WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Hunger Games: Catching Fire" Sets November Box Office Record, Destroys "Twilight"

Posted: November 24th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Hunger Games: Catching Fire" Sets November Box Office Record, Destroys "Twilight"Submit Comment
"The Hunger Games: Catching Fire" hit theaters this weekend with many wondering if the film will be able to take the November box office record from "Twilight: New Moon." The results are now in and "Catching Fire" blew away the competition.

The new movie opened to a whopping $164.1 million domestically, beating "New Moon" by almost $20 million. Not only did it secure the November record, but it now has the fourth-biggest opening of all time behind "The Avengers" ($207.4 million), "Iron Man 3" ($174.1 million) and the last "Harry Potter" film ($169.2 million).

The first movie opened to $152.5 million last year and ended up with a worldwide gross of $691 million. The sequel, which has an impressive 89% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, already earned $307.7 million worldwide, and that's just from the first weekend.

The weekend's only other wide release was Vince Vaughn's "Delivery Man," which had to settle for fourth place with $8.2 million. It cost $22 million to make, which means that it will at least break even. The new comedy has a fresh rating of 35%.

Click here to read our "The Hunger Games: Catching Fire" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 24th, 2013 at 10:56:35 PM

What does that even mean really? Like let's think about this. With inflation as a factor what does that mean any more when a film breaks a record any more. Like really take the money (Inflation and stupid people with low standards), take the reviews (Some bought and paid, others people who think they understand sh*t and try to make these films out to be thematic masterpieces), and awards (Ask Weinstein how that works cause I can't tell you what palms are greased but they are). This all means sh*t to me. And I just read some article where soemone is actually thinking this movie should get a Best Picture nomination. f*ck that! I'm done with this bullsh*t!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 24th, 2013 at 10:59:06 PM

And destroying Twilight is no challenge thank you. Even I am man enough to admit this film has half a brain more than Twilight...but is that saying much?
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 24th, 2013 at 11:07:53 PM

@Sleuth

I call it a sh*tsterpiece!

Now, back to The A-Team!
SaulSilver writes:
on November 24th, 2013 at 11:35:19 PM

I never read the books. I begrudgingly watched the first movie. The 2 words alone "Destroys Twilight" is enough to warrant at least a token viewing.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 24th, 2013 at 11:50:01 PM

@Deaft0ne
sh*tsterpiece? My friend you may have a trend there to start! LOL

I said it before and I'll say it again. We are in a very sh*tty world right now. America is in the can, the government is doing things that border on communism if not duplicates it. This movie isn't winning points because it is great movie, it's just people like the simple message. Who doesn't want a character that fights an oppressive government, reflecting what people want to do in real life. Makes me kind of hate it more for manipulating people like that but aside from that really can anyone give me a good theme in this series besides the lead characters personal rebellion against the world? Like really they are saying Lawrence does all this stuff but from what I remember in the book all I remember is she just wanted to avoid Snow coming after her.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 24th, 2013 at 11:50:51 PM

I meant she doesn't want to be controlled but she couldn't give two sh*ts about anyone else.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 12:01:27 AM

Better than the first.

Whatever that means.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 12:10:03 AM

@Skywalker121289
I like how they say it improves on the first one like that was hard. Like really the first one such a barren film. Anything compared to that be instantly a great film.
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 12:23:23 AM

the real news is that TANMAN saw Delivery Man 1,025,000 times
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 1:06:37 AM

only the good die young
while we're stuck with the rest

annoying isnt it?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 1:18:02 AM

@PORN-FLY
It is a bitch. LOL
Attos writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 2:27:38 AM

I watched the first Hunger Games today, just to give it a fair shot.

Massive waste of time.
Just more bullsh*t targeted at angsty teenagers, with no actual substance to be found.
Attos writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 2:29:52 AM

The good don't just die young.
They simply get to leave early.
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 2:44:24 AM

^
Cannon writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 3:07:53 AM


Guess whose $8.50 can't be counted amongst that $164.1 million?

M. Bullitt writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 6:03:16 AM

^ ^ Neither would they see my 9.5!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 6:19:38 AM

Had to watch this film with the mrs on saturday night just as she dragged me along to the first one (which I hated with a passion). It's definitely an improvement character wise and has a darker tone, which a film about people killing eachother should have. I wouldn't say it deserves the 89% RottenTomatoes rating though it's a 7/10 at best. It did the best it could do with the source material but still has it's flaws and weak moments. Jennifer Lawrence though, f*ck me she's sexy!
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 6:19:49 AM

Basically it means that there's still a f*cking big, HUGE tween/ neglected housewives/ lonely girl demographic...

(Sighs) Get ready for more sequels and raping of other angsty teen books to make over-the-top adaptations...

f*ck.
Venom1970 writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 7:21:59 AM

I cannot take her name seriously. Also the recent ass photo's of her have really put me off this actress. Someone here posted it, she was in blue and quite flabby.
BigRedCat writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 8:22:20 AM

There was once a time when the success of a movie was measured by tickets told, not by money grossed.
BigRedCat writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 8:22:47 AM

sold*
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 8:36:22 AM

if girls werent such bitches
they wouldnt feel singled out if they didnt see a movie the rest of the dumb beavers paid to see

peer pressure profit
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 8:50:29 AM

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2013/01/17/article-0-1701171B000005DC-768_306x423.jpg

this one, VENOM?
looks like a freshly plucked turkey ass
velocityknown writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 9:44:26 AM

Yep. we heard.
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2013 at 7:26:01 PM

If isn't ghetto black people or emosexual white guys ruining film, it's women.

Damned Jews would sell the world's soul for a nickle.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved