WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Martin Scorsese Pressured Jonah Hill to Take Real Punch in "The Wolf of Wall Street"

Posted: November 25th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Martin Scorsese Pressured Jonah Hill to Take Real Punch in "The Wolf of Wall Street"Submit Comment
While promoting "The Wolf of Wall Street," Jonah Hill spoke about a scene in which he was supposed to get punched in the face by co-star Jon Bernthal. The problem is that the entire thing looked too fake for director Martin Scorsese, who decided to approach Hill about taking a real punch.

"[Scorsese] looks at me and goes, 'Hey kid, you wanna try when he hits you for real?'" said the actor. "I don't wanna look like a wuss... so I turned to [Leonardo DiCaprio] to try and make eye contact to say 'Ok, Marty, maybe do something else.' So I don't answer and I look to Leo and... he completely looks away and leaves me hanging."

Hill went on to say that he was "freaking out" about the scene, for which he had to wear fake teeth. "We go out there, we do the scene. [Bernthal] just decks me. I wore big fake teeth and they split and flew out of my mouth," he explained. "I'm on the floor and I'm in a daze and I just hear Scorsese [say] out loud, 'His face is swelling, get him some new teeth and let's shoot it.' Someone put some teeth in my mouth and they film my face swell."

Source: Contact Music


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Skywalker121289 writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 8:51:41 AM

Well, Job enjoyed that, I'm sure.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 8:56:02 AM

*Jon
M. Bullitt writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 9:05:58 AM

Now I know why I always loved Scorcese: for his sense of reality. Should have been punched Raging Bull style.
cress writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 9:07:24 AM

It can't be any worse than when Channing Tatum tongue punches Hill's fartbox in between shooting scenes for the 21 JUMP STREET movies.
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 9:20:05 AM

Leo left you hanging because you cant act and should know how to fake a punch to the face by now

the best part is, there was no film in the camera
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 9:21:03 AM

Wish it snapped the f*ckers neck.
i124q writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 10:08:18 AM

Should have punched him in the c*nt.
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 11:20:22 AM

^^ LMAO!! And we have a winner!!
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 11:39:43 AM

Hill was Oscar nominated & can't even fake a punch?! WTF?!! Shows how much the Acadamy knows...f*cking Hill. You're in the big time now Hill, know that you're suffering for your f*cking art!!

And I took DiCaprio turning away as a sign of, "Not my fault you can't do your f*cking job!! You're on your own!!"

Scorsese has given the Oscars to DeNiro who got his nose broken and Joe Pesci who got his ribs broken--on two of his movies!! They f*cking gave it their all. Scorsese has made the coolest, more artistic movies around...yeah, I'd take a punch in the mouth for Scorsese. Easy.

Now if it'd be Kubrick, f*ck that!! He's was known to do 50+ takes!! LOL..

f*cking Hill...First Tarantino hires him by name, now Scorsese?! Bah, I don't get it...
OneTime writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 1:50:39 PM

lol
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 7:09:18 PM

And? Stallone was hospitalized from on-set work during the shooting of Rocky 4 thanks to Lundgren's brutal blows. So what the f*ck does this fat schlub want? A commemorative plague outside his bidet?
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 7:10:02 PM

Plague. lol. Plaque.
Stapes writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 7:50:46 PM

To be fair, Marty's used to working with method actors. Too bad Bale doesnt have an italian last name, he'd be a better lead than Leo.
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 7:59:44 PM

Or Nicholas Cage. They did Bringing out the Dead together.
Stapes writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 9:03:31 PM

@mink, yeah I love that one, but remember, Nic's birth name us coppola.
Stapes writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 9:04:58 PM

Another good one: After Hours
Stapes writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 9:05:56 PM

*is
Attos writes:
on November 26th, 2013 at 12:37:23 AM

I've always felt like this should be done more in films. Obviously not in every fight scene, but if there's supposed to be a moment where someone gets decked one good time, I see no reason not to at least make it partially real. Probably best if they don't take a full-power swing, but a real punch here and there would just work better. I've always felt like if I were in that position as an actor (which would obviously never realistically happen, just one of those idle this-is-what-I-would-do thoughts) I would ask for it. I mean, if it's better for the film to just punch me in the face, by all means do it. Another nice things about it is that you could be absolutely certain that any bruising or cuts afterwards would be 100% realistic, because so was the punch.

Plus, almost any time you hear about "so-and-so accidentally hit so-and-so for real while filming", they use that particular shot. I'm pretty sure I remember reading that in Mission Impossible 2, Tom Cruise really did kick Dougray Scott in one scene, and they kept it. The spit flying out of his mouth was the result of him being ACTUALLY kicked in the face. And in Fight Club, when Narrator and Tyler Durden get in their first fight outside of the bar, Edward Norton really did punch Brad Pitt in the ear. That shot plus Brad Pitt's line about being hit in the ear were genuine, and were used in the final cut.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved