WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Wolverine" Director Explains Why He Cut the Alternate Ending

Posted: November 21st, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Wolverine" Director Explains Why He Cut the Alternate EndingSubmit Comment
While promoting the December 3rd release of "The Wolverine" Blu-ray, director James Mangold spoke about why he cut the alternate ending in which Wolverine is given a box containing his classic costume (pictured).

"I felt the fans' desire to see something like that," he explained. "The trick was that I felt like, and I think the studio felt strongly, that I was handing a hot potato to whatever films followed in the sense that it's one we didn't know if they could fulfill since we hadn't even scripted them yet. I certainly didn't want to burden ['X-Men: Days of Future Past' director] Bryan [Singer] with suddenly based upon the last six seconds of the film throwing a wrench in the works of what he was up to."

Mangold continued: "For Wolverine fans I felt it would be hugely rewarding, but when we screened it, and we did with that ending on, it was very interesting that 60% of the audience didn't understand what was in the box. So you also have the fact that you're going to be ending a movie with a moment where a huge majority of the audience was going to be going 'Huh?' So that definitely wasn't a feeling I wanted."

In the end, the director felt that the scene was "creating more questions than [it was] answering and maybe it wasn't the most responsible thing to do."

Source: SHH


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on November 20th, 2013 at 10:40:01 PM

I would have been cool to see him in the costume. Perhaps some day.
boogiel writes:
on November 20th, 2013 at 10:47:32 PM

@mink

Agree. It would be nice to see him in the classic costume.
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 20th, 2013 at 11:54:53 PM

Hot Potato?! Favreau didn't p*ssy out with his now, usual end credit fan boy scene where he stuck Nick Fury talking about THE Avengers Initiative, the most ballsy project any movie studio has done (or probably ever will)....and this guy is talking about a 3 second scene of his suit?! PPFFFT!!

And now a sequel?!...meh. Mangold played it too safe on a character that has so much potential...Jackman's Wolverine has enough plot material, character development and rogue gallery to make a great franchise.

The character just needs to be scheduled and planned to evolve or arc it over several movies, like Iron Man, to do it justice, but the only ones that could do that would be Marvel...
cress writes:
on November 21st, 2013 at 12:20:55 AM

Where the f*ck is Avirex these days?
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 21st, 2013 at 12:25:48 AM

If I was Mangold...a better feel for the Japan Saga would've been something closer to The Last Samurai...yes, it's unoriginal but hear me out.

Make Wolverine enter Japan battling his demons showing he's dangerous seeing the Japanese with contempt in his anger/ loneliness...

Throughout film, name drop or reference other Marvel characters to show other plots/ heroes still out there.

He gets in fights, doing the caged fight in first X-Men, but is suddenly challenged/ mocked by a revered, young Japanese. He takes the beating of his life with healing factor saving him..humiliated.

Enter the Japanese hottie. Wolvie meets girl...that's the foot in the door to introduce to the girl's family Samurai code that helps him control his anger (place collage of training here). He connects with the girl's father as father figure. Then doesn't wanna fight anymore...wants a life with the girl (flashbacks of Silverfox, can't remember) until he's forced when they kill his teacher, the one that understood him and taught him self control. He wants revenge...

There's a ninja attack, he brings out a version of his ninja-influenced Wolverine suit to retaliate. He displays what he learned--light on his feet, sword/claw fights, he rarely gets cut (his sh*t is tight)...great action sequences.

The big reveal is the guy that beat him in Cage match is the teacher's killer and he's a mutant himself showing off his f*ckig stunning Silver Samurai suit. Wolverine almost gets beat again that Samurai knows all the Samurai moves, but then learns how he needs to release the animal when he needs to beating Silver Samurai with a berserker rampage/ attack.

He leaves better off, but decides to keep the suit...hence the last shot of deleted scene suit that Mangold cut out.

End the film with Wolverine wanting to be part of a team again...bringing up Canada, a reference to Alpha Flight. Roll Credits.

There. That's a film I'd like to see...solid, no over geeky references, three acts, the character evolves and still with fan craved action pieces...and that's with me half loaded with about six of Coronas with lime/salt.

How f*cking hard is that?!
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 21st, 2013 at 12:28:25 AM

Didn't watch Wolverine or Origins but I am looking forward to the newest one
KillerCOck writes:
on November 21st, 2013 at 1:40:22 AM

At least he's realistic about how incompetent Singer is.
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 21st, 2013 at 2:45:21 AM

very interesting that 60% of the audience didn't understand what was in the box

interesting=stupid
i124q writes:
on November 21st, 2013 at 3:09:01 AM

They really should have left it in the film, it was funny. Jackman could have given a throwaway line after opening the box, for example: "Spandex? Seriously?". Then he wouldn't have had to wear it in any future films.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on November 21st, 2013 at 3:31:44 AM

F*ck the audience that goes huh?? They should make movies for the fans and not the ignorants !!
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 21st, 2013 at 3:33:16 AM

@porn
"WHAT'S IN THE BOOXXX!?"

@Mink
Missed the whole convo on the Brittany Murphy thread, Thought the whole 1 letter at a time spam was funny lol But can you imagine if this actually someone proved she was murdered? I really liked her.. Was sad to watch her go so young..

Tanman32123 writes:
on November 21st, 2013 at 3:34:39 AM

Proved someone* I'm f*ckin horrible on this site with my phone.. mistake after mistake
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 21st, 2013 at 3:36:01 AM

And remove the word "She".
I hate my life.
Feeno writes:
on November 21st, 2013 at 7:32:52 AM

Surely if the went Huh? A majority of that 60% would have been inclined to find out what the significance of the costume meant.
Avirex writes:
on November 21st, 2013 at 8:06:53 AM

@cress

You rang?
Cannon writes:
on November 21st, 2013 at 8:46:12 AM

@Crambo: "I actually liked more the mediocre 2009 version - at least it had some good action scenes."

Have you lost your f*ckin' mind?!

The5thBeatle5 writes:
on November 21st, 2013 at 10:37:35 AM

Yeah they should definitely show him in it for at least a little bit. I could see it happening in X-men Days of Future Past
mustardayonnaise writes:
on November 22nd, 2013 at 4:39:42 PM

I dunno, seems like a perfectly reasonable defense for making that choice to me. I haven't seen the movie, I'll say this- even the biggest comic book films can't survive on the hardcore fan base. They've got to appeal to general audiences. Was it a business decision? Sure, in part. Does that make it bad? No, considering the scope and budget of these films, it's absolutely not bad at all.

And Celluloid, calling Iron Man 'the most ballsy project any movie studio has done' is absurd and flat-out wrong. It also completely outs you as an over-the-top apologist for the recent, massive, and seemingly unending litany of inane comic book films that have overwhelmed theaters for the past 8 years. Don't get me wrong, I liked 'Iron Man'. I liked 'Batman Begins'. I just didn't like all that followed.
SirReal Prime writes:
on November 24th, 2013 at 6:19:36 PM

Best Wolverine movie yet.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved