WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Arnold Schwarzenegger in "Terminator Genisys"
Oct 31st, 2014
Trailer for Alex Garland's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 31st, 2014
Seth Rogen is Steve Wozniak in Steve Jobs Biopic, Starring Christian Bale
Oct 31st, 2014
First Look at "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies"
Oct 31st, 2014
"Terminator Genisys" Storyboards Tease a Massive Battle Scene
Oct 31st, 2014
New Trailer for "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Arrives Online
Oct 31st, 2014
First "Terminator Genisys" Photos, Plot Details Revealed
Oct 30th, 2014
Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot
Oct 30th, 2014
Michael Bay to Direct "13 Hours" Benghazi Film
Oct 30th, 2014
Final Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 30th, 2014
First Poster for Alex Garland's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
Keanu Reeves' Next Film is "Replicas" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
"Avengers: Infinity War" Trailer Leaked Online
Oct 29th, 2014
First "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip is Here!
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Explains Why "Hulk" and "Black Widow" Films are NOT Happening
Oct 29th, 2014
First Look at "Black Panther" Costume
Oct 29th, 2014
"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Unveils Titles, Logos and Release Dates For All Phase 3 Films
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team
Oct 28th, 2014
David Goyer Writing Superman Prequel TV Series "Krypton"?
Oct 28th, 2014
First Look at Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Oct 28th, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Trailer Coming This Year?
Oct 28th, 2014
Ewan McGregor Says "Trainspotting" Sequel to Shoot in 2016
Oct 28th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in Marvel's "Doctor Strange"!
Oct 27th, 2014
"Furious 7" Unveils Second Poster
Oct 27th, 2014
Jesse Eisenberg May Return as Lex Luthor in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film
Oct 27th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Unveils Title and Poster, Trailer Coming Soon
Oct 27th, 2014
Photos: "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" to Show Funeral of Bruce Wayne's Parents?
Oct 27th, 2014
"Ouija" Easily Beat Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" at Box Office
Oct 27th, 2014
Russell Brand is Quitting Acting Because He's Scared of Money
Oct 27th, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says He Wanted to Play Wolverine and Batman
Oct 26th, 2014
Christopher Nolan No Longer Involved With Warner Bros' Superhero Films
Oct 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director John Landis Reveals His Hatred for the Movie Business

Posted: November 23rd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director John Landis Reveals His Hatred for the Movie BusinessSubmit Comment
While speaking at the Mar del Plata Film Festival, director John Landis (Coming to America, Trading Places) spoke about the current state of the movie business, pointing out everything that he believes is wrong.

"The studios are not in the movie business anymore," he said. "There are no original ideas. It's never about the idea, it is about the execution of the idea. The film studios are all now subdivisions of huge multinational corporations. Time Warner, British Petroleum, Sony -- these aren't companies, they are f*cking nations. They are these giant international things that don't pay taxes. It's ridiculous. They're like pirates. It really has to do with desperation, because they don't know how to get people into the theaters, so they bring back 3D and make all this kind of shit."

He continued: "It's very common now to spend more money selling a movie than making a movie. So the reason they make remakes and sequels is because they're brands, like Coca Cola. They remake movies because they have presold titles. It's tragic, because you have things like Tobe Hooper's 'The Texas Chainsaw Massacre,' which is a brilliant movie, and yet the remakes have made a lot more money."

"When I did 'Animal House,' I could point at the studio and tell you who owned it: Lew Wasserman was Universal, David Begelman was Columbia, Arthur Krim was United Artists, Steve Ross was Warner Brothers. I don't know who owns these companies now. There are no individuals who say, 'Sure, I'll take a risk.' Because the risks are now huge. Many of my movies made more money the second, third, or fourth week, because we used to have what we call word of mouth. Now if a movie doesn't make money its first two days, you're f*cked!"

Landis went on to speak about internet piracy. "One of the problems with the Internet that no one has solved is that for YouTube, Google, Yahoo to exist, they thrive on piracy," he said. "They must steal intellectual property; they're like vampires. So how do you fight that? Now there are generations worldwide who believe that when they're downloading something for free, it's not theft. It doesn't even occur to them, so intellectual property has become nothing. You used to be able to write a book, or do a piece, and it was yours, but now you're raped continuously. It's very complicated, and I don't have any answers."

Despite his hatred for the business of movie-making, he still recognizes that there are good movies out there. "There will always be good movies being made. It's just harder and harder to see them," he explained. "And the studios are no longer interested in making good movies -- they're interested in movies that will bring you in. So you have movies like 'Avatar,' or Alfonso Cuaron's 'Gravity.' It's wonderful to look at. Now, is it a good movie? No! But it's entertaining, and it's a spectacle and technically astonishing."

Landis concluded with a comment about the general entertainment industry. "Everything is changing. Steve Jobs destroyed the music industry. He decided a song is worth 20 cents, just like that. (Snaps his fingers.) Boom. Destroyed. So everything has changed. There are no villains here. No one has the handle on it. I understand why they're scared. All their decisions are based on fear."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Frank4969 writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 10:10:44 AM

100% agree!
M. Bullitt writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 10:17:49 AM

Now I know why Landis is not making any movies anymore.

And he's bloody right too. I wish he can be heard so the actual system can change like it supposed to be or like it used to be but those multinationals are too powerful obviously.
cress writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 12:07:26 PM

A lot of what he says makes sense, and he made some good films early in his career, but everything he made after 1988 is pure sh*t. THE STUPIDS, anyone?

"Steve Jobs destroyed the music industry. He decided a song is worth 20 cents, just like that."

And you, Mr. Landis--what was the worth of the lives you placed in harms way, all for your precious "shot"? You destroyed several lives when Vic Morrow and two kids were beheaded by a helicoptor's blades on THE TWILIGHT ZONE set. Just go away, and quit badmouthing an industry that won't give you a job because you stink now.

cress writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 12:07:26 PM

A lot of what he says makes sense, and he made some good films early in his career, but everything he made after 1988 is pure sh*t. THE STUPIDS, anyone?

"Steve Jobs destroyed the music industry. He decided a song is worth 20 cents, just like that."

And you, Mr. Landis--what was the worth of the lives you placed in harms way, all for your precious "shot"? You destroyed several lives when Vic Morrow and two kids were beheaded by a helicoptor's blades on THE TWILIGHT ZONE set. Just go away, and quit badmouthing an industry that won't give you a job because you stink now.

velocityknown writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 12:34:20 PM

This guy should be in jail.
velocityknown writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 12:41:53 PM

This must be where his son gets his d*ck-ishness from.
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 1:02:32 PM

Landis went on to speak about internet piracy. "One of the problems with the Internet that no one has solved is that for YouTube, Google, Yahoo to exist, they thrive on piracy," he said. "They must steal intellectual property; they're like vampires. So how do you fight that? Now there are generations worldwide who believe that when they're downloading something for free, it's not theft. It doesn't even occur to them, so intellectual property has become nothing. You used to be able to write a book, or do a piece, and it was yours, but now you're raped continuously. It's very complicated, and I don't have any answers."





lol. People download sh*tty cams and they're the vampires, not the f*cking studios charging a mortgage to watch one of their sh*tty, over-hyped, misrepresented stupid ugly little films.

And I like how he thinks Google and Youtube exist thanks to piracy. lol. Google was doing just fine before they started indexing pirated files, but then I've never known a single soul to use Google to do much piracy. It just doesn't work. And Youtube takes down any videos that ring their piracy bells. They have one the toughest meanest anti-piracy, Digital Rights Management software known. If you upload a video with even a hint of copyrighted material, it goes down. People use Youtube for trailer, spoofs, videos and what not.

Dude has no clue what he's saying.


Landis sounds old, used up, angry, bitter and lost. He sounds like a guy who's pissed because the industry left him on the curb, because he couldn't compete.


Tough sh*t.
M. Bullitt writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 1:19:13 PM

@cress

Was he responsible for the tragic accident with that helicopter?

I read about it but I don't know how guilty he is.
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 1:35:40 PM

The tragedy on-set of Twilight Zone wasn't directly Landis' fault, and he was acquitted of criminal charges.

He *was* found responsible in at least one, and perhaps several, civil trial(s), and Hollywood never quite forgave him for his violations of extant child labor laws, which arguably put two Vietnamese children under a falling helicopter.

A tragic mistake, but one that put Landis in "hot water" because he didn't have the required permits.

Either a minor mistake that bit him in the ass, or willful negligence. I tend toward the former.
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 1:47:44 PM

"Landis and four other crew members were charged with involuntary manslaughter. The prosecutors attempted to show that Landis was reckless, and had not told the parents and others of the children's proximity to explosives and helicopters and of limitations on their working hours. He admitted that he had violated the California law regulating employment of children, by using the children after hours, and conceded that that was "wrong." But he denied culpability.[11] Numerous members of the film crew testified that the director was warned, but ignored these dangers. After a nine-month jury trial during 1986 and 1987, Landis, represented by criminal defense attorney Harland Braun, and the other crew members were acquitted of the charges."
M. Bullitt writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 2:03:07 PM

@Mink

I thank you for that. In that case, that changes everything; he's more than morally responsible at the lights of these facts. Indeed, he should be more discreet these days as obviously some people will never forget.

Cheers,
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 2:17:22 PM

Yeah, I too hope he burns in hell for his crimes.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 2:46:52 PM

@mink
Landis was right except for the issue of piracy because...well look at the numbers! They keeps saying their yearly gain at studios has dropped but I find that hard to believe since movies seem to be making more and more. Course you probably have to factor in pay raises to company employees (Now that is piracy. LOL), marketing, and everything other companies charge for services. People are just damn greedy and we have to suffer for it so piracy it's hard to not feel for people who do it. We're the ones paying ridiculous amounts for stuff that my parents use to pay half of to see a damn movie. But it is too much of a business now and not enough of an artform and people go see Hunger Games and all that sh*t because they aren't offered anything better. Studios set their own lazy standards of movies. It's like going outside in the cold and then you come in the house is warmer then when you were in their before. You need to give people different stuff but now everything is cold, especially characters in movies I might add, and everything is whitewashed to all be he same. Movies practically all share very basic plots and stories because the studio won't allow anyone to try something different so we'll never get the next "Star Wars" or some new grand saga of originality until they let them work.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 2:48:14 PM

P.S. I could have worded the temperature metaphor better. Sorry. LOL
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 2:58:17 PM

@Sleuth: you're right, of course, in that the studios are making increasingly larger profits in the face of increasing piracy, but Landis' claim Google and Youtube built a business model on piracy is not only downright demonstrably WRONG, it's f*cking offensive from a technological perspective.

Megaupload, yes, Google and Youtube, I'm afraid not.

Idiot film-makers say the damnedest things, apparently.
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 3:02:37 PM

@Sleuth: I get you, but the large percentage of piracy is caused by a few issues.

1. People can't afford the sh*t, like in Pakistan.

2. It's not available in other form, like the fact certain shows could be seen only on The Pirate Bay, and not Netflix, Hulu or other venues.

3. Unwillingness to shell out large amounts for low quality material.



Hollywood is trying to address the lack of streamable content, but has done nothing whatsoever to address the other two, which of course hurts them and perpetuates piracy.

In other words, their greed and unwillingness to adapt to a netcentric world hurts them. They need to redefine and refine their business model is they want to increase profits and reduce piracy.

But no, what Landis said regarding piracy is just wrong.
Stapes writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 3:03:17 PM

American Werewolf in London is a classic, but yeah, Landis sounds like an old man out of touch. That's understandable, he comes from a different era of filmmaking.
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 3:03:22 PM

*if.

Not in a typing mood.
sedibus writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 3:14:41 PM

I loved American Werewolf in London, one of the best movies, I saw it after watching the remake which I really liked. Anyways.

This director forgot to mention that in Today´s Hollywood they have a homosexual policy, can someone tell me how many real heterosexual actors, directors or screenwriters are working in Hollywood today?

It is controlled by bisexual and homosexual and they, for whatever reason only let heterosexual women work inside the industry. But heterosexual men? Get the f*ck out of there.

A real fascist Utopia that is, and nobody says nothing or complains about it.

I know I´m right in a way, and nobody will give a sh*t about this topic. Afraid, maybe?

Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 3:34:30 PM

@mink
Yep...greedy bastards. LOL
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 4:10:40 PM

i'll buy the sixth to last and second to last paragraphs
the rest sounds like me after two tall cans
velocityknown writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 5:51:39 PM

To clarify, John Landis' worst crime was not causing the deaths of three people...

It was spawning Max Landis.
velocityknown writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 5:52:20 PM

Seriously. Thanks, *sshole: http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ9jeGb-KVHu4vgtUw4z14-JhjourNiB2cgZ9h4MuWWWEEV_SFy
Zeroguy writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 5:57:31 PM

Good points.
Maybe he's pissed that he can't get a good flick off the ground due to no one wanting to work with a heartless murderer (huge stretch of that word, I know)
Also, thanks for your sh*tty son. He knows how to write decent characters in a film. But to bad he's a little daddy's boy with a sh*t attitude.
cress writes:
on November 23rd, 2013 at 8:44:47 PM

@Bullitt. Sorry I couldn't reply, I've been busy all day. But Mink gave you all the details.
Uosdwis R Dewoh writes:
on November 24th, 2013 at 1:24:36 AM

is anyone else going to acknowledge sedibus's gem of a post?
M. Bullitt writes:
on November 24th, 2013 at 11:39:54 AM

@cress

Cheers,

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved