, but it's not skillful comedy.

Another thing is his arrogance. He thinks we want to hear him sing, for example, just because HE wants to hear him sing, so we have to put up with stupid musical numbers in his shows, which I usually skip. Yeah, he has a nice baritone voice, I guess, but no one gives a f*ck. He wants to rip off The Simpsons, who did the animated musical way before him, fine, but I don't have to listen to Seth masturbate with his own voice to the lyrics of dead babies in a dumpster.

His animation isn't even any good. Just look at Family Guy. Lots of crude lines blocked in with solid colors and minimal shading. Most of the frames aren't even animated. He'll draw Peter on the couch and Lois talking for five minutes but the only motion is their mouths and perhaps an arm or hand. It's downright LAZY.

And the only show (American Dad) that's actually any good he doesn't often write, or so I read. The Cleveland Show was terrible, Ted was nothing more than a rehash of Family Guy, including a lazy rendition of Peter's voice for Ted and tons of stupid Flash Gordon jokes. His latest comedy looks like he's desperately taken to ripping off Bob's Burgers instead of the Simpsons for a change. In fact Family Guy was cancelled back in 2003 or so, and only brought back thanks to stronger-than-expected DVD sales. Even South Park ridicules Family Guy.

Plus, if you've seen the first two seasons of Family Guy, you'll bear witness to Seth's atrocious drawing and animation skills. To think the guy went to college for that trash. He also bombed at the Oscars, according to almost everyone who took the time to watch that crap.

I think Seth is just one of those over-sheltered, insensitive narcissistic white-man d*ck heads, like Dustin Puttman. A New Englander who grew up in a very nice and wealthy family. A guy who never had to work a day of real labor. A guy who was tutored in piano because he's just that special a child.

And then, he somehow storms the world of network television with his deranged brand of humor, which would be extremely offensive if Seth wasn't an uber-liberal, a fact that comes through when he uses his shows to push his social and political beliefs, most often through Brian, Seth's official cartoon animated mouthpiece.

The guy should have to spend a year in prison, in an abortion clinic, in Africa, somewhere where he can confront the fact that the sh*t he thinks is so damned humorous is often a horror to other people, people he'd never hang with because he believes he's better than them

That we continue to laugh at his "jokes" just means his viewers are as insensitive and idiotic as him and the network that not only promotes his rock candy cartoon crap, but keeps The Simpsons rolling as well.
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 7:19:09 PM

@Sleuth: Stewie has a time machine, so Brian can return any time the writers feel like bringing him back.

I just hope when they do bring him back, it's Superman Returns awesome and not Batman in Time stupid.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 7:24:52 PM

@mink
Hey I agree 100% although the early seasons of Family Guy were funny to me because he didn't do crude jokes the whole time or at least jokes that made humorous stabs at offensive content. Look I'm a firm believer that every once and awhile we need to laugh at bad things in the world to make it through the harsh times, but you do it so much the issues becomes jokes and then no one takes it seriously. Yes American Dad is funny because it doesn't attack people as much and when it does it's not too over the top. But why listen to all this crap?! Look let's be honest here, killing of Brian was bad. I'm not saying he was a great character but at least when his character spoke about issues he sounded sincere...course then the other white trash characters bashed him about it but whatever I give props the character had somewhat of a conscience. Unfortunately I don't care what people think about this dribble anymore. No one studies the facts enough to understand the worngful nature of the jokes made. Hell Alex here didn't do the numbers right with Hunger Games: Catching Fire! I checked box office mojo about Thor (Which might actually beat it's predecessor luckily), and HG2 only made 158 million! It's not fourth highest opening weekend ever...it's 6th behind The Dark Knight and The Dark Knight Rises! f*ck these people! They do no research once so ever and no one wants to do the facts! They just want to say sh*t to get attention. Everyone is a big whiny baby now in this generation. Actresses like Lawrence, diva "men" like MacFarlane, and of course, my personal favorite, the media news outlets who exaggerate sh*t for ratings! Integrity and truth on matters mean sh*t now!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 7:25:35 PM

@mink
He destroyed the time machine in this episode but whatever. They'll bring him back. He's too popular not to.
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 7:36:45 PM

@Sleuth: They've destroyed the time machine before, but it's not like Stewie couldn't just make another.

Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 7:38:05 PM

@mink
Well, and this is if they actually adhere to the rules the made in the episode, Stewie can't get a hold of the gear needed anymore to make a time machine. They probably won't. LOL
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 7:40:00 PM

@Sleuth: no clue where Alex is getting that 164 million number. Other websites have numbers somewhere in between. Guess Alex just grabbed one and ran, which is no surprise to me in this Golden Age of Bullsh*t.
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 7:43:03 PM

@Sleuth: Haven't seen the episode in question, so I'll take your word for it. Sounds like they want to close that door forever then, which is okay with me considering I view the show with large dollops of apprehension and revolt with a small ramekin of laughter.

I guess it also means an end to Stewie's time traveling adventures, which means no more of those episodes, which were often the best of the bunch.

One wonders if this was done to free Seth's voice up so he can do other sh*t. Let's hope not.
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 7:47:21 PM

Yeah, reading that interview with Steve Callaghan makes it very clear Brian is gone for good.

http://www.eonline.com/news/484172/family-guy-s-shocking-death-boss-reveals-why-they-decided-to-kill-off-spoiler

Who cares? Just cancel the damned show already.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 7:57:59 PM

@mink
Well we'll see. I don't really care. I only watched this episode because that threw me a little but really I think they are just pretending he is dead for awhile, kind of like they did with Jeff on American Dad even though you know he is coming back. And yeah it's definitely 158 million. Checked it. People are hiking this movie's profit up way too much. LOL
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 8:03:05 PM

@Sleuth: I think Box Office Mojo is going with actual numbers, not what was forecast on Thursday of last week.
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 8:05:54 PM

@Sleuth: I was reading Slashdot just a monet ago, and read this:


"with the confidence of a T-Rex born to yuppie dinosaur parents who fully bought into the illusion of their son's utter uniqueness because the big-mouthed, tiny-armed monster infant could mimic the gestures of The Itsy-Bitsy Pterodactyl.'"

Totally reminds me of Seth.

http://tech.slashdot.org/story/13/11/25/2355218/only-25-of-yahoo-staff-eat-their-own-dog-food
d.nadeau writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 8:08:07 PM

Seth Macfarlane wanted to stop doing the series years ago. I bet he's killed one of the best characters to deter people so the ratings drop and he can finally move on.
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 8:11:07 PM

Seths not smart enough to steal from Futurama
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 8:13:26 PM

^^lol, and to think Seth was trying to get a green light on a Flintstones reboot.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 8:36:24 PM

@mink
If Seth did the Flintstones reboot I would have had to run him over. There is just a limit I can take and that is beyond my patience with the man.
boogiel writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 8:41:27 PM

Diggity...!
Attos writes:
on November 26th, 2013 at 12:15:02 AM

I don't care for this show anymore, but I can guarantee he'll come back. Regardless of the character's "popularity", McFarlane has said several times that it's his favorite character to voice, because it's the only one where he gets to speak without warping his voice. (Though this pertains only to Family Guy itself, because Stan on American Dad is the same damn voice.)
Attos writes:
on November 26th, 2013 at 12:23:34 AM

Aside from that, I really don't care for it when a comedy show tries to be dramatic or serious. It either feels forced or just completely out of place. Especially in a show like this, where the so-called aim is to tell nonstop jokes. (Regardless of if you find the show funny or not, it's still clearly only meant to be comedy.) They tried it once before in the episode where Stewie and Brian were locked in the bank for a weekend, and while I didn't hate the attempt, it still just felt off in a show like this.

The only time an animated comedy has done this in a way that I enjoyed, oddly, was South Park. I'll never forget watching the episode "You're Getting Old" for the first time. It had it's laughable moments, but by the end I genuinely felt emotional. The entire episode not only was a mirrored example of the creators' feelings about the show itself and what it had turned into, but it related to a lot of things in the real world outside of the show, and life itself in general. The unresolved ending, followed by the completely silent credits caught me completely off guard. I actually got a bit choked up by the whole thing, and it gave me a lot more respect for those involved.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved